Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)

The ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible combines the popular Thinline Bible features with larger type and cross-references in a highly readable Bible for all uses. Though the Bible text is presented in generous 10.5-point type, the Large Print Thinline Reference Bible is close to one inch thin. In addition, cross-references are located in the bottom corner of each page, making this Crossway’s most affordable large print reference edition.

Features
  • Concordance
  • 8 pages of full-color maps
  • More than 80,000 cross-references
  • 10.5-point text size
  • Words of Jesus in red text
  • Double-column format
  • Lifetime guarantee
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold page edges
  • Presentation page
  • Family record pages
  • 9.50" x 6.50" x 1.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 out of 1883%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Review 1 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Printed in China.....

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
woodbrosfan
Location:Elkhart Lake, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A nice bible, bigger size printing, not big and heavy like the study bibles.
One thing I usually check, but overlooked....printed in CHINA. Disappointed with Crossway.
Support the American work force, buy American-made.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good transportable Bible with large print.

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bob D
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ESV is best translation I have found. The Thinline Bible offers true large type in a compact format. Small enough to carry or keep in briefcase and light enough to hold comfortably. Paper is thin, which allow highlighting color to peek through, but it is not bleed through -- it is just that paper is thin enough to be slightly translucent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product as usual!

Date:November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
bevp
Location:Upstate New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with the quality of this Bible. It's nice to have the larger print and a version that matches the version that my pastor uses for his sermons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Daily Bible

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
RWFOWLER
Location:Swannanoa NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as my everyday reading Bible and Im pleased with it. Easy to Read with good quality printing. Would recommend this Bible
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a privilege

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nom De Plume
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I tend to be very picky (unnecessarily so at times) when it comes to Bible selection; the font size, type face, feel of the bible, weight of the book, page thickness and more all come into play when I consider purchasing/using a Bible.
If you're looking for a thin-line Bible, with an easy-to-read format and font, that will serve as your plain, daily reading text, this Bible is for you.
And, I can only speak from my own experience, but I found the craftsmanship to be excellent.
I think you'll be highly delighted. It is a privilege to own such an edition.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Potential quality issues

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tertullian
Location:Binghamton, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I saw this Bible a few weeks ago at the Basics Conference at Alistair Begg's church and was impressed. The font was large enough to be easily read while teaching but the Bible was still of a manageable size. The brown top grain leather looked, felt, and even smelled great. (I'm not crazy; my mother had me tested!) Instead of buying it at the conference (at a generous 30% discount), I chose to wait and purchase it through another online vendor (I had been given a gift card). When it arrived, I was surprised to find that the cover looked, smelled, and smelled like a Trutone cover (it had that "rubber tire" smell). I wouldn't care if I hadn't paid $100 for it---I could get a Trutone for a lot less. I've contacted Crossway to see what they suggest. I know they use different publishing houses and sometimes product "slips through" that doesn't quite match Crossway's quality criteria. So, overall, it is a good Bible but keep your eyes open.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:March 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
CrispinRobles
Location:Diamond Bar, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Bible is disappointing on several levels. First, you need a microscope to read the cross-references. Wouldn't it have been better if Crossway had left them out and upped the font to 11 point? Or they could have made a verse-by-verse edition with cross-references after each verse. I have an attractive NKJV Bible in that format, and the font is 11 point. Very readable. Second, the paper is extremely thin, making it hard, even frustrating, to turn the pages. Third, if you want black-letter, you have to purchase the top-of-the-line brown leather edition, which costs nearly $100. Fourth, the 10.5 font seems small for its size. It might be the font design, or it might be my aging eyes, but I would not consider the font in this Bible to be large print. This is not surprising since Crossway considers 8-point font to be large print in another line they publish.
I have the large print Tru-Tone in 12.5 font, which is comfortable and enjoyable to read. However, the book has considerable bulk, so it's not a Bible I carry with me. It would be great if Crossway published something in-between like that excellent NKJV I mentioned above. Unfortunately, according to the Crossway web site, such a Bible does not seem to be in their plans.
Almost every Bible publisher puts out a light-weight and readable edition. However, I prefer the ESV translation. It is based on the RSV, of which I am very familiar through years of reading it. Crossway publishes an over-abundance of tiny-print Bibles, study Bibles, compact Bibles, and just about every kind of Bible you could want, but nothing in the affordable in-between niche. Here's a novelty: publish a basic text Bible with no bells and whistles, a Bible with a comfortable 11-11.5 font in a handy, portable format. Or does Crossway think that the ESV is so special that consumers will be happy with whatever they can get?
Until such an in-between edition is published, I'll continue to carry my midnight-blue NKJV and read my large-print ESV at home. As for the edition under review, I gave it to my sister as a gift.
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent quality for a great price

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Randy A Brown
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crossway has filled the ESV large print void with their recently released ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible. It’s a true thinline at one inch thick, but still has a 10.5 font and manages to find room for 80,000 cross-references. The unique layout sets the cross-references away from the text, improving readability.
Cover and Binding
The cover of this edition is an imitation leather known as TruTone. I really like Trutone. It has a great look and feel. I like how they press designs into the cover. The cover feels soft to the touch. It has a smooth grain- kind of like calfskin. The edges of the cover are stitched. This helps improve the quality of the cover construction, making the Bible last longer. It is paper lined, which makes the cover slightly stiff. The binding is Smyth sewn but it does have some difficulty lying flat in Genesis and Revelation. I suspect it will be OK once I’ve used it for a while and broken it in. I’ve already noticed it’s softening up as I use it. It’s available in several colors and styles.
Paper
The paper is thin and does have some show-through but it’s not as bad as I expected. Some show-through is to be expected in a slim-line of only 1 inch thick, but this paper is more opaque than many Bibles with thicker paper. The paper is white without any tinted shade (such as cream).
Text
The font is a sharp and readable 10.5. In my opinion it has just the right amount of boldness to be comfortable to read for long periods of time. It’s about a medium darkness.
This is a red-letter edition. The red letters continue throughout the New Testament, on into Revelation. I wish all red-letter texts would do that. The red text is about a medium shade. I found it easy to read.
The text includes the time-honored line-matching printing style of the renaissance. I love this printing style because there’re no distractions between the lines of text. This gives the page a cleaner look and improves readability.
Verse numbers are smaller but just a little bolder than the text. They’re not bold enough to be distracting, but just enough to make specific verses easier to find in the paragraphs.
Headings
The headings are in italics. To my eye they look slightly bolder than the rest of the text. Not much- about the same as the verse numbers.
References and Notes
This edition has over 80,000 cross-references. References and notes are located in different locations, away from the text. This helps make the page more readable. References are placed in the right column after the last verse on the page. The references have bold verse numbers and then the standard letters keying the reference to the text. If I were to voice one complaint it would be the size of the fonts of the references. The font is tiny compared to the large print font of the Bible text. I didn’t have any trouble reading it, but it was smaller than I would have liked; especially when you go from reading a nice comfortable-sized text to the small font of the references.
The translation notes are located at the bottom of the page and span both columns. They are keyed to the text with numbers, keeping in line with standard Bible publishing. The fonts for the translation notes are larger than the references and are much easier to read.
Concordance
The concordance is 60 pages and has 3 columns per page. There are more entries than I expected. It has 52 entries for “God”.
Maps
There are 8 color maps on thick glossy paper. The colors are more like earth-tone shades. One addition I would like to see would be an index to maps. This would map the maps more functional. The maps are labeled really well and I didn’t have any trouble finding anything I was looking for.
Ribbon
There is one ribbon. It is burgundy, .25 inches wide, and sticks out about 3.5 inches. It’s plenty long enough to be useable.
Conclusion
Crossway’s Large Print Thinline Reference Bible has a great layout. By placing references and notes in specific locations away from the Bible text they’ve made the text more readable. The fonts look great. If you only have one ESV edition in your library, the Large Print Thinline Reference is a great choice to consider. It’s my favorite size for a Bible. It would make a fine reading and carry Bible.
Pictures for this review can be seen on Bible Buying Guide.
Crossway provided this Bible free for review. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is very well made and the cover is really nice. The pages are easy to turn and it is even nicer than I thought it would be. the print size is perfect, not too small and not too big.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprisingly Good

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blair
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never had tru tone before and have been impressed with it so far. The quality of the Bible itself is excellent. It opens flat, print is clear and of a good size, and there is little bleed through. The footnotes, however, are microscopic, but that's not really an issue since I tend to make my own.
Paper quality is far superior to the Thinline NIV I recently bought for about the same price. OK it has a leather cover but, honestly, the leather is so cheap I almost prefer the trutone.
My only gripe is that it'd be great to have a thinline, large print Bible with wide margins. But I guess you can't have everything.
Well worth the price.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Great

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
bmcgirl
Location:Soringfield, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have loved my large print thinline Bible for years. I bought this one for my husband to use in the pulpit. I told him he would appreciate the larger print. The first time he used it, he agreed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding value

Date:November 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dareugo
Location:Lancaster, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Bibles at a good price are hard to find these days. This Bible is very nice, the print is easy to read, even for one with less than perfect eyesight and the price didn't break my budget.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not What I Expected

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Shaw
Location:Allen, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The print size, style, and depth of color in this ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible were not easy for me to read. The references, located together at the bottom right corner of each page, were tiny and difficult to read and follow. The genuine leather cover seemed well made, but had a very strong and objectionable chemical odor to it - not at all like leather.
Overall, though this Bible was not absolutely horrible, it was not what I expected; especially considering the good reviews I read, and the price I paid for it.
Christianbook.com allowed me to return and exchange it right away. They are a great resource for Bibles and books, and offer excellent customer service!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall the product was great, except.....

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
DoctorEd
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The type size was too small for my senior eyes. Although I have 20/20 corrected vision, the type was too small for extended study time. I would prefer at least as 12 point type for such as fine Bible.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Edition From Crossway

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Isaac Curtis Johnson
Location:Clinton, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crossway has been releasing quite a few editions of the ESV lately, and this edition, The ESV Large Print Thinline is at the top of the list.
This edition has white paper with a dark bold print. It also has line matching, which is a process done by the printer to make sure that the lines of text on the front of the page are "lined up" with the lines of text on the back of the page. That cut down on ghosting and allows for thinner (but still opaque) paper. The book block is also smyth sewn, so no need to worry about pages falling out. This Bible was built to last.
I have the top grain leather edition and it is very soft and flexible. The color is a deep dark chocolate brown that can be used in casual as well as formal settings. As far as the cover goes, I wish it had a leather liner and not the paper liner it does have.
The size of this Bible is almost perfect. I is hard to believe that a Bible with print this large could be as thin as it is. This for some could be their everything Bible in terms of preaching, teaching, study and devotional uses. It does all these things while being 1inch thick! WOW!
Thanks for such a wonderful edition Crossway
Be Encouraged:-)
T
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as I hoped

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doctor
Location:Hays Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice size for carrying and decent font size. The print is too light and the pages paper thin ( no pun intended ). The pages stick together and are hard to seperate at times. I will continue to use my ESV Large Print for home and continue to search for a better ESV to carry.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent preaching bible

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
mark Barrett
Location:Bothell, WA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The caliber of bibles Crossway is putting out is excellent. I was looking for a large print ESV for preaching and classroom teaching...the Thinline Large Print Ref. has exceeded all my expectation. Well done Crossway and well done CBD!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Large Print Thinline Reference Bible (TruTone, Burgundy, Celtic Cross)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value at this price point

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark Holloway
Location:Savannah, Ga.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ESV translation, my favorite. About an inch thick, has 10.5 point type which is decent size. Like all thinline bibles the pages are thinner, but even so the "ghosting" doesn't seem too bad. There is a good feel to this leather, its top grain leather,...not as soft as calfskin or goatskin but not as expensive either. Comes with Crossway's lifetime guarantee.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.