Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NKJV Single-Column Text Bible--bonded leather, distressed black

Thomas Nelson NKJV Single-Column Text Bible--bonded leather, distressed black

If you prefer a single-column style Bible, the NKJV Single-Column Bible is your best choice. Large-print, black-letter text makes reading easier than other single-column options, and a clean, uncluttered page design keeps visual distractions to a minimum. The Bible’s size makes it convenient for travel, and the New King James Version is trusted by many.

Features
  • Single-column format with large black-letter type
  • Paragraph-style text ideal for easy reading
  • Convenient personal size for portability
  • New King James Version
  • Includes concordance and reading plans
  • Gilded page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • Presentation page
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for NKJV Single-Column Text Bible--bonded leather, distressed black
Review 1 for NKJV Single-Column Text Bible--bonded leather, distressed black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An economy Bible with valuable features

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
one opinion
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If the current price of this Bible allows you to think of it as an economy Bible, you are not likely to be disappointed.
-It has a glued binding.
-The pages are not set into the binding quite straight.
-The cover is a bit stiff and does not really want to lie open.
-Pages appear to be a bit susceptible to humidity (rumple a bit making them thicker).
But we get what we paid for right!
What really makes this Bible outstanding is its formatting!!!
I would recommend it as a Bible for just sitting and reading.
-The single column format of this Bible especially sets it apart!
-It is also laid out in paragraph format--very nice!
-Chapters are summarized by bold headings,
-Songs, poetry, many quotes of God, etc are nicely inset.
-The margins, only about a half inch, are completely blank.
-Footnotes are few (but helpful); therefore, the text is not cluttered.
-The spacing between lines is relaxed.
-For my eyes that boarder on needing bifocals, the print is the perfect size. I can not tell you what the font is. But if you look at the sample pages and can adjust the size of the image until the text between the top of the page heading and the bottom of the page number is about 7 & 11/16ths inch, then you will be able to see about how large the print is.
Miscellaneous:
-the words of Christ are not in red
-there are no maps
You may also be interested to know that the bonded leather copy I received smells like leather, it does not have that earthy/moldy smell for which bonded leather is sometimes notorious.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Single-Column Text Bible--bonded leather, distressed black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nick
Location:Wales UK
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 12 of these to use in the Childrens Bible Club. The simple format is great for children and young people who never open a Bible and are unchurched. What I also like is that the text is all Black. No red letter which I dislike and is scripturally wrong. Why do they do it? It is ALL the Word of God. ALL the words are important and inspired!!! I will buy them again. A hardback version would be nice.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Single-Column Text Bible--bonded leather, distressed black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great portable print Bible

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
DCNY
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this Bible, it is not too small or too big. It has a fairly large print and covers the whole page. Nice binding/cover as well. My only issue is the really thin pages that can make it difficult to turn a page without turning one too many.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Single-Column Text Bible--bonded leather, distressed black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great format, poor cover

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
revbuzz
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am delighted in the single column format! I find it extremely clear and uncluttered as promised. Personally, I am more than satisfied with the paper. I would be in love with this Bible if it had a quality cover. I purchased the "Bonded Leather" at a huge discount. Otherwise the Value score would have been much lower. Bonded leathers vary a lot - I find this one very poor. It feels like cardboard and is not attractive looking. I am considering returning it for a leathersoft edition. (Other reviews make the genuine leather sound bad too.)
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Single-Column Text Bible--bonded leather, distressed black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This bible is better than it looks.

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fred
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a pastor I am often studying the scripture for ministry so when it comes to my own devotions I wanted a bible that did not lead me into "work mode" - This bible is great for my personal enjoyment - Just a pity it doesn't come with a real leather cover!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Single-Column Text Bible--bonded leather, distressed black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robb
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item was purchased for my mother-in-law, but I also have the same version. I like the single column format. It feels like I'm reading a regular book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Single-Column Text Bible--bonded leather, distressed black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to Read

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
cway56
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bible and very easy to read. Would recommend to all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Single-Column Text Bible--bonded leather, distressed black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the single column format!

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Koeshall
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently purchased this Bible and totally love it! The only reason I gave it a 4 for meeting expectations was because the cover color to me looks like a black cover with yellow rubbed over it. I'd rather have had a true black cover and I guess that's what I thought I was getting. Love, love, love the single column format because its more like reading a book. No center column distractions & very comfortable font style & size. Anyway, I wanted this Bible because too often we rely on what a study Bible says the Bible says, rather than listening to the Holy Spirit. Yes study Bibles are great and I own the Spirit Filled Life Bible (also recently purchased) but sometimes we become too dependent on them. Years ago I had a Bible similar to this - no frills, no explanations - and as I read it, the Lord just really began ministering to me through it, and I learned more in that time, than at any other time in my walk. So I purchased this Bible with that in mind, and I use it every day for my daily reading. It is my favorite version too and I read it right along with listening to the "Word of Prominse" NKJ dramatized New Testament which is word for word and just keeps me focused.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.