Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1

From the author of The Pendragon Cycle comes a completely reimagined epic of Robin Hood, "prince of thieves"! Hunted like an animal by Norman invaders, Bran ap Brychan flees his father's kingdom for the greenwood. Set within the primeval forest along the Welsh border, Lawhead's retelling renders an earthy, eerie, more powerful tale than ever before.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
Review 1 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
This review is fromHood - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bran ap Brychan is the heir to the throne in Elfael. But when his father and all his military men are slaughtered, Bran disappears into the forest with a ransom on his head. The forest to which he flees is a living, breathing, mysterious wood complete with danger, secrets, and powers that he does not understand.
Unwilling to fight for what is rightfully his, Bran must make a decision: become the king Elfael needs to survive in the ancient Welsh lands, or let the Norman invaders take his land, his heritage, and his family's honor. Will Bran stand to defend what is his, or will he let his countrymen down and forever change the history of medieval Britain?
Let me begin by saying just how boring this book really is. Yes, the premise is interesting. Yes, it's a different twist on the story of Robin Hood. But it is the most boring book I've ever read. Maybe my reading comprehension sucks. Maybe my tolerance for names I can't pronounce without a guide (which I ended up pronouncing my own way anyway) is so bad I actually fall in the ignorant category. But by heavens, even Shakespeare is more exciting. So that said, I would recommend this book for those interested in Celtic mythology and folklore. The rest of you - read at your own risk.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bran ap Brychan is the heir to the throne in Elfael. But when his father and all his military men are slaughtered, Bran disappears into the forest with a ransom on his head. The forest to which he flees is a living, breathing, mysterious wood complete with danger, secrets, and powers that he does not understand.
Unwilling to fight for what is rightfully his, Bran must make a decision: become the king Elfael needs to survive in the ancient Welsh lands, or let the Norman invaders take his land, his heritage, and his family's honor. Will Bran stand to defend what is his, or will he let his countrymen down and forever change the history of medieval Britain?
Let me begin by saying just how boring this book really is. Yes, the premise is interesting. Yes, it's a different twist on the story of Robin Hood. But it is the most boring book I've ever read. Maybe my reading comprehension sucks. Maybe my tolerance for names I can't pronounce without a guide (which I ended up pronouncing my own way anyway) is so bad I actually fall in the ignorant category. But by heavens, even Shakespeare is more exciting. So that said, I would recommend this book for those interested in Celtic mythology and folklore. The rest of you - read at your own risk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Refreshing Take on Robin Hood

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Widsith
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stephen Lawhead gives a convincing argument for placing Robin Hood in Welsh country, as opposed to the much more familiar Sherwood Forest. I've been drawn to Welsh history ever since I watched Sir Derek Jacobi play a medieval monk in the Cadfael mystery series, so Robin Hood's relocation to that time and place was a lot of fun for me.
In this story, Robin Hood actually goes by the name Bran. He's reckless and self-serving son of an angry Welsh King, whose lands are about to be invaded by murderous, yet extremely religious Norman conquerors. With his father soon dead, Bran, Iwan (Little John), and many of their people flee to the forest for safety. As more Welsh kingdoms fall to the Normans, Bran struggles to find his destiny, especially as his own plans don't always coincide with the well-being of his people.
Did I find the story suspenseful? Let me answer that with another question: Was I blissfully exhausted after realizing I'd stayed up till 4am to finish the novel last night? The answer is a resounding "yes!" After really getting to know each of the major characters I was happily drawn into the drama.
The plot moved along a little slowly for part of the novel, but what was sacrificed to plot was made up in character development. I was happy with it. And besides, there was plenty of action throughout to keep the overall story riveting. I also truly love Lawhead's descriptions in this story, especially of the landscape, the lifestyle, and the action scenes. At some points his writing seemed exquisite to me. Love love love!
I loved "Hood" and I highly recommend it. Definitely worth 5 out of 5 stars. And I can't wait to read book two in the series: "Scarlet."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lawhead is a master story-teller

Date:October 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Chancey
Location:Linden, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
This book was so much fun to read! I've always enjoyed the story of Robin Hood (not just the cartoon, although I liked that as well). This is the first Stephen Lawhead book I ever read - and I immediately finished purchasing this trilogy as well as the Song of Albion trilogy. The author does a masterful job of providing us details of the life and culture (as well as the political machinations) of the time period. However, even though he provides a helpful pronunciation guide in the front, I still had to make up my own way of pronouncing the names of places and people! I guess I should work on my linguistic skills... How would YOU pronounce Coed Cadw?
This book tells the story of Bran, who (predictably) becomes the persona we know as Robin Hood. The way that Bran becomes Robin Hood is a fantastically weaved tale. This is one book that is sure to set your imagination on fire!
There is plenty of romance, action, humor, and drama in this story - and the book has an easy flowing pace. The author does use some outdated vocabulary that a few readers may find offensive, but all of the words can be found in the KJV Bible.
I loved reading this book! Highly recommended!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas
A Welsh Robin Hood. That very concept alone grabbed my attention. That, and the fact that Stephen Lawhead wrote it. That sealed the deal. What a very oringinal reconception of the idea. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the familiar story with these added Celtic twists. Seeing Bran as a rake at the beginning of the book and watching his transformation because of the ancient legends he heard was intriguing. The introduction of Angharad as the last bard was innovative and gave new life to the story. I was afraid for a while that she would replace Tuck, but I am happy to say that he still played a major role. Although Maid Marian and Little John are in the story, they play only supporting roles. Whereas, Will Scarlet plays a much larger role. (Even has the second book named after him). Completely original, thought-provoking, and spiritually sound, Hood was an amazing read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Buckland (NZ)
Great book. I have always loved the story of Robin Hood now he is coming more real with this version. So much more believable.well written and easily read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jules
I find this book rather enjoyable. It's amazing how he brings the usual Robin Hood story and puts it in a context that you think may or might have happened. The only downside was the names, I don't know about anybody else but at times the names threw me a little. Still quite enjoyable. Hope to read the second part soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
This review is fromHood, King Raven Trilogy Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
gkup
This is the first Stephen R. Lawhead book I have read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. His writing style almost immediately draws you into the story. I did not find myself skimming across filler details. Although the story is based on the "Robin Hood" character it is not like the usual plot. Although I must add I have never read a "Robin Hood" story, I have only seen the many movies that Hollywood has produced. I enjoyed the setting and characters in this book and am looking forward to getting the rest of the series. Being an avid reader I plan to add this author to my favorite author list!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
This story begins with King Brychan, Lord of Elfael, leading his warband to Lundein to swear fealty to King William the Red. A half days journey away, they meet Norman Raiders. The king explains their mission, but the Normans do not care. It is three hundred Normans against thirty Welsh, and King Brychan and his men are slaughtered.One man escapes to bring news to the people of Elfael. When Prince Bran hears the news, his first thought is to flee to his kinsmen in the north, but he is persuaded to go to King William and plead for assistance. King William is not in Lundein, however, and the cardinal explains that Elfael was sold to a Norman man. Prince Bran may buy it back at three times the cost.Outraged, Prince Bran returns home only to be hunted by the new Norman Lord of Elfael. Bran is left for dead in the Marsh, but an old woman mends his wound and heart. When Bran is well again, he is a changed man. No longer will he allow these Norman invaders to torment his people. He leads his men to take their land back. But in Elfael, all think Prince Bran is dead. There is only one way they can describe the creature that haunts the forest. Rhi Bran y Hud, which means: King Raven the Enchanter.This book was very well written. Stephen Lawhead does an excellent job with his historical research and language. I was impressed about that. This story did have a really long and boring middle section where Bran was delirious during his healing process. The old woman told him long stories as he healed. I realize that these stories were part of what changed his character, but I just wanted to get back to the story already. If not for that middle section, I would have liked this book a lot more. Still, its an interesting look at the legend of Robin Hood and worth a read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jon Dahlheimer
Great book! it really gives you a great feel of robin hood days in a new setting. Some of the dialogue is hard for me to follow but not that hindering from the story at all. get this!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
MJ
This book, Hood, was really enjoyable. It was my first Lawhead book and I think I will always look for the sequels and possible other series of his as well. Every once in a while there was a monologue of a character's thoughts on their past and I hated it and love it at the same time. Part of me would just want to get past it so I could get back to the action and events in the story, while at the same time it was interesting and fairly important to understanding the character, the events, and to find empathy. This is a more realistic version of the fantasy Robin Hood than most others you find and I love it. I really enjoyed how it was not dumbed down to perfection and happily ever after. There is strife, and religion, and ignorance, and love, and family, and happiness goals. I was taken aback at the setting at first because it does not have many of the places and names that I'm familiar with, but in the end of the book, after the novel, it has his explanation of why, and it is fabulous. I'm a history buff and to get this short history lesson on the true tales of Robin Hood was fascinating to me. I really enjoyed this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
This review is fromHood, King Raven Trilogy Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon
I love Stephen Lawhead's books. This is one of his best, in my opinion. I especially like the way he's taken the story of Robin Hood and made it into something truly noble. I can hardly wait for the next book in this series to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hood, King Raven Trilogy #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kate
Lawhead brings back to life the tired story of Robin Hood and give you a fresh look. Written in true Lawhead style you will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.