Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Russ Doughten Films A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs

Russ Doughten Films A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs

Four of the most popular end-times movies---now on DVD! Just as powerful now as when they were first released, these gripping films chronicle the rapture and great tribulation, with an emphasis on evangelism. This set includes: A Distant Thunder, Image of the Beast, The Prodigal Planet, the title film, a prophecy survival guide, movie previews, scene selections, behind the scenes, interviews with actors and the director, and Spanish and Portuguese lip-sync audio tracks to the English master. Four slipcased DVDs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Review 1 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
rayscab
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the quality of the DVD's was much better than I had expected considering the ages of the films
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent content regarding end-time prophecies

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Myra
Location:Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This collection was exactly what we were looking for in terms of end time prophecies. The content is good even though the filming is very old fashioned.
We showed Distant Thunder to our grandchildren, 11 and 13yrs, which led to quite a lot of discussion about bar codes, cashless transactions, the mark of the beast and Christian persecution.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the cost - and then some

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Frank Gotch
Location:Austin, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While somewhat old now (dial telephones for example), the thoughts and ideas of the movie still come accross. The acting was excellent, action was never more than a minute or two away. I first saw these films over twenty years ago and they are even better than I remembered them to be.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
From the Larry Norman song, "I Wish We'dAll Been Ready" to the depictions of the characters (especially the regretful Matthew Turner), it's a great film trilogy. (Nevermind the pay phones or the outdated vehicles.)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Gauer
I give them 5 stars in comparison to what else is out there. There are some very important messages in these movies. I don't think you will find anything like them. If only people would take it all to heart. These might help someone make the decision to get right with God. They could be better if they included the message to "overcome sin." The bible tells us to, but nobody wants to see that as the truth.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
June hardeman
I saw Thief in the Night as young christian and never forgot it - scary but a great witnessing tool to the unsaved.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenny
I saw 2 of these films when I was 9 years old and they affected me adversely for years. Absolutely terrified me. I was a Christian, having been born into a Christian family and having accepted Christ very young. But I prayed every night for years after for Jesus to come into my heart, because I was so terrified by what I'd seen in the movie. If I ever saw the number 6, for years afterward I would tremble. I would allow nothing to touch the back of my hand or forehead, for fear it would leave "the mark". I am a confident Christian woman now and have loved Jesus all my life. Why did I need to be terrorized by these films??? They might be good for adults, but DO NOT show them to children!!
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tamar Mukyunik
1. relatives want a copy2. new understanding of some things that I wasn't aware of 3. increase of prayer for salvation for Family and friends and all the souls that need Christ4. There is an eternity !
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dee
I was born in 1982 so I was very little when I first saw these movies. I tell you every time I saw them I would repent. To this day I can say my life has forever been impacted by these films. I recommend these movies a witnessing tool to win souls for Christ. My family has used these movies time and time again as witnessing tools.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wayne Webster
I used to show the series every year as a Pastor wamting to win souls. It was great then but the acting left much to be desired compared to modern films. I would recommend it to audiences not exposed to modern films.Back then we saw great results so PTL.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deborah Vanduzee
It is a good witnessing tool! I bought it years ago when my kids were young and they wanted a copy of it for themselves now. I had to order a new one as mine were so old and the audio was not good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jo Anne Reid
I became a Christian after watching "A Thief In The Night" (in 1975). I thought I was a good person and had religion all of my life. I even studied to become a nun as a teenager, but had no peace or assurance of heaven, no matter how hard I tried. Little did I know that Jesus was calling me to be His, when I visited this little church to view the film. Patty in the movie reminded me of myself. May God bless you for having these movies on video and DVD. Sincerely, In Christ, Jo Anne Reid........+........<
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
buck
i saw some of these movies when i was younger and i enjoyed them , but i do believe that we know more now about the end times than they did then
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ronald Swick
I have watched the "Thief in the night series" a number of times.I enjoyed them very much. I also liked watching about the interviews with the characters.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ted M. K.
I'm no longer a Rapturist, but I still recommend these as a great snapshot of 1970's-era Rapturism. The production values are raw, but because of that, they pack a wallop right to the gut. They aren't slick & packaged & soulless like the Left Behind DVDs. Russ's people put these films together because THEY MEAN IT! The only recent movies I'd compare with these are Cloud Ten's Apocalypse series II, III & IV (the first is really poor.)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Milton John Kleim, Jr.
Very dated, but remains THE standard for Apocalyptic movies. This set is worth every penny, as the quality of the films are top-notch, especially for the time produced. Frightening vision of the future - far better than Left Behind.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Candace
I had heard great things about these movies, but since I was born in the 80's it was before my time. Well I found higherpraise.com where you can watch the first 3 movies of the series, and now I am hooked. As soon as I can I am getting these movies, I still haven't seen the last movie of the series, but I can't wait until i do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
JOSEPH
I bought the videos years ago from CBD and so glad they have been put on video. I know that these things will happen one day and how I wish everyone could seen them. They are Bible based and they really make you think life is good only in Jesus. We will leave this world one day and only those who die in Christ will live forever. thank you Mark 4 and CBD for making these films possible GOD BLESS YOU.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
Robert
This is the first time I've ever seen these movies. I was brought up in a Christian household, but like so many others it was just said more than followed. At first, I told me wife these movies are a bit too "70's-ish" for me. But after she started watching them and I caught a bit of them, I was hooked. Pretty dang good movie really. I know it's most certainly got any thing Hollywood's done in the last couple years beat, as well. Not just because of the Christian theme, but they are pretty good movies, in spite of the low budget aura to them. I guess, it's because the story's good and they make you think some. I really like finding old but good movies I haven't seen yet - the best part is, I haven't seen these in their entirety just yet. Caught only part of it on the web - I'll be glad to order these and watch them full-length on the TV! But I seen enough to make me want to buy them - and that's more than the Movie industry can do at present. The Left Behind series was good, but it didn't have the 'weight' that these did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Thief in the Night Collector's Series--4 DVDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tia
When I was a new Christian I saw these movies. They impacted my life. I have been striving to live a committed life because I don't want to be left here during the time of great tribulation. Neither do I want to go to HADES.Those movies were so vivid and realistic even now I can see the scenes playing over and over in my mind. I am now a youth director in my church and my heart aches to see the condition of our youth in today,s society. They live as if their is no Creator and no hope. I decided to search the web for these movies. Although many movies that are on the market today serves the purpose of the importance of accepting Jesus in our lives, I have yet to see any capture the realism of the end of the world like the A Thief In The Night Series. I plan to use these movies as an evanglistic tool to wake up this generation of today. I have been searching for these movies for quite some time, but I happen to be surfing the web and saw your site and decided to check it out. I thank God I did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>