Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed

Kregel Publications KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed

An in-depth study Bible with extensive margin notes on the structure of the biblical text, explanations of Hebrew words and their use, charts, parallel passages, lists of proper names, calendars, and timelines, along with cross references and 198 appendixes by E. W. Bullinger, covering such topics as:

  • The Divine Names in the OT/NT
  • Figures of Speech
  • Pronunciation of proper names
  • The Spiritual Significance of numbers
  • The use of the word "day" in Genesis 1
  • Creation versus evolution
  • Chronology of the patriarchs
  • The pharaohs of Genesis and Exodus The plan of the tabernacle
  • The OT offerings
  • Equivalent weights and measures
  • Parallel passages in the OT
  • Chronology of the prophets
  • The visions of Daniel
  • The unity of the four Gospels
  • The Kingdom of Heaven and the Kingdom of God
  • The fourfold ministry of Jesus Christ
  • The sequence of events after the Resurrection
  • The role of apostles, elders and prophets
  • The canonical order of the Pauline Epistles

Features

  • Charts
  • Parallel passages
  • Maps
  • Lists of proper names
  • Calendars
  • Timelines
  • Ribbon marker
  • Presentation page
  • Gold page edges, thumb-indexed
  • 7-point font size
  • 9.50" x 6.50" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
23 out of 2688%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Review 1 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

pros & con;s of this study bible

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
macdaddydan
Location:indiana
Age:25-34
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this bible has amazing notes, but the front on this bible is super to small very hard to see and genuine leather is very cheap looking, and not made to swell either..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Companion Bible

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
William
Location:Kansas City, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:male
The Companion Bible is the only Bible that I will recommend as a study Bible. I have bought several Companion Bible's over the year's for family and friend's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Binding is glued

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
TBolt
Location:IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I opened box to my new Bible and to my surprise the front and back binding were completely split- pages separated from the binding- right out of the box, rubbed finger on the text and it smeared very bad- looked on first page and said it was made in China! I had to send it back and got a different KJV Bible entirely- I would not recommend this Bible to anyone-they used to be smith sewn-also, I had bought the Genuine Leather, and it was very very cheap, had to check to make sure it was real leather, at first it looked like bonded leather- but no, it was real leather- cheap, very cheap, but real-
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

changed publisher

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
ttadams
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Companion Bible is my favorite bible. I had one that was published by Zondervan. For some reason this bible is being printed by Kregel. The new publisher shrunk the type making it even more challenging than before to read all of the notes. This is the only disappointment with this purchase. I expected to receive exactly what I had but got something different. The issue was that it only comes in black in the genuine leather cover. I was done with bonded leather. Other than the surprise of the size of type, I love this bible. I am going to keep this bible and have my other one rebound.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My number one Study Bible

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen Louise
Location:Baltimore
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study Bible is the most excellent and timely Scripture resource available. I also purchased the large print for my office. Until recently I didn't know much about The Companion Bible but if you are a seasoned believer and have lots of concordances etc. this is my most valued resource now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

font was too small for me personally

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
emmaus53
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
very informative not for everyday carrying to church.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good option for another interpretation

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
J. Jay And Staci Carroll
Location:Vandalia, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good option for another interpretation when studying the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

books received

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:Bakersfield CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usuaqll my books were in top shape, they were on time, and I am very excited about them. Especially the Compaion Bible, it is wonderful! The notes about God and on the Hebrew words are terrific!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Study Tool Ever

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
SonOfOil
Location:CT
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always new that there was more to God word then what i was being told. The Heb and Gr. translation and translitteration gives you a more indepth understanding of Gods word then any One verse charlie preacher can ever teach. One verse does not get the job done. If you are looking for more to read and learn, then the companion bible is the best bible study tool....... learn more understand more and get closer to God. God Bless.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cant stop reading it.

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Matt
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bible. It is full of information. It took a day or so to get used to the small print but now I cant put it down. I just wish that they sold a leather one with larger print. It might take a while to get used to the small print. But I love this bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great study bible

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
No Name
Location:Terry MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible has helped me to understand God's word with more clarity than ever before. I hope you experience greater understanding as you study with this bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The right Bible for the serious student.

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dayeton
Location:Elliot Lake, ON Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anyone that studies the Bible need not be afraid of a bit of work. This Bible gives you the resources needed. Place this along side with a concordance, and the New Treasury of Scripture Knowledge, an Interleaner, an Atlas and you have pretty well all you need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent study tool for deep study.

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
cmbjr
Location:S/W Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the serious bible student. would recommend to use in conjunction with "Strongs Concordance" and "The Interlinear Bible- Hebrew, Greek,& English" by Green.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
happycustomer
Location:Huntsville, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly enjoy this book. Greaty quality and very easy to find what I am looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paul H
Location:Simi Valley, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the Black Leather Companion Bible for a Graduating Senior, and it is beautiful. We also had it monogrammed with his initials, which looked superb. And from what I could tell, the monogramming did not add any additional delay in the shipping! Amazing! I highly recommend this beautiful Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
James
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best study bibles there is. The outlines at the begining of each book helps one to keep the subject and object in order. The side column on each page accompaning the text has a wealth of information that I have never found in other bibles. If your searching for the truth in Gods word this is the bible to use in my opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful product

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
scns
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very beautifully done bible, high quality leather, very fast service, I would definitely purchase from them again
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
KSPA
Location:East Bangor, PA.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible was of excellant quality. I got the genuine leather cover and it was well worth a few extra dollars, much nicer than bonded leather. Name engraved was also a nice touch. Coupled with the Bob Simeon Leather bible cover makes a complete package.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
sharon Leary
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new bible .. I,m learning to read the kjv ... When I first read a Bible it was the Living Bible so I'm really learning and I love it .. thank-you for the Word of GOD .. Were so Blessed to read the Bible in America..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Companion Bible, genuine leather, black, thumb-indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very complete notes and appendices

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
ronaldbernard
Location:Englewood, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very complete notes and appendices
nice saving over other book sellers
charts And tables
content informs me deeply on bibles mysteries
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.