Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Love Starts with Elle - eBook

Thomas Nelson Love Starts with Elle - eBook

She's the last of six Lowcountry sisters to tie the knot, so when Elle Garvey's quarterback-turned-minister boyfriend Jeremiah pops the question, the family resolves to give them the send off of the century.
But as Jeremiah leaves Elle to plan the wedding and moves ahead to Houston for a large pastorate there, Elle listens for her own call to the ministry-but none seems forthcoming. And with the influx of new residents in coastal Beaufort, South Carolina, Elle's art gallery business has never been more fruitful. She's even begun to successfully show her own paintings-paintings she created after Jeremiah left town.
Soon Elle's widowed tenant, Frank, arrives, throwing a real wrench in the works, and offering a new kind of love that soon takes hold.and blossoms.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
Review 1 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandie Bricker
I think what I liked best about this book was the triangle aspect of the romance. It made for a very realistic conflict. I loved the pastor ... but the lawyer was compelling as well. I rode the waves of the story, hoping for Elle to find her bliss. I loved this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laurie
I just could not put this book down. I read the entire book in 2 days. I reread the book twice and cried each time that I read it. I cant wait for a third book in the series which I hope comes out soon,. This book is incredible and could be read agian and agian
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
I LOVED EVERY MINUTE of this book. From the very first page to the last I delighted in Elle's life and her family, and you will too. Rachel Hauck has captured my heart with Elle's story. It's filled with fun,unforgettable characters, situations that made me laugh out loud, andparts which were thought provoking. Rachel drew me into Elle's life,and her dilemma. Rachel answers some questions that we may have askedourselves while reading. Questions such as: "Just because we have feelings of love for someone does it mean that we were meant to marry the person?","What is real love anyway?", "Does everything go smoothly just because you have given control to God?", and "Is there such a thing as a social Christian?". Be prepared to stay up late so that you can finish reading this book. You won't want it to end, I know I didn't.Nora St.Laurent - Book Club Servant Leaderwww.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2008
Take a look at this delightful book! It is a sweet story with some real life struggles in it, but for those of us who like a sweet romance, you will enjoy this book.Elle (whom we met in Sweet Caroline) is engaged to be married! She is ready to rip up her life, give up her plans, but things fall in the path of perfection and she starts to wonder why she feels like everything is wrong.When things get really hard, she discovers through an old friend how to really pray and bring her requests to God, even though life does not look so good at the moment. Discouragements are there, but good friends are as well. You will fall in love with Elle as I did....(and it is pronounced like the Letter "L") I especially enjoyed her dad, who said he would not give up one of his girls for any son!I loved this cute story as it was real to life romance with twists and turns and you get to find out what happened to Mitch and Caroline too from the first book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
kathie
Couldn't wait to start it and couldnt put it down once I did! It really touched my heart. Elle is charming, funny, and way too lacking in self-confidence (just like a lot of us). Her story made me remember that even as Christians it's much too easy to stray away from God, and how lovingly He is waiting for us to return.Read the book. You'll love it! And, hey, keep a watch out for feathers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deborah
Having enjoyed Sweet Carolyn, Low Country Series #1 so much, I was waiting excitedly for this next book to come. Rachel Hauck did not disappoint with a well written story and lovable characters. I found I could identify with Elle in her search for love. A true delight!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Trish Berg
I have become a Rachel Hauck fan, and whenever one of her books is around my house, I end up having to fend of my teenage daughter to get my hands on it.Love Starts with Elle is a fantastic love story that will keep you turning pages as you discover faith and love between the pages.Now, my daughter has loaned the book out to her friend, Allie, and I am sure it will make the rounds in the junior high hallways.But this love story is great for all ages. A great romance always leaves you wnating more, and I can't wait for Rachel's next book.Trish BergAuthor, Book Reviewer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2008
I was actually starting to feel my body tense up in this book! Will Elle do this? Or will she do that? oooooooh what is that girl thinking??? arghhh she had me biting my nails at a few points in the book!Can you tell I liked it? Rachel Hauck did a fabulous job of drawing me into the characters and bringing life to her story. I loved that it was realistic, and was still a romantic dreamy kinda thang if that makes sense?While there are a few parts that some people may not like (because it does portray the realistic sides of life and our slip ups). I have to say I totally loved this book because of it. It showed how God can work in our lives regardless of our situations and our desperation!So if youre looking for a fantastic Chick Lit to read you need this book!!! I seriously couldnt put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kara Sanger
Love Starts with Elle is a pleasantly surprising book. If I had to choose one word to describe my overall impression, I'd choose healing.Hauck uses the premise of Girl meets Boy #1, falls in love, throw in Boy #2. To me the choice between Boy #1 and Boy #2 was an obvious one and by page 70, I wondered why I should finish the book - I had it figured out!Once I made it past thinking I knew where the story was going, I wasn't prepared for what happened in the remaining 200+ pages. Elle's character began to challenge me personally. Hauck doesn't "preach" at her readers, but instead quietly shows how creating a true relationship with God will affect our lives. By the time I finished the book, I wanted my life to be more like Elle's.Hauck's style is easy to read and the storyline flows nicely. She throws in some plot twists, makes your heart break for Heath McCord, and teaches you how to manage the inner struggles when life changes dramatically. Artists and writers will identify with the characters, and those who have been involved in "big ministry" will understand the pressures Hauck portrays.While Love Starts with Elle isn't complicated, it's perfect for a quick read snuggled under a warm blanket with a cup of hot chocolate in hand. Definitely a five star book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Denise Hunter
I've had Rachel Hauck on my TBR list for some time now, and the cover of Love Starts with Elle prompted me to buy the book. And I'm so glad I did! Hauck's style is fresh and witty, and she peppers the story with realistic, flawed characters I cheered for and had compassion for. The love story is charming and romantic without a hint of sappiness. I'm a picky reader and often don't finish books, but this one I took down in 2 days: a high compliment! I'll definitely be buying Sweet Caroline and Hauck's other books sooner than later.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Leslie
This book was amazing! Rachel Hauck is a wonderful writer, I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Peg Phifer
Okay, with this book, Rachel Hauck just jumped into the top tier of my favorite authorsone whose books are labeled 'keepers' and remain on my bookshelf forever. Elle (pronounced like the letter 'L') Garvey is an artist and art gallery owner living in low country Beaufort, South Carolina. We met and loved her in Sweet Caroline as the slightly wacky best friend of Caroline Sweeney. Now Elle is back with her own story. When pro-football-player-turned-minister Jeremiah Franklin proposes, Elle's dreams seem to have come true. Then she learns Jeremiah has accepted the senior pastorate of a large church in Dallas. Leave Beaufort? Sacrifice and compromise plague the couple as they plan their wedding.In the meantime, successful New York lawyer, Heath McCord, needs some time away from the pressure-cooker of NY law as well as time to heal from the tragic death of his wife. So, he packs up his four-year-old daughter and heads toyou guessed itBeaufort, SC, where his family has roots, and moves into Elle's cottage which she has leased out due to her relocation to Dallas.I'll leave the rest to you to discover. I loved Elle. She's spunky, talented, smart, beautiful and fun, not to mention a gifted gal when it comes to quick repartee. Her character grows as she learns more about prayer . . . and herself. One of a writer's major responsibilities is to show character growth through the story, and Rachel aces it in Love Starts With Elle. I highly recommend this book. It's a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
One thing I count on in one of Rachel's books is a spiritual thread that will challenge me and often hit me between the eyes. Elle struggles with entering a relationship of deep intimacy with Christ. She's invited to join an older woman for prayer every weekday morning for prayer. She shows up once out of a sense of obligation, but soon can't imagine her days beginning without that time. How I long for a similar sense of relationship -- yet, I have to take that step and draw near to Him, so He can draw near to me. Am I willing to make the sacrifices required to develop what my soul yearns for? Rachel also presents characters who are fully human and struggle with real-life issues. There's no candy coating on these characters. One of Elle's sisters has to deal with the last fall-out of an earlier relationship that resulted in a daughter. Watching her struggle with real emotions without the veil of fictionalized Christianity challenged me. Am I willing to provide the accountability and support that someone needs when they find themselves confronted by the lingering effects of sin. We all have those areas, so why pretend otherwise.This book was a joy to read. It impacted me on several levels, while being a real page-turner. If you're looking for a romance with depth, this is a fantastic one to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Hayes
I read Love Starts With Elle to my 94 yr old mother, I'm 70, and we loved it!! All ages can appreciate & relate to all the characters in this book. Ms. Hauck arouses emotions, of laughter, crying, and annoyance. Elle is sweet but not a push-over, strong in her faith without being religious, loyal but honest with family and friends. I'm going to re-read Sweet Caroline (the 1st book of the sequel) and then re-read Love Starts w/Elle. I'll definitely tell all my friends this is a "must read". One down side - publisher has poor proof readers - a number of typos but that is not Ms. Hauck's fault and the strength of the story carries the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Regina Bodenheimer
Wonderful book. Loved all the southern info in this book. She writes great books about the south.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gale Judkins
I enjoyed this story even more than Sweet Caroline, which was terrific. Elle's story was so touching. There were an awful lot of typos, but beyond that, the storyline ran smoothly.I wonder if there'll be a book #3? Maybe about the deputy sheriff, JD?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
Elle Garvey thought the pieces of her life were falling into place, then it looks like they're falling apart. But is her life really the shambles she thinks it is? What do you do when God's plan for your life isn't what you thought it was? I've been struggling with that question myself, so this book really struck a cord with me.Rachel Hauck has a knack for addressing spiritual truths in a non-threatening, non-preachy way. Elle is Christian girl who believes she's trusting God, until she realizes that things aren't going the way she plans. Then the control freak in her comes out. Elle's interactions with her pastor-fianc Jeremiah, her widowed neighbor Heath, her troubled sister Julianne, and the Lord himself are sometimes touching, sometimes heartbreaking, sometimes hilarious, but always honest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love Starts with Elle - eBook
This review is fromLove Starts with Elle, Low Country Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
I do not know if I shall scream or cry or both. Love Starts with Elle is officially one of my favorite books of all time. It is by far my favorite book of contemporary Christian fiction. I enjoyed Sweet Caroline immensely, but it does not fully compare with the power and wonder of Elle. This is a sequel, but does stand alone on a firm foundation of Christ no less. Elle is an artist, well in her heart. She mets Mr. Wonderful, who I did not like from page one, but he's so right. Until he's not, but really who is perfect? Well I did not see how in the world the plot could get her out of one situation or get her into another, but after reading the book in entirety I'm impressed. I cannot believe all that has happened. My goodness, our God is a mighty God. Usually, I really do not like contemporary, because it's so real and harsh and there is just not enough "light". Rachel Hauck gives contemporary a good name. It is real, there is some harshness and full tears. But there is love and light beyond the darkness. The characters are so real, and I want to move to their town and lives near their lives. After Sweet Caroline I just could not see how the story could continue on in Elle's life, but it did and in such a neat way. I had my tears and my giggles. I got angry at people and frustrated when they did not head my suggestions. I cherish their joys and I cannot wait for more works to come from the wonder that I have found in Rachel's words on a page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.