Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Passion of Mary-Margaret

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson The Passion of Mary-Margaret

When Mary-Margaret Danaher met Jude Keller, the lightkeeper's son, she was studying at convent school on a small island in the Chesapeake Bay. Destined for a life as a religious sister, she nevertheless felt a pull toward Jude-rough and tumble, promiscuous Jude.

After sojourning as a medical missions sister in Swaziland, Mary-Margaret returns to the island to prepare for her final vows. Jude, too, returns to the island, dissolute and hardened. Mary-Margaret can hardly believe it when the Spirit tells her she must marry the troubled boy who befriended her all those years ago, forsaking the only life she ever wante d for a man she knows she'll never love.

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Passion of Mary-Margaret
Review 1 for The Passion of Mary-Margaret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary-Margaret was an orphan from birth; at least, that's how her grandmother told it. Her mother died giving birth to her, and her father; a nameless, faceless, raping seminarian was never a part of her life. At least, that's the story her mother, Mary Margaret the first, came home saying was the truth. So Mary-Margaret was raised by her grandmother and aunt who was special.
Born in 1930 on a beautiful island off Chesapeake Bay, Mary-Margaret knows exactly what she wants to be. A religious sister. Despite the mysteries of her past, she simply wants to be in love with Jesus and serve Him the rest of her life. But when He asks the impossible of her before she takes her vows, will she be able to truly follow Him with all her heart, mind, and soul? Or is marrying Jude just asking too much?
Religious Sister Marries Syphilitic Male Prostitute. All I can say is, "WOW". There are so many thoughts I had going into this book, and while the beginning tended to drag a little, by the middle of the story, it was a vibrant recollection of a life. The constant back and forth between the present day and the past always makes for a good story and it brings a certain tone you cannot get any other way. Samson took some very big risks in this novel. She dealt with some heavy issues that we still do not have the answers for. While she didn't go to extreme detail about certain vices, sins, and human error; it was enough to get a glimpse of what we are capable of becoming if not for the grace of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Passion of Mary-Margaret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
T. Forkner
I can't believe I've never stopped by to review this book because it's my favorite! I love the way Lisa Samson shows readers the beauty of the human spirit, and she did so again in this novel. While reading The Passion of Mary Margaret, I was reminded over and over again that even when our lives look unattractive on earth, God sees us as beautiful. This is the most tender, thought-provoking novel I've read in years.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Passion of Mary-Margaret
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Galliford
Sorry but this sounded too catholic to me which I am not. So chose not to read but a few pages.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Passion of Mary-Margaret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Rochlitz
This book did not begin at all like I expected. I read the first few chapters wondering if I would finish it at all. By the end of the book I can say it was one of the best I have read in a long time. Ms Samson really makes the characters believable - drawing you into their lives. Most of all her message of redemption, mercy, grace and helping the needy were delivered in such a fantastic way that you can't help but think about it in terms of your own life. I thought about the people in this book for days after I read it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Passion of Mary-Margaret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dawn M. DesJardin
This was so different from my other favorite Lisa Samson book,"The Moment I Saw You," but I loved it even more. I was always in a hurry to know what would happen next and how it would all turn out. I was not disappointed. And the best way to end a book is to feel God's great love - I did.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Passion of Mary-Margaret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2009
Characters that grab hold of your heart and dont let go. Issues that skirt the edges of traditional Christianity. Buy this book for friends of all faiths if you want them to meet a great Christian writerand see Jesus, supernatural King yet loving Friend. The sisters at a convent school off Chesapeake Bay wrap orphan Mary-Margaret Fischer in the pious habit of safety and convention, and that suits the young tomboy whose best friend is Jesus just fine.Then Jude, a young man sculpted like Adonis yet besieged by the demons of his past, tries to nudge his way into Mary-Margarets present, and future, but Mary-Margarets perception of Jesus plan for her life doesnt include handsome boysor any boys.When word filters through the tight-knit Chesapeake community that Jude has disappeared into the promiscuous alleys of Baltimores red light district, Mary-Margaret prays for his soul but moves on with her plans to become a nun. Then Jude returns home, infected with syphilis and hopelessness. Only Jesus daring plan can save Judebut it will cost Mary-Margaret her safety. Dare she leave all she ever knows and has ever wanted for a dangerous future with Jude?This novel, framed as an autobiography to her fellow sisters at St. Marys School on Locust Island, Maryland, yanks away pretense to explore the death to self that Jesus demands. Theres so many highlights in this book: the tension created between Mary-Margarets physical and spiritual appetites, the battle raging between God and Satan for Judes soul, the absolutely mystical conversations between Jesus and Mary-Margaret, lovely metaphors, killer dialogue, the perfect pH balance between literary writing and story-telling. Samson's novel manages to embrace diversity, explore reality, and push the limit of faith while exalting Jesus Christ as Maker, Redeemer, Defender, and Friend. Dont miss a book of epic proportionsand epic importance!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Passion of Mary-Margaret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda Anderson
All her life Mary-Margaret has desired only one thing: to serve the God she loves and dedicate her life to Him as a religious sister. But when Jesus tells her to do the unthinkable and marry the towns promiscuous prodigal, can she serve God with her obedience and risk her own life in the process?Lisa Samson has painted a story that shows how God pursues and loves the unlovely by coloring out-of-the-lines with dark and dirty hues, mingling the darkness with light and splendor, crafting a final picture of exquisite beauty. Her characters are fresh, quirky and multi-faceted, and her flowing, vivid prose enhances this masterpiece.This is Lisa Samsons best work yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Passion of Mary-Margaret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roseanna White, Christian Review of Books
The Passion of Mary-Margaret is a book that will shake you to your core. Written as a memoir of an aging religious sister, it combines Mary-Margarets present story with a circuitous, shocking past. Visions of Jesus, a quest for the father that had raped her mother, trouble from the KKK . . . these elements and more weave a story that will open your eyes and burrow deep into your heart.It took me a few chapters to get into the way the storys told, but once the present events started getting interesting, I stopped wanting to flip to the parts that were memory and read both parts with equal intrigue. I picked up this book because its not very often you see a book in the Christian market with CatholicsCatholic religious sisters, no lessas the main characters, and I wanted to see how Lisa Samson pulled it off. The answer? Masterfully written, fully involving, and one of the richest, most complex books Ive ever read. It kept me up at night and redefined my thinking, but whats more, it helped me better understand my own relationship with Christ.The Passion of Mary-Margaret is a book to be talked about, and Lisa Samson is an author to follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Passion of Mary-Margaret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This is not an easy read due to heavy subject matter. Theologically I am not sure I agree with some of the things Mary-Margaret believed either. But I felt the passion of the character to love and that is what kept me reading. Lisa Samson has penned a very deep, provocative, and though-provoking novel that will make you think about many, many things you may not have considered before. Also, there are so many layers to things that we never see. Most of us only see the surface, but don't take the time to dig deeper. This story peels off all of the layers and exposes the heart of the story, which is that any person and any situation can be redeemed if loved the way Christ calls us to love. Not THAT is my kind of story. The Passion of Mary-Margaret is an amazing story with a lot of details not found in most CBA fiction. I loved that. The author was not afraid to tell the truth. I loved that even more. Using the setting of the nuns, the faith, and the church worked for this story, too. So while I don't agree with some things, they were clearly a necessary part of the story and done very well. I am in awe of this author's ability to naturally lead you to hell and back again and change your view of things. For that reason I highly recommend this book. But it's not for the spiritually squeamish. If that describes you, don't even try to read this book. Something this deep and insightful is only for people who are willing to look beneath the surface and take in the bigger picture. Hopefully, they will also feel led to do something about it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.