Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Wedding Machine

Thomas Nelson The Wedding Machine

The weddings of Jasper, South Carolina, have been run for years by four women respectfully dubbed "The Wedding Machine." This summer the daughters and sons of these four women are each being "married off" (to some unlikely characters!) and the gears of the machine begin to grind to a surprising halt.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Wedding Machine
Review 1 for The Wedding Machine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joy Farnsworth
Location:ok
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good clean romance. I like that it asked you some thought provoking questions in the back. They helped to look at the lives of these four women through a different view.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Wedding Machine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin Milhouse
A little confusing and difficult to get into at first (lots of flipping i from past to present in each of the four women's lives as their stories unfold), I grew increasingly engaged in this book by about the 4th or 5th chapter. Again, so interested to read of the cultural norms of the southern US that are highlighted in this story - I enjoyed it very much! (I found it to be an interesting pick for a "Women of Faith" book. The women do not have any sort of personal faith in God through at least the first half of the story, so we see them acting and reacting in all their "fallen human" glory. But, as we know, sometimes it takes a lot of sorrow in this fallen world to get our attention and remind us that God knew we would need a Savior!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Wedding Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Well . . . I was glad it was a discounted book. I too was disappointed that this would be a Women of Faith book. It was a little too much like a "world" book. The story was a good one about the women and their friendship, I just wish it could have been a true Christian book, because it really wasn't.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Wedding Machine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee Nunez
The cast of characters in this book were very real. It was a pleasant journey to watch them grow and trust God through the pages of this book. The first few pages of this book were a bit different, and I was not sure what to think. I am so glad I kept reading. I loved that these characters were real people, warts and all. This is a book you should take the time to read and enjoy, and see what lessons you can learn from these southern ladies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Wedding Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Neese
I can sum up this book up in one word "trash!" I have read well over 1000 Christian fiction books and there are only 5 that I have thrown in the trash. This is one of them. I had a gut instinct about the 3rd chapter that I should just quit reading it. But I try to give the author the benefit of the doubt. At page 127, I'd had enough. I am VERY disappointed that this endorsed by Women of Faith.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Wedding Machine
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
A very intertainging story,but that has to befollowed closely. It has a different focus, but the true old South comes through clearlywhen dealing with ways things were done backthen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Wedding Machine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
I thought this was a wonderful book. I loved the characters and their strong bond of friendship. This is a great southern novel about friendship, healing and forgiveness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Wedding Machine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon K. Souza
Beth Webb Hart is quickly becoming an author whose new releases I look forward to. I loved Adelaide Piper and am enjoying The Wedding Machine every bit as much. This is not just a shallow, feel-good read. Rather,it's a beautifully written story about family, friendship and age-old tradition, that draws you deeply into all the characters' lives. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Wedding Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2008
This book sounded so promising, especially to be picked as a 'Woman of Faith' addition.I Love the South, the southern etiquette and some of what seems the older ways to me.To me this book was very depressing. Only a few times have I every forced myself to read a book in hopes for a redeeming ending.My favorite time or should I say hobby is to read...A good book may take 2 days, a great book, one day... This book took 3 weeks.I've never written a review such as this.If this is a book you'd like to read anyway, I would suggest looking it up at a library.To the Author Beth Webb Hart, I'm sure your next book will be better, and I'll try it too.God bless you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Wedding Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sheri
I was so looking forward to this book from the description but was sadly disappointed. It was hard to follow and keep the characters straight. The books I don't care for are far and few between. Maybe I am just not used to southern customs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.