Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson When Crickets Cry

Thomas Nelson When Crickets Cry

From Christy Award finalist Martin comes a work of "God-haunted" southern fiction sure to tug at your heartstrings! Travel to a sleepy town square in Georgia, where a 7-year-old child sells lemonade to raise funds for a heart transplant, an onlooker watches, and a speeding truck comes around the bend, changing bothe lives forever.
Average Customer Rating:
4.967 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When Crickets Cry
Review 1 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Manghae
Location:Molena, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best books I have read. I did not want to stop reading, and I loved the messages conveyed. It is a positive, motivational read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of our book club's favorite books!

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janice in Georgia
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The members of our book club enjoyed this book so much that a few of them have already gone out to buy other books by the same author. WHEN CRICKETS CRY is well written, with lots of symbolism, foreshadowing, literary illusions and a few scripture quotes. We fell in love with these characters. Their problems were relatable, and we suffered right along with them to the final conclusions, rooting for them all the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Treeca Adams
"When Crickets Cry," by Charles Martin is perhaps one of the best books I've read in a very long time. I 'read myself to sleep' almost every night of the week and as a retired public school Reading Specialist, I delight in a great new find! In my opinion this is just such a book...and well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eileen Elertson
This story I will never forget. It is a "must read". My favorite of the many books I've read the past year. Charles Martin is an excellent author. I have read most of his books .... all great reads.Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Coon
This book captured my attention right from the start. It was well written and I found it hard to put down. However, the ending was a bit disappointing and somewhat confusing. Overall though, I am glad I read it, because it depicted real human emotion. It makes you laugh and cry and I would definitely recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura
This is an excellent book, and it is exactly what the subtitle claims, "A novel of the heart." The characters have realistic and beautifully portrayed feelings. The prose is enjoyable to read, from the standpoint of the main male character. I would recommend this book for everyone to read. The characters and the wise message of the book are unforgettable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda
My husband & I read this book on our summer vacation as we drove. We laughed and cried and loved the characters. Now we're quoting their dialogue to each other just to enjoy it again :) One of the most profound, touching books I have ever read. Thank you for offering it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marsha Darling
A great read, one of the best I have read this year...the kind of story that goes deep in your heart and touches your soul
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Beck
At first I didn't know if I wanted to read this book. Then I ordered it and once I picked it up I couldn't put it down. Mr. Nelson weaves a very good story and you fall in love with all the people in the book. I read the Shack earlier this year and thought it was the best book of the year. I changed my mind after reading this book. The story of faith lost and found is a wonderful blessing to this reader. It is a little slow but so worth the reward of the entire picture Nelson paints in his pages.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
P Kaye Bouslough
Truly the best book I ever read. Charles Martin definitely has a real gift with descriptive words. His knowledge of medical terms and procedures is very impressive. I have read all of his books--love them all, but this one really tugs at the heartstrings!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ann
Only 5 stars? This is a truly gifted author. The worse part is after you read this one or another of this author, you try to find something to equal it's quality and that is a difficult task. Hopefully he will keep writing. I beleive he has a new one coming out this summer. "When Crickets Cry" is a story filled with humor, sadness, despair and mostly a man and doctor who must learn to forgive him self and live again. The journey with Annie is a story that will touch anyone who takes the time to read it. All of the characters are delightful though I got somewhat frustrated with Reese and wanted to shake him and make him realize what a gift he was wasting but of course that was the point of the story. Annie's Aunt and Charlie and even Termite are characters you won't forget for a long time. Mr. Martin has done some incredible research on heart disease and heart transplants and though I got a little squimish at some of the details they were informative and amazing. There were details I had no idea of in transplants. I would highly reccomend this author and all of his books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ellen Parker
This book is absolutely amazing! Charles Martin is now my favorite author. All his books are so deeply moving, he writes with such depth and emotion, often poetically. I would recommend his work to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Snowlady70
Before I finished the first chapter, I was hooked. His writing is so descriptive you feel you are right in the midst of all the action. I have recommended this author over and over to readers in out church library and all agree his books are wonderful. Please keep writing. We have them all in our church library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Loved this book! It is so full of heart. I loved all of the characters and the many different aspects of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paula Durand
I thought this book was wonderful. Again, I amazed at Charles Martin's work. He is quickly becoming my new favorite author. I love the Southern, slow, easy going characters that he protrays in his books. I am so glad I stumbled upon my first book of his in the library whenI was frustrated because I nothing "good" to read. Now I search out all his books, and buy them all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dixie Quinlan
WOW!What an ending!! Fascinating as well as interesting facts about the heart. Also, loved the attention to the spiritual heart. Charles Martin is now at the top of my Christian Author's list. I'm out to get another one of his books! To other readers, you won't be disappointed when you read this!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2007
This book was amazing! The writing makes you see, smell, feel, hear everything going on in the book! Simply an amazing and unforgettable book! I have visited the setting of this book, and I can tell you it is written about with amazing clarity! Gushing? You bet I am! This is a tremendous book! Highly recommend!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sandi Evans
This was my first Charles Martin read. I can't wait to get more of his books. It was tender and loving. All the characters were so real. I know a young girl who had a transplant and this book was very true to life! It is a wonderful book and I recommend it to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
David
Okay, I couldn't put this down! God really spoke to me while reading the "clinical" descriptions of the heart, and relating it to the new heart I have as a Christian. A wonderful story of being at the top in life, devastating disaster and failure, and the redemption that comes when we give it all to Him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for When Crickets Cry
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Angie Swindle
Wonderful story of love and sorrow. Had me crying in the 2nd chapter. Loved all the interesting information about the human heart and how it operates. I found the ending to be surprising. Loved, loved, loved this book. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>