Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Voice of Psalms

Thomas Nelson The Voice of Psalms

The book of Psalms is full of praise, wisdom, comfort, strength, advice, and wisdom for daily living. The Voice of Psalms features the entire book of Psalms in The Voice ™ translation, insightful comments, life application, and readings for the Advent and Lenten seasons - 28 for Advent and 40 for Lent. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Voice of Psalms
Review 1 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
gatekeeper
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This literary project is a perfect gift for the poet in your life. I found it to suggest the lyrical images I imagine being portrayed in the original writing of the Psalms. Definitely not meant to replace favorite translations of the Bible, but a wonderful, poetic addition to any library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doorkeeper
My newest book to review is The Voice of the Psalms, which comes from the Ecclesia Bible Society and is published by Thomas Nelson. This was an easy read, from start to finish, and would be a great extra version for readers to indulge in when doing an in-depth study of the book of Psalms as well.The Voice of Psalms contains the entire book in the Voice translation, and also contains several devotional applications and some comments on certain passages that may spark some thought for the reader.Over the years, I have learned that reading different translations of the Bible can open our heart and eyes to some hidden gems that we may have missed in the KJV. Since expanding my study through different translations, now including the Voice, I feel that Scripture can be awakened to being about more tendency to apply to daily life.The Voice of Psalms was a good read, and I would encourage anyone doing a study of Psalms to pick up a copy. Great from cover to cover and another great complimentary book that Thomas Nelson has provided as part of the BookSneeze blogger review program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
aimergency
The voice of Psalms is a totally different translation/study of the psalms. Honestly I wasn't sure about it mostly because I hadn't heard of anything like that. So I wondered how it was different than any of the other different translations out there. Anyway this is published by Thomas Nelson and I have received this in the mail to read and write about my thoughts on it.Now the voice translation is produced by the voice project which is sponsored by members of the emergent church. Chris Seay is the president of Ecclesia Bible Society which produced this book. They did this so present-day readers could identify with this particular translation. Honestly I wasn't sure because the translation I usually use is NIV or ESV so I didn't really understand why there had to be a new one. But I digress, This is sort of laid out like a devotional and it has some devotional options like a 40 day plan or a 28 day plan. Also some of the psalms are written out as lyrics. (well obviously they could be written as lyrics anyway just in the normal way). Some of it is really cool and clever I haven't gone through the whole thing but I can't wait to! I think its really amazing and great idea.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike Tisdell
This is one of the worst translations I have read; the translation was clearly driven by an agenda to reinvent God's word into something compatible with the postmodern emerging church rather than an attempt to truthfully convey the message of God's word into English. The commentary on Psalms 1 is a good example how this book has redefined the message of the Psalm itself. It says that "God wants us to stay centered on His unyielding love for us that brings us happiness;" however, the message in Psalms 1 is focused on rejoicing in God's law and recognizing that obedience to God's law brings stability and prosperity and rejecting God's law causes people to perish. Unfortunately the idea that God has standards (laws) for living has become an anathema in the postmodern church and this translation, rather than conveying the text that says "But his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night." (Psa1:2NIV), instead gives us the feel good message of "the Eternal Ones Word is your happiness." YES, it is true that we need to focus an understand God's LOVE, but we also need to understand that God his HOLY and RIGHTEOUS; something the postmodern church wants to forget. Sadly, the voice makes this easier by removing such reminders from the text of the bible itself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul burkhart
I cant praise this book enough. This book is just beautiful to hold and read. The reflections arent your typical Christian inspiration lite fare that most other books of the same ilk would contain. They deal with the very real issues that the Psalms inevitably speak to and continually bring the reader back to the story of Scripture and how Christ can be seen as the climax of every Psalm. Lastly, the translation takes getting used to, Ill admit. But I assure you though, after the reading only a few of these, youll really enjoy it. I love this book. Im using the Lent reading guide in this season to aid in my meditations and prayers. This book is best for stirring your devotional heart for God. For those tired sojourners in the desert of doctrine wars needing an oasis, reading and praying these Psalms (in such beautiful prose as this) can do nothing but benefit your soul in every way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cory McCaig
The Voice of the Psalms is produced by the Ecclesia Bible Society and published by Thomas Nelson. It is a rendering of the entire book of Psalms presented in The Voice translation and has a layout like a devotional book. It provides reflections which are small devotional commentaries given for each selected psalms. These reflections were written by Karen Moore and James F. Couch, Jr. I enjoyed this version of the Scriptures, overall. It is quite easy to read and flows fairly well. I certainly like the look of the cover and pages; it gives you a worn, but fresh feel for the book as a whole. The reflections were also helpful and causes the reader to probe himself as he thoroughly examines the psalm. On the flip side, these devotional notes were inserted in awkward places, cutting off some of the psalms. This could cause the reader confusion regarding the length of the psalm. The translation itself has its pros and cons. For instance, I enjoyed how they smoothed out Hebrew vernacular like selah to be understood as a pause. However, I do feel like the changes in reference to the word Lord make for familiar passages to become uncomfortable. Nonetheless, this would be a great piece for private devotions. Here is a small sample: Your word is a lamp for my steps; it lights the path before me. Psalm 109:105Disclosure: I did receive a free review copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers, but was not required to write a positive review. Further, the links to the book in this review are affiliate links.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ginger
Being a book junkie and loving God, I am always looking for book that will be a companion to helping me understand HIS word. The Voice of Psalms offers an easy to read translation of the Book of Psalms with commentaries weaved between the different chapters. They also provide four different reading plans to help the reader approach the Psalms in a combination they may normally not have know to read on their own.This is my first time reading any material from The Voices or the Ecclesia Bible Study group. I received a complimentary copy of the book from Thomas Nelson Publishing but would suggest purchasing this book as a devotional or companion to studying the book of Psalms. I enjoyed the reading plans that were suggested and the commentaries that were offered. My only complaint was the location of the commentaries, they were at times placed in the middle of the Psalm. To be selfish, I would have enjoyed more commentaries. Most books I read once and forward on to someone else, this book I plan to keep and continue to use as a devotion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel
The definition of a psalm is a sacred song or hymn used to sing of or celebrate something great. The Voice of Psalms is a compilation of the book of Psalms, put into words of The Voice translation. Several authors worked on this book and their comments are inserted as well, all of them singing a sacred song to celebrate the greatness of God.There are several strong positives about this version of the book of Psalms. Its readability is impeccable. The phrases that are in italics clearly differentiate the authors voices with the original text. The additional words are not excessive, but aid in the understanding of the original words. Many people complain that the backgrounds on all of the pages make the text hard to read I disagree with this, as it brought no hindrance to my reading experience.As far as things I didnt like about the book goes, I only have one qualm: I think that the commentaries broke up the flow of chapters, in terms of where they were placed. I think that they should have been placed at the end of the chapter instead of at the end of the page. I also wish that there were commentaries at the end of every chapter and not just selected ones.All in all, this book gave a very positive and different view of the Psalms. I recommend it immensely!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doug S.
Bible translations are a dime a dozen, especially when one is familiar with many of the Scriptures early in life. While Im often skeptical of new translations delivering on their promises, I had some previous exposure to The Voice projects New Testament translation, so I was very interested in reading a poetic and artistic rendition of the Book of Psalms. After all, what more appropriate book to be rendered by artists and poets than a book originally written by them? Instantly upon receiving the book, it was apparent that the entire projectfrom type to touchwas crafted by artists. The beautiful full-color background and typeface invites the reader into the world of the ancient authors. Unlike other translations promising freshness, to my surprise and delight this one truly delivers. Psalms are by-and-large emotional poems, and this translation captures the depth and accuracy of the emotional fervor of the Hebrew text while maintaining a contemporary voice. The words dont feel ancient, yet the writing was transcendent, as if I were reading a contemporary-yet-ancient expression of passionate and heart-felt musings. It also contains reflective devotional annotations on just about every page.While I am not a scholar who can comment on the translation accuracy of The Voice of Psalms, I wholeheartedly recommend this artistic rendition of the psalms for its refined, poignant, and expressive value to any reader. It is certainly well worth the investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
I was skeptical about this translation for todays church. The last Bible that I read attempting to todays society was offensive to me. However, the translators of The Voice did a beautiful job of presenting the scripture in its truest form with such beauty that anyone can appreciate it.The only downside I found to this Bible is the binding, which is your standard paperback binding you have with a novel. I fear with use it will wear out and pages will fall out. Im so excited about The Voice translation of the Psalms, it is a great source of encouragement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Logan N Rapp
The voices of Psalms is one of the newer translations from Thomas Nelson Publishing that they refer to as the voice (a collective work by a team of pastors, scholars, writers, musicians, poets, and other artists). The translation is a really good one. The book is very durable and the styling of the translation and pages makes this book a good read. Inside of the book you will find four different reading plans to guide you through the book (advent 28days, Lent 40days, and 2 40day. Along with these great reading plans you will find in most of the chapters of psalms you'll find some thoughts or opinions on the reading by the collaboration of people who helped to create this translation. I cant say I would agree one hundred percent with what I read in those areas. For those like me who study the Bible in-depth, you would probably not want to use this translation as your soul means of studying. The book lacks in the area of footnotes and parallels.Overall this book is an enjoyable and great read. Im totally intersected in reading some of the other Voices translations. I would recommend this book to anyone who like me studies the Bible and likes having different types of translations around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Simon Summers
With the goal of producing a holistic, beautiful, sensitive, and balanced translation of the Bible that is perceptive to both the present day cultural shifts and the need for accuracy, the Voice Project has created a new translation called the Voice Translation and from this translation comes The Voice of the Psalms.Having achieved that goal by combining the expertise of Biblical scholars, fiction authors, poets, artists, editors, and musicians and drawing on their diverse backgrounds, the Voice Project offers a retelling of the entire Book of Psalms that is bold and refreshing.The Voice of Psalms invites the reader to view the ancient poems and songs in a new light through the 75 thought provoking reflections, the four reading plans, and the in-text italic commentary. All of the afore mentioned features have helped me in discovering a vast joy in the reading of the Psalms. I would recommend this book to everyone and anyone, believer and non-believer.However, I would not recommend anyone use this translation for doctrinal purposes since there is a good deal of in text commentary that is not found in the original languages of the Bible.This is an amazing book! Go buy it right now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
M
I have always loved the Psalms. I always found them comforting and a great worship and prayer.The Voice of the Psalms is a wonderful book to add to your collection. Published by Thomas Nelson Publishing Company and written by the people from the Friends of Ecclesia Bible Society, this version of the Psalms is, I think, one of my favorite.The Voice of the Psalms is the newest edition to the family of The Voice. They have published versions of readings from the final week of Jesus life on earth, the Gospels, Acts, Romans, and more.The first few pages give a great layout of the book. You get a great overview of what the Psalms is supposed to be, understand the vision of The Voice Project and receive a welcoming from the President of the Friends of Ecclesia Bible SocietyI love that the Voice of the Psalms also provides devotionals for Lent, Advent, Worship, and Seeking.The reading is easy to follow and understand. Sometimes I have found myself wandering while reading the especially longer Psalms. Spread out among the psalms are mini devotionals that help you feel more connected to the writers of the Psalms. You can bring what they wrote thousands of years ago to life in your own walk.I enjoy this book very much. I highly recommend anyone to pick it up and deepen your love and relationship with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Voice of Psalms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
"The Voice" project is a collaboration of Bible scholars, song writers and storytellers. These people work together to keep the historical accuracy of the translations, but also write the words in a way that flows in English. This made the Psalms read more like a song or poem than other translations. And an occasional Psalm had some study notes at the bottom of the page. These fit right with the theme of the Psalm and made the reading easy to understand. The only downside was the placement of these notes. Sometimes the Psalm finishes on the next page, so you have to flip back to read the notes afterward. The Voice translation made my favorite book of the Bible even more enjoyable to read! This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.