Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson For Better or For Worse

Thomas Nelson For Better or For Worse

She's a wedding coordinator. He's a divorce attorney. She begins marriages. He ends them. How could these two possibly find common ground?Wendy Hartline is finally starting to settle into the single life. After a difficult season of grief following her husband's death, she's taken over the family business of coordinating memorable weddings. Life has become . . . comfortable.Then the charming and incredibly frustrating Marco Amorini opens a legal practice--specializing in divorces--right next to her wedding chapel and stirs up everything.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for For Better or For Worse
Review 1 for For Better or For Worse
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a hilarious book! I laughed practically through the whole thing. When a divorce attorney opens his practice right next door to a wedding planner the sparks really begin to fly!
No only does does Wendy have to deal with a recent tragedy in her life, now she has to deal with the cute guy that is sharing her business's common area and really getting on her last nerve.
I liked Wendy and Marco. You could really feel that attraction, but also the animosity. But in the end its love that wins out.
If you are looking for a light read for an afternoon, I would definitely recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for For Better or For Worse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2009
Diann Hunts For Better or For Worse is the charming story of Wendy Hartline, a widow and mother of two adult children, who wonders if she is keeping the memory of her dead husband alive by running the wedding chapel that they used to operate together. Her live reaches a turning point when a divorce attorney who represents everything she opposes buys the business next door to hers, her daughters marriage hits a rocky patch, her father shows up on her doorstep looking for a place to live, and her son is engaged to the divorce attorneys daughter! But will it be the last straw when she finds herself falling for the dashing divorce attorney.This story is full of laughs and touching moments. It is a thoroughly enjoyable read with a thread of faith woven throughout.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for For Better or For Worse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Isabel Vasquez
This book was so funny and a great story. I loved it. It was fun
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for For Better or For Worse
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sue Galucki
Another great story from Diann Hunt. Her sense of humor, blended with family conflict, love of chocolate, and wildlife in places they shouldn't be, make this a delight to read...and the fun begins when the 40-something main character becomes acquainted with an Antonio Banderas lookalike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for For Better or For Worse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
D.H.F.C.
Diann Hunt does it again! Great book, from start to finish. The only thing I hated was putting it down when I was done! Concept was great from start to finish. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for For Better or For Worse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2008
This book is a gem. Take a divorce attorney and the owner of a wedding chapel, add in their children who want to get married, and you have a recipe for fun. The sense of humor in this book is great. The romance real. And the characters aren't your normal 20-somethings. This is the first of Diann's books that I've read, and now I understand why everyone raves about her style. This is a great read and fresh addition to romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for For Better or For Worse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janet
Diann has done it again! Written a book that is both entertaining and encouraging. For those who have not read a Diann Hunt book, I strongly suggest you begin. You will laugh yourself silly and find yourself examining your own relationship with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for For Better or For Worse
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2008
This story reminded me of all the great 50s movies where the leads are total opposites yet still somehow find themselves being attracted to each other. Wendy wants nothing to do with Mario yet he keeps popping up everywhere. Then she starts seeing all the bad things about Logan. It's funny how when you want to stop liking someone, you can focus on everything negative about them and then you find them repulsive. The writing is sprinkled with humor throughout which will keep the reader giggling. Scenes such as Wendy's foot phobia, Roseanne's fear of birds and the whole geese sequence will have you cracking up. There are serious topics discussed such as parent/child relations regardless of what age the child is. Also the sanctity of marriage and the effects of exactly how the spouse left the other is brought to the light in the book.There were times however when I felt that Wendy acted like a pushover. I felt this especially during confrontations with her dad, Brooke, Mario and Logan. She didn't seem to want to argue back or push her case more. It made her character seem really weak because she wouldn't put up a fight or speak up about what she really wanted to say. This was especially evident when Sophia and Colin announce their engagement and Wendy does not allow herself to have a heart to heart talk with Colin. I felt that she really should have sat down and talked with him instead of just saying no and then just trying to pacify him. This brings to mention something that did slightly confused me throughout the book. If Wendy and Mario get married, their kids will become step siblings. If that happens, it looks like step siblings will be marry each other. It's nothing major, just something that kept running through my head the whole time I was reading the book.This is a fun story, perfect for those who are looking for a light hearted funny story with a touch of romance. A perfect Valentine's Day read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for For Better or For Worse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2008
Diann Hunt frosts a three-tiered-wedding-cake of a story with the delectable icing of humor. Poor Wendy not only has to deal with her own love life, her daughter and son-in-law are tossing grenades at each other, and the cake topper is Wendy's son has proposed to Marco's daughter. Not wanting their children to marry too young, Marco and Wendy embark on a scheme to break them up. I kept my husband awake with my laughing, so For Better or for Worse was banned from the bedroom. Hunt tosses in a couple of twists you won't see coming. What you will see in her characters is your neighbor or perhaps ... a bit of yourself. And you'll laugh all the way through. Delightful and completely satisfying, For Better or for Worse delivers the expected high caliber book of Diann Hunt. If you enjoy laughter, I highly recommend For Better or for Worse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.