Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Monster - eBook

Thomas Nelson Monster - eBook

Known for his action-packed tales of spiritual warfare, including This Present Darkness, best-selling author Peretti offers a brand-new edge-of-your-seat creature feature! Miles away from the hectic city, Reed and Rebecca hike the beautiful Northwestern wilderness. Soon they realize something deadly is lurking and snarling in the shadows. But monsters are just imaginary.....right? 450 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monster - eBook
Review 1 for Monster - eBook
This review is fromMonster(rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Genuine science fiction!

Date:November 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tracy Wick
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I grow tired of the sci-fi and fantasy genres being lumped together, being a lover of fiction written to reflect scientific theory. This book brings science theory to the front, between explaining how such a creature could (theoretically) exist, and creationist theory & how it is and can be proven using current knowledge & research.
I also enjoyed the humor of how Peretti wrote himself into the book. Can you guess which character is Peretti?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Monster - eBook
This review is fromMonster(rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

2 stars

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Allen
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Plot: The idea for this plot was good, however, when put to practice, I don't think it was quite up to par. There were several twists that kept the book interesting, but when I had finished, I didn't feel satisfied. There were several stories converging to make the sum of the book, and I think there might have been just a little too much happening.
Characters: There was not enough depth to the characters in this story. The first couple chapters give a little insight to the history of Beck, but other than that, the characters lives are only revealed in small chunks of information if it became relevant to the plot.
Themes: Overcoming fear was the theme of this book, and while it was obvious, I don't think that it was integrated into the story enough. It was covered in the beginning, and then in the end, but through the middle of the story, the themed just, kind of, got lost and out crowded by the plot of the story.
Emotion: I did not find this story to have much emotion. There was a lot going on and it kept my mind busy but there wasn't emotion in the words.
Overall: I really like the way this book is written from so many different perspectives. It gives a much deeper understanding of what is going on. Even as you read all of the perspectives, the story is still written fluidly so that you don't get lost or confused. I also really liked that after each chapter, there was a map to show where things where happening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Monster - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book from Frank Peretti

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Parrotwoman
Location:England
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has mystery, suspense, drama etc. A "can't put it down" book with a Christian moral woven into the whole story. What a wonderful way to express the real truths of life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Monster - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
elbs
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderful book full of suspense and great for those christians that love reading fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Monster - eBook
This review is fromMonster.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marcia Reisinger
From the first page to the last page, its as if you are there with the characters living what they are living, watching what they are watching only from a safe place. An author who can draw you into the story with the first page is a gifted author. I was up until 4 or 5' o'clock reading this book. You don'tknow what is going to happen next which keeps you on the edge of your seat or edge of your bed. I hung on every word. I read alot of C.S. Lewis and J R R Tolkein and Frank Peretti is not very far behind. Beck didn't just whimper and submit in complete fear. Right from the first, she knew her life was in danger and took the initiative to conform to her captors, especially Jacob. And how Frank Peretti brought everything together, is exceptional. I can't wait to read another of his books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Monster - eBook
This review is fromMonster.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Beck is not thrilled to be taking this survival weekend with her husband Reed. She isnt a big fan of the outdoors, but Reed thinks a wild camping adventure is just the thing to cure her of her nervous stutter. During their first night of camping, a horrifying wail pierced the night. Then something emerges in the darkness and chases them through the forest. The last thing Reed sees is a huge, hairy creature carrying his wife away into the night.The next morning, a rescue party sets out to track the footprints and a hunting party sets out to bag a huge bear. Reed knows it wasnt a bear. When a few more mysterious murders pop up, Reed calls a close friend to investigate. No one believes that a big foot monster carried off his wife, but Reed knows what he saw. And the more they discover, the more his theory is supported. But there may be another creature out there who has begun to hunt them.I LOVED this book! It was such a great premise and handled so well. I loved how Peretti showed Becks point of view with her captor. I loved seeing her character grow and change just to survive. And then there was the whole mystery to figure out and the awesome nod to Gods amazing ability to create unique species. This is a great read. Its creepy and scary, so if you dont like that, steer clear. Otherwise, you must read Monster. It rocks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Monster - eBook
This review is fromMonster.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jackie
Unlike a couple of the reviewers, my husband and I LOVED this book!! We have both read almost every Frank Peretti book, and have enjoyed each of them. This book was full of suspense, intrigue, and even fearful at times....especially if you have ever camped out. We couldn't put it down! It kept us on the edge of our seats to the very end! And, there was even a dash of humor at times. :) I LOVED it! I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Monster - eBook
This review is fromMonster.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bullwinkle
This book was beyond doubt, a perfect escape to a thrilling story on a rainy day. I definitely loved the wilderness setting it took place in. Frankly, I just love stories that scare me out of my wits and this one was a good one. It was suspenseful and I was scared to go to bed at night for awhile. From now on I will be definitely be looking over my shoulder in the woods.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Monster - eBook
This review is fromMonster.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jessie Robitaille
this book was NOT good at all. I was quite disappointed because usually Frank Peretti has me reading on the edge of my seat! This book had no suspense whatsoever until the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Monster - eBook
This review is fromMonster.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
wayne
I'd have to say I really didn't like this book. It was ok at times, but overall I'd say it was just too outdoorsy for me. Contrary to the genre, and even though the author is Christian, I wouldn't say it's a Christian novel so much as a evolution-bashing novel. Brief summary w/out too many spoilers: couple goes for a weekend in the woods, woman gets kidnapped by a bigfoot, a huge search for her, the searches decide off and on that she's dead, someone finds out that a mad scientist is abusing gene splicing stuff, one of his creations is killing everyone, woman comes back, end of story. very boring to me.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Monster - eBook
This review is fromMonster.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tiffani
This book was awesome I loved Monster.The suspense had me keep turning the pages. I bought this book a month ago and since then I have read it three times. Keep up the good work I loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.