Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook

Thomas Nelson Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook

Power. Grace. Strength. Fearlessness. That is Living Life in the Zone. For many men, there is nothing more exciting than seeing an athlete elevate his game to another realm. Quarterbacks thread passes through impossibly tight creases. Golfers sink pressure-packed putts. Sluggers park baseballs ten rows deep in the cheap seats. Everything came into focus. Against all reason, time slowed down.

If only we mortals were so lucky. Between the stresses of work and the pressures of parenthood and marriage, our time-our life-flies by faster than major league fastball. Can we hope to elevate our game and enter the zone?Living Life in the Zone is a 40-Day spiritual journey for discovering abundant life. Filled with inspirational Scriptures and real-life stories of playmakers such as Tony Dungy, Allan Houston, Kurt Warner, and John Wooden, this game plan will teach you what God has in store for men living in his Zooooooone
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Review 1 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

40 Helpful Bible Studies for Christian Men

Date:December 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
JFG101
Location:Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The authors, who are the co-founders of In the Zone Ministries, a sports-oriented men’s Christian ministry, offer forty brief Bible lessons in a format that can be used for personal study and reflection or incorporated as study material for men’s Bible classes or men’s small group meetings. Each lessons follows the same format: Coach’s Corner (a few paragraphs introducing each topic), Game Plan (a brief Bible study on the topic), Playmakers (illustrations using sports figures to apply the lesson from the Bible study), Time Out (questions for thought or discussion), Today’s Assignment, and Home Field Advantage (blank lines for listing prayer points).
The forty lessons are grouped into six primary areas: 1) “How Do You Know When You Are ‘Living Life in the Zone’?” 2) “Finding the Zone in Your Relationship with Your Wife,” 3) “Finding the Zone in Your Relationship with Your Children,” 4) Find the Zone in Your Relationships with Your Friends,” 5) Finding the Zone in Your Relationships at Work,” and “Finding the Zone as You Look to the Future.”
The need for such a book is obvious to anyone familiar with problems faced by males in modern American culture. Being a Christian does not mean necessarily that we will be experts in how men should function in these important relationships. This book is not intended to be an in depth all-purpose resource, but it presents basic advice to Christian men in an approach that is both useful and understanding.
The book is intended to deal with practical issues men face in everyday life so it does not have a strong doctrinal emphasis. Nevertheless, readers should evaluate doctrinal teaching in light of what the Bible actually says.
Overall, this is a most worthwhile book.
A free copy was provided by the publisher for review purposes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The product has great sports stories!

Date:December 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cory McCaig
Location:Bowling Green, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Living Life in the Zone by Kyle Rote Jr. and Joe Pettigrew is a forty-day spiritual devotional guide for men. It is infused with sports terminology and stories from such sports figures as Larry Bird, Joe Namath, and Orel Hershiser, to spark the interest of the sports loving fan, but at the same start them on a road of spiritual growth. The purpose of this book is to help men discover the abundant life that Jesus promises. The book covers six major themes: knowing that your life is in the zone, your wife, your children, your friends, your work, and your future.
Overall, I found this book to be quite interesting. Being a sports fan myself, I found the stories from some of the sports world’s greatest athletes, to be very inspiring. Each section will challenge the reader and make them think about the personal walk with the Lord. This is a very good attempt to attract the attention of the hearts of men, through the use of what men would like and the straight forward approach in which it is written. Each day God’s truth is presented in a fresh and challenging way that men really need. I defiantly recommend this book to any sports loving, but spiritually hungry man out there!
Disclosure: I did receive a free review copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers, but was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Guide for all Males

Date:December 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review : Living Life in the Zone - Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew - December 2009
For all those Christian Males out there of all ages , this is the book for you. As a fellow Christian , I know that we are always trying to find ways to get closer to God and build a strong relationship with him and open our hearts and lives to him. As females, we are pretty open and easy to building relationships as females tend to be more emotional, Whereas Males tend to be more physical in their doings. When you think of sport , games like rugby or depending where in the world you live -football -what gender comes to mind ? Males. That is why authors Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew have developed a devotional guide in the form of a 40 day Spiritual Game Plan - Each day has a different topic and includes 6 sections - the first is the thought of the day , a little quote to get you into the mood of the devotion, the second is called "The Coach's Corner" - a bit like the inspirational speeches the coaches give before the team heads onto the game field , the third is "The Game Plan" - not named after the movie starring The Rock but a Game Plan is the way the team is going to play and includes their tactics, strategies etc , the fourth part is "Playmakers" - these are the people who are the most important people in the game e.g in Basketball everybody is has their own positions and are the playmakers for that game. The fifth part is "Time Out" - in a game, this tends to be about halfway through a time for the team to recap and get ready for the final half. In Living Life in the Zone, the "Time Out" is a time for you to reflect on a couple questions that have to do with that day's devotional and finally the last part is "Home Field-Advantage: - this tends to signify a win in the game and the end of the game - in Living Life in the Zone, the Home field advantage is the crucial part in the devotional where you let God into what you are feeling and pass all your problems, concerns, questions to him .
A guide that no matter whether you are an old christian or a new christian or even slightly interested in getting to know God and you are a Male - Living Life in the Zone by Kyle Rote Jr and Dr. Joe Pettigrew is the perfect bedside companion next to your bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is a helpful life tool

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
squidmom
Location:San Angelo, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really impressed with this book-it definitely delivered what it promised. It's a 40 day spiritual game plan for men, in language they can relate to, with inspiring real life stories of other men who they respect. I would definitely give this to the men in my life and recommend it to others. I feel like all of the tools needed for a closer walk with God and better relationships with others are n this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great devotional for men

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doorkeeper
Location:Altus, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a 40-day devotional geared towards men and the stresses and difficulties they endure on a daily basis.
The general theme for this book is sports and how we can apply "sports" themes and ideas into our mindset to conquer each day ahead of us. Being an avid sports fan, I found the subject matters to hit home and convey new ideas for coping with life. There are ample resources cited throughout the book, including inspirational quotes and Bible references.
I would also be quick to point out...this is intended for a male audience. That said, there are elements of this book that can apply to both genders. Overall, "Living Life in the Zone" is an excellent devotional guide that inspires the reader to be a better person, to strive for our goals in life, and you can truly make a difference in the world you live in.
Overall, "Living Life in the Zone" is a great devotional book that I would recommend ALL men to read and grow from. It is short enough to fit your daily readings comfortably into any schedule, and the difference you will see in your life and those around you will amaze you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is an excellent book for men

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Toyin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living life in the zone is a 40 day daily devotional for men written by Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew.
The authors call it a 40 day spiritual game plan for men (I guess this is because it is written in a sports format that appeals to most men).
I took my time studying this book as the authors intended and found it to be a very reflective and inspirational daily devotional.
The authors acknowledge the fact that forty days is considered by God as a spiritually significant period of time in which he accomplishes his purposes. The authors further prove their point by giving us eleven instances where God used 40 days to change to change lives and situations.
The book covers a wide range of topics and is divided into 6 sections that cover every facet of a man’s life. Each week there is a different theme that makes you stop and ponder about your relationship with God, your wife, children, friends, co-workers and your future plans.
It sports oriented as it seeks to relate to the active/sporty side of men. As a woman, I was not bored with the book, I actually found it fascinating and I can imagine how much more interested the men would be.
This is a book I would recommend as a gift for a male figure dear to any woman. It boosts the morale and serves as a Spiritual guide. Although biblical passages were sparsely referred to, the authors tried as much as possible to make you dig deeper by giving daily assignments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Awesome Devotional for Men!

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living Life in the Zone: A 40 Day Spiritual Game Plan for Men," by Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew is an ideal devotion for men that are into sports. Each devotion is short, but applicable and is broken down into 7 sections:
1. Thought for the Day: A Synapse of the Devotional
2. The Coaches Corner: The teaching of the day.
3. The Game Plan: The Specific Points out of the Day's Teaching backed up with Scripture.
5. Playmakers: Example (Good or Bad) of someone from the Sports World.
6. Time Out: A time of Reflection and Prayer
7. Today's Assignment: A way to apply the teaching in a practical way.
At first glance this looks like a lot for a single day's devotional, but it actually isn't that long... 15 minutes at the most!
You can always tell how a book impacted me by turning to the back cover and seeing all the references I catalogued with specific page numbers. In, "Living in the Zone," my back cover was full of stories and references I didn't want to forget. I was truly inspired by the vivid examples that the book uses from the arena of sports. I laughed and at points cried from seeing God work in people's lives. I found myself sharing the content of the book on more than one occasion.
One story out of the book that really impacted me was the story about Orel Hershiser. Hershiser attributed his love for God as THE motivating factor and source of all his strength while playing in the Major Leagues and he had some pretty remarkable achievements: He was a three-time National League All-Star and pitched eighteen years for Los Angeles, Cleveland, San Francisco, and the New York Met's. In 1988, he was named the World Series Most Valuable Player and Associated Press Athlete of the Year as well as Sports Illustrated Sportsman of the year. He won the Cy Young Award as the National League's best pitcher. He was also a three-time National League All-Star Pitcher.
What I did not know about Orel Hershiser is that in the face of a noisy stadiums, Hershiser would often calm himself down on the mound by singing Christian Hymns. The night after winning the world series he was interviewed on the Tonight Show by Johnny Carson in which he was asked what he was singing during the decisive game of the World Series. In response, Hershiser stood tall and began singing the Doxology:
"Praise God, from Whom all blessings flow;
Praise Him, all creatures here below;
Praise Him above, ye heavenly host;
Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost."
What an incredible story and witness... and that's just one of the many stories that touched my heart!
Some of the featured playmakers (Both Good and Bad Examples) include: Charles Barkley, Bill Bates, Coach Bill Belichick, Larry Bird, Coach Bobby Bowden, James Brown, Coach Bear Bryant, Truett Cathy, Lee Corso, John Daly, Coach Tony Dungy, Clay Dyer, J.D. Gibbs, Mike Glenn, Coach Mike Gottfried, A.C. Green, David Green, Orel Hershiser, Coach Mike Homgren, Coach Lou Holtz, allan Houston, Wayne Huizenga Jr., Magic Johnson, Bobby Jones, Michael, Jordan, Coach Bobby Knight, Coach Tom Landry, Ken Lay, Coach Vince Lombardi, Archie Manning, Chris Mortensen, Joe Namath, Coach Tom Osborne, Terrell Owens, Bud Paxson, Scottie Pippen, Coach Mark Richt, Mark Sanford, Arnold Schwarzenegger, O.J.Simpson, Ron Springs, Coach Gene Stallings, Roger Staubach, Les Steckel, Bob Stoops, Joe Theismann, Michael Vick, Everson Walls, Kurt Warner, Bob Weiland, Reggie White, Coach John Wooden.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good choice for a sports-loving Christian man

Date:November 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Snowflakes
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Living Life In The Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Game Plan for Men" by Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew
A spiritual game-plan for sports-loving men, this devotional combines Biblical insight with real-life examples of sports figures and successful businessmen “Playmakers” to help men grow in their faith as leaders of their home, husbands, fathers, friends and as an employee.
As the wife of an all-season sports fanatic, this book sparked my interest from the start. Upon seeing that some of the “Playmakers” highlighted throughout the devotional included some of my personal favorites - Lou Holtz (who doesn’t love Dr. Lou!) and Bobby Bowden (Go, Noles!!!), I was hooked. I enjoyed the vignettes about men who, although not perfect, chose to put God’s precepts first in their life, and how it applied to the specific “Thought of the Day” and “Game Plan.” I thought the authors phrased things in a very accessible way, and I am fairly certain my husband will enjoy reading this book. I believe men will profit from it spiritually, as well as be better equipped to share Christ and disciple others. I did think that the “Plan of Action” at the end of each chapter is a little simplistic, with no follow-up the next day, and some of them are long-term applications, which would benefit from further discussion. It is also my opinion that this devotional is better suited for a man who already has a relationship with Christ, as it presupposes some understanding of Biblical living. Overall, though, this was a really interesting read, with a lot of good spiritual insight with strong Biblical support and contemporary examples. Worth a look for the sports-loving Christian man in your life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Might just get you off the couch Sunday morning.

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
dadam
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Growing up in South Central Texas, the Kyle Rote name was very familiar to me, but when I moved away from Texas and started playing rugby the name dropped out my field of vision, that is, until I picked up a copy of his latest book Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men. Kyle Rote Jr teams up with Dr Joe Pettigrew in this 40-day devotional study aimed at sports-minded men.
For the man who feels guilty sitting at home on Sunday morning watching sports while his wife and kids attend church, this may just be the book that helps you put down the remote and get off the couch. The authors don't preach, but instead gently encourage you to re-examine the choices you make with compelling anecdotes and sound scriptural backing. Before the forty days are up you may just find yourself with a better relationship with your wife, your kids and your Savior. Pastors looking for sermon illustrations will also find a treasure trove of interesting stories that may just help to keep the Sunday sports fanatic coming back for more and men's groups looking for new study material will be thankful to find a study that speaks to men where they are. I've already loaned my copy out to my pastor and can recommend this study to any man searching for a simple bible-based study on marriage, kids, work and faith.
Disclosure of Material Connection: As a blogger, I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great resource for men to have daily scripture

Date:November 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Guiding Light
Location:St Louis, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given the opporitunity to review this book – which is actually for men – which is a 40-day Spriritual Game Plan. I wanted to check it out because I am curious, for my husband and sons, what is available for men to read and study.
Each 40-day reading is structured like this:
Thought of the day – a short idea to ponder
The Coach’s Corner – Discovering the relevance of God’s Word in your life
The Game Plan – What the Word of God has to say about today’s topic
Playmakers – Real-life examples of real men in the real world
Time Out – Questions for personal reflection
Today’s Assignment – Action items for today
Home-Field Advantage – Praises and concerns you want to bring before God
This brings different important points from the Scriptures and mixes them with coaching ideas in ways that help put them into something that applies to us today.
I enjoyed this book and hope to have my husband read it as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great devotional book for the sports-minded man!

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
mjomin52
Location:Petersburg, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living Life in The Zone is subtitled “A 40 Day Spiritual Game Plan for Men.” Written by Kyle Rote, Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew, the book combines inspirational stories, sports terminology, biblical wisdom, and practical application to teach us what God intends for our lives. From their “in the zone” reference in the title, to the breakdown of each chapter into areas like “coach’s corner” and “time out,” the authors attempt to appeal to the sports-minded interest of many men.
Utilizing the examples of successful men that most of us know from following sports and/or business, they show us that we can find fulfillment in our lives and “elevate our game” into the zone that God has for us. With thought provoking questions for each day and assignments to put it all into practice, Living Life in the Zone is an excellent devotional book, especially for the former jock or current sports fan.
Every athlete has looked at a scoreboard to see how he or his team is doing. How are we doing in the most important game of all, the game of life? This book helps us to both evaluate that and to improve upon what we are doing.
Disclosure of material connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the booksneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For the athlete or coach in your life

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Greenville, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I was intrigued by this book as a former athlete (yes I said former) and football coach's wife. Even though this is written by men for men, I still was intrigued.
This devotional guide strikes a perfect balance between being too heady to process and too fluffy to want to read. Authors Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew worked very hard on each daily entry to develop it with relevant life examples, Biblical references, and thought provoking questions. Perhaps there is a lean in this focus towards the competitive mind, but I truly think anyone could draw life challenges for developing a deeper heart for God.
Because this book is written for men, I gave it to a few football coaches and players to glance at. I asked them to pick a few days to read, reflect on it, and tell me if it was "worth their time". Each person who handed this book back to me told me it was not only worth their time, but would be purchasing a copy for themselves so they could read all 40 days.
Life application is always a big deal for me as a reader. I do not like books that tell you how you should live but give no examples of how to apply it. This book gives you a "game plan" every day for applying what you are reading. References are drawn from coaches, athletes and fans of sports. Additionally, I thought that the authors did a great job of covering major areas and topics that men deal with. Home life, Family life, their own personal walk with God, it's all there. I would highly suggest this book. I also think this book is written in a way that high school students can learn a great deal, and yet it is also challenging enough for men well into their lives to learn from it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Hunter
Living Life In the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Game Plan For Men, written by Kyle Rote, Jr. and Dr. Joe Pettigrew, is designed to be a devotional/self-study tool for men. I really enjoyed the way the authors used a topic (sports) that most men can relate to and gave real life testimonies on how men can deepen their relationships with God, family, friends and grow their faith.They can do so by 3 simple processes. Starting with an Idea, then having a game plan, and finally having time out or a daily assignment to help you reach your goal. This is a book that i am passing on to my teenage sons to help prepare them for adulthood and to be Men of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Corey
The book "Living Life in the Zone: A 40 Day Spiritual Game Plan for Men" by Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr Joe Pettigrew is a tremendous tool for any man eager to grow in their faith. It is designed as a self study discipleship tool for men. It does not shy away from topics that are both relevant and hard-hitting to men such as marriage, sexuality, integrity, and many others. The authors use personal examples to illustrate to us the keys to spiritual growth in different areas and I think that this book would be an excellent tool for discipleship and group study. If a small group of men were to be able to come together and use this as a tool for study and accountability I think that the 40 days of spiritual growth would be the beginning of something incredible and even further reaching! I highly recommend this book and would very much encourage you to check it out or even take the step to read it with a friend who may be needing some direction in their life as well! (I am a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Sneeze)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tom Jamieson
Love. Marriage. Family. Faith. Friends. Work.How do you know you are living life in the zone?This is the question posited by this book.The answer lies within you.Living Life in the Zone is a 40-day excursion into a man's life. But it is also more than that. It is a journey into a man's heart and mind.The authors clearly communicate the truths of "living life" in the zone in a way that is both engaging and interesting. I especially like the systematic setup for each day's reading. The authors seamlessly move the reader from idea (the coach's corner) to thought organization (the game plan) to action (time out and daily assignment). By providing more than simple ideology, and giving the reader something tangible to do each day, this book hits a grand slam in the practicality category. The sports theme and references don't hurt either. This is definitely a book targeted toward men and the things they love -- including sports.After 40 days of reading this book, the reader will be much better prepared to live life the way God intended as it relates to family, friends, and faith.I definitely recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Joy Pershing
The book "Living Life in the Zone-A 40 day spiritual game plan for men" by Kyle Rote Jr. and Dr Joe Pettigrew is my latest read. It is designed as a self study discipleship tool for men. It hits all the basics of the Christian life in a creative and constructive way and also addresses topics that are left untouched by most curriculum such as a marriage, purity, and addiction.I wasn't sure about reading a book for men at first...but I found the book suprisingly exciting and thorough in its approach to the topic. What I enjoyed most were the real life examples that the writer used to illustrate his points. This book would would make an excellent men's small group study or serve as a good follow up tool for a man discipling another man.I highly recommend this book and encourage you to get this book into the hands of church leaders and those who are active in discipleship ministries.And don't forget...Father's Day is coming soon...why not give your hubby this amazing book instead of a tie this year? You'll both be glad you did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patrick Judd
This book really hit home with me. It opened my eyes to several areas in my life I need to re-evaluate or change. I liked it so much that I purchased extra copies for my two sons and some of my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill P
For any man needed to have a good guide and structure, this is the book for you! 40 great devotionals that challenge, guide, and allow you to walk in His footsteps. With incredible stories by many famous sports figures, this is today's man's devotional.I love ending my day with the challenge so I know how to focus the next day.This is an INCREDIBLE book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gordon Marcy
Sports metaphors abound in the book, beginning with the title.When someone says an individual athlete or team is In The Zone, it means theyre on fire. Their game is going according to plan. There is a rhythm and flow to their endeavors that seems unstoppable. The aim of the book is to help men discover the key to staying in the zone-Gods zone-for life.Each chapter has seven sections. Here are the titles and a taste of the coaching found in each section.Thought of the Day - While many people want you to do what they need done, there is only one person you ultimately have to please.The Coachs Corner - Life coaching from a Christian perspective by the authors. Life is meant to be about pleasing God and no one else!The Game Plan - What the Bible teaches about each chapters theme. Work hard in all your activities. And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men. Colossians 3:23Playmakers - Stories of outstanding men, good role models, from sports, business and politics. In Audience of One, read about Pat Tillman, a budding star in the NFL who enlisted in the army and at the age of twenty-seven was killed by friendly fire. There are also stories of men with imperfections. Some that made serious mistakes.Time Out - Practical questions. What do you feel God is calling you to do for Him today?Todays Assignment - Challenges meant to inspire action. If you have only job today, and that is to please God, what will you do differently?Home-Field Advantage - A place to journal thoughts, prayers and results from reading the book.Living Life In The Zone is designed to be used as a 40-day devotional. Why 40-days? The authors explain that God often used 40-day time periods in the Bible for major transformations. Their hope is that in 40-days, God will forever change the lives of men that commit to seeking Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Living Life in the Zone: A 40-Day Spiritual Gameplan for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrs Herrera
A travs de Book Sneeze obtuve este libro. Es un libro para hombres, hecho por hombres, que habla sobre cmo podemos mantenernos "en la zona" de Dios. Es muy ameno y se lee rpido. Hay una lectura para cada da (son 40 das) que incluye testimonios de atletas profesionales, el sustento Biblico del tema, la meditacin del da y algunas preguntas para reflexionar. En este libro aprenders cmo mejorar t relacin con Dios, con tu familia. tu trabajo, tus amigos y sobre todo contigo mismo. Personalmente, recomiendo este libro porque la informacin esta presentada de manera sencilla y directa. A su vez, te hace pensar y te invita a hacer cambios en tu vida. Mi nico pero es que hay varios captulos enfocados a la familia: esposa y/o hijos. No tengo ningn problema con eso pero en mi caso no puedo aplicar esa informacin porque no estoy casado ni tengo hijos. Ciertamente, me es til conocer esta informacin pero no es lo que ms me urge ni lo que ms creo necesitr ahora. Y lo otro es que el libro es en ingles. Ojala lo saquen en Espaol.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>