Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B. B. Kirkbride KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain

B. B. Kirkbride KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain

For years the unique Thompson Chain-Reference system has been a favorite study tool, and for good reason. Easy to learn and use, the Thompson Chain-Reference system contains over 100,000 topical references in over 8,000 chain topics, helping to make in-depth topical study and lesson preparation easier and more efficient. The Thompson Chain is also known for its excellent archaeological supplement and extensive collection of charts, diagrams, and other illustrations. Other features include a revised concordance, 16 pages of full-color maps, words of Christ in red, and Smythe Sewn reinforced tubular construction, which lies flat and provides a durable binding that will hold up to heavy use for years.

Features:

  • Thompson Chain-Reference System---over 100,000 marginal references covering 8,000 completed chain topics
  • Thompson instant-use guide included
  • KJV concordance
  • Numerical index of chain topics
  • Alphabetical index
  • Outline studies of the Bible
  • Bible character studies
  • Bible harmonies and illustrated studies
  • Hebrew calendar
  • Index to the Scriptures atlas
  • 6 point type
  • Double-column format
  • Wide margins
  • References in margins
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Subject headings
  • Concordance
  • Full-color maps
  • Archaeological supplement
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold gilded page edges
  • Smythe Sewn
  • Black genuine leather
  • Capri grain
  • 6" x 81/4" x 11/2"

Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 1587%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Review 1 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
heather
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Bible. Has great study tools. Shipping was fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best study bibles

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
mygeno
Location:Manteo, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love my Thompson Chain! So much so I bought one for each of my friends who are new to the ministry. There is so much information in the back - having the historic maps and the references to historic customs, etc., is priceless! It's so much easier understanding a scripture if you know what the customs were at that time or if you realize the distance that Jesus and the apostles traveled to spread the good news! Only thing missing is a commentary, but I have Matthew Henry's commentary right next to my Thompson Chain. Excellent book for those who are studying the bible, not just reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite Study Bible

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doug Sahady
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my review of the Thompson Chain Reference Bible, after having reviewed a number of “Study Bibles” in an attempt to select a Bible for daily Bible reading, and personal study (as well as teaching Sunday school). Having reviewed and purchased the Old Schofield, Ryrie, MacArthur, NIV Study Bible, Archaeology Study Bible, and other “non-study” Bibles, I can say that the Thompson is my absolute favorite. Why? Because it contains a wealth of study material that the others do not have, and these study materials are presented in an “old school” format with many being “illustrated”, and all of them being scripturally based, factual material, devoid of commentary within the text. These include illustrated studies and maps, archaeology supplement, teaching and memorization aids, book and chapter overviews, and much more. The Thompson is also tops in providing a person the means of using the Bible to study the Bible.
With that said, I want to make a comment concerning what I typically see listed as a “plus” of the Thompson. That being that since it doesn’t contain outside commentary, that it is superior to other study Bibles, because it allows a person to form their own view on Scripture. I somewhat disagree with this kind of statement. I disagree, because I do in fact believe that there is a right way to interpret Scripture…every Scripture. Every Scripture has a specific truth, and this truth is not subject to individual interpretation. That’s not to say that Scripture cannot have a personal application in an individual’s life, but I do not adhere to the idea of each person interpreting Scripture based on their own worldview. Therefore, as part of my Bible study, I do like reading commentaries by trusted theologians who have devoted their lives to the study and teaching the God’s Word. I just prefer these commentaries to be outside of my Bible proper. That way I can choose when I want to refer to one of these commentaries without being distracted while doing my daily reading.
My one complaint about the Thompson (well kind of a complaint, but not really), is that the Kirkbridge Bible Company has overhyped the quality of their Bibles. That’s not to say that the Bible isn’t well made. It is. It’s as well made as any of the other decent Bibles that I’ve purchased. It’s just not any nicer than those others. Having read the Kirkbridge website, I was expecting a little more, but my 2 Thompson’s are no better than previous purchases. The printing does vary a bit from page to page, some being noticeably darker than others. The red wording is often light, not a dark read, and some of the illustrated studies (3 to be exact) in the rear of the Bible were not printed well, having in some cases areas that were almost too faintly printed to read. These faint areas were mixed erratically, right within a map that was otherwise printed perfectly in most other areas of the same map, and also mixed within pages of other maps that were otherwise printed perfectly. This last issue is only true of one of my two Thompsons (a Handy version). My other, a large print edition, has maps that are all very nicely printed. Last the leather is nothing special, although based on what the website reads, one might expect it to be. The paper is of decent quality, and I do not notice the words printed on the opposing side of a page showing through into the page that I’m reading. Overall the Bible is no better, but again no worse than my other bibles. They just aren’t up to the standard advertised by the publisher IMO, which they use as a basis for justifying the slightly higher cost of their Thompson Chain bibles..
All of that said, I would highly recommend the Thompson if you want a good, solid, stand alone study Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor quality

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Toronto
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The content is fine but the quality of the Bible is poor. I will visit my local Bible bookstore to see if they have any older editions that were made of much better quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

our grandsons were thrilled

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Holiness Assembly
Location:Idabel,ok
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our oldest grandsons received these Bibles as gifts. They were very thrilled with them. I think most of the adults in our family use a Thompson Chain Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth Every Penny

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
lguse
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is one of the best Bibles ever. The Thompson Chain Reference bible lets you follow a topic through the bible without the opinions of others. It's just the bible. I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfection

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary CJ
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of the leather is soft and supple, and I was very pleased with the imprinting of my name on the front. I was a bit worried about the font size, but once I received my Bible, I found that it is easy for me to read. After researching the assorted new versions, particularly the ESV and NKJV, I decided to stick with the beautiful, traditional language of the KJV, mainly because I don't have to worry about omissions or semantic changes in translation. I have owned a Thompson Chain Reference Bible in the past, and found it to be an invaluable study guide. Numerous bonus illustrations and outlines provide excellent guidelines for developing lessons. Truly a fine source for scriptural inspiration as well as intensive study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beware of new spine

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As a pastor I have found no better study tool. I love the durability of the bible. I have used a handy size for years, which is what makes it a great bible for young people. I recently ordered this bible as a gift for a high school graduate at church. The only issue I had with the bible is the new spine: Kirkbride now prints "Thompson Chain Reference" on THE ENTIRE SPINE. It looks like an advertisement (You can see it in the new photo; added after I ordered). I would not have been upset if they had printed "Holy Bible" on it, but instead they have to let everyone know it is a Thompson Chain Reference! The fact it is GOD'S HOLY WORD is more important to me. Overall I would still recommend this bible for anyone looking for a quality study Bible in a convenient size. A bible case would hide the spine.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Highly Recommended

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miss Meekle
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned a Thompson Chain Reference Bible for several years, and when I ordered this Bible in this size I expected it to be much the same size as my previous Bible. I was greatly mistaken -- I still can't believe they were able to pack all the awesome references, concordance, helps, notes, etc. into such a compact size! Very easy to carry around, and fits nicely into a medium Bible cover. The font was smaller than in my previous Bible, but not so small as to be uncomfortable for reading. The pages don't feel any thinner to me than any other small Bible's pages. I would highly recommend this to anyone who would like a compact, handy size Thompson Chain Reference Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bruce Allen
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thompson Chain Reference Bible - what more needs to be said? I bought this particular bible because of its size. It is the "Handy-Size" edition. I bought the KJV translation, but I would have preferred the NKJ. However, the NJK did not come in this size. If Kirkbride decides to publish a "Handy-Size" NKJ, I would definitely buy one. The "Handy-Size" print is small, but not so small that it cannot be read with ease. The binding is good. The paper is a little thin, but manageable. If you have never owned a Thompson Chain Reference Bible, I would recommend that you consider purchaing one. It is an excellent study tool and one that you would use a lot in your sermon preparation time or for personal study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Color not right

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
angelams
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered a burgundy bible but when I received it, it is more like brown than burgundy. I have the same bible that I bought several years ago and mine is actually a burgundy color. My son wanted a bible just like mine. I don't think my son will be happy with the color. I wish I could exchange it but his birthday is December 22nd and I'm sure it could not be exchanged in time even if the company had the correct color.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bible with great reference / study aids

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
rocket771
Location:Lake Jackson, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great Bible. I have owned several in my life, and have always recommended this study bible, as I have also purchased several for family members and friends. You cannot get a better study system in my opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my bible

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor123
Location:Columbia, Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love the Bible that i got from you. I believe that it is a great study bible. And you can not beat KJV anyway!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Bible

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
buggyvirus1
Location:Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bible has the verses in the center and information on the outer sides. The font is very small and is hard on the eyes, but other than that everything works out beautifully. There are tabs so you can find your chapter fast, summaries before each chapter, and everything the Thompson Chain promises it delivers. Highly recommended in a larger font (trust me this one is very tiny)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

VG, Bible study tool - current ed. has POOR QUALIT

Date:December 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
lessthantheleast
Location:Philadelphia,Pa.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased the HANDY SIZE Thompson Chain reference Bible in Dec. 2010, the Bible was actually printed in April,2010. Having owned several Thompson chain's over the years - I am very impressed with this Bible's overall layout & vast amount of Helpful information. I use it mainly during the preparation of sermons. It is very easy to use and is designed to let scripture interpret scripture, with a minimum of notes/commentary of the Biblical text. I LOVE MINE and would not part with them! Even so, the current editions have 2 faults that I absolutely hate!
1. The " red" print is sometimes more BROWN than red, and when it is actual red in is a VERY LIGHT RED, more like pink - this makes it harder to read!! Something very important to those whose eye's are not what they used to be. 2. The paper is VERY THIN, which doesn't tend to promote long lasting service over many years. Also, even worst than that-you can see the print of the next page COMING THROUGH the page you are looking at because of the POOR QUALITY of the paper! This make reading & meditating upon the current scripture difficult & distracting. I have two older edition thompson chain's and they actual have BOLD,BRIGHT RED PRINT and they also are made with quality paper that doesn't [ BLEED THROUGH ] from page to page. KIRKBRIDE has apparently sacrificed a QUALITY BIBLE for LARGER PROFITS! Thereby confirming the truth of 1 TIM. 6:10. As it stands now I WILL NOT be purchasing ANY MORE Thompson chain Bibles from KIRKBRIDE for this very reason. It is a shame to offer such a QUALITY BIBLE with such POOR features as KIRKBRIDE currently does!! But even with these defects , I would still recommend this Bible because it has so many good things about it - namely. EASE OF USE, SIMPLE EFFECTIVE LAYOUT,LOADED WITH EXCELLENT INFORMATION,MANY CHARTS,TABLES,STUDY HELPS, it is a real TIME SAVER for preachers/teachers in preparing sermons/lessons!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
A Bible Reader
I received my bible within 4 business days and had it imprinted! When the book is closed, there are a few pages that stick out VERY slightly, however everything about this handy-sized Thompson is awesome! I think it is the 15th printing and it reads 'Printed in the United States'. Other reviewers mentioned Korea, however the more recent printing has returned to the US. The leather feels really nice and I look forward to seeing how it holds up over the years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Zo Vrana
I love this bible. The cross-reference makes bible study so easy. There is valuable information included in the back. The handy size is easy to carry but still big enough read. I would reccommend it to anyone looking for a gift for a new or a seasoned Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tiffany Colon
I bought this as a gift for my husband. He loves it. The lettering on the embossing wasn't very clear though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phillip Nichols
I have owned Thompsons for years and although the construction has occasionally slacked off. The Content has always been a must have in Sunday School. It is almost like bring a Strongs and Naves Study-aids with you without the bulk! We have many in our home right now. No one has time to share! ;-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Handy Size, Black Genuine Leather, Capri Grain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emily Beck
I really enjoy the Thompson Chain Referance bible. It is a great study tool for digging deeper into Gods Word. I would definately reccomend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>