Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2

Thomas Nelson The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2

Dr. Kate has it all-a radio talk show, a nationally-syndicated column, and a publisher who is paying for a lavish wedding to coincide with the release of her first book, Finding Mr. Right-For-You. But when her fiance jilts her the morning of the wedding, her life begins to crash around her. Who, after all, would want a relationship book by a counselor who can't even hold her own engagement together?

When Lucas Wright realizes what has happened, he offers to marry Kate and save her public image. Kate's heart-and her pride-have been deeply wounded. Are Lucas's handsome smile and utter devotion enough to convince her that her marriage is more than she had ever expected?

Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Review 1 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An irresistible love story!

Date:April 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dora
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharing my thoughts~
Jilted by her fiance, Bryan, just a handful of hours before their wedding, Kate's pain and internal turmoil literally seeps off the pages. How could this happen? She was a marriage consultant, supposedly an expert on the topic, and her book was launching along with her wedding. Lucas, a carpenter, had loved Kate since the day she rented the space above his shop. Since the groom's identity had been kept a secret, all tied up with the book's marketing plan, Lucas volunteers to step in. Kate agrees to his plan, but only for a year. Lucas is in it for the forever.
Committing a year of her life to a man she didn't love. Good grief, most of the time she didn't even like him. Not that he was a bad person. He was just so...irritating sometimes. Vexing. The way he was late and careless and so laid-back she wished she had a remote control so she could push the fast-forward button.
Yep. Major conflict ensues when organization to the nth degree marries laid back Lucas. But Lucas sets out to show list-making Kate that life happens between the pages.
Know what you're looking for before you begin dating. As with a spontaneous shopping spree, if you don't have a goal in mind, you'll come home with the wrong thing.
~Excerpt from Finding Mr. Right-for-You by Dr. Kate
I enjoyed the excerpts from Dr. Kate's book that plugged the beginning of every chapter, little nuggets that enticed me to keep reading. Not that I ever once thought about putting down the book, but just to give me an idea of what deliciousness I would find in the next chapter. Totally cool!
Best of all, I appreciated how this story, without words or preaching, represents Christ and His love for us. Carpenter Lucas (don't you just love that??) loved Kate. Before she ever knew of his love, he stepped in with a plan, to marry her, hoping that he would eventually woo her with his love and his actions. For me, this was an irresistible love story straight from the Word. Rich with symbolism, I can't think of a more appropriate story to read at Easter. Scoop it up! You'll be so glad you did.
Disclaimer: I purchased The Convenient Groom. The opinions expressed in this review are my own, and I received no monetary compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
WiseNaomi
Location:Theodore, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
As others have stated, I too was rather taken aback with the lack of references to God in this book. Other than the initial scripture at the beginning of the book. However, I still gave the book 4 stars (4.5, if you want to be technical). I deducted the .5/1 point because of the lack of reference. The author clearly stated that this book is an allegory. What others should think about is the fact that in the Bible the book of Esther does not reference God either, however, we know that He is implied! I thought that this book was a tender representative of the great love that our Savior Jesus Christ has for us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
MarshaJ
The story was romantic and sweet, but honestly, there was nothing in it to point a reader to Christ. A non-believer would know nothing more about God as she did before she read this book. I understand the concept of an allegory, but to me Christian fiction needs to mention Christ. I was disappointed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2010
I'm reading the reviews of this series and I'm stunned. Not everyone who is reading Christian fiction has been a christian their whole life. We are flawed and some of us have serious issues and past sins that were pretty wordly. I love this series, because to me, these characters have overcome tremendous situations that really had them in the pit of life. The hero in this book was to die for. His tenderheart had me weeping. Much like the love of Christ. People need to look at the message in the storyline. Not all stories are preachy. Look at the symbolism. Great read in my opinion.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
michelle allison
I enjoyed this book. It was not the most spiritual read, but it was romantic. I was so in love with Lucas and his tender heart. These are real characters with flaws and I like characters I can relate too. I can not wait to read her others books. These books are to relax and enjoy. The rest of the stars would have been there if it had been more spiritiual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Holly T.
You absolutely have to hand it to Denise Hunter...she spells Romance with a capital R...and she does not shy away from controversy. The controversy in this series will be the total elimination of any Christian "anchor" story line. This makes Christian readers uncomfortable. Where is the church? Where is the name Jesus? OK, there is a Bible verse in the front of the book, but....the Savior is present allegorically, but not obviously. Although the characters are not church attending Christians, they present challenges to measure our own priorities compared to God's priorities in our everyday lives:1. Does Jesus invite us into a relationship with himself when others have failed us: Yes. Does the hero in this book: Yes2. What are our priorities all too often: What other people think. What does Jesus value: the Truth3. Does Jesus allow us to suffer the consequences of our bad decisions: Yes. Does the hero here? No he helps the heroine perpetuate the ruse.I disagree with Mrs Hunters' allegory only in this point. Although it was noble of the hero to offer his love to the heroine on the rebound, it was ignoble to lie to keep up appearances. See point #2. However, she rounds out the story on a final positive note:4. Does Jesus love us anyway, despite our bad decisions? YES Does our hero? Yes. This was a sweet story with an interesting storyline. Denise's humor and romance keep the pages turning, making this a good "beach read" despite the imperfect allegory.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kandi
I've read a lot of Christian love stories but this one is different from all of them. I may have missed it but not one time was Jesus or God even mentioned. The story was good but it seemed very empty for a supposedly Christian book. I have never read the first book in the series but after reading its reviews I don't plan on it. I don't think I will be reading any more of Denise Hunter's books if they are all as secular as the Nantucket Series appears to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carol Waltman
Excellent! This is a great read. And at the end, the author shows the picture of the love Christ has for his people! Very well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Krystal Manwaring
I absolutely loved this book! I love how real the characters were and the picture of sacrificial love that was contained in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2008
Another good read about the Nantucket area.Often life gives us more than we think we canhandle, but God is in control as we see in this unique situation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Dowe
I enjoyed this book. Sometimes life gives you lemons, Dr.Kate made lemonade. Life is about choices. She was a risk taker. Yea!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Demarie Webb
I really enjoyed this book. It made me want to read the rest of the books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2008
The Convenient Grooms follows Surrender Bay but stands totally on its own. I'm not even sure characters carry-over. But this book was amazing. A sweet romance that had me rooting so hard for the hero, and grieving with the heroine. Denise pulled on all of my heart strings and brought this book in for a very compelling ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Convenient Groom: Nantucket Love Story Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2008
This is what I like about Christian Fiction: it takes the regular, everyday life of a woman who is basically concerned about her life, her career, her reputation and turns her life focus to all about God and His love. Lucas saves Kate's wedding day and career by marrying her when her regular groom stands her up. But this sets in motion a series of secrets that cannot be kept for long and soon Kate's life, career, and reputation are in shatters. Finally, Kate and Lucas honestly face their feelings and Lucas once again saves the day. It's a sweet, modern day tale with a gentle reminder that we are loved by God - first and always.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.