Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather

Thomas Nelson The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather

The Chronological Study Bible is the only study Bible that presents the text of the New King James Version in chronological order—the order in which the events actually happened—with notes, articles, and full-color graphics that connect the reader to the history and culture of Bible times and gives the reader a dramatic, "you are there" experience.

Features include:
  • The entire New King James Bible with translators' notes, arranged in chronological order for absorbing and effective Bible study
  • Full-color illustrations of places, artifacts, and cultural phenomena that give you a dramatic, "you are there" experience
  • Fascinating articles that connect the Bible text to world history and culture
  • Daily Life Notes that explain how people lived in Bible times
  • Epoch Introductions and Historical Overviews that provide vivid chronological context
  • Transition Comments that set the stage and prepare you for the biblical text that follows
  • "Time Capsules" of world history that accompany the Bible text
  • Time Panels and Charts that show the flow of Bible history
  • In-text and full-page color maps of the biblical world
  • A handy scripture finder index that provides rapid access to any passage
  • Topical Index Scripture Index, Concordance, and Glossary to facilitate study
  • Dynamic One-Year and Two-Year daily reading plans—allow you to read through the Bible chronologically in one or two years.
  • Eight pages of full-color maps
  • Blank lined pages for personal notes
  • Gold page edges
  • Presentation page
  • Ribbon marker
  • 9-point text size
  • 9.75" x 6.75" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.268 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(239 Reviews) 239
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (239 reviews)
5 stars
165
4 stars
32
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
25
128 out of 14787%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Review 1 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This Study Bible is liberal

Date:July 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cami
Let me start by saying that reading the NKJ version (actual scripture) is GREAT and for that I give it 5 stars, but that is where it ends! As for some of the ignorant men ( and by that I mean obviously they truly don't believe that God is who he says He is and have No business commentating on Gods word) I feel sorry for you! The Bible is very clear in Revelation 22: 18-19. God is very specific about those who take away from or add to His word and what will happen to them. In many of the sidebars you intimate that God or Yahweh is not who he says He is. If that is the way you think you either need to repent and get right with God or you need to stay away from writing or speaking about Gods word. It may sound harsh but part of the reason the world is in the shape it's in is because Gods people won't stand up for what is right! If you are looking for a study Bible that is true to Gods Holy and Righteous word then you need to look elsewhere!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:June 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Absarokee, Montana
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It takes a lot to impress me, especially in regards to Study Bibles. I use our selection of 28 Study Bibles as resources in the same way that I use Commentaries, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and numerous other books. Since the books we write generally deal with addressing Scriptural issues that Christians face on a day-by-day basis, my primary resource is God's Word. When making the decision to purchase another Study Bible, we focus on 1) the resources within the particular Study Bible, 2) the reputability of the contributers, 3) the availability of other resources by the contributers, & 4) the cost. The Chronological Study Bible (Thomas Nelson) knocked it out of the park in all four areas of consideration. We'd been considering a chronological Study Bible for some time, but we didn't just want one for our own purposes, we wanted one that we could easily recommend to everyone else, irregardless of their level of knowledge or expertise. We chose this particular Bible after researching it, and then when we received it all of our expectations were more than met. Great job Thomas Nelson for putting it together, and thank you christianbook.com for making available to us the best of the best at a price everyone can afford!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
pepsidave
Location:Northern California
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bible
The historical sections throughout brings the Bible alive in a way I have not experienced before....The chronological format easily flows with the transition stories kicking off each section.....The leather cover is a high quality product soft to the touch from the first time you pick it up to read...I look forward to reading through it cover to cover this year experiencing Gods words coming alive each day....
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
plewis
Location:Galena MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for a gift. She wanted a chronological Bible. This exceeded my expectations. It is beautiful, in full color and very informative. The pages are of a nice weight. They will not tear easily.
The leather cover is high quality leather, not pressed. I had the name embossed on the cover. I was proud to give this as a gift.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Study Tool

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
BobT
Location:Chattanooga
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NKJV Chronological has excellent tools including timelines, maps, historical references that tie to the specific topics being discussed on the page. Gives great cultural references to the material in each section. While not handy for class use, it is a wonderful tool for individual study. The print is very good and the binding is excellent. Have bought four and have given away two as gifts. In each case, the recipients have been very pleased as I was about the overall Bible.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study Bible

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
kaydee56
Location:Davisville, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is good for reading the Bible in chronological order. It has many good features.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The historical background is so helpful.

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mom on a mission
Location:OH
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children and I are enjoying looking at the Bible in a new way! Seeing how the Bible is a history and learning what else was happening in the world during the same time as the Bible stories we know so well has been a revelation to my children especially. We are enjoying our devotional time together. The discussion has been wonderful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great reference

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Louisa Wallick
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just started using this Bible recently and am enjoying all of the additional information: cultural, historical and explanatory. I also like that the information is presented in an unbiased manner so that the reader may be informed and reach their own conclusions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Value

Date:January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
PD55
Location:Colorado, US
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bible. Much of the commentary shows how Judeo-Christian thought fits in with other contemporary belief systems.
A beautiful book in and of itself. Thin, buff tone pages, easy on the eyes. Not good for highlighters! I wear +125 readers and have no problem with the font. Extensive concordance and glossary, two bookmarks; well put together.
My only complaint: too much gilt on the pages-spent a while going through and separating all the pages at the corners. A little get acquainted time. :)
Super value!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kenny
Location:Woodstock, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time buying, and the process was very easy, and the cost very resonable.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, handy resource!

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bob A
Location:Weatherford, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this chronological bible daily. Having everything in a timeline really helps me understand and learn. I really enjoy using it to harmonize the gospels. Handy index in the back to look up passages. Great for BSF. lots of helpful extras. Wish I had gotten real leather binding, but the leathersoft is ok.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Bible will provide info

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Idonthaveone
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought I was ordering a Life Application Study Chronological Study Bible. But, it will still be very helpful to me in many ways.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nkjv

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
michelin man
Location:uk
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was different to what i expected but it seemed a logical step it takes guesswork out of the equation. Knowing when things happened make everything much clearer.You cannot use it as a normal bible ( verses etc ). But useing it with other versions brings out clarity that was not apparent in the ( normal ??????) versions i like it a lot and the price was unbeatable to us in the UK. MICHELIN-MAN
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What I've been meaning to get for some time.

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
John
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes reading the Bible more comprehensible when in chronological order, and not just books of the Bible side by side. More of a sense of walking through history, and not going back and forth and becoming confused. Well worth purchasing, and a great price too. Wishing the NIV was available, but that is coming soon enough...and wish it was larger text print for these aging eyes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"It's a excellent Study Bible"

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Santos
Location:Jundiaí - São Paulo - Brazil
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've received my NKJV Chronological Study Bible and I'd like to recommed to all of those who love the God's Word and follow it as a Way of Life !
God Bless You All !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional, Outstanding Value

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shortstuff
Location:Arkansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this Bible is not in the same order as all other Bibles, I can look at the end of the concordance and find the exact page of any Scripture portion. When I am teaching a specific Scripture passage, for example, a miracle from Jesus, I find placed together the related gospel accounts of that event. Background notes bring amazing insights to a serious student or teacher. I'm so glad I bought this.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's ok.

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sami
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have trouble navigating with my Nook HD, and I like the book version better. I haven't looked at it much lately. I like the pictures and little sidebars in the regular Bible. I'm not sure the Nook version has all that...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
meme2002
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product met all of me expectations. I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Gulf Breeze, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I recommend reading a Chronological Study Bible through each year. I have purchased this Bible to read in 20014. I have examined it and am excited about it.
I am finishing this year out with the one year Chronological Living Translation that I purchased from you. This is my second year to complete this study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The NKJV Chronological Study Bible, Distressed Charcoal Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Looks to be an excellent tool

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
John
Location:Bagdad, Ky
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the bonded (cherry) leather one. For the price on this website you can't go wrong. I thumbed through it last evening after it arrived and I'm very impressed with what I see. I have a Nelson NKJV Study Bible I've had for years so I had no hesitation buying another Nelson bible. It will be awhile before I make this my daily reading as I'm currently finishing-up with the NRSV. I really like all the color in this bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345 ...12Next >>>