Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs

Thomas Nelson The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs

This faithful rendering of the New King James Version presents the Bible in more than 90 hours of compelling, dramatic audio theater format.

This world-class audio production immerses listeners in the dramatic reality of the Scriptures as never before with an original music score by composer Stefano Mainetti (Abba Pater), feature film quality sound effects, and compelling narration by Michael York and the work of over 500 actors.

Each beloved book of the Bible comes to life with outstanding performances by Jim Caviezel as Jesus, Richard Dreyfuss as Moses, Gary Sinise as David, Jason Alexander as Joseph, Marisa Tomei as Mary Magdalene, Stacy Keach as Paul, Louis Gossett, Jr. as John, Jon Voight as Abraham, Marcia Gay Harden as Esther, Joan Allen as Deborah, Max von Sydow as Noah, and Malcolm McDowell as Solomon.

The set includes an interactive Behind-the-Scenes DVD that includes actor interviews, worship resources, and a fascinating look at how dramatic audio theater is produced.

Average Customer Rating:
4.681 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 out of 2090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Review 1 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MP3 More User Friendly

Date:April 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kevin Mack
Location:Vista, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own both the MP3 and the CD version, and the MP3 is so much easier to work with. I called Thomas Nelson, and they allow you to download it to all your personal devices. I have a desktop, a laptop and I will be getting a MP3 player to keep with me in my vehicles. If you have the CD's, you can't skip around from the New Testament to the Old Testament. You also have to change them frequently, as part of a book will be on one cd and the rest on another. With the MP3's, a couple clicks of your mouse and your there. Another advantage of the MP3's is that you can highlight all the chapters in a book, right click on properties and click details, and you can see how long a book will take you to get through.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for both Children and Adults.

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Muddydog76
Location:Spokane Wa.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have three children two of them have special needs. They all love listening to it. My middle son said he can see the stories come to life in his head. They will sometimes ask to stay in the car to finish out the story. And I love it. It seems to makes the scriptures more personable and real, not something just read out loud.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherri Janzen
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We enjoyed watching the DVD about how this audioBible was made. I put it on three iPods so all my children can listen to it as they go to sleep. Really great quality!! Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great content but beware of the format

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scientist and engineer
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Much good can and has been said of the content. That would be 5 stars.
However, I rarely listen to this MP3 Bible anymore and have reverted to one of my prior audio renditions because of the format. The MP3 format of this product is good but it does not allow you to go to another MP3 playlist (such as music) and then return to the same position. I would buy this again if it were offered in M4B or other audio book format that, at least on Apple devices, allows you to resume where you last left off. This is very useful because few people would listen to the entire 66 books without listening to something else on their MP3 player and then want to resume in the same place they left off when they come back to the 66 books.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bible storytelling like you've never heard!

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
simple66gal
Location:Galesburg IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This CD set is awesome! I'd heard about it a couple years ago, but it far exceeds my expectations. The quality of the 'performance' is masterful...and the sound effects and music really bring the stories of the Bible to life! If you're looking for a gift for a Christian friend who has everything, or a seeker or new believer who struggles with Bible reading, this is the perfect gift. And if you just want to spoil yourself with yet another 'version' of your favorite book...the "Word of Promise" is for you. God bless!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Audio Bible

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Uncle Blake
Location:Kearney, Nebraska
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have listened to many an audio Bible, they are all pretty good, but this one is fantastic! I am an old Disc Jocky and understand "the theatre of the mind" so I especially appreciated the way it was all put together. I like also that you can go to the chapter you want, and not have to listen to the whole book to get there, (not that that is a bad thing). It is very well done, the actors are very accomplished, and it is truly acted out, not just read. Good Job!!! I would highly recomment this for folks who would like something to listen to while in your Quiet Time, your commute to and from work, doing your chores around the house, or just contemplating how great God is. Truly a Blessing!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best NKJV audio Bible

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alan Kruger
Location:Redondo Beach, Ca
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great way to hear the Word of God. The performers, and backround sounds really add another dimension to this great story of God and his people. You won't be dissapointed if you purchase this audio version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyone should have this!

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimmy
Location:Sunman In.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been the greatest help in reading the Bible and really understanding Gods Word. I would highly recomend this to anyone. It truly takes you to a different level of understanding and knowing God. Every day I so look forward to sitting down with my Bible to listen and read. Thank you so much for letting me share this. God Bless to you all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
gom1116
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy, I am really enjoying this. Although I had heard a preview of it before I purchased it, I had no idea it would be this good until I received it and started to listen to it.
The price was great also.
Thanks and God blees you guys.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life like story

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anthony Mcgill
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the sound effects with the bible makes you feel that you are part of the story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michael
Location:Norwich UK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Word or Promise Mp3 is a really excellent presentation of the NKJV. The actors bring an added dimension to the gospels and the sound effects and dramatisation is just right, so many other versions are overdone and take away from text.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i use it almost every day

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
dave
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I LOVE the Word of Promise mp3 audio Bible. As a matter of fact, the only thing bad about it was that I had to change all the file names to make it usable on my iPod/iTunes and on my smart phone. The actor's are great and the sound effects and music are good as well. In my opinion, nothing is overdone or overacted as in some other audio Bibles I've heard. The Word of Promise is an exciting way to get God's word into your brain while doing just about anything.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great to use for Sunday School classes.

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
cherakei
Location:Lithia Springs, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so thrilled to have the Word of Promise on MP3's. My husband and I both downloaded them to our iPods. Now we can listen to God's Word anywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like the way this product was put together

Date:April 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dino
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Listening to the bible done theatrically along with reading it physically put a new perspective on the characters of the bible. It brings them to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for my daily commute time

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Love the Lord
Location:Lincoln, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With my busy schedule and two hour daily commute, it is very challenging to find time each day to read the bible. Listening to the dramatized bible makes the commute go much faster and feeds my soul. The background music and quality acting make it a much richer experience, though I have to admit it took me a little while to get used to Richard Dreyfuss as Moses. It's a great value for my money, and fills a hole in my walk with God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
atb9584
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product at a reasonable price. I am enjoying listening to the bible on cd.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful product

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
bags
Location:castle rock,CO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am able to listen to the bible while I am driving. I am not a reader so this is a GOD send so I can go through the whole bible over and aver again. Thank You
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

It can't be downloaded to an MP3!

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
bert
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The recorded Bible itself may be fine, but I could never get that far. The format it is recorded in is not comaptible to download to an MP3 player. I spent hours and hours trying to find programs to convert (.gi) to (mp3).
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
bible girl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great quality product for a great price! Love it the best when I can read along with my Bible. Only wish that they had a way to download the MP3 files directly to my phone cuz I haven't gotten around to doing it yet from the CDs I bought.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The NKJV Word of Promise: Complete Audio Bible On MP3 CD-ROMs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful! Well done!

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
llsalas
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I listen to alot of audio books and I thought this would be a great way to read the Bible.. I love it. It makes "reading" so much more enjoyable! Thank you so much for putting this together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.