Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1

Thomas Nelson Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1

Leaving the farm and her Bible-believing family behind, Tami Taylor accepts a job with a prestigious Savannah, Georgia, law firm. She's challenged by her first case and flattered by the attention of two attorneys. But when the charges against Moses Jones escalate from trespassing to murder, Tami's concerned not just about her client's crime---but a company cover-up! 400 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Review 1 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
This review is fromDeeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable read!

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa G
Location:Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is like a Christian John Grisholm. The protagonist is very conservative but there is some charismatic influence as well. I read the whole series and enjoyed it a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
This review is fromDeeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellant

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dean
Location:ct
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ireally enjoy Robert Whitlow, and this book was no exception. Couldn't put it down. Highly reccomend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
This review is fromDeeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
fotogal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found this story somewhat predictable and boring - I was definitely not interested in reading the rest of the series. This character is "too perfect" - she didn't seem real to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
This review is fromDeeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great summer read!

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blue Eyes
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read this book before ordering without realizing, I found it was a pleasure reading the book again. Great story and characters. Begins a bit boring for my taste, but solid characters and easy to follow storyline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
This review is fromDeeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kaye
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very slow reading; too many details; Christianity over the top (some accounts not realistic). There were some parts that were deep and meaningful to me. Surprise ending!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
This review is fromDeeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tides of Truth Series

Date:May 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shannon Terese
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe this is one of the best book series and I truly hope Mr. Whitlow continues to write such timely, classic novels of how wonderful it is to live a holy and blessed life. I enjoyed the romance entwined throughout the series, and how this book can teach many it is possible to live in such a manner with wholesome values and holy living, and I believe it inspires others to live in such a radical and set apart way. I love the characters and the elaborate detail involved in the writing style and storyline, which makes one identify with the characters and imagine actually being in the settings. Mr. Whitlow is a superb writer.
The book educates the reader of how to walk in love and truth, along with highlighting the importance of appreciating and honoring the LORD, family, and our relationships in a way that reflects Christ in all we do. Being honest with oneself, having a loving and repentant heart, remaining true to the LORD and to oneself, and being humble are key components interwoven in the bedrock of the storyline. I think in many ways that even if someone has not come from a family where they were treated so well, or to which they experienceed such great family love and values, and roots of Christianity, this story can lead many to Jesus, as well as impart virtue and family values and spur many to live in such a way that honors God. When one truly knows the love of our Heavenly Father, and knows our LORD Jesus from his or her heart, the transformation can be so breathtaking and inspire the person to truly desire to love wholeheartedly for Christ. This is the key to life, and our desires, habits, and lifestyle change to reflect the image of Jesus, and to that of which truly draws others around us to Jesus. The main character attracts because she is light and salt, and set apart in an opposite culture. We are sojourners, yet changing the world around us, and the people around us with every step we take.
I truly hope Robert Whitlow writes many more books in this fashion and look forward to the next one which the LORD inspires him to write. I do believe the LORD's hand is on him and this series strongly and trust the LORD will guide this author, and I am thankful he is allowing the LORD to use him in such a powerful way. Thank you!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
This review is fromDeeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christian mystery/suspense!

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny Rose
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deeper Water by Robert Whitlow is book one in the Tides of Truth series. This is the first Whitlow book I've read and I came across it as a free kindle download via Vessel Project.
Tammy Lynn Taylor is from a devout Christian family with some rather strict beliefs: females wear dresses and skirts below the knee, no makeup except on rare and special occasions, children must consult their parents for decisions, and the Sabbath is strictly reserved for resting. She was homeschooled until high school when she was allowed to attend the public high school and play sports while wearing very modest sports uniforms. As a second or third year law student, she is preparing for an internship of sorts.
Moses Jones lives in a shack on the Ogeechee River. When he goes fishing, he sees faces in the water. He wonders why they haunt him so and when they will pull him under with them.
Normally I don’t care for a female main character, but Robert Whitlow has done an excellent job of not only creating memorable characters but also mystery and suspense. I became so emotionally wrapped up in the story that I wanted to sit down and talk to some of the characters and I cried through the last two chapters. Tammy, though in her second or third year of college, came across as much younger, but I’m sure that is due to her family’s beliefs and convictions and the more I read the more I could relate. While in some ways she comes across as shy and timid, at others, especially when her convictions are on the line, she has steadfast confidence. Though I find it hard to believe that a law firm would manage to take on 3 such religious summer clerks, I am not surprised that two rather different Christian men (Zach and Vince) would find her attractive.
Moses and Tammy’s paths cross when Judge Cannon assigns each summer clerk with a misdemeanor case. Moses Jones is accused of twenty-four counts of trespassing. As she researches the charges, she discovers connections between Moses Jones and one of the partners of the law firm, Joe Carpenter and an unsolved missing child case. Zach Mays, her supervising lawyer, cautions against digging any deeper than the relevant charges. Vince Colbert, a fellow summer clerk, passes along any info he stumbles across, including warning her that he has overheard the partners talking about her and her case. Tammy believes that God put her in that law firm with that case to uncover the unresolved death of a little girl from years ago and to tie up the loose ends, even if it means the end of her career and possibly her life.
This is one of the few Christian fiction books I have read that was not overly preachy except what fit each of the characters. While the main character is a young woman and two men are attracted to her, romance is kept as a shadow in the background. Whitlow’s knack for mystery and suspense are fantastic—one of the best Christian mystery/suspense I have ever read. I will definitely be reading the next one in this series and will look for more books by Robert Whitlow.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Toni
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book. It was a good moral based story with interesting characters. At times I just could not stop reading as I wanted to know what happened next. I would definitely recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT READ!

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nicki
Location:So. IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual, R. Whitlow didn't disappoint. He's great! Very suspenseful. It's wonderful having a good mystery writer that doesn't pollute your mind w/ foul words or sex. Please keep them coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynda
Location:MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was excellent. I love the fact that Tammy stands firm in her Christian values even with the many temptations around her. I love the suspense mixed with a little romance.
I hope there will be a sequel to this book, as it seems like there may be more to the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa7491
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is based on the relationships between puritan raised Tami and her co-workers at her summer clerk position in a Savanah Law Firm. The mix of values is covered with a Jewish girl, a christian lawyer, a christian clerk, and other characters with no or little belief in God. The intrigue of the law cases, the relationships, and the spiritual journey of characters is very fascinating and I had a hard time putting the book down. I have now started reading the second book in the series and it seems to be just as good a read so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
beverly Grider
This is book one (copyright 2008) in the "Tides of Truth" series, which follow a young law student as she works as a summer intern for a prestigious law firm in Savannah, GA. "Deeper Water" is my first book of Robert Whitlow's to read. I chose it because the description on the back of the book piqued my interest: "Just of the murky waters of Savannah's shoreline, a young law student is under fire as she tries her first case at a prominent and establishes law firm. A complex mix of betrayal and deception quickly weaves its way through the case and her life, as she uncovers dark and confusing secrets about the man she's defending - and the senior partners of the firm. How deep will the conspiracy run? Will she have to abandon her true self to fulfill a higher calling? And how far will sh have to go to discover the truth behind a tragic cold case?"I'm pleased to say I was not disappointed in the book. The author chose to write the book through the eyes of the primary character, Tammy "Tami" Taylor. Tammy was raised in the Appalachian Mountains and home-schooled by her mother until high school. Tami is a brilliant student, good athlete, & faithful to God and her family. She has strong convictions regarding her faith, respects the opinion of her parents and cares deeply about the feelings of others. During the course of this story, Tami finds that her faith, her integrity, and the trust in her co-workers are tested in ways she never experienced or expected. Robert Whitlow's style of writing, his description of the scenes & characters, kept me interested in the story, and trying to figure it out, to the end. I was left with a desire to continue reading about Tami, to see where Mr. Whitlow would take her next. The second book in the series, "Higher Hope" has been added to my list of desired books. For anyone interested in reading well written Christian Mystery, I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas Hooton
I read this some time ago, lost my copy and had to buy another one. My wife has become converted to Christian fiction and I predict that she will love this series. I still have to read the last one myself. Give the first two 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Falkenberg
I have liked everything I have read by Robert Whitlow. The Tides of Truth series have been one of my favorites. Once I started this book, it was hard to leave it alone until I got to the beautful finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Larry Craig
Absolutely wonderful!! Good story, good character developement, good "Christian" content, and a really good read for all believers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rubye G. Hardin
I found this book interesting in several ways; I could identify with the 'different' life style of main character & enjoy the genre. I've already read the sequel too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charlene Brown
this was a very good book . Not as fast moving as some of his other books but still very good. It was a very good background for the second book in the series and I can wait for the next one to come out .Robert whitlow is one of my all time favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2009
This book started out slower than some of his other books, but it was a great book. A positive image of home education was given through characters that had experienced home schooling for part of their lives. I liked the twists and turns and am grateful for an author that writes with excitement and mystery, yet weaves in the Gospel so well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angela
Awesome novel- it had unexpected twist and turns, I really loved it- most have novel in you personal library-
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Deeper Water, Tides of Truth Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
blossomckg
I really enjoy Whitlow's writing, but I found this book to be too slow for my liking. It seemed a bit scattered and somewhat unfocused with so many different "issues". I love to read and I finished the book but it left me feeling empty and unsatisfied. I will, however, continue to buy Whitlow books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>