Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Wrapped in Rain

Thomas Nelson Wrapped in Rain

* If it weren't for Miss Ella, Tucker and Mutt would surely have been destroyed by their father's drunken rages. Ella loved and sheltered the boys like her own. Now adults, they trust only each other, and their troubled childhood friend Katie. Can the legacy of Miss Ella's faith help all three face the demons of the past? 368 pages, softcover from WestBow.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wrapped in Rain
Review 1 for Wrapped in Rain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wrapped In Rain by Charles Martin

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sid Frost
Location:Georgetown, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of Tucker Mason and how he overcame growing up in the home of an abusive, strict, alcoholic father. His half-brother, Matthew, who goes by Mutt, didn't fare so well. When the book opens, Mutt is in a mental hospital being treated for schizophrenia. Their father Rex left the boys for long periods of time with a caregiver. When he was home, he mistreated the boys.
In flashbacks we learn about Miss Ella Rain, the black woman hired to care for Tucker and Mutt. She was forty-five, a childless widow, and daughter of the son of a slave. She helped her younger brother Moses get through college. He serves in the military and become a doctor.
When the story begins, we learn that Miss Ella has died and Tucker has taken her last name. Tucker Rain is an internationally renowned photographer with cover photos on all the major magazines. He is on his way back to the family home in a small Alabama town even as his agent tries to get him to go on jobs. The family home, which Tucker now owns, is called Waverly Hall. Tucker's father was a mean person, but he had a knack for making money. He was worth more than $50 million by the time he was forty.
On the trip home, Tucker meets a woman, Katie Wither with a child, first at a food stop and later when her car breaks down. It turns out she was a neighbor of the Mason's and a close childhood friend. She was a talented musician, who played the piano as a child at the Mason's home with encouragement from Miss Ella. She left to study piano at Julliard, and later married an unfaithful and abusive man, Trevor. She divorced him, but ran away to protect her five-year old son, Jase.
After rescuing Katie and Jase, and learning of their situation, Tucker talks her into hiding out at the Mason home. When they get there, Tucker finds out his brother has left the hospital where Tucker had taken him seven years earlier.
Katie, Jase and Tucker find Mutt and the three adults recall childhood memories and get together to plan a super Christmas. Moses is at there, too.
The background information is introduced gradually, as needed, without distracting the reader from the main flow of the story.
I loved meeting these characters. Tucker was able to forgive his father and that is what made him special. Mutt tried to control himself, but he couldn't. He was a good man, but unable to be like others. Katie was a good mother who let herself get tricked into marrying an abusive man. She would survive. Moses, set good examples for the brothers when they were children and when they were adults. Along with Ella, he helped them survive.
It was a satisfying story with characters you'll not soon forget.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Book Review Blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wrapped in Rain
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good story.

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
alannahp
Location:Cape Sable Island, NS
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wrapped in Rain is a story by Charles Martin. The book opens up on a boy named Tucker. Raised by a wealthy but abusive father, he tries to overcome his past and the pain that came with it. He is raised by his maid, Miss Ella, who comforts him in his sad moments.
The book was filled with twists and surprises, yet hard to start. I wish that the beginning was more exciting. After Miss Ella’s death, Tucker must deal with life, without that help and guidance of Miss Ella. He buries himself in his work as a world class photographer. One day, his life changes. He rescues his long-lost childhood sweetheart, who is running away from her abusive husband. With her there, he has to deal with old issues of unforgiveness. When his brother disappears from a mental hospital where he has been confined, Tucker must face more problems. Through it all, he is reminded of Miss Ella's words of wisdom.
Charles Martin writes a story of love, pain, forgiveness and grace. I enjoyed it, but found it to be slow moving in parts. I'm not sure I'd ever read it again.
*Note: I received this book free for review through BookSneeze. I'm not required to write a positive review, only an honest one.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wrapped in Rain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A novel of Heartache and Redemption

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wrapped In Rain
Charles Martin
Thomas Nelson Publisher
Christian Fiction
5 Stars
Wrapped in Rain by Charles Martin is one of those books that is hard to put down. There are times in the book where he seem to stay on one subject for quite a lengthy time but I overlooked that and got into the deepness of the story. The story really revolves around two brothers and their housekeeper along with their alcoholic father. Tucker Mason now well known for his photography has a hard time forgiving his father. Growing up on a vast southern estate he had everything that most boysjust dream of ever having, a big house and acres to roam, but the one thing he was denied was the love of his father. The bottle meant more to him then his son and he grew up in the throngs of hell. With the housekeeper Miss Ella Rain, Tucker learns the meaning of love as she wraps him in her arms. With his younger brother Matthew(Mutt)they grew up going their separate ways,Tucker into Photography and Mutt into a mental hospital. Mutt escapes from the hospital and Tucker is forced to return back home. Here he comes to the point where he has to face his tragic past. Even though she has been gone for a long time he can still recall Miss Ella’s words,and hear her prayers.The secret she whispered that he carried with him was; “Life is a battle, but you can’t fight it with your fists”. “You got to fight it with your heart”.
This is the 3rd book that I have read of Charles Martins and I have to say I enjoyed it as well as the others. It teaches forgiveness, and love and the power that God can have in one’s life. One thing I have found with Mr. Martins books is they seem to deal with real life. Even though the characters and novel are fiction.. The book is deep and some may have a hard time getting into it. I have found that novels like this if one read them slower than they usually read they will get a fuller detail of the story.
I received this complimentary copy from the Thomas Nelson and their Book Sneeze Bloggers program. A positive review was not required and the opinion of this book is based on my own thoughts of the book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wrapped in Rain
This review is fromWrapped in Rain (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My New Favorite Author :-)

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well. I have a new favorite writer. From the first page to the last, I was in love with this story. Charles Martin writes a book that puts you in the middle of the scenes, grabs hold of your heart, and leaves you breathless. His compelling characters are broken people with wounds and scars. As the story progresses, you feel the wounds, you root for healing, and you cheer for love to break through.
This story about a rich man whose sons have only a nanny named Ella Rain to love them, and the story of how her love of God radiates through every moment of her life, was beautifully told. The passages about the boys’ childhood interwoven with their current adulthood paint a picture of heartache and triumph that so resonate with the way life really is.
Reading about Ella’s love for her charges, and the way she lived that out to model grace for two children who might never otherwise have encountered it, made me recognize the moments (unfortunately, way too frequent) when I forget that raising my children is not so much about their next activity or the next thing I buy for them, but so much about showing them that Jesus loves them, and knowing that when they round home plate, I’ll be there, waiting to hug them close. I want to wear out my knees standing tall for my babies. Thank you, Charles for reminding me.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wrapped in Rain
This review is fromWrapped in Rain (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lyrical, Beautiful, and Seductive

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy L
Location:Santee, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Travelers have been delighted to see the footprint of man on a barren shore, and we love to see the marks of pilgrims while passing through the vale of tears.”
C.H. Spurgeon, Morning By Morning, September 13
Wrapped In Rain by Charles Martin is a story of redemption and return, influenced by the loving life and prayers of the woman, Miss Ella Rain. The narrator is Tucker Mason Rain, one of two brothers raised by Miss Ella. Their father, Rex, is too busy making money to do more than hire Miss Ella to care for the boys, drink expensive liquor, and physically abuse the boys and Miss Ella on the rare occasions when he’s home. The brothers Tucker and Matthew, called Mutt, and their childhood friend, Katie return home to face the ghosts of their childhood, and are redeemed by the Christ to whom Miss Ella prayed.
Wrapped In Rain’s greatest strengths are a compelling story told in a beautifully lyrical way. The narrative style is simple and pure and believable. It makes possible a story that might be considered excessively spiritual or that suggests an unbelievably perfect life in Tucker Rain’s career success. The way Moses Rain, Miss Ella’s brother and town doctor is described illustrates not only his selfless dedication to others, but also small town culture:
“His practice policy was simple: come one, come all. And they did. From everywhere. Mose never made much money, but he never went hungry either. He never lacked anything. When his car didn’t start, he found a grateful father underneath the hood, turning a torque wrench, who wouldn’t take a penny for his services. When the weather turned 16 degrees Fahrenheit and his heater went out, he found a load of firewood stacked up next to his back door and a man downstairs working beneath his furnace. When his refrigerator quit, spoiling dinner and tomorrow morning’s breakfast, he and Anna came home from work to find a house full of saran-wrapped plates piled high with roasted chicken, lima beans, scalloped potatoes, and meat loaf. Cooling off in place of the old one, they found a new refrigerator, filled with a few dozen eggs, bacon, milk, and a key lime pie. And when a storm blew in, toppling a sycamore tree that split his house in half, the Rains came home to find a crew of eight men cutting away the tree and stacking firewood. Five days later, they had repaired the damage, nailed an entirely new roof across the house, and begun a small addition off the back porch. And when Anna died at the tender age of fifty-seven, the funeral procession was three miles long and took an hour to congregate, and the funeral home wouldn’t take a penny of his money” (page 101).
Because of the amount of back story necessary to understand the importance of events, the author mixes past and present such that it moves the story forward neither revealing too much detail nor too little. Chapter eleven and beyond are either be split-time (past and present) or very short, building a sense of urgency appropriate to Matthew Mason’s mental condition and the changes Miss Ella Rain’s prayers and the Holy Spirit are working in his brother, Tucker.
Anyone who has lived in the American South will be delighted with the humid, bug-ridden, and fried catfish accuracy of the author’s geographic descriptions. It is impossible to understand a southern summer night without understanding the sweet-hot haze of stars in the faded blanket of blue overhead, the unseen bugs burrowing their way into your skin, and the soft sound of the river moving toward the sea.
This story will touch the heart of the lonely in spirit, who need something they cannot name but recognize it when they see it:
“I inched forward, pressed the tip of my nose against the back of Jase’s head, and breathed a slow, deep, and silent breath. The feel of his soft hair on my top lip and nose reminded me of Miss Ella’s warm, gentle lips on my cheek. When she got older, they grew prickly with fuzz and quivered when she reached up to kiss me. I never shied away from that. Not ever. Prickly or not, I wanted that woman’s lips on my face” (page 236).
The book gently suggests the answers to the brutal reality of life and what comes after, with sincerity, honesty, and scriptural accuracy. There are some who would quibble with the dialogue that takes place between Tucker Rain and Miss Ella after she is in heaven, but this is a minor point, a bit of poetic license that helps the story and doesn’t harm the scripture.
Wrapped In Rain is well worth the time spent to read and enjoy it.
This book was given to me by Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for posting a review of the work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wrapped in Rain
This review is fromWrapped in Rain (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is not "canned" Christian fiction - it's good

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daniel Harding
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Wrapped in Rain Charles Martin shares the heart rending story of two cast-away boys. Tucker Mason, and his brother, Matthew (Mutt) Mason, are the two sons of a wealthy man who has abandoned them in pursuit of wealth. When Rex Mason is “home” his focus on the boys is controlled by his alcoholism and he abuses the boys quite readily, physically and verbally. Shortly after Tucker’s birth Rex hires an elderly black woman, Ella Rain, to manage the household and care for Tucker and later Mutt when he arrives several years later.
Tucker and Mutt vividly experience the abuse of their father and this shapes their adult life in many negative ways. However, the reminder of the faithfulness of Miss Ella and her commitment to the Lord shines through their difficulties and leaves them longing for the love of which she spoke that could only come from Him.
If you are looking for a “canned” religious fiction book don’t pick this one up. Charles Martin writes of real people who have real issues. In his books there is no quick fix prayer that magically makes his characters think right act right and their circumstances disappear. For this I applaud him. I didn’t breeze through this and come out feeling lighthearted and while I did I didn’t agree with all he wrote I did come away from this book with a greater desire to know more of God’s Word. That is pretty inspirational for a Christian fiction book.
So if you like to read fiction find yourself a copy of Wrapped in Rain. You can get one at www.christianbook.com or any other outlet for books. I got mine from www.booksneeze.com for free because I agreed to review the book. Happy reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wrapped in Rain
This review is fromWrapped in Rain (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story of reconciliation and forgiveness

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tucker Mason and his brother Matthew didn't have it easy. The sons of an alcoholic millionaire who sought total power, he fought back with both words and fists when life didn't go his way. Housekeeper and nanny Ella Rain softened the edges where she could, however, and tried to teach them about the One who really has control. By the time the boys were independent - Tucker an internationally known photographer, his brother in an institution for mental illness - their father had lost both his fortune and his mind and they had inherited only the ostentatious and unwanted mansion of their youth. When Matthew disappears from his home and Tucker takes him home, can they find the root of Matthew's distress and Tucker's bitterness? Will they learn Miss Ella's most important life lesson - that only love and forgiveness can truly give them the home and future they crave?
The beginning of this book was not easy reading. Though interesting, the story picked up in present day and filled in the backstory through flashbacks and memories. Because the story was being told from different points of view, this meant bouncing around in time and viewpoint among at least four perspectives, which was difficult to sort out in the beginning. After settling in and getting the gist of the action, I began to enjoy this story much, much more. By the middle I couldn't put it down and I couldn't wait to find out how Martin would bring everyone's issues to resolution.
This story is not a lighthearted read, as the issues are deep: mental illness, child abuse, neglect, alcoholism, promiscuity, racial tensions; but Martin deals with each in a realistic and yet kind way. Tucker grabs your heart and makes you want to cheer him on to happiness as he reconciles with his difficult past.
With characters like Tucker, I'm definitely going to seek out Martin's other books.
I was given a free copy of this book by BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wrapped in Rain
This review is fromWrapped in Rain (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming fiction

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I worked at a Christian Book store many customers would tell me how great an author Charles Martin was. I actually bought two of his books that are in my bookcase still waiting to be read. I picked this from Booksneeze to review and knew it was a repackaging but it sounded so good.
My, oh my, oh my-it was not just good, it was superb. This has to be one of the most heartwarming books I have ever read. As you read this story you laugh at some pages, you are enraged at some pages, and there are tears at some pages. He covers so much emotion and his writing style is so unique that I found myself so engrossed in reading and loving and rooting for the characters in a way I have never done before.
The main character Tucker Mason (Rain) has had a childhood straight from the pits of Hell with and evil father who doesn't care a lick for him or his brother Mutt. All the father cares about is making money and lots of it along with alcohol binges. Tuck and Mutt were raised by Miss Ella Rain who loves these two boys like her own. She is the only stable person in their lives and she is a Christian who instills the scriptures in their lives along with prayers to cover the evil they all endure. I was so amazed that one person could be so evil to everyone around them. Tucker is forced to return home and face his own tragic past along with Mutt who has escaped from a mental hospital with lots of problems of his own. Also enter a former girlfriend with a five year old son running from an estranged husband. Put these all together and you have one amazing story. At the end of the book and really all the way through, I wished I could have had a Miss Ella in my childhood. I loved how Tucker could still hear her voice and her prayers even after she had died and how he would talk back to her.
This book really shows how forgiveness and redemption can change lives along with peace and grace only found through our amazing Lord and Savior.
I would give this book 10 stars if I could. I am heading to my bookcase to read the other books I have by Charles Martin and I bet they will be as good as this one.
Thank you Thomas Nelson for sending me this copy free to review for my honest opinion,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wrapped in Rain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A compelling read!

Date:January 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Texas Nana
Location:Ft. Worth, TX
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most wonderful story of healing and redemption I have ever read. The characters are so believable, I miss them now that I've finished the book. Charles Martin has been given an amazing gift and is using it to point the way to the Lord!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wrapped in Rain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Claire Rogers
Wrapped in Rain is a great book you can not put down til finished. I highly recommend it,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wrapped in Rain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura
This is an excellent book, and it shows how adults can have positive or negative effects on the children in their lives. The story of healing brings a powerful message of hope for overcoming obstacles. No matter what your childhood was like, you can rise to the challenge and be a happy Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wrapped in Rain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Edith Earnest
This is a marvelous book. Very discriptive and so true to the life being lived by these boys. Love Charles Martin's writings. Want to read more, more of his books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wrapped in Rain
This review is fromWrapped in Rain.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gina Hendrix
Child, Love always wins, always has always will!Timeless words of instruction from the memories of Miss Ella float through Wrapped in Rain by Charles Martin and capture your heart, strike down your pride, and offer glimpses of the mystery of Grace.This is a story of two abused boys, a self-absorbed money hungry father, a self sacrificing little black woman and how love wins over incomprehensible physical, mental, and emotional pain.Tucker Rain providentially meets his childhood friend (Katy Withers) and her son one stormy night. The next day, Tucker discovers his schizophrenic brother (Mutt Mason) has escaped the mental ward. Tucker, Katy, and Jayce (Katys five year son) set off to find him and bring him home.Once found, Tucker brings Mutt back to their home and they slowly discover their roots again. Katys son is a visual reminder to both Tucker and Mutt of their own childhood innocence they had lost somewhere long ago in an upstairs room of Waverly Hall.With vivid, enduring characters and picturesque landscape descriptions, the reader discovers redemption and forgiveness, pride and hatred, innocence and wonder all set in a small town in Alabama.The dialogue will capture your heart and linger through your mind long after you finish the book. Words such as: If your knuckles are bloodier than your knees, youre fighting the wrong battle andHis blood dripped onto my restraints and dissolved them.Perhaps the most enduring dialogue was explaining an invisible God to a five year child by saying The closer you get to the heat, the less you doubt the fireThis is a must read book. In it you will learn what a People Place is, the real reason for beer, and the most complete description of the cultural south by a waitress named Dixie I have ever read.If you have struggled with facing your own childhood demons, read this book and you may find yourself putting some of your own memories behind you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wrapped in Rain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tracy Hansen
This book pulled at my heart strings. The charaters came to life on every page. Bravo Mr. Martin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wrapped in Rain
This review is fromWrapped in Rain.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mhullinger
Charles Martin does it again...he takes the everyday and clothes it in the most beautiful prose...all the sadness in our lives does serve a divine purpose, if we'll only yield ourselves to the Father's leading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wrapped in Rain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathy
I have found a new favorite author. The story is poignant. The characters feel like friends. And, the message has life changing potential.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wrapped in Rain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
C. Lewis
Charles Martin's books are like scenes of mountain beauty in their literary quality with peaks of truth, simple pleasures, and moving emotion. He is my favorite contemporary Christian writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wrapped in Rain
This review is fromWrapped in Rain.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ann
The book is loaded with humor and wit, sadness, love; no, this isn't a romance though there is a little romance going on but mostly it's several people who have been damaged by life and how the love and prayers of a black house keeper and nanny affected the lives of 2 boys. This is about forgiveness and how God worked to bring these lives together and heal them. It's not a preachy book though there is one chapter of a Catholic priest who says more profound words in a few minutes than many preachers I've heard who preach an hour. The characters are all so delightful to read about and I wanted to read more of them when it ended. Jase, the little boy in the story is so adorable and I loved his relationship with Tucker. Then there is poor "Mutt" damaged so much by the past. Yet he is a delightful character. Of course probably the most important character was Miss Ella who loved these boys and prayed them through life and took beatings from the abusive father but still wouldn't leave the boys. Towards the end of the book, Tucker is talking to God and says it all. "WE had 33 years of misery, bitterness, and hell, but you were right. Whipped, battered and beaten, love broke through the rocks. I don't know how, but it did. I guess that's the mystery of it all." It will be worth your time to read the book to find how all of this took place. I got this book from the library but loved it so much, I ordered it to have my own copy because I know I will read it again and lend it to friends. I have pre-ordered Mr Martin's next book, "Where the River Ends" due out in July. This is one author really worth your time to read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wrapped in Rain
This review is fromWrapped in Rain.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Terry
This is the second Charles Martin book I read & now since I have finished all his books, this is definitely my favorite. His characters are so real & human, I felt like I was right there with them. This book is about love, forgiveness & the difference one person (Miss Ella) can make in a person's life. This author is truly gifted & he can't write fast enough as far as I am concerned!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wrapped in Rain
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
TPorterRN
I have read three books by Charles Martin & I believe this is his best work. I was thinking about this story for days after I finished the book and it is the rare fictional piece that I would consider reading again. It is a story of love, forgiveness and redemption set in the real world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>