Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Love on a Dime - eBook

Thomas Nelson Love on a Dime - eBook

Newport, Rhode Island, 1899, is a place of shimmering waves, sleek yachts, and ladies of leisure. Of opulent mansions that serve as summer cottages for the rich and famous. Home of railroad magnates and banking tycoons--dashing young men and the women who aspire to marry them.

But it's not the place for lady novelists. Especially not those who pen disreputable dime novels. This poses a problem for Lilly Westbrook, because that's exactly what she does.No one in Lilly's social set knows she pens fiction under the nom de plume Fannie Cole. Not her family or the wealthy young man about to propose to her. And especially not Jackson Grail, the long-lost beau who just bought her publishing company...and who stirs her heart more than she cares to admit.

Average Customer Rating:
4.283 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love on a Dime - eBook
Review 1 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable from the first word to the last

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debra
Location:Waycross, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a very fulfilling but stressful job as a hospice nurse. At the end of the day I loved curling up and reading Love on a Dime. There was love and suspense. Very enjoyable reading. The message within the story helped to lighten my heart and encourage me. Great work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not too shabby...

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So, this book was well written and the characters were engaging and the story kept the pages turning, but that's about all. I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent in it, but I don't think I'd read it again. I found Lilly a little bit frustrating at times, but I suppose when you got involved with a character, it's the sign that the author did a first rate job. My first book by Cara James, and I think I'd definitely give her other books a try!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I laughed and giggled all the way through this book. I found Lilly(aka Fanny Cole) trying to keep her writing a secret from Jackson who is trying to court her but also trying to find out who Fanny Cole really is. I enjoyed this book very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good book! It was very interesting and there were some parts that I just didn't see coming! Wouldn't mind reading it again in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our novel starts with Miss Lily Westbrook and her lover Jackson Grail , Jackson has just proposed and wants to get Lily's family respects but on his way to speaking to her father, he eavesdrops on a conversation which forces him to leave Lily as he believes she is better off without him. Years later, we meet Lily Westbrook - a women who has a dark secret, she is the author Fannie Cole , a writer of romance dime novels , life for her is looking up her novels are selling like hotcakes and she has a wonderful beau named Harlan who has connections to society, He is the ideal guy for Lily, one whom her parents love and Lily loves too or so she thought until this summer when her life came crashing down. Summering in Newport and hoping to move there is none other than Jackson Grail , the one who left Lily heartbroken and hurt. He is back and has just purchased the publishing company in which Fannie Cole's novels are published. He wants to set up a meeting with the anonymous Fannie Cole , but it seems he's not the only one wanting to discover her identity, the owner of the town tabloid "Talk of the Town" seems eager to uncover the identity of Fannie Cole. All this pressure of Jackson being back and the public wanting to know the identity of Fannie Cole has Lily on edge. Can she risk the life she has by telling the truth or will she be shunned by everyone she knows when they discover her double life ? Which suitor will Lily choose , current and wealthy connected beau Harlan or newcomer and first love Jackson ?
Find out in Love on a Dime by Cara Lynn James that proves to us that true love with no faults really does only live on paper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect light read

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lilly Westbrook wishes she could do something productive with her life than simply being the "lady of leisure" that society demands of her. Bored with attending endless balls, she embarks on a secret double life as dime-novelist Fannie Cole. But while Lilly derives joy from enriching the lives of her readers through her moralising tales, she knows that she would destroy her family's reputation if anyone found out that a lady of high society was secretly penning dime-novels. But with society's gossip tabloid threatening to reveal her identity and her old beau, Jackson Grail, planning to buy her publishing company, Lilly knows that she can't keep her career a secret for long. Can she wrench herself away from her attempts to hide her alter-ego long enough to realise that Jackson isn't back in her life by chance, and let herself fall in love with him all over again?
Despite the mixed reviews I've read of this book, I found myself thoroughly enjoying it. While it was clear how the story would end right from the start, the unique idea of a society woman being a dime-novelist over-shone the predictability of the plot. I really liked the character of Lilly and watching her relationship with Jackson grow. This was a sweet romance, and I don't think they even kissed until the last page, but it seemed appropriate for the time period. Likewise, Lilly's dilemma over whether she should settle for a "content" marriage with Harlan was one that I'm sure a lot of women in the late nineteenth century struggled with. I really got a sense of the time period when I was reading this novel, and I didn't feel that any of the characters were caricatures. It was interesting to see the secret life of Lilly's sister-in-law, Irene, come to the surface, and it explained her earlier bizarre behaviour. I hope to see these characters appear again in later novels in the series.
The first book in the Ladies of Summerhill series may be rather predictable, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. This is the perfect light read for fans of historical romance who are looking for a twist on the usual storyline. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series. 8/10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
craigbiggio7
Location:Vidor, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. It is worth the read !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
pmstylist8
Location:Vale, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a wonderful book, i really enjoyed it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet romance story.

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
eReader
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice story and convenient in ebook format. Some typos noted, but did not make book difficult to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Noreen
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book had a good message. And it was my first book to read on my device
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Reading

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
avidreader
Location:Massachusetts
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to read, especially books like this one. You won't be disappointed. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
I was very excited to get this book in the mail. It was definitely one I wanted to start reading immediately and rightly so for it was a very good book! Lilly is such a blessed girl to be in a socially accepted family and she is able to do what she loves, though in secret. But when Jackson comes a long it stirs up a lot of questions & maybe even romance. It was a very enjoyable read, it started to drag on in a few spots but still I plan on getting the second in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn
I recently had the chance to review Love on aDime by Cara Lynn James for Thomas Nelson Publishing through BookSneeze.com. Love on a Dime is a historical romance that centers around the relationship of Lily Westbrook and Jackson Grail. The story begins with their broken relationship, and follows them as the characters grow in their faith and come back together. Lily is a dime novelist ina time when it is a very unbecoming profession. She feels called by God to write stories the reflect His love in relationships. Lily writes under a Nome De Plume, and hides her writing from everyone she knows. She uses the proceeds from her writing to fund a womens' shelter. She faces a momentual decision when she has to decide to tell the truth about her writing to her family and giving up her calling. The book was sweet and cute, with likable characters. The characters could have been developed in more depth, and the book seemed a little long for the plot. Without being forceful about her faith, the author conveys messages of true love and building your life on the foundation of God and His Word. It was a good read if you are interested in historical romance. It would be a good book for a younger reader as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
This book centers around Lily westbrook and a secret that she's been keeping from not only her family but all their friends and aquaintances. Lily is a writer, not only that, but she also writes dime novels. Lily is torn between her love and writing and the benefits that this write enables her to do, and telling her family the truth about what she does. When her secret is discovered and she faces disclousure Lily goes to many lengths to to keep things quiet.I really loved this book, it was cute, and had a great storyline and flow to it. The characters were likeable (Except for the one's who weren't supposed to be) and quite believable. I found that while it included many Christian principles it wasn't preachy or self-righteous. I would 100% recommend this book to any avid romance reader, or even someone who's a fan of historical fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela S.
I enjoyed the two main characters, Lilly Westbrook and Jackson Grail, in this story. their love story starts off on a sour note and continues through alot of assumption on both their parts. I was really put off by the attitudes of the people of this era. The women were spoiled and snobby. there was a "mama's boy" which was very distasteful to me also. I thought there could have been a little more excitement though. In the end, Lilly and Jack were reunited but it was not an exciting, starry-eyed reunion. I think it left a little to be desired. I did finish the book and did enjoy it, somewhat. Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. In return, I have written an honest review, be it good or bad, in my own words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
I loved the storyline of this book. I loved the whole idea and the characters and the plot. However, the writing style left a little wanting, to me. For example, there were a few instances in the book where I thought the author could have taken advantage of the situation to evoke more emotion in the reader than she did. I did see great potential though, and I look forward to reading more from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
So much one can get from this story. Miss Lilly Westbrook writes romance stories with a message of faith and hope. High Society does not allow their women to work. It is a rule. They look down their noses and oust the family if their children don't live up to their high standards - sounds a lot like the Amish shunning to me.Lilly keeps her ministry hidden for this reason from both her parents and is afraid to let anyone but her best friend know. Yet she has this compelling feeling to write. She doesn't need the money. She does it so she can donate it all to a Women's Shelter. She does not write under her own name.How many of us can relate to rules even in a church and trying to live up to what other people think instead of walking in our freedom to serve God in the ministry as he would like.Jack felt beneath Lilly's family and because of what he overhears before he can ask for Lilly's hand in marriage, he leaves for 6 years. He doesn't write or correspond in any way with Lilly while he is trying to fit into high Society so he will be good enough for her. Most of us when we are in love if we would admit sometimes don't feel good enough for the one we love. I know I didn't. I was poor and my husband had more than me and I didn't think he could love me for me. But I have been married 31 years.Lilly almost marries to please her family but when it comes down to it she just cannot do it. She wants there to be love.This book shows how all of us sometimes hide behind a mask instead of showing the world the people we really are. I enjoyed it and found it hard to put down once I got into it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
In Newport, Rhode Island, in 1899, proper young ladies in wealthy society were ladies of leisure. They did not work, and they most certainly did not write dime novels. Lilly Westbrook has more worries than deciding which tea or ball to attend. The young man who is about to propose to her has opened up doors to the social elite increasing her familys social status; and although Lilly doesnt particularly care about mingling with society, her family does. If anyone finds out she writes dime novels under the nom de plume Fannie Cole, her family will be shunned from society and perhaps even face financial ruin. So, she must continue to write in secret, pretending to pen poetry as her excuse of staying holed up in her room for hours at a time.Just when she finds herself getting over the heartbreak of her long-lost beau, Jackson Grail, and finally courting a suitable man for marriage, she finds Jackson as a summer house guest once again. Hes recently purchased the company who publishes her novels. Can she protect her secret identity and her heart? Jackson still stirs up feelings she thought shed put behind her. Which man will truly sacrifice everything to win her heart? Jackson Grail regrets the decisions he made years earlier. He was a coward. Hes done well for himself and now hes back to try and make things right. He suspects Lilly knows the true identity of the elusive Miss Fannie Cole. Why is she adamant about not helping him find her? Will he be able to convince Lilly that she can trust him again? This book has a few twists and turns that one might not expect. Ms. James has made the secondary characters quite interesting and they support the main story nicely. This was Ms. James debut novel. I enjoyed reading it and look forward to her others in this Ladies of Summerhill series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
The title hooked me, the cover drew me and the story transported me to the bliss and beauty of a seaside resort in Newport, Rhode Island during one of the most opulent eras for America -- the post-Civil War "Gilded Age."Cara Lynn James does a masterful job of creating a setting you will not only love, but never want to leave with this delightful story of dime-novelist-in-hiding Lilly Westbrook whose secret identity creates a truly engaging tale of a shy socialite and her handsome new editor Jackson Grail, who is determined to find out the true identity of his star romance novelist.A great "summer" read year-round for those that love sweet romance in a setting that sparkles!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love on a Dime - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Bonds
Love on a Dime is set in 1899 in Newport, Rhode Island. This was a time when a woman of high society was to take care of the house and socialize, one would not dare work. Lilly Westbrook is part of the elite and has started writing dime novels under the pen name "Fannie Cole". Not only does a very popular town scoundrel try to find, blackmail, and expose her, but her publisher needs her to announce whom she really is also for financial reasons. It takes you back to a time when people really cared about how they were viewed by society, much unlike the ways of the world today. This was nice in a way but also made me appreciate my independence.The book provides love and mystery with a mixture of Christianity also. Lilly finds herself in the middle of having to make many decisions and wants God to help her in making the right choices. Choosing between her current love and a love from the past, whom just happened to have bought the publishing company that she writes for, proves to be a difficult decision for this character. Choosing whether or not to come public with her identity is the hardest decision of all. She has to decide if she wants to put her family in the hands of public scrutiny because of her choices or to remain anonymous and risk being exposed. I did thoroughly enjoy this book. It caught my attention from the start and had me intrigued throughout to the end. This was a debut book by Cara Lynn James, I do look forward to reading more of her work and would recommend this book as a good read! I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.