Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4

Thomas Nelson Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4

When attacked while working at her aunt's coffee farm, Lani Tagama awakens to only darkness. Her sight gone, maybe forever, Lani asks guide dog trainer and ex-cop Ben Mahoney to help figure out who is after her--and why. When Ben's family is killed in a boating accident and only his small niece Meg survives, he's sure Lani remembers more than she is saying. The tentacles of danger reach down the road to an orchid farm and stretch back thirty years to a hippie colony on Kauai.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Review 1 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Satisfying Conclusion to a great series

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colleen Coble does it again! I cannot say enough good things about this writer. From the first page, I was hooked. The mystery, suspense, and romance were expertly weaved into a story of deception and trust. The plot was interesting and kept me guessing the entire time.
Lani Tagama was my favorite character. After her ordeal in Black Sands, she becomes a Christian. It's nice to see the human side of someone who is a new Christian. She struggles to put her trust in someone she can't see, and that makes her more real. Ben Mahoney is struggling to cope with the accident that claimed his friend's sight. He is also struggling with trusting the One who controls all things in our lives. The author did a very good job of portraying their development in this area.
The message, as I've stated before, is trust. Learning to trust that God has everything under control, especially when you feel your life is spinning out of control, is hard. Colleen Coble does a great job of weaving that message throughout the story.
Overall, this was a very enjoyable story and I'm sad the series has come to an end. Go read it, today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved it!

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jana
Location:Keller, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Colleen Coble and this series is great - it brings Hawaii to life along with intrigue, murder, romance and lessons in Christian faith!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joann
A terrific book. Could not put it down. I have read most of this authors books and this one was not a disappointment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roseanne Thurmond
Really enjoyed reading this book. I felt like I was actually on the island with all the sights, sounds and fragrances all around me. I learned about orchids and more importantly, about how it feels to be sightless even if only briefly.What really drew me to purchase this book was the interaction between Ben,Lani and Fisher.I am a dog lover and appreciated Ben's dedication to training dogs for the blind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa
This was a good book. It was the second of Colleen Coble's books that I have read. I purchased it because I enjoy the "Women of Faith" series of book selections. I usually don't like mysteries or reading about people getting murdered as my reading time is usually before bedtime!! However, Colleen's storyline is so solid and structured that it's much more than just a "murder mystery". It was a real page turner for me and a book I would definitely recommend to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Grace
The author is a wonder at weaving stories that simply leave you sitting on the edge of your seat, wondering what will come next. If you like romantic mystery/suspence mixed with some action, then I would definitely recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Greer
I liked this one best of all I think. Kept my attention and was eager to read more. Coble writes very good mystery and christian feelings in her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
I did not enjoy this book at all. There were too many characters and plot lines involved. It was easy to keep up with, but I thought it was overkill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tonia Tucker
Great conclusion to the Aloha Reef Series. Coble saved the best for last. I love the way she adds new characters, but still brings back ones from previous books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amber Hershberger
What a wonderful book! Colleen never disappoints. Reading this book is a great way to escape to a tropical location! Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2007
In this book, Colleen Coble crafts another tight suspense plot filled with twists and turns and rich characters. She transports readers back to Hawaii, the setting for her Aloha Reef series. While this book stands completely on its own, if you read and enjoyed the Aloha Reef series, you will enjoy the reappearance of characters from that series. Lani is faced with something I think most of us fear she wakes up one morning unable to see anything. In the midnight sea of darkness, she must learn to cope and strive for some independence. Ben reluctantly agrees to help her learn how to use a guide dog and adjust to her new world. However, hes heard too much about her to be drawn in by her beauty.The characters struggle with real questions about how their faith can sustain the circumstances of life. And they are brave enough to ask the questions many of us would love to scream to the heavens. As they wrestle with the mystery and their doubts, they also develop a relationship that could extend beyond friendship if they could let go of their pasts. The book is rich with layers of characters and plots. And Coble does a fantastic job bringing all the layers together into a cohesive and compelling book. And if youre looking for a book to transport you to the beaches of Hawaii on a cold afternoon, this book is the one for you. Coble again creates a vivid setting and a story that could only be set in Hawaii.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
Midnight Sea is Colleen Coble's latest Women of Faith novel and draws on characters from her Aloha Reef series.Leilani Tagama is making every effort to lay to rest her reckless past, working on her aunt's coffee farm and pursuing her love of floristry design when she is blinded by a bullet in an attack against a fellow worker. Ben Mahoney reluctantly agrees to help Lani as she comes to terms with her blindness as he has a special affinity for those without sight, stemming from his past and the guilt that eats away at him. He introduces her to Fisher, a golden retriever he is training as a guide dog, and Lani falls in love - with the dog!The mystery surrounding the shooting looms larger as Lani's life is threatened again, she befriends a young Tongan boy she fears is being abused and she discovers a treasure people are willing to kill for.Colleen Coble has written a terrific romantic suspense, one I would rate as up there with her best. The setting in Hawaii is again captivating and her detailed descriptions have you smelling the coffee and hearing the surf. Lani and Ben are fascinating and substantial characters and while they struggle with the usual issues of guilt and a sad past, Colleen's writing is refreshing and totally absorbing. The suspense will have you anxious to turn each page but hoping the story doesn't end. A number of the secondary characters are calling out for their own stories to be told - I hope Colleen gets a chance to write them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midnight Sea, Aloha Reef Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Diann Hunt
With the help of a handsome ex-cop, a blind woman searches to find the man who did this to her before he strikes again. Like all of Cobles books, Midnight Sea has an endearing animal (a golden retriever who makes me want to hug my dog!) and is filled with fascinating characters, unexpected twists and a pace that leaves you breathless from start to finish. You'll want this one on your shelves!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.