Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Verse-by-Verse Reference Bible (Black)

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Verse-by-Verse Reference Bible (Black)

The ESV Verse-by-Verse Reference Bible features the Bible text in single column format, designed for enhanced readability and usability. Displaying each verse on its own line, the Verse-by-Verse Reference Biblelays out the text in a way that is ideal for preaching and teaching, public and personal reading, and for everyday use. A comprehensive system of cross-references and a full concordance complement its format, also making it a useful edition for careful Bible study.

Features
  • Black letter text for Jesus' words
  • More than 80,000 cross-references
  • Single-column, verse-by-verse format
  • Concordance with over 14,000 references
  • Book introductions
  • Full-color maps
  • 9-point text
  • Wider page margins
  • Presentation page
  • Family record pages
  • Durable sewn binding
  • Lifetime Guarantee
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold page edges
  • 9.75" x 6.75" x1.50
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Verse-by-Verse Reference Bible (Black)
Review 1 for ESV Verse-by-Verse Reference Bible (Black)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible, Great Value

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Russ
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great bible. The construction quality is there; thicker paper, with almost no bleed through and the verse by verse is great for me to underline or highlite as you like. Overall great product, was shipped in the stated time frame. I would highly recommend this product and Christianbook.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Verse-by-Verse Reference Bible (Black)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruby
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been looking for the perfect Bible for a long time. I have been using the ESV Classic Reference Bible for over a year but missed a verse by verse edition. This Bible is great. There is very little if any ghosting seen through the pages and the print and space between words and lines make it very easy to read. It opens flat, has lots of room for notes in the margins and great references. .The only improvement I would like to see is in the cover which is a little thin otherwise I would highly recommend this Bible. I'm very pleased.
Ruby Red
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Verse-by-Verse Reference Bible (Black)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible! Great Format!

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
pastorsmith24
Location:KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is special about this Bible is the verse-by-verse format that allows finding verses easily while preaching in the pulpit. Hope to use it for years to come - perhaps even until the return of the Lord!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Verse-by-Verse Reference Bible (Black)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I needed

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Dave
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recieved my Bible today and was greatly pleased with the quality of the binding, and the single column format with the references off to the side make for very easy reading. I will be using this Bible for many years to come. This is the Bible I have been searching for!
Dave
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Verse-by-Verse Reference Bible (Black)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Bible!!

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
BillR
Location:Toronto, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got my Bible about a week ago and its great, the Bible lies flat when you have it open on you and the font is perfect. I really like this verse by verse on a single line layout it makes it alot easier to read and find passges real quick. So congrats to Crossway and Zondervan for making a great Bible which i will have for some time.
Bill
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Verse-by-Verse Reference Bible (Black)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best Bibles I've owned.

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Papa G
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High quality construction. Bible is very flexible and lays flat.
Print is quite readable but could be a bit larger. Verse layout vs. paragraph layout makes it easy to find a verse. Alignment of notes right beside the verse is a plus.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Verse-by-Verse Reference Bible (Black)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eric L. Harris
Location:Missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible has no defects. Very well constructed. The binding and the leather are such that I am sure this one will last a lifetime. It uses the 2011 ESV text, which is a great translation, very accurate and reads very smoothly. I would recommend this to a pastor, preacher, teacher, or just a serious student for several reasons. It is essentially literal, verse by verse format, which makes finding passages and references faster and easier, the margins are wide so that note taking would be no problem in this Bible, it has a good concordance in the back, and it has references throughout. The references are off to the side so they don't clutter the page or distract from the text; in other words, they are there if you need them, and they are not there if you don't. I am really glad I made this purchase. The only improvement I would make is I would bump up the font size to 11 pt. The line spacing is good, so the 9 pt is very readable, I just prefer it a little bigger. No big deal. The paper is really thick, good quality. There is really no comparison between Crossway and Zondervan when it comes to quality control. This is a very fine Bible.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.