Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WestBow Press Fire Dancer

WestBow Press Fire Dancer

Volunteer firefighter and archeologist Tess Masterson loves nothing better than to be roaming Zane Grey territory in the Mogollon Rim area of northeastern Arizona. When a serial arsonist sets a fire that kills a ranch hand and nearly takes the life of her beloved horse, Casper, Tess enlists the aid of her firefighter friend Boone Carter. Together, they must find out who is behind the fires before more land and lives are destroyed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fire Dancer
Review 1 for Fire Dancer
This review is fromFire Dancer - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well Plotted Suspense

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
AntieM
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The romance was fulfilling as was the mystery. I recommend this book for those who love a well-plotted romantic suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fire Dancer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting but....

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Luv2read
Location:KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have read other Colleen Coble books that I have enjoyed. This one was overall entertaining, but I really didn't feel like I was reading Christian fiction with the exception of a few comments where someone was saying a prayer of protection or a few fleeting comments about God. I realize no one is perfect, but I was disappointed by the willful sins of some of the "Christian" characters. The skinwalkers and witches were also a bit eerie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fire Dancer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Billie Rayborn
Very entertaining read. Plot moves quickly and there are several surprises. I recommend the book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fire Dancer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2009
This is my second Colleen Coble book, and it did not disappoint. Tess is a strong, multifaceted character who you want to shake sometimes, but who ultimately wins your empathy and turns out to be a wonderful heroine. Colleen's suspense technique is right on--I suspected a new person with almost every chapter, but she left enough clues that when I found out who the real arsonist was, I said, "I knew it, I knew it!" The romance could use strengthening, and some of the plot points, such as Stevie's lupus, seem weak. But otherwise, this was a great, cool book, and I'm looking forward to the next one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fire Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon A. Lavy
As always, when I read a book I was impressed how Tess's past experiences influenced her job choice, and her relationship problems. Colleen is a masterful story teller and the story gripped me from beginning to end.I highly recommend this book as a story with take away value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fire Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gail Jackson
This is an awesome book. You should be warned that you cannot put it down once you begin. I love how Coleen intertwines animals with her stories as I am an animal lover. The adventure does not end and there is as usual a surprise ending. You will also learn a little about a trade in this case firefighting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fire Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Robin Kerley
A real page turner. It is so nice to read a romance novel and mystery that has morals and is one that anyone can read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fire Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Todd Michael Greene
Tess Masterson couldn't save her parents and her uncle from a terrible fire.As an adult and working as a smoke jumper putting out fires and chasing arsonists, she must return to the place she left behind to help her sister save the family ranch. Before she can, there's a blantant attempt on her life. With no time to figure that mystery out Tess heads to Arizona and the nightmares that haunt her sleep. Can she really go back to the place where much of her family was lost?When she arrives sparks soon fly as she's reaquainted with Chase Huston. Meanwhile, the local lawman has come to believe a series of fires over the years are the work of a serial arsonist. Tess and her band of smokejumpers begin to help in the investigation and putting out fire all over town, some getting very close to the family ranch.Does this arsonist called the Fire Dancer have something against the Masterson family? Can Tess stop this serial arsonist? Can she put out the fire that begun to blaze in her own heart for Chase?These questions and more will fill your mind and heart reading this novel, as will a long list of possibilities for the identity of the Fire Dancer.Some who've never cracked open a novel of Colleen's, especially men, may discount her books as romantic fluff. I admit I did once. I knew nothing of the romantic suspense. It was her books that convinced me I needed to pay attention to genre. Yes, there's romance. But there's always these intricate sub-plots. You have Tess dealing with the lost of much of her family, an arsonist, attempts on her life, the lost of her family ranch and her horse. Her sister's illness and troubled marriage. Feelings for Chase, a man she shouldn't give a care for. Chase dealing with his own issues of family and love. Stevie and Paul's marriage. And so much more. And Colleen weaves it all together in a way that the reader keeps it straight in their head and never gets lost.I hope you'll pick up Fire Dancer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fire Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jill Nelson
Coble excels at the research behind her novels. She makes the fire jumper profession come alive on the page in a natural and exciting way. When an author starts with the premise of a woman who loses her parents in a fire when she is a girl and then have her grow up to be a fire fighter stalked by an arsonist, the action just has to sizzle. The sparks between the heroine and the hero are enough to start a blaze by themselves. I always know when I pick up a Coble novel that I'm in for a good read, and Fire Dancer is a super start to a great new series from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fire Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Hickey
Colleen Coble does it again! In her latest novel, Fire Dancer she takes you into the spectacular allure of fire fighting, the Arizona desert, the heart of evil, and lifts you up into God's amazing love.Tess Masterson is a smoke jumper called home to help her sister revive a dying ranch and to find out who is setting fires. Someone seems determined to harm Tess and her family. As Tess battles the arsonist, she also battles the raging fire within herself.Fire Dancer is a story of love and forgiveness. Strength and weakness. God's purity and Evil's stain. This is a must read for lovers of romantic suspense. - Cynthia Hickey, author and reviewer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fire Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
RobinCaroll
Okay, I'll admit it, I'm a huge fan of Colleen Coble--have been since the Rock Harbor series. But her latest, FIRE DANCER is my absolute favorite. Her characters, Tess and Chase, leap off the page and come to life. I felt like I was in Arizona, personally deep into the plot. An arsonist takes things to a personal level for Tess, and her family's ranch. Tess and her longtime rival, Chase, must work together to unsmoke the villain, and save not only the ranch, but the forests from the Fire Dancer. Get the book....you'll be in for quite the ride. I give it my highest rating!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.