Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed

Thomas Nelson NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed

The acclaimed The NKJV Study Bible is a complete study system for pastors, teachers, or students who desire accurate study in God's Word. Better than ever, it includes more features to make it the best all-purpose study Bible available. Using the trusted New King James Version, The NKJV Study Bible has "the mind of a scholar and the heart of a pastor." Nelson's skilled team of scholars has produced THE study system to reach for when accurate study in God's Word is the goal.

Features
  • Large, readable 12-point type
  • NKJV, one of the best translations for Bible study
  • Cross references
  • More than 15,000 study notes to help you understand the text and apply the Bible to your life
  • 150 Bible times & culture notes get you in touch with the ancient world
  • 114 articles on the key doctrines of Scripture
  • Word studies keyed to Strong's Concordance help you access terms in the original languages
  • 14-page section of newly created full-color maps—as well as in-text maps
  • 80 in-text charts
  • Book introductions including "Christ in the Scriptures", helping you see Christ in every book of the Bible
  • Outlines of each book
  • Timelines of Bible and historical events
  • Harmony of the Gospels
  • Topical index to all notes, word studies, maps & charts
  • NKJV Concordance
  • Gold page edges
  • Thumb-indexed
  • Ribbon marker
  • Presentation page
  • Free digital download with purchase, a $40 value
  • 9.75" x 6.75" X 2.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.624 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
67 out of 7392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I wanted to love this, but...

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
missrosey
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Large print study bibles are difficult to find, and I was hopeful when I purchased this it would be exactly what I was looking for.
However, there are several major disappointments.
First, the quality of the bonded leather is unbeleivably poor. The glued binding is below par as well. Mine is coming apart with very little use.
I also find the maps- both within the text and at the back to be below expectations- very little color or detail.
The concordance is somewhat lacking in my opinion as in comparison to other study bibles I have owned.
In short this is very cheaply made. I enjoy the print, and therefore use it from time to time, but would not recommend it to others.
I have purchased several bibles published by Thomas Nelson in the past, and have always found them to be of good quality. This was truly disappointing for me.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Gift

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Sorrento, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this Bible as a gift for my fiance - I had it personalized even though I hadn't seen it in person. I just knew it would be perfect & it is! When my order arrived, it was the first thing I opened & examined...when I took the lid off the box, my response was this: tears in my eyes as I ran my fingertips over the leather & over his monogram - absolutely beautiful & an incredible value. The Nelson Study Bible is a wonderful study guide & greatly enhances the reading experience--any questions as to meaning/understanding are right at your fingertips!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible. I like the way its set up.

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eddie Pollock
Location:Brandywine, WV.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Using this Bible I have really learned so much from it. The commentary is great. It helps me to understand many things I skipped over thinking they were not important. I learned the New Testament is an extension of the Old Testament. You must learn the Torah to understand the New Testament. God Bless the people who put this Study Bible together. Its a great help in finding Gods purpose for us. Thank You!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I recommend

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the product & the fast shipping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Defective Bible

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
JudyReno
Location:Reno, NV
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Bible I received was missing the last half of Mark and the first third of Luke. The good news is that Thomas Nelson sent me a replacement, including with my name embossed. But, I did have to pay to send the defective Bible to them.
I have just started using the replacement in my study. So far, I prefer John MacArthur's comments and would recommend his study Bible over this one. That said, there are features to this I think I will enjoy. My John MacArthur Bible, also NKJV, about 10 years old, is showing its age.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The "Cadillac" of personal study bibles, IMO

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
TRex
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I confess I had a chance to look at this Bible in a local Christian book store, so I knew what I was getting. However, the Christianbook.com price just couldn't be beat. When I looked over this Bible I thought,"This is the Cadillac of study bibles". I was particularly interested in the "Christ In The Scriptures" segment before every book because I have been bringing out the "types and shadows" of Christ in the Old Testament when I teach my Bible class at church. It has a generous concordance, verse-by-verse notes, center column references, topical subject index, and select word study notes throughout. I am also pleased that the text is in paragraph format, which is recommended in order to get the "flow" of the passage you are reading. The paragraph format is not used by most publishers except for the ESV.
As a personal preference, I got this Bible in the large print edition, since most of my other Bible reference books are in large print. This does make for a slightly thicker Bible than most (2 inches thick!) but it is well worth it. This Bible also comes in a "regular" size and has all the same information in it, if that's your preference. I also prefer the NKJV because of its faithfulness to the text of the KJV while making it easier to read. I highly recommend it!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trudy
Location:La Crete
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great features and easy to read! Beautiful engraving!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great study tool

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
tonyl
Location:Spruce Pine NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are many great resources in this study Bible. I consider it a great choice for any serious Bible student.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
tadebord
Location:Ringlin, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible exceeded my expectations. I have already learned some new things, in a short period of time. I highly recommend this Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice book,

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Johnthebaptist
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enlarge the text please. text small, book labels small text
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great study notes and easy to read.

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
BroBob
Location:IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a quality Bible and the large print is easy to read. What I had not anticipated was how thick and heavy it is. A good desk Bible but a little big for holding while preaching. Great study notes. I didn't realize it was the old Nelson study Bible renamed and packaged. I thought it was new. Still a good Bible and I recommend it to NKJV users such as myself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is exceptional

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jane
Location:Tehachapi, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for a friend, who is new to studying the Bible and she just loves it. I would like to have one for myself. I have a study Bible but it is not large print and as I am getting older, I sometimes have trouble reading it. I also like the tabs for the books of the Bible. Overall, as I said, it is exceptional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PERFECTION +++++

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
nikki
Location:atoka tn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY NEW NKJV STUDY BIBLE ( GREAT PRICE )
BETTER UNDERSTANDING AS I SEARCH
" THE WORD OF THE LORD MY GOD "
THANK YOU
FOR A PRICE I COULD AFFORD
NIKKI
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

product was everything that I was looking for

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
steven
Location:Tacoma , Wa
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been needing a large print Bible , and was seeking a NKJV. The quality of the Bible I found at Christianbook.com has met all my expectations. I am very happy with it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this study Bible. It has great helps like a list of messianic prophecies and where they were fulfilled, and a list of prayers. The commentary and essays are conservative in nature and do not either contradict scripture nor try to tell me what to think about scripture. The downside is a glued binding, rather than sewn, and some of the print for the history and Culture notes and charts is small and hard to read, but these are just minor inconveniences. I would recommend this study Bible to anyone wanting to get deeper into God's Word.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terry Dunn
Location:Toronto
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NKJV is an accurate, literary translation of the original Hebrew and Greek.
The NKJV Study Bible, large print edition, has all the usual helps provided in study Bibles such as: book intros, annotations, cross references, concordance etc. Additionally, this Bible contains Hebrew/Greek word studies and highlights of Jesus in every book of the Bible.
This is a powerful study tool based on a powerful, historic, Bible translation!
Highly recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Study Bible

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Location:Minnesota
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great study Bible. I am on my second copy after wearing my first out. I enjoy having the study notes throughout. If you like having a digest that covers the majority of the individual verses, this Bible is for you. There are not random notes here and there like some study Bibles have. This Bible has thorough notes steadily throughout the text on theological issues, verse specific.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No More Games!

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terry Dunn
Location:Toronto
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NKJV Study Bible large print Leathersoft Charcoal is an amazing Bible. Regarding contents, it has everything you want in a study Bible: literal translation, book intros (including Christ in the Scriptures for each book), 15,000 study notes, word studies, concordance, maps etc.
Regarding construction: flexible and durable leathersoft cover, sewn binding, book mark ribbon.
This Bible is about the size of the ESV Study Bible but it has a large, easy to read type face.
If you want a real Bible Translation with historic lineage in a study edition, you won't go wrong with the NKJV Study Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Study Bilble has great features

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gregory
Location:Clarinda,Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love this Study Bible. The large print makes easy reading and the features are great. It really makes a difference in understanding what your reading. I bought my son this bible for Christmas and I was so impressed I bought one for myself. And I'm going to buy another one for my wife.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NKJV Study Bible- Large Print Edition, Black Bonded Leather Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good quality product

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:Erie, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at several Bibles before I found this one and am very pleased. I was looking for a large print Bible with study guide and have not been disappointed with it. The Bible is a little heavier because of the large print and study guide but I expected that and do not find it to be an issue. Overall, I really like it and am looking forward to many years of study with it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.