Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1

Thomas Nelson The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1

Immortals from the time of Moses roam the earth on a quest for justice...and heaven, but one man stands in the way.

In 1476 BC, the Israelites turned their backs on the One True God by worshipping a golden calf. For their transgression, forty were cursed to walk the earth forever. Banished from their people, they formed their own tribe, The 13th Tribe.

Now three and a half millennia later, the remnant of this Tribe continues to seek redemption through vigilante justice--goaded by dark forces in the spiritual realm. They are planning a bold strike modeled on the Israelite's conquest of Canaan: the complete destruction of a major city--only now, they possess the horrific technology of modern weapons to ensure their success.

Average Customer Rating:
4.784 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
49 out of 5196%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Review 1 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Saint7592
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an awesome read. Thought provoking, intense, could not put it down. Can't wait for the next installment from CBD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Man Versus 40 Immortals To Save Millions

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robert Liparulo in his new book, "The 13th Tribe" Book One in The Immortal Files series published by Thomas Nelson introduces us to Jagger Baird.
From the back cover: Immortal vigilantes from the time of Moses have planned the unthinkable. But how can you stop what you cannot see?
The battle didn't start this year...or even this millennium.
It began when Moses was on Mt. Sinai. Tired of waiting on the One True God, the twelve tribes of Israel began worshipping a golden calf through pagan revelry. Many received immediate death for their idolatry, but 40 were handed a far worse punishment--endless life on earth with no chance to see the face of God.
This group of immortals became the 13th Tribe, and they've been trying to earn their way into heaven ever since--by killing sinners. Though their logic is twisted, their brilliance is undeniable. Their wrath is unstoppable. And the technology they possess is beyond anything mere humans could imagine.
Jagger Baird knows nothing about the Tribe when he's hired as head of security for an archaeological dig on Mt. Sinai. The former Army Ranger is still reeling from an accident that claimed the life of his best friend, his arm, and his faith in God.
The Tribe is poised to execute their most ambitious attack ever and the lives of millions hang in the balance. When Jagger's wife and son are caught in the crossfire, he'll stop at nothing to save them. But how can one man stand against an entire tribe of immortals?
Jacob, also called Israel, grandson of Abraham, had twelve sons who founded the twelve tribes of Israel. Mr. Liparulo has conceived a 13th tribe of men, women and children, 40 of them, that were cursed by God to wander the earth as immortals and never see the face of God. These would be the people who not only worshiped the golden calf but tasted the blood of the sacrifice. Somehow this punishment has driven them insane and they believe that if they punish sinners God will find favor with them and reverse His punishment, which, of course, is not going to happen. It has been thousands of years and now, Jagger Baird, comes into contact with them in his role of head of security at an archaeological dig on Mt. Sinai. These immortals target him and millions of others while taking Baird's wife and son hostage. Now the battle is on: one man against immortals! "The 13th Tribe" is a thriller, which simply means that everyone is in grave danger from, practically, the beginning. Mr. Liparulo has given us a really clever story, some of the best villains ever created and a complex, one-armed hero. "The 13th Tribe" is full of twists and turns that will keep you flipping pages to find out more. I do not recommend starting this book late at night as you will have to sacrifice sleep in order to finish it. This is an exciting book, extremely well paced and suspenseful. What a terrific beginning to this series and I am looking forward to the next book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Riveting! A page turner with quite an adrenaline rush! I bought this last year because the title caught my attention, though I had no idea what the novel was about. By the front cover, I thought maybe it would be something akin to science fiction or like a Frank Peretti novel. What I didn’t expect was a tale that has so many elements of different genres I wonder how the cataloging personnel ever settled on Christian suspense. Trust me; it has suspense along with mysteries, archeology, history, science, military, Old Testament plus love.
I am not sure exactly what to share as I don’t want to spoil the reader’s excitement by giving away too much about a story that has so many twists and turns. There is an ex-military man who is working security for a monastery after an accident forever changed his life. Jagger’s physical life isn’t the only change that occurs, but his spiritual life also. His wife, Beth, loves him, understands him well and prays for him while waiting for healing to come. Tyler, their son, brings smiles and joy to Jagger’s life in ways he can’t ever explain, but never wants to live without. Now, a group of people known as the 13th Tribe have begun to arrange devastation that would make a nuclear explosion look like child’s play. Some tend to have much longer lives than others, but to find out which characters that might be you have to read the book. What would you do if someone you loved could out live you by a long time? Would you distance yourself from them or live the rest of your time, enjoying life with them?
Encased in this story is action that takes them across the globe on a journey to initiate their destruction with a couple of people trying very hard to thwart their plans. The looks from the Tribes faces seem surreal; their bodies heal quickly unless mortally wounded in one way only. Trying hard to earn God’s favor and no longer be separated from Him is why they do what they do, but they cannot grasp grace. When Owen begins to share things with Jag, the man has to make a choice to help Owen or not. What is it that turns the decision one way or the other for Jag? Who is this Owen character?
You will not want to pass up this fascinating novel and its sequel, The Judgment Stone, which I will share in an upcoming review. Either way, the chapters are short and the heart thumping adventure is beyond description! Never have I read something of this nature that includes so many different woven together to keep the reader glued till the very last word, and what a word it is! It has an ending I never saw coming, and I can’t wait to dive into the sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Looking forward to reading more about the Tribe

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:Hiddenite, North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While the premise of the book is fantastical in nature, that a group of people from the time of Moses still live today and that they are seeking a way to atone for their past sins, the purpose of fiction is to give readers a safe place to ask "what if?" questions. The 13th Tribe does just that, it allows the reader to ask and explore answers to the questions "What happens if I am separated from God? Is there a way to return to His presence?"
This book is well written, historically and biblically informative, a captivating, entertaining and thought-provoking read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MUST READ!!

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
bearofnature
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always found it hard to do reviews for the fact I don’t want to give the story away but I want to grab you’re attention; if I ruined a book, I would be overly mad at myself. Especially if I ruined a book like the 13th Tribe…if that is even possible for Robert LIparulo did it once again. He brought a mind-blowing page turner that you cannot put down once you pick it up.
What if you were part of a tribe that was stuck here on earth, immortal knowing you would never see God, the one you longed to reach? You are one of 40 that that have been here since you worshiped a golden calf and unfortunately for you, God had spared you when Moses had seen your idolatry. That is the 13th tribe, but they believe they found a solution. If they kill sinners, God will surely forgive them, right? We follow this tribe as they set up a plan more devastating then the world can imagine with technology more enhanced then one can even fabricate. Millions of lives are at stake, all so that this tribe could meet God?
Jagger, a former ranger, was in for a rude awakening as he was hired to search these individuals out. It seems to be a pointless job to hunt immortals but what else could he do? His family was in danger from this tribes attack and he had to protect them…at whatever cost.
Non strop thrills fill each page of this book and twists that many cannot see, but seem so real within the boundaries of the masterpiece. People aren’t what they seem, events aren’t as they are depicted and the struggle isn’t just of flesh. The book ponders many aspects of life and the hatred/ confusion of God’s plan we all have points in our life. All this and more is woven intelligently through this story. Cannot wait for the next!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the
publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review
bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I
have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal
Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements
and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Favorite Book of 2012 (So far)

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
AddLibrarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 13th Tribe is my first book by Liparulo and it blew me away! It’s an awesome story about people struggling to understand God’s plan, both for the world and for them each individually. (Hey, you know that recurring question about why bad things happen in a world that a good God created–am I the only person who’s sick of trying to tackle that monstrousity of a discussion? It’s just so hard to understand or explain and there are so many BAD answers out there, and it’s so easy to hurt feelings, plus maybe you aren’t really all that sure about it yourself…Anyway, back to the book.) Liparulo tackles that head-on in this amazing tale populated by awesome character, thoughtful discussion, carefully plotted backstory, and twists so crazy you will have to stop reading to process them! At one point I literally sat up and was like, “NO WAY!” The 13th Tribe is, hands down, so far my favorite book of 2012.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast pace, excellent story, completely enjoyable

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Lynden, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Thirteenth Tribe fast fast fast pace with an excellent story line. I have come to expect great stories from Robert Liparulo and I wasn’t disappointed. I have come to expect stories with action that is shot out of a cannon I wasn’t disappointed. I have come to expect stories that are thought provoking and unpredictable I wasn’t disappointed. The only problem with this book is that I lost sleep because I had to read it, choose a weekend to read it. This is one of Mr Liparulo’s best efforts and I look forward to reading it again after my wife reads it, it won’t take long.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The 13th Tribe

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
boylescs02
Location:Martinsburg, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my first encounter with a Robert Liparulo book when I read Comes a Horseman. Which I thought was one of greatest reads, so I was excited when I got The 13th Tribe. Diving back to the days with Moses and the tribes of Israel, but one tribe was created out of the sin of worshiping the golden calf. This tribe was immortal, cursed by due to their sins and sentenced to live forever.
The tribe has been trying to win their win back into Gods good graces by killing sinners or at least those they deem fit to die. The story weaves in a former army, personal protection specialist and current security head for a dig site in the Sinai; Jagger. He and his family are enjoying the time here quite, but one his path crosses with that of the Tribe.
Jagger and the Tribe have a whirlwind of action and mystery throughout the book. Jagger is tracking the Tribe, the Tribe is trying to complete the mission they believe will put them back in God favor, a boy struggles for life and 35 pages from the end a twist.
I was riveted the entire time I read this. I would highly recommend this to anyone that enjoys a great story as well as other novels from Robert Liparulo.
Prepare yourself for a thrill ride adventure covering half of the world.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:Boise, ID
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Their story didn’t start this year…or even this millenium.”
At the base of Mount Sinai back in the times of Moses, the 12 tribes of Israel grew tired of waiting and worshipped a golden calf instead. When Moses returned with the Ten Commandments, many of these people were killed instantly, while others were just sentenced to never enter the Promised Land. However, forty people (including some young children) were given a much worse fate: to roam the earth forever as immortals, with no chance of ever entering Heaven.
These forty people banded together and called themselves the 13th Tribe, and they decided that they would try to earn their way into Heaven… by killing sinners.
Fast forward to modern day and enter Jagger Baird, a former Army Ranger who lost his arm in a tragic car accident that claimed the lives of his closest friends. Hired as head of security for an archeological dig at the base of Mount Sinai, he hoped that this time would help to bring him closer to his wife, Beth, and son, Tyler, as well as help him get over his anger at God.
Instead of the mundane repetitiveness that Jagger thought security at a dig would be, he encountered members of the 13th Tribe, who by now had been trying to earn their way into Heaven for the last 3500 years. The Tribe is now poised to execute their most ambitious plan ever, and millions of innocent lives hang in the balance. When Beth and Tyler are caught in the cross fire, Jagger will stop at nothing to save them. With the help of newfound friends, he’ll embark on a global journey, but the real question is… how can one man stop a tribe of immortals?
This book was an edge of your seat thriller and Robert Liparulo once again delivered. In the vein of Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti, Liparulo created a believable novel that will keep you guessing from page one. Masterfully weaved throughout the story, Liparulo also showed that you can’t actually earn your way into Heaven, like the Tribe had been trying to do. Theology didn’t have a HUGE part in the novel, but it gave enough information to show that no matter how long you study theology, and no matter just how knowledgable you are, it’s the simplest beliefs that are the hardest to digest.
Overall, this book was an amazing read and I hope that there are more books to come from the Immortal Files.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vengeance is whose?

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
mscourt
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had not read any of Liparulo’s books before, but I was intrigued by the interesting premise of this one. Jagger Baird is a nicely drawn character, which means he’s not perfect. He’s caring but also harbors bitterness. He struggles with the injustice that God allows, yet he makes room for the faith that his wife and child have. As for the story itself, I appreciated that it wasn’t just told from the point of view of the “good guys.” The tribe explains the reasons for their vigilantism and the reader can decide for him/herself at what point they cross the proverbial line. Some interesting discussions take place between the characters, some of whom we’re to believe were actually present during biblical times.
The story starts off a bit slowly, but this is so all of the background can build. That might deter some people, but I’d say stick with it because when the pace picks up it doesn’t stop. Without giving too much away, I will say that I did not expect the twist that was revealed as a result of Owen and Jagger’s partnership. In any case, the 13th Tribe definitely held my interest, and it will be interesting to see how the author develops the characters in the next book of the series.
(I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fiction-lovers must read! - Spoiler free review :)

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
ddalebooks
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 13th Tribe
By Robert Liparulo
Immortals. Cursed by God for their worship of the Golden Calf at Mt. Sinai, the Tribe has wandered the earth for millennia attempting to please God by killing those they have deemed to be the worst sinners. Now, they are planning a 9/11 scale event that will bring thousands of these “sinners” to justice at once. The only problem is all of the innocent people who will die along with them. Can they be stopped?
Jagger Baird is angry with God – how could a good God let his best friend’s family die at the hands of a drunk driver? Why did he survive the same car crash and lose only his forearm and not his life? Now he and his family are living at Mt. Sinai trying to put back the pieces of their lives. But, when an encounter with the Tribe turns Jagger’s life inside out, will he come to terms with God, or take the vengeance he so intensely desires?
I read the final line and thought: “WOW! What an incredible book!” The author has woven a fascinating and engaging story from beginning to end. The tale wraps love, drama, faith and God into one exciting story. I will say that I started out reading a little slowly, just because the description of the book sounded a little weird. But, it didn’t take me long to become totally enthralled in the narrative and in “can’t put it down” mode. I did have to get my Kleenex out a few times – the author does such a great job of expressing human emotion. The underlying theme of the entire book is the life-changing love of Christ. So, without writing any spoilers, I give the book an A+ - a must read for fiction lovers!
I received a free e-book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is more of a Christian theme here than many of the other novels, but it is not preachy, just full of the true meaning of Christmas. I'm happy to run across this treasure and know that there are more of them in store for me. Highly recommend this book for holiday reading!
he 13th Tribe is a story of a group of immortals (the titular Thirteenth Tribe), cursed to roam the earth for all eternity as punishment for turning away from the god of Moses at Mount Sinai and instead worshiping the golden calf. They seek out vengeance against those they perceive as sinners as a twisted attempt to win back God's favour. Caught in the middle is the unlikely named Jagger Baird, a former Army Ranger with a prosthetic arm and a (stereotypical) chip on his shoulder.
The foot of Mount Sinai the children of Israel made a big mistake. It’s true Moses had been gone 40 days after he headed up the mountain of God, but an all out rebellion culminating in the unbridled worship of a golden calf was unforgiveable. God’s justice was swift, and according to the newest novel by author Robert Liparulo, it resulted in the creation of a “13th Tribe,” a band of immortals banished from the presence of God for their sin at Sinai. Living throughout the millenniums, they for...
Drawing a unique picture of the events that transpired when Moses received the Ten Commandments from God, Robert Liparulo's novel The 13th Tribe presents a thrilling premise which merges biblical history with modern technology.
Jagger, still recovering from an accident which left him with an artificial arm, is suddenly thrown into the fight of Immortals, the 13th Tribe, who are trying to appease God by punishing sinners, thus trying to earn forgiveness and consequently mortality again.
Of course an intriguing plot isn't enough to make a novel stand out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The 13th Tribe is a study of Mercy

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 13th Tribe
The Immortal Files
by Robert Liparulo
Since the time of the Ten Commandments and Israel's betrayal of God at Mt. Sinai a group of immortals has walked the earth. Taken from the twelve tribes this group of 40 were punished with immortality. They became known as Israel's 13th Tribe. Forbidden from entering the Land of Promise they are forever seeking to earn God's forgiveness and entry into Heaven, even if they have to kill every sinner that walks the planet to atone for their sins.
Jagger Baird is a broken man since an accident claimed his best friend, his arm, his memory, and his faith in God. Hoping to heal and restore his relationship with his wife and son, Jagger takes a job as head of security at an archaeological dig at Mt. Sinai.
But soon the Tribe and Jagger are locked in a battle that may cost Jagger everything he still has. When the Tribe tracks one of their own to the Monastery of St Catherine's Jagger, Beth and Tyler get caught in the middle. With Beth and Tyler's lives hanging in the balance Jagger must rely on the help of Owen a man whom he has just met.
But who is Owen and how does he know so much about a secretive group of immortals bent on ridding the earth of evil? Can something in Jagger's forgotten past help him save his family and stop the Tribe? Or will the Tribe achieve their objective and kill millions in a single act of retribution?
Throughout it all Beth remains firm in her faith in God. She shares her belief with members of the Tribe, but can they find the love of God and His freely offered gift of mercy to all.
The 13th Tribe is an exciting thoughtfully written book. Too many try to earn the gift that God offers to us freely. What about you? Have you opened your hand and accepted His gift?
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! Strap yourself in.

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love roller coasters. The long anticipation of creeping along on the chain track to the top of the first big hill, the thrust as the dive through that drop happens, the speedy twists and turns, the breathless fear that this time, surely you will not survive the controlled chaos of loops and curves. The 13th Tribe reminded me of that thrill. I was captured in the beginning, holding on as the story took me to places that I would have never expected.
It is the story of a tribe of people that have been cursed. They are looking for redemption in the only way that they think they know – trying desperately to appease a God they have badly misunderstood since before he freed them from Egypt. As the story unfolds, it is obvious they have confused retribution with reparation. They do not understand – their hearts are hard.
Still, God does not allow them to casually resist his call to them. They actively pursue a direct defiance, and as God throws roadblocks in front of them – in the form of others who are resisting their efforts, they find more and more creative ways to be the Lord’s vengeance. In the end, God’s love is the one thing they cannot see, cannot understand, and cannot avoid.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and though I received the eBook for free, I bought the paperback – just so I could pass it along to others! There was never a dull moment in the story. I was able to relate to all of the characters – and the many surprises in the story were just that – surprises. Buy this book, but know this, you will not sleep until you finish and even after, you will be reading Exodus and the Gospels with a new perspective…one that certainly doesn’t change the Truth, but that may make you think you need to more about it!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read, full of Biblical tidbits!

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
brownies9798
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jagger, his wife Beth and his son Tyler live in in a Monestary. Not just any Monestary, located at the base of Mount Sinai. The very mountain that Moses came down from an encounter with God with the 10 comandments. Though he stood sometimes on holy ground, Jagger was angry with God. He rubbed where his arm should have been, now replaced with a metal bar that served as his second arm. He lost his arm in an accident that killed his best friend and his best friend's family. Now he served as a security guard on these hallowed grounds while he tried to piece his life back together. Little did he know that 3500 years before-hand on this very same ground a unimaginable thing happened in 40 people's lives that would affect him today. They were 40 of the idol worshippers that could not wait for God to send Moses back down from the mountain. They worshipped their golden calf but drinking of blood. When Moses came down from the mountain and God opened up the depths of Hell to swallow the betrayers whole, they were spared. But once they awoke from the atrocities they realized that God had turned his back on them. They were not allowed to die, they were never to find favor with God and they were not allowed in the promised land. For 3500 years they plagued this Earth, trying every way possible to find favor with God. Their latest plan was to kill sinners to show God their loyalty. But when their plan brings them face to face with Jagger and his family, trouble ensues. With Jagger's family in danger, he has to find a way to stop these immortals and their evil plan. Will he make it in time, and will this encounter with the Immortals reconcile him with God?
It took me awhile to read this book I will admit. But I don't think it was because the book was slow I think it was from outside influences. But the book isn't as fast as many of the books I read. There is a lot of history in this book and much of it is Biblical. But the plot of the book is facinating. You can definitely feel the spiritual battles in this book between the bad and good characters. And I love how the characters struggle with some real issues. Like why bad things happen and if it is possible to earn favor into heaven with God. I think the book blurs the lines from fiction and fact well, possibly making many of the readers want to explore more into the Bible to discover the facts. During the middle and the ends of the book the plot keeps going faster and has more twists and turns. I do feel that the author left the book open ended for possibly a sequel. I really enjoyed this book and felt like I was gaining a secret look into the time of Moses.
I was provided a copy of this book for the purpose of a review by www.booksneeze.com , I was not paid to give a good review. These thoughts are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast paced, action packed story!

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
SamG
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The 13th Tribe by Robert Liparulo is about a group of immortals from the time of Moses who, in current times, are waging an attack that could cost the lives of millions. A security guard named Jagger, working at an archeological dig, is put in the middle of this when his family gets in the way and must rebuild his faith in God and risk his life to stop the tribe.
The story has a bit of a slow start as the two plots unfold and cross paths. Once the action truly gets going there is no time to stop reading until the last page. The character development is done quite well and the reader will get to know well both the members of the tribe, Jagger, and his family.
There are some inaccuracies with the use of the bible in this book which needs to be considered, but overall the story is fast paced, action packed and does give thought to faith in God and love for the family.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Read

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kianna Rose
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I began reading this book, I thought t myself, "Kianna, why did you do this to yourself again?" By again I meant choosing another sci-fi, thriller, dangerous bad guy v.s. vulnerable good guy book. By again I meant choosing a book like Alienation A C.H.A.O.S Novel. I misjudged both books when I read the first few pages, but as I neared their endings, I was pleased to have them as a part of my library.
Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres. I have yet to read a historical fiction book that dated back to the days of Moses, the Israelites and the happenings on Mount Sinai. Robert's retelling of Israel's sin in making a golden calf as an idol is unique. Unique is a trait that makes any reading experience enjoyable. According to Liparulo, those who offered sacrifices to the golden calf and tasted the blood weren't killed but were cursed with immortality.
When I began this book I was a bit lost. I couldn't keep up with the multiple minor and major characters and their lives. As I continued reading, I was able to put the pieces together and figure it all out.
The plot of this story was well written. I enjoyed the suspense this book gave me. Another plus for my reading experiences is when I think I know what is going to happen and as I read on, figure out that my predictions were wrong. Robert achieved this and more. My jaw dropped several times while reading this book.
The characters and their emotions were all very realistic. I enjoyed the emphasis on "saved by grace." The Tribe members sinned and tried to save themselves by doing "good" works. They felt as though they needed to "eliminate" every sinner in order to win God's favor. One of their captives tries to share that because of Jesus' sacrifice, they didn't have to continue offering "human sacrifices". Jagger was bitter, as one would expect from a person who's life took terrible turns for the worst. Through all of his trials, he reaffirmed their faith in God.
One thing that I disliked was the violence. Murders and dangerous chases were vividly painted. I like my books to be as family friendly as possible.
I received this book from Book Sneeze in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not my kind of book. disapointed in Luparulo book

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipferling
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not my favorite Luparulo book. Too futuristic for me. Took a long time to get into it and then finished just for the sake of reading it. Will not buy any further in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Whoa - hold on tight!

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I am always looking forward to seeing what Robert Liparulo will come up with next, I have read almost every book he has written and his Dreamhouse Kings series is absolutely amazing. This book does not disappoint me at all! A Biblical fiction type scenario that is brought into the present and is then racked with espionage, danger, assassins and mystery. Oh, and I can't even begin to hint at the twists and turns in it - no way - you have to experience them yourself! If you like speculative fiction (a little fantasy, a little sci-fi and a lot of interesting) then you must read this book. For me it is a keeper - I was discussing it with my husband and told him I now want to go back and read the account of the golden calf in the Old Testament. That is a good book, one that drives you into the Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The 13th Tribe, Immortal Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Buckle Your Seatbelt!

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Moses went to the top of Mt. Sinai to receive the 10 commandments from God, he left the Israelites behind with Aaron. After some time the people began to complain that it was taking too long and perhaps Moses wasn't coming back after all. They convinced Aaron to make them a golden idol to worship and Aaron complied. The men, women and children began to worship the golden calf that Aaron had created and when Moses returned, the Bible states he was furious and broke the tablets in anger.
When confronted with their worship of a golden calf, Moses told them to repent and those that refused were killed. This is the basis for latest novel,The 13th Tribe by Robert Liparulo. We all know about the 12 tribes of Israelites, but in this fictional novel based on the biblical story, there is a 13th tribe of men, women and children, 40 of them, that were cursed by God to wander the earth as immortals for their sin and never see the face of God. These would be the people who not only worshiped the golden calf but tasted the blood of the sacrifice.
Now they have become a vigilante tribe that takes matters of sin and justice into their own hands as they have survived for generations. Believing at some point that what they are doing is approved by God, they will stop at nothing in the hopes that God may find favor in what they are doing. Unfortunately for them, they fail to see that they are wrong and that God is the one responsible for handing out punishment, not them. Now in the 21st century they are planning the ultimate in vengeance willing to take the lives of sinners and innocents to accomplish their purpose.
Caught in between them is Jagger Baird who is heading up security at an archaeological dig on Mt. Sinai and finds himself immediately involved with the 13th tribe who now believes that he must be eliminated as well. What they fail to understand is that Jagger is a former army ranger and when they involve his wife and son, he will stop at nothing to save them and the millions of lives that now hang in the balance.
I received The 13th Tribe by Robert Liparulo compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and have to say, I couldn't put this one down. To me, this merits an outstanding book when I will sacrifice sleep to see how it ends. I love how Robert blends biblical history along with a modern twist to a group of immortal people who believe they are God's avengers to the injustices of the world. I couldn't wait to see how this one would turn out! It's action-packed, edge of your seat, thrill ride from beginning to end and rates a 5 out of 5 stars! For those of you that love story lines like Indiana Jones, this will be a must have for you! Now I am going to be picking up other thrillers from Robert to add to my Christian library!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.