Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee

The one-and-only Journaling Bible provides the perfect way for you to keep a journal of your spiritual life right inside the Bible that you read and study each day. The Journaling Bible features 2-inch ruled margins for writing observations, reflections, prayers, praises, notes, and journal entries. This unique Bible makes a great gift and lasting keepsake for anyone who values God's Word.

Features

  • Introductions and section headings for each Bible book
  • Black letter text
  • 6-point text size
  • 2" Ruled margins—Ideal for journaling
  • One-Year Bible Reading Plan
  • Ribbon marker
  • 7.50" x 6.50" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
0
13 out of 1587%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Review 1 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Old school/Rugged Manly Bible

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larry
Location:Harrogate, TN.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this Bible, it looks like it just came out of a settler's saddle bag! This is a good quality bible, with a good quality leather cover. I love the "flap-n-strap" design of this rugged looking Bible. I have read some complaints about the print size, but I am having no issues with it at all. I will say that if you are one whose penmanship is of the large variety, the note sections may be a challenge for you as they are small. I personally write fairly small to begin with, so again, I am having no issues with that either. I am a fan of the ESV but I do wish the book introductions were at the beginning of each book; they have placed them all at the back of the Bible for some reason.
BOTTOM LINE: This is a fantastic old school, rugged and manly Bible and I highly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Complete satisfaction

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eydie
Location:Orwigsburg, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unique Bible was purchased to include my many marginal notes scattered in various Bibles through the decades. The idea of having all the notes within one Bible was appealing. The Bible's look of natural leather with strap is attractive and the "block" size of the book is nice. The quality of the paper throughout is accepting of my black fine point ballpoint ink pen; back-to-back page notes show clearly. The English Standard Translation version makes for smooth reading and understanding. The black text is comfortable reading for my 63-yr.-old eyes.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bible

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
McKenzie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I ordered this bible about 3 years ago and I love it! The design on the cover is beautiful. The pages are just the right thickness for writing on them, and they won't tear easily. The cream color of the pages is easy on your eyes and great for reading long periods at a time. There is plenty of space for taking notes, but the bible isn't really heavy. I love everything about this bible. If you aren't sure whether or not you want to buy a journaling bible, I would recommend it. Whenever I take notes from certain verses, I will highlight the verses, and then every time I read that verse I am reminded about whatever I was compelled to take note of previously. I have found this very helpful.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Bible for the Notetaker/Journaler

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
J Love
Location:Jackson, TN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good Bible. The ESV is an accurate, yet readable translation. The paper is similar to notebook paper, with lines on the sides. The paper is thick and wont bleed through. If you enjoy taking notes or journaling your thoughts while reading the Word, then you will love this Bible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this is a perfect gift or personal bible.

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Greggo
Location:Reading, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my best man in my wedding and he loved it since then I have hoped to by one because I write in my bible as if it were a journaling bible anyway so this bible would give me the room i needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love ESV journal bible with flab & strap!!!

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
MariaM
Location:CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my journal bible. It is small enough to carry around. Love the lines for writing even though I have not found the best pen that will not bleed through. I use Micron 01 pens for my underlining and notes.
I have not had the problem of the bible coming apart as mentioned by some. It seems the bible was well made and so I don't believe I will have the problem in the future. I love the feel of the leather on this bible.
I only wish I knew about the single column version coming out later this year. The price of the new version is cheaper, therefore I have lowered the value rating. It would be easier combining my notes to the specific verses in the single column. But I just write the verse w/ my notes & underline the verse any way so it is not a big deal. Yes, I could use a little bigger font especially for the tiny footnotes. But I purchased a bible marker with magnifier with it for the few times I need it.
I have not found the leather bible with flap & strap in the stores. I appreciate this bible was available here at a cheaper price than the publisher.
Several people who have seen my bible and complement it on the format. With our church switching to ESV, I'm sure more people will be looking for this bible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

high quality product

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
juan
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very high quality product. very competitively priced when compared to similar genuine leather bibles from competitors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
grace
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bible because it is a great translation and I really enjoy having some blank space on each page so I can write my own notes. I do not read the footnotes, all sons and daughters of the Most High have His Spirit so He shows us all he wants to by us just reading the scriptures.
Most importanly, Jesus is the Word, and the Word lives in us.
ChristianBook.com is GREAT!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
This review is fromESV Journaling Bible, Calfskin, black.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ESV Bible with Journal Margins...great design!

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alumni Dept
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this Bible as an award for a graduating senior...with custom lettering. Everything arrived just as I had hoped it would. The Bible was the perfect size for students...and I am seriously thinking about getting one for my personal use. Lettering was done well...and the whole project was started, shipped and delivered within a week. Well done all the way around!.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Denver, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The floral cover did not meet my expectation but since it was engraved I have no choice but the keep it. It was thin and I could see print written on the cover behind it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

ESV a fine version.... this one.. not so sure

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
David
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought my ESV Journaling Bible when they first came out in 07, I truly like the ESV bible and I have 2 others, but this particular bible seems to be very overpriced. I bought mine from Christian Book.com. but I guess the price must have went up for them as well. now on to the Bible the leather quality is very good and thick.. nice and soft too. the quality of the paper used seems to be good. plenty of room for notes. but I for one was Very disappointed in the glued binding and the low quality of the end pages ( not sure what they are actually called) that hold the bible to the cover. they basically are a card stock thick paper.. I had my bible less then 2 months and had to start doing work to keep it from falling apart from the cover. (re-gluing, and reinforcing the card stock type end pages with cloth like tape. ( I collect bibles and I m not hard on them) so over all this bible is a nice idea. but they should have used quality the rest of the way through the manufacturing of it.. after all, anything is only as strong as its weakest link. I stopped using the bible daily as it was just not holding up to constant use. so it looks good on my shelf now.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Built to last.

Date:July 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Katy, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this particular style back in February of 2009. The construction has held up beautifully. The binding had to be re-secured (done by self with super glue) about a year and half of daily use. The pages remained intact with the binding up until recently, perhaps a month or two ago. Very pleased with the product's construction and ability to withstand daily abuse.
In regards to the translation, I'm studying Greek (koine, currently in my third year) and I am quite pleased with the translation committee's work. I'm in no way placing my knowledge above their's, simply stating that my translations often match their's - which in a sense, now that I think about it is encouraging for me, I digress - they do a fantastic job despite the extensive work that goes into translation. When I'm not using the original languages, I'm using ESV.
Soli Deo Gloria.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:LaPorte, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I also was impressed on how fast I received my bible.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

creative formatting

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
theomom
Location:NE Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible has great design with the leather cover and flap, giving it appeal to non-traditionalists, or more artsy people. The paper is sturdy and will hold up to writing in ink. The lines on the margins are faint enough to be ignored, and clear enough to be used.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I love that it has tons of places to write notes!

Date:November 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the Bible. It is nice, leather, and feels like it is made with quality. I also love that the pages have a lot of space for not writing. Not only the space specifically for notes, but it also has a lot of extra space other than that if you want to cram some notes in! The only think that I do not like about this Bible is that the words of Jesus are not written in red. Also, the print is a bit small so if you have bad eyes I wouldn't reccommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Haley Tryon
I am thrilled about this Bible!!! The cost is more than I would usually spend but every penny was worth it. My only minor complaint is that if you utilize the pen holding elastic loop with a pen that has a cap, it creates a minor bulge on the flap which bothered me at first but I have since gotten over it. I would recommend this for anyone who likes to take notes, do word studies, or Bible college students who have sermon outlines to do.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joel
I spent four weeks looking for a Bible that would encourage more of an academic study of the scripture, primarily through note-taking (I'm definitely one for writing in the margins); I had almost settled on choosing either the Zondervan NASB Wide-Margin or the Cambridge University Press NASB Wide-Margin. I found this Bible superior to both for the purposes of note-taking, reading and portability. There are very generous _lined_ margins that encourage you to write, and are almost a whole column in width itself, on both sides of every page (even the front and back matter!). This Bible is still very portable compared to other wide-margin editions (it's a little square-ish, but it's not nearly as clumsy to carry as the Zondervan Wide-Margin). The pages are more of a warm yellow color, and the text very pleasing to look at, which makes it superb for reading. I purchased the mocha bonded leather edition; the binding is very soft and the whole Bible very flexible. I think my only negatives are that (1) if you truly want an indepth study Bible, you may want a reference Bible instead, as this edition only has footnotes (I plan on using the internet anyway for cross-references, concordances and the like), and (2) the pages curl just a little after writing in the margins (the solution, of course, is to write on the other side as well!). I am very pleased to have found this Bible, and for anyone looking to scribble their train of thought into the margins as I do, I'd strongly recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Clint Parker
This BIBLE is great for those of us who are into note taking, and journaling what the Holy Spirit speaks to us. Much easier than carrying a BIBLE and seperate journals. I take my notes during studies, then trandfer them into the lined pages beside the scriptures. I love it, and now my daughter wants one too. Great BIBLE love it. Very nice and easy to read text format too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael Dockens
Love the way the bible looks. But after 3 wks, the first section of pages that were glued in started to come unglued. I didn't want the situation to get worse (which it will), so I called the publishers and they are sending me a new bible this week. The binding is not sown, but glued.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Journaling Bible--soft leather-look, coffee
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Devault
A lovely leather binding and wide margins make this Bible a pleasure to use especially if you like to make notes. THe ESV translation is easily read. However, I was not realizing how all the extra space on the page for notes would cause the type to be pretty small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>