Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Easter Experience, DVD

Thomas Nelson The Easter Experience, DVD

Make the life-changing story of Easter real for your small group through the dramatic storytelling and challenging teaching of Kyle Idleman. State-of-the art production and in-depth study will keep members engaged in discussing Christ's Passion and resurrection as they bond with each other—and with the eternal message of Scripture. A unique, video driven small group study that brings the passion and resurrection of Jesus to life.

What "The Passion of the Christ" did for moviegoers, The Easter Experience will do for small groups and churches everywhere. With passionate acting, high quality video presentations, and impactful teachings and messages The Easter Experience can't help but inspire you. Includes six 20-minute sessions, leader's guide, and promotional material. Participant Guides are sold separately: WW534004.

Average Customer Rating:
4.895 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Easter Experience, DVD
Review 1 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent teaching and acting

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
grammoo
Location:Bowling Green, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our ladies' Bible study group did this a couple of years ago, and most of them said it was the best study they ever attended. The teaching of Kyle Idleman helped me to see things that I had never considered before, even though I've been in church all my life. The Easter Experience is exactly that - an opportunity to experience the story of the resurrection of Jesus from a new perspective. So glad I found this life-changing study!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great dvd about the purpose for easter

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
iluvmesumu
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dvd encourages the audience to put themselves in the shoes of some of the people involved during that time. I really liked the part when Jesus was about to get nailed to cross it shows how he wasn't forced but knew His purpose and chose to fulfill it. Many Easter films neglect to show that he chose to die and I think its really important and insightful that this film included it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teacher
Location:Groom,TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Easter experience produced by City on a Hill is very well done. It is tastefully put together with Kyle Idleman giving many wonderful thought provoking insights. It has a great discussion guide & questions....small reading assignments that are easily managed by participants. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thankful
I personally would give this more stars if possible. I think these DVD's are annointed. I'm hoping to be able to share this set with my church group and beyond. I sincerely recommend. The acting may leave a bit to be desired in places, but the narration is spot on in my opinion. Very moving.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Depth

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Snoopy
Location:Parksville, BC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study allowed our group to take a look at the Easter Story in a whole new way. There are so many lessons here that I never considered. You may think you know the story but after this study you'll have a deeper apreciation and understanding of why Jesus suffered and died for us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You will never view Easter the same way....

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
YoYo
Location:Virginia
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave Quality 3 stars due to the sound. Sound flutuated up and down on all disks and though out all the scenes so you had to continually adjust the volume., besides the mechanical blimp the Easter Story is very well done and should be on your "Do not miss" List!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This DVD teaching series is POWERFUL.

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
ANGIE0402
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using this series for a bible study in the workplace. The DVD is very important for this study because it brings the scripture to life. I highly recommend this for any small group study. The narration and production are top notch!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trina Ross
Location:Nova Scotia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Awesome watch anytime not just at Easter. Everyone should see it. It will let you see how tragic the death of Jesus was and how great it was for Him to rise again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changing!

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anns
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Sunday School class LOVED this series. It is very well done and the commentary really makes the meaning of what happened then revelant to today. The characters were cast very well. As far as graphic, yes to a certain extent. However I think we need to see and "feel" that somewhat in order to really understand the depth of God's love for us. Most of it was insinuated and not actually shown, such as the beating of Jesus before crucifixion.
Overall, this is an excellent series and I highly recommend it. Remember to bring a box of tissues!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what expected from reviews

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susie
Location:Kansas
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very graphic scenes in the DVD. Christ's painful death was not elaborated in such a way and to sensationalize it for the drama effect was disappointing. and disturbing. I could not bring that to a Bible Study class.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic! Well done and very meaningful.

Date:December 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Servant
Location:Central & Western Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD and study was shared with a Men's Bible Study group just prior to Easter and during a Christian Retreat Weekend just after Easter with a mixed group of men, women and youth. Both times it was well received and the message was very powerful, touching and meaningful. The discussion continued long after the study was completed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lloyd Bucher
This is by far the best Video teaching lessons I have ever used. You will not leave one with out being changed. This is a top rate production. I hope they start to do things like this for the rest of the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margaret DeVries
A wonderful study for those not yet Christians, for new Christians, or for mature Christians - we've all learned and come to appreciate the sacrifice of Jesus. Excellent production, excellent presentation. The women in my Mom Time group didn't want to miss a sessionl.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judy Castro
This was an awesome experience for our church. It really opened the eyes of each and everyone. Great production and observations. We highly recommend this DVD series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2010
this dvd sessions is really a must! if you know jesus as your savior or you don't, the message and the way it is presented will impact you. we especially like it for small groups an it's quick, only 6 episodes. the other series they made is also fantastic. praise the lord for these resources!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Clarke
I have used this DVD set for my small group and it was an amazing exeperience to see how peoples eyes were reopened to the depth of why Christ died and rose again. It is absolutely worth buying! I also watched it with a non-believer and it moved them greatly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Frank Brignoli
My first reaction after seeing a preview on TBN was "I had to have this to show my friends and family" I immediatly came to Christianbook.com and ordered "The Easter Experience". I waited patiently for it to arrive and when it did I set up my DVD player and played each episode and was really blessed except for one thing.Something was missing. The piece on TBN showed Mary, Mary Magdeline and Peter expressing their heartbreak on Good Friday. The whole reason I ordered the DVD set in the first place was not in the box. I had shared with all who would listen to me that I had never seen anything so moving, so poignant, so expressive and behold the DVD arrived and that wasn't there.I E-Mailed City on a Hill and they told me that was the "Good Friday Episode" and it was on the Church DVD. I wish there was some indication in the original AD when ordering. Is it possible to get a copy of "The Good Friday Episode" to complete my set?? Please help.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
George Olmos
You will get information and veiw points you've never considered before. Real- Something for everyone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Easter Experience, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
GSC
EVERY Christian and non-Christian should watch this DVD and participate in the full study! This not only brings "The Passion of the Christ" to a more personal level, but you will find yourself "captured" in the drama taking place as if you were there! For those not familiar with the events depicted, they will gain a desire to find out more about Christ. Kyle's thought provoking storytelling provides a deeper revitalized realization to Christ's Passion and Resurrection for even the mature Christian.Plan on participating in this study as you WILL be Inspired!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.