Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Will of Wisteria

Thomas Nelson The Will of Wisteria

When wealthy Edward Wilcott dies, his children have to "earn" their inheritance. Attorney Elizabeth must work pro bono for a year; plastic surgeon Jeffrey must find a less superficial practice; Mary Catherine has to stay in one place and teach; and Will is to build homes for the poor. Will they defy Wilcott's wishes---or end up rich? 320 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Will of Wisteria
Review 1 for The Will of Wisteria
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVED IT!! I haven't been this excited about a book in a long time. This was a book that told a story about four siblings that must follow their fathers wishes if they want to inherit all his riches. We can see throughout the story that this is a decision that all humans must make in regards to following God's desire for salvation for us.
I love books like this because it doesn't just tell a entertaining story, it makes the reader think.
This would wonderful for a book club discussion group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Will of Wisteria
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I would give this seven stars if possible!

Date:July 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Four self absorbed and spoiled rich siblings are waiting to find out what their father has left them in their will. When they hear the stipulations that he has placed on their inheritance, they are all outraged to find that they will have to completely change their lives for an entire year and do as instructed if they want to be eligible to find out what he has left them. With the stakes being so high, they plunge into this new year of their lives and in the process enormous changes take place. How will the year end?
This book has been out for several years but I just finished reading it. I must say that I am completely impressed. If you have read many of my recent reviews you will know that I have been somewhat disappointed with several of the new offerings in the Christian fiction market. They just seem to be making lip service to God and do not make a real impact for Christianity at all. This book is different.
Here you have a fantastic tale of pain, remorse, greed, desire, selfishness, heartache and redemption that will keep you captivated and intrigued from page one. All four siblings are spotlighted with a close-up description of their choices and actions throughout that year. The ending will keep you glued to your seat and is completely satisfying. The story is great—the spiritual lessons are even greater. This is one book that truly provides a great story while teaching a valuable spiritual lesson as well. If, like me, you find yourself tired of the contrived and false plots of so many of the new books, do yourself a favor and read this one. You won’t be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Will of Wisteria
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynn Tuerff
This may be my favorite book I've read lately. I couldn't put it down and have recommended it to many friends. Awesome book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Will of Wisteria
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mike
I started this book one Saturday morning as I sat in the doctors office awaiting the opportunity to be seen. This book made the three hours that I had to wait with people coughing and sniffling all around me rather painless. The plot could be compared to that of the Ultimate Gift as the book is about four siblings who have to complete a task in order to inherit their fathers 1 billion dollar fortune. The journey draws you into the life of four self-centered people, whom you will immediately find similarities with, as they begin to experience life change. I ended up finishing this book late Saturday night and Im pretty sure from a little over halfway through till the end of the book, there must have been something in my eyes because I couldnt seem to keep them from watering. This is one of the few books that Ive ever read that I consumed the entire thing in one day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Will of Wisteria
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2008
Life as Elizabeth, Jeffery, Mary Catherine and Will know it is about to be over after they are read the terms of their fathers will. Elijah Clayton Wilcott wants them to do the unthinkable for a while year!! All the children think he has got to be kidding. This had to be some extreme joke. Not!! No money for any of the children that do not comply with their late fathers wishes. They cant believe their father would do this to them. Who else could they talk to? There had to be a way around these demands so they could get the money now. Each one was determined to find that way on their own.Denise says this about herself The one thing I believe the Lord has gifted me to do is to take the human relationship and strip it down to the place we all live:. She does this so well. Its very true with this book and the others I have read by her. One the surface this seems like a light hearted fun book a no brainer. But after reading a few chapters I felt that Denise had a way of pirecing my heart and mind as I read parts of this story I started to feel uncomfortable as the Wilcott children struggled with the situations they found themselves in. I found myself searching my soul, my motives, hurts in my life and the lives of others around me. I walked away from this book knowing that in the middle of the stuff of life, (the good, bad, and the ugly). God sets us up for victory. Denise says He surrounds each of us with everything necessary to winEach of us will taste life. Its inevitable. But each of us has been given every necessary tool for our refining, our taming, our potential:. In the end its a matter of our will. Will we trust God with our whole life, our dreams, our heart or not?? This is a powerfully moving book!! It will change your life and the way you look at people and yourself if you let it. I highly recommend this book and the other books that Denise has written.Nora St.Laurentwww.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Will of Wisteria
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2008
It's pretty amazing that an author can go from rollicking comedy, to a book with only a handful of funny parts, and still leave you hungering for more! That's just what Denise has done. I haven't read Flies on the Butter yet, but after Will of Wisteria, I really want to. All of the characters were amazing individuals, and for once, when the book switched to a chapter about a different character, I didn't skip it expecting it to be boring. The only thing I half-way resented was that there wasn't more of a story for Will and Olivia. I think my favorite character was Mary Catherine, just because she really was the sweetest, and I loved the whole situation she got herself into...but I don't want to give anything away. For all of you who haven't read this book: ya gotta read it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Will of Wisteria
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kristen
The story line for the Will of Wisteria was fascinating. The characters were really interesting and it was cool to watch them change through what their father required of them. This is definetly her best book yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Will of Wisteria
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Darlene James
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. First time I've read anything by this author and I look forward to reading more by her in the future. The lessons learned by the characters into their own lives was poignant and something all of us need to do. And the realization that they couldn't save one of their own was heart-wrenching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Will of Wisteria
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lynn C
I enjoyed The Will of Wisteria - first time I've read a work by this author. The characters were believable and I felt I learned something about the region and Southern manners. Some might think one of the underlying plots was too easily explained away, but I appreciated that it was not tedious or boring. The resolution of the "issues" of one of the characters actually made me cry, it was that heartrending! I freely passed it on to my friends and look forward to more by Denise Hildreth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Will of Wisteria
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
paul
I am a reader of many Christian books and I can say that this book is the best Christian book I have read so far this year.Fabulous!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Will of Wisteria
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
momoffive
Denise does it again. I love all her books. This one is a tad more serious, but still full of wonderful southern charm & a message of God's healing power.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.