Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover

Thomas Nelson NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover

Whether you're a mother-to-be, a new mom, or a beloved grandma, this lovely, easy-to-read study Bible will remind you just how precious you are in God's plan! Available in the New Century Version and drawing on solid Bible teaching, Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers encourages women at every stage of life to strengthen their relationship with God. Makes a great gift for Mother's Day, birthdays, or whenever it's time to say "thank you" to a special mom. A perfect companion to the Dad's Bible.

Features
  • Articles
    • Our God Is — Build your knowledge of triune God
    • Moms in the Bible — a look at the lessons taught by biblical mothers
    • Questions Kids Ask — Learn Scripture-based answers to your children's questions—expecially about God, the Bible, and the Christian life
    • Walking In —
    • Godly Character — Strengthen godly character and grow a Christlike heart 
    • Passing it on — Articles about igniting the faith of the next generation
    • Wonderful Counselor — Experience Bible-based, Spirit-led advice from a Christian therapist on tough issues
    • Insights — Articles giving practical, biblical answers to life situations
  • Book introductions
  • Memory verses
  • Topical index
  • Presentation page
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Review 1 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Holly
Location:Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bible. Easy to read; great for learning , the footnotes are inspiring.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

~NCV Translation Helps Me Understand God's Word!~

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Hendricks
Location:Prescott, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the NCV translation, actually it used to be called the International Children's Version and is a 3rd grade and above re-wording of the NIV. My daughter had this translation when she was young (33 now). I love it for group bible studies, in fact, that's why I bought this one. A gal beside me loves to look over on mine and she said it really "made sense of God's Word" to her. This is going to be a present for her. I strongly recommend this item. :0)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
heather
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing easy to read bible. If you are looking for a easy read bible this is the one to get.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product.

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
elliemae
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the New Century translation for general reading. It is so easy to understand and to get the concept. For indepth study, I use New American Standard, but this Bible version is a great study accompaniment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The No 1 choice

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jess
Location:Sweden
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best Bible I have ever had! It could be that it leads me through motherhood, or that it is pink, or simply that it is the best Bible for a mom! The price is great and the text is easy to read. It contains information about moms in the Bible and moms of today and shows how to be a mom and live in midst of diaper-changing , snacking and car-pooling and still have room for God in your life. My only regret is not buying it sooner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Corinne Brayton
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great way to read the Bible only in a new translation!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
tess
Location:Puryear, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The print was a little small for my eyesight. Bought this Bible to replace a NCV Bible that was falling apart. I like the NCV very much.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good insights for mother. good quality book

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
jack
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this together with bible devotional for dad.
I really love the insights, very much intended for mom. I often buy devotional for women but I found this one a lot better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kevin Lamarre
Great idea and My wife loved it from my son.If I could just get my daughter to read it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leigh Anne
Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mother's is a New Century Version (NCV) bible with notes and devotionals especially for Mothers.I was pleasantly surprised by this bible. The devotionals are excellent and really address issues that arise for mom's on a daily basis. Mom's need encouragement from day to day just like the rest of the world and this bible does a good job of that.I enjoyed the Mom's bible and would recommend it.The Bible itself is a sturdy and beautiful hard cover. Each page has a decorative border and the layout flows well
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherie Otis
I recently read Mom's Bible God's Wisdom for Mothers. New Century Version This book ties daily Bible reading with inspirational messages specifically for mother's and families. This book is a great tool for getting acquainted with the scriptures. Each section is the actual scriptures with titles for the chapters. Bible stories are explained and advise given as to how God would want to teach and nurture our children and families. Daily reading for me was a great dose of devotion.I would recommend this Bible to all christian mothers whether a avid reader of the Bible or a beginner. This is a trustworthy translation of God's word.One the features included that I found useful is the "Answers to questions kids ask" section. This section is full of great advise on how to handle the many questions our children ask regarding our creator. From "Where is Noah's Ark now?" to "What happens when we die?' Other features include a topical index for easy reference & an Index to "First Touch" Verses.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela Winters
I recently received a copy of Moms Bible: Gods Wisdom for Mothers to review. This bible contains notes and commentary written specifically for our daily walk as a Christian mom. It includes perspective on the principles we teach our children, Bible-based, Spirit-led advice from a Christian therapist on the tough issues we face as moms and profiles of moms in the Bible. The bible is written in the New Century Version (NCV) translation, which lends to easy readability.I was so excited to receive this bible for review. However, after a quick flip through it, I was a little disappointed. Many pages I looked at had no resources at all. But a few days ago, as I was reading in the book of Colossians, I found commentary that spoke to my heart. And I decided to give this bible another chance. Reading through it more, I found that there are more resources in it that I had originally thought. A topical index is included. Approximately 25 pages of answers to questions kids ask make this a good resource for mothers with young children.The bible is made of a lovely, feminine, durable hardcover. A leather-bound version is also available. It is not a red-letter edition (words of Christ in red) which I generally prefer. Key verses are highlighted in a different color from the rest of the text. However, they are in an unusual, light-colored font that I found difficult to read and felt really did not cause them to stand out.If you are looking for a bible that includes wisdom and advice for your daily struggles as a mom, check this one out. But keep your other study bibles handy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margie Ramthum
I was pleasantly surprised with this bible. I own 5 other bibles but after only 3 weeks this one has already won top spot. The print is easy to read without glasses and the font is sharp and clear. The commentary offered is relevant to the world today and ties the verses into not only being a mom but also a woman and a friend. Other interesting features includes the 'Answers to Questions' section. I spent a good bit of time just browsing the questions and answers and found it most interesting. In this section I was able to get answers to questions I had not been able to previously answer. The Topical Index is pretty cool. It is divided which makes it easier and quicker to find the verse(s) you are looking for. The One thing I like the most is the Index to First Touch Verses section in the very back. Way cool. I did not pick up on this at first, but when I did I started paying attention and now I look for them. I would recommend this bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa
I own a lot of bibles- in every version, every style and every color! I can honestly say that I have not been an avid bible reader and it is something I have decided to change. I recently met the most amazing women in a local homeschool groups and their faith and knowledge has inspired me to pour into the bible. I want to have his words truly light my path. This review was meant to be, I have not put it down since I got it. I am armed and ready to go!It is a new century version which is great for me to understand and great for family devotions. We try to sit every day as a family and read a few verses, and I found that I was struggling to put it into words my little ones could understand. I no longer have to do that.My husband was not a believer when I met him. He has come a long way in the last 6 years and it is only through prayer that I can say he is NOW! He has a lot of questions that I simply can not answer. We have used Google and other sorts to seek his answers, and not always found what we were looking for. This Moms Bible has a great section in the back with questions and answers for kids and in my case- husbands. We have read over them many times since receiving this bible, and it has opened up so many great opportunities to learn and come closer to God. This bible is also available in a Dad's version, which is something I am very excited about!What I love most, is that it really connects me with the bible. I feel that the extra features help me to understand what I am reading and truly reflect on the passages. I feel encouraged knowing that he is on my side, as a mother and a woman.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brie Gomez
This is a review of The Moms Bible: Gods Wisdom for Mothers. Bobbie Wolgemuth writes the notes in The Moms Bible. The translation used for The Moms Bible is the New Century Version. The Moms Bible has features that make passages and scripture applicable to our daily lives as moms. The features included in the Moms Bible are Our God is, which points out things for you to know about God; Walking in takes a look at our daily attitudes; Godly Character encourages openness to strengthening godly character and growing Christlike hearts; Passing it On is a scriptural look at the legacy we pass on to our children; Moms in the Bible features life lessons for our mothering roles from moms in the Bible; Insights are short writings linked to Bible passages regarding motherhood; Wonderful Counselor is a feature written by a Christian Therapist to help moms uncover issues that need to be addresses in order for us to be free and used by God; Questions Kids Ask features Bible-based answers to questions children ask about God, life and the Bible; First Touch provides an instant word and favorite inspirational verses for quick access to scripture when your time is limited. Overall this Bible provides insights and notes that were new to me as a mother. I have enjoyed the features Moms in the Bible, Walking In and Wonderful Counselor. This Bible doesnt skirt around tough issues that we face as moms, but hits them head on so that the Spirit will be free to work. The only thing that I think would improve The Moms Bible, would be better packaging. The outward appearance of The Moms Bible is a little drab and doesnt stand out. I more fun cover and packaging might be more appealing to young moms especially.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grace Brindle
The Mom's Bible is set up to be an encouragement for mamma's everywhere. Using the NCV version it's easy to read, and has notes and snippets written by a team of mammas. The main note writer is Bobbie Wolgemuth, her daughter added some little notes here and there, and to make things a little more sentimental and fun, verses that grandma loved are highlighted through out the bible.At first glance through the bible, reading the introductions and explanations I both figured my expectations were right in the cheesy mom's good time kind of way but there was also enough good stuff to make me read more. Particularly I was interested in the Wonderful Counselor snippets, these are thoughts from a christian therapist on tough issues. I appreciate the attempts to take on some tough issues that especially moms face.Also, I've mentioned it before, but I'm willing to say it again. I really love the highlighted verses, or rather the "first touch" verses. They're verses that the main writer, Bobbie's ninety-two year old mother-in-law, has love and cherished all these years. It's a delightful surprise to run across a highlighted verse thinking of the reasons she may have loved it, and taking that extra moment to think through what it can mean to me.Part of the ministry I am in involved in is a single women's ministry. Sometimes single women include mamma's or mamma's to be. A lot of times those mamma's or mamma's to be are desperately in need of some kind of encouragement as a parent. They need someone to walk them through parenting.--who doesn't?! being a mama can be one of the most terrifying life changes ever, let alone being single--The Mom's Bible provides comfort and strength that I feel would be especially good for these mamma's. In addition to the comfort and strength that is already found in the bible, this bible hits every area of a mamma's life where the extra support is needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
One especially helpful feature of this Bible includes "Answers to Questions Kids Ask," which tackles simple questions children ask from "How Big is God?" to "What's an Idol?" Devotional features include "Godly Character," "Moms in the Bible," "Walking In (Faith, Tenderness, Wisdom, etc.)" and more, all designed to enrich your devotional reading and strengthen your faith. I enjoyed studying the book of Matthew with Mom's Bible and Bobbie Wolgemuth and found all the devotional commentary helpful, yet "Godly Character" and "Walking In" were perhaps the two most useful devotional sections. This Bible also should be considered a "black letter" edition in that it does not highlight the words of Jesus with red lettering.Also of interest in this Bible is the lovely scrollwork design on the borders of the pages. Admittedly feminine, I unfortunately found that (along with the similar scrollwork style background of the "Walking In . . . " sections) rather distracting over time. Also bothersome was the small font size of this Bible. I measured in four places and found the font size measuring 21 characters per inch in every location. This small font size, combined with the distracting though pretty scrollwork details as well as the background of text and decoration bleeding through the pages all combined to make this a difficult Bible for me to study in the early morning and late night hours with my bifocals and via the light from my table lamp.This Bible is a lovely concept, yet one perhaps suited to young mothers who are in their twenties and who will not be reading their Bibles for more than fifteen or twenty minutes in a stretch and will not be deterred by the factors these "old eyes" find distracting. This Bible may make a lovely gift for a young mother greatly in need of the encouragement of reading God's word alongside some lovely devotional thoughts.This complimentary copy of the Mom's Bible was provided by Thomas Nelson in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Colleen P
This month, I had the chance to review Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers. It's a daily reading Bible, in the everyday-speech New Century Version (NCV) with supplemental notes from Bobbie Wolgemuth. It's hard to imagine a Bible with "improvements," but Wolgemuth's notes are unobtrusive and insightful. Shes a friendly voice to accompany you in a fresh discovery of God's word. Her notes are rooted in Scripture and convey her love of God and her understanding of motherhood. She includes special sections like "Moms in the Bible" and "Passing it On" with ways to share a tradition of faith, as well as comprehensive indices.I really like the "First Touch" verses which are printed in a different color than the regular text. I stumbled on a few while I was reading and the slight difference in color was enough to flag my attention, reread the lines and take the words to heart.All the different aspects seem to flow well together. Personally though, Id prefer a less simplified biblical version and I miss having pages with navigational tabs. Overall, it would make a nice gift as the typeface and layout are easy on the eyes and the content enriches the soul. Note: Thomas Nelson Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
jb05
This Bible is the Mom's Bible NCV (New Century Version). I had never heard of this version of the Bible before receiving this for review. There are many features in this Bible that was very appealing to me. The "Our God is"..which will help you further your knowledge of God. "Questions kids ask"...will give you a starting point for some of those questions your children ask you. "Walking in"...will help you to bring balance to your life during your walk with God. "Godly character"...will help you strengthen your character and help you grow as a Christian. "Passing it on"... will give you a starting point on teaching your children about God. "Mom's in the Bible"...will teach you lessons from Mom's in the Bible. "Wonderful Counselor"...is like having your own Christian Therapist. "Insights"...will give you a great start to any day.I do like this version. I have been using this Bible for my personal devotionals and love all the added feature. When I study a passage of scripture I love to read it in many different versions. It has been very easy to read and understand. I do not believe it has taken away from the meaning of the passages one bit. There are so many people who do not use any other versions of the Bible except for King James, which is fine that is a personal decision. Like I said before, I enjoy reading scripture from many different versions. This is one I do recommend to people.This Bible was provided to me by Thomas Nelson Publishers for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NCV Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2010
The Mom's Bible: God's Wisdom for Mothers with notes by Bobbie Wolgemuth is beautifully designed inside and out, written in the New Century Version. This Bible is a wonderful devotional to help encourage and give strength to moms of all ages and stages on a daily basis by using God's Holy Word. I like the reference to "You Can Be A Great Mom" because there have been many times in my life that I have felt that I am not the best mom and I am sure you have or will feel that way in your life too at some point. I was thrilled to learn of the Mom's Bible because I wanted a more personal interaction with my daily Bible reading and this was just the best news ever. I have browsed through it and I like what I see and read from the inclusion of the many wonderful features. If you have small children, the section on "Questions Kids Ask" will be a blessing to you. There is one question that you may want to share; What's An Idol? Since, many families including Christian families watch American Idol this is an excellent question to ask and answer. You will find many questions and answers that you may have wanted to ask but kept it to yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>