Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible

Thomas Nelson The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible

The ultimate Bible reference tool, this is the only concordance that includes the best of Vine's Complete Expository Dictionary of Old and New Testament Words. You'll also find original-language lexicons with three times more word study information than other editions; cross-references from leading dictionaries; words of Christ in red; and a complete topical index of the Bible. 2000 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
Review 1 for The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a must have in everyones library

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Don Carroll
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Strong's Concordance is a classic that will help with the understanding of what God's Word is saying.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beau
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is a great study tool with mass amounts of information, essential for bible study, unfortunately it is moving edition by edition towards denominational commentary. Hebrew and Greek are less accurate due to pushing of definitions of Protestant/Catholic belief.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
g8kepr9
Location:Goodyear, Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best reference books on the market. It is complete! Easy to follow and many cross references make for a reliable source for information
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Exhaustive concordance but incomplete dictionaries

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
human being
This volume is good for having Vine's dictionary definitions included. However, this is not a complete work. The concordance might list every occurrence of every word in the KJV English text; however, not every word is given a proper dictionary entry in the Hebrew and Greek Strong's dictionaries. Many preprositions and other words (such as the word for the number "one") are relegated to an appendix, listing the chapter and verse references but not any context line, and no dictionary entry for these words. It seems that the other publisher's Strongest Strongs does include a few more of these words in the main concordance and dictionaries. For that reason I would recommend obtaining instead a Strongest Strongs and a Vines Complete Dictionary in 2 separate volumes.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Don't Understand the 1-Star Reviews!!

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Millie
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't fully understand the 1-star reviews-here's why. I'm your average Jo' Christ-follower who loves studying her Bible. And I LOVE dissecting the Word!! So before I buy ANY concordance, I first check to see to which translation it is referring. After my purchase, THEN I make a fair review. Secondly, although I am a big fan of referring to several translations for clarification, I've noticed that some translations such as NIV and NLT omit several scriptures! Yes I said OMIT! Therefore, you would not get the intended Hebraic/Aramaic or Greek meaning if the scripture is missing! Go figure! This is why I don't fully understand those who is stuck on one particular translation of the Bible. My springboard translation remains the KJV, but I have several other translations to cross-reference. I HIGHLY recommend Strong's Concordance for this very reason; although, like others, I wouldn't mind seeing other translated concordances for the sake of exhausting translation of that word as much as possible. As for you NIV lovers, I recommend the Henry Baker's Commentary of the Bible for you. I have this one and it helps me tremendously!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded expectations!

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pastor J
Location:Crestview, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this book to any and all Biblicist! It is easy to follow and allows one to let Scripture interpert Scripture. A must for your Bibical Library!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Awesome!

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Blood Bought
Location:Lewiston, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been awhile since I have had a new Strong's, and I have to say, this one is awesome! Its big, its nice, and it has a lot of stuff in it. One thing that I really like is that the Words of Christ are in red - nice feature! It also has a Hebrew & Aramaic Dictionary for the Old Testament, and a Greek Dictionary for the New Testament - all keyed to the Strong's numbering system! This book is amazing, and to tell you all that is in it would be just rehashing on what is already listed in the description. Seeing all the stuff for yourself in person though, really does make it all the more better. There is enough stuff in this book to keep you involved for years and years. If your serious about studying, then this is one reference tool you should not be without - period!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Serena Roper
I love the larger print and the little bit smaller size than my old Strong's.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary
I have to agree with Dave above. All study guides are geared to the KJV Bible. The NKJV is so much better and is derived from the Majority Texts which gives us a more accurate translation. I get tired of searching for the correct answers because of everything being geared to the KJV. Someone needs to remedy this mess. PLEASE!
-6points
4of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Just what we do not need, another edition of a concordance based on a translation that fewer people are using every year. At the same time, Nelson has refused to issue a concordance based on the NKJV--thus guaranteeing that serious Bible students are going to seek a translation having readily available tools to enhance study--such as the NASB, the NIV, the ESV, and the HCSB.
-7points
5of 17voted this as helpful.