Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16

Thomas Nelson Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16

Heather Curridge is envied by most: she has a successful surgeon husband who panders to her every need, a smart son, a beautiful home, and money to shop, re-do her home, and install the newest pool in her back yard. But while Heather is outwardly content, inner turmoil reigns with memories of peers being mistreated in her Christian school and a feeling that she could be doing much more with her life. As Heather slowly starts to come out of her shell, she discovers unlikely friends in two old Quaker sisters and a grumpy nun who help her to discover how she can fulfill her life with God's work. Lisa Samson, softcover, 324 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
Review 1 for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynette
Location:Sharpsburg, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Excellent book! I enjoyed this one so much that I immediately purchased three or four other Samson books. While this was a fun and enjoyable read, God used this book to convict me in several areas of my life. The book was very well written, and compelling enough that I did not want to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2010
This was a strange book . I had a hard time getting into this book. I made myself finish this book. I dont like writing bad things about a book but this one was a hard book to get into. although through this womens eyes we see that she has everything she wants and then more. She buys things she dont need but throughout this book she is never satisified. You can feel her hurt but when she meets Quakers sister and the nin her life changes. Its not about her anymore and she learns to care about others and realize money dont make you happy in life. I was not thrilled over this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
I didn't think at first I was going to enjoy this book, but I found I could not put it down. It made me realize, through this woman's life, that the nice things a person may have in their home, all of the things we all take for granted, are exactly what she said, "STUFF". I think it would make rich and not so rich feel exactly the same, and realize that it is all just STUFF!!! We actually have more to give if we would just do what she did!!! Clear out the STUFF!!!We can also learn from this book that we should not judge a person by the nice home, nice clothing, ability to buy whatever they wish does not fulfill our lives. Sometimes the less fortunate end up being the most fortunate!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Sieja
Excellent book! Our women's Bible study group is reading it now. Lots of topics for discussion!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
This review is fromQuaker Summer - mass market edition.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
sylvia.c.jackson
This book not only interesting and exciting to see what was happening next. It challenges your Christian Belief. Makes you think and act on what you read. Thanks to the author was opening my eyes to Real Christian s ideas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Payne
Great read!! I saw many of my sins in a new light. I was glad to "meet" another uselessspender and I have already started filling yard sale boxes with "stuff".I am glad I bought a second copy to give at Chrisstmas and yes my copy will be passed along to others as a recycling item.It is great to have good christian books like the Women of Faith" Series! I can't wait to read more of the same. Invite of a group of friends and start a book club with "Quaker Summer"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lisa
I very much enjoyed "Quaker Summer". Heather went through a journey that was very well described and also challenging to the readers as well. It's so easy to be overly consumed with OUR plans and "causes"...but do they really glorify God or is it what He wants us to be doing? Lisa Samson did a great job of putting thoughts and feelings that we, as women all have, into words. I loved thegreat relationships that Heather had with her husband, her son, and her very understanding friends. You will enjoy this book...it's highly recommended!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karyn Gillan
I enjoyed Quaker Summer immensely. I liked the writing style and the content. The book has a lot to say to Christian women about the importance and joy of giving to others. Anyone looking for fulfillment and real joy should read about Heather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cheri Clay
Christy award winning author Lisa Samson does an amazing job with Quaker Summer, her first novel with WestBow but her nineteenth overall. A definite 5 plus wow factor as youll find yourself within the pages of this page turner that you won't be able to put down. The story unwinds and is so real youll think you are Heather or shes your best friend, an awesome character we all can relate to. Voted 2007s Women of Faith's Novel of the Year tells you how amazing this book is (Women of Faith is an organization dedicated to encouraging women of all ages to grow in faith and spiritual maturity with Christ). There is even a reading group guide in the back of the book as this book would be perfect for reading groups.<br /><br />Youll love the mixture of everyday life with the Bible and how each section ties in with the Beatles such as "Fool on the Hill" and "The Long and Winding Road," even if you dont know who the Beatles are youll catch the comparison. Actually the style of writing puts the reader in mind of the writings of Erma Bombeck, an awesome writer of the seventies. A must read for adult women, especially those who question life and God. So come on an amazing journey and give this book a chance, listen to God and your heart it will really set you free!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2007
First off I loved the Beatles references in this book. The book was divided into three parts, each named after a Beatles song. Heather's story was very intriguing. Her past with Gary and Mary kept getting hinted at throughout the book, giving you only slight glimpses into the past. This either will keep you wanting to read to find out more, or frustrates you because Heather keeps bemoaning over these events which the reader is clueless about. Heather, though, is a very realistic character who says things I would say and reacts to situations like a real person would. The secondary characters bring life into the story such as Sister Jerusha, Anna and Liza. What I really enjoyed about this book is that it is not at all preachy. The main character is not an active church goer and tells about problems she has with church itself. While at the end of the book Heather has changed, she doesn't become a stereotypical church fanatic like in some other Christian novels. This book had some of the best word imagery I have ever read. I enjoyed the descriptions in this book. I could literally see that car covered in cake and could feel the canoe riding across the lake. This was my first Lisa Samson book and it definitely won't be my last. Very enjoyable and highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Andrea
Just finished this new offering from Lisa Samson. I discovered her through her blog - http://www.lisasamson.typepad.com/ - and I so fell in love with her perspective and personality, that I just had to check out her books. My first foray was "Straight Up", which was awesome, but I loved this new one even better. The main character, Heather, says the things many of us are thinking. She represents many Christians in this country who have been blessed financially, yet have a nagging suspicion that they are falling short of what Christ had in mind when he spoke of "doing for the least of these". Even those of us struggling to pay our bills have much to learn from Heather. Do I invest my time and resources in that ministry downtown to pregnant girls, or do I contribute to my kid's college savings fund? Heather begins to ask the questions we don't want to face, suspecting she is going crazy in the process. She finally allows God to answer those questions and show her His purpose for her life. This book took me on a journey within my own beliefs about what it means to balance serving Christ with material blessing. It's rare that I can have this much fun with a book, yet walk away with concrete plans for doing things differently in my own life. What I appreciated the most was how real and captivating the characters were. The dialogue dances off the page and there is just enough of the unexpected to make the story feel alive, not contrived. I hated to say goodbye and I'm really hoping that a sequel will be forthcoming. Lisa definitely has a handle on what is truly happening in the Christian community as well as what should be happening. She is inspiring!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Quaker Summer, Women of Faith Series #16
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Pattie (FreshBrewedWriter.blogspot.com)
Sometimes we choose a book because of its cover, or because we want to be entertained. It's rare when a fiction book has the capacity and the potential to change lives. Lisa Samson's "Quaker Summer" does exactly that. Heather Reeves, the book's narrator, has issues with shopping too much, doing or saying the wrong things at the wrong times, and is (dare I say it?) HUMAN. She is a fictional woman that I as a reader identified with (not the rich and spendy part, but the wants to change part). With several older and wiser peripheral characters, we have the privilege of witnessing Heather's transformation and embracing of the "ministry of presence," and it is good. It is very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.