Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18

Thomas Nelson Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18

When Josephine's family insists she come home to help with the harvest, the timing works. But her return isn't simple benevolence-she plans to persuade the family to sell the failing orchard.

The new manager's presence is making it difficult. Grady MacKenzie takes an immediate disliking to Josephine and becomes outright cantankerous when she tries talking her family into selling. As she and Grady work side by side in the orchard, she begins to appreciate his devotion and quiet faith. She senses a vulnerability in him that makes her want to delve deeper, but there's no point letting her heart have its way-he's tied to the orchard, and she could never stay there.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
Review 1 for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
I wish I could give more than 5 stars...this story was absolutely wonderful. The book was an easy read, but the characters were totally engaging and relatable. I love the way that Ms. Hunter used Josie's pain and hopelessness to paint a fresh picture of Christ's grace, of the possibility to truly work through and overcome a life of guilt. Great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Erin
This was one of the absolutly best books I have read. It kept me very interested, I never wanted to put it down. I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michaelle
This book was very easy to read. It was a good story about forgiveness and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katharine Macdonald
Excellent, really loved this book, I always enjoy Denise Hunter she is on my list of must ready authors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura D'alessio
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I empathized with Josie's secret struggle from her youth which, for so many years, she tried to avoid. It was wonderful that she eventually had to confront her past so the healing process could begin and be free from the bondage she carried for so long that almost killed her. I also loved the characther of Grady. Without giving too much information, it was interesting to read about his struggle with feelings he tried to keep in check due to a failed marriage. He gave excuse after excuse and rationalized with himself at why he wouldn't give himself another chance at love. But the inevitalbe happened and he surrendered to the chance at love again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
I really loved this book. Denise's writing style and her characters and her spiritual insight all come together in this book to make it a keeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2009
This is a wonderful story that is destined to be one of Denise Hunter's best. I really feel like I got to know the characters and their plight throughout the story. Both Josie and Grant have been hurt from their past and are trying not to let it happen again. The chemistry between them is wonderful and I liked seeing their relationship grow as the story progressed. The description of the orchard was wonderful. I could see the fields with the apple trees, and I could smell and taste the apples themselves. I loved reading about the movies mentioned in the book. I agree with the pick of The Lake House as it is one of my favorite chick flicks and it's actually quite guy friendly. Even though Josie's dad is only described in flashbacks, I did not like him. I know I've never been in that situation, but I cannot stand it when a parent blames the child for the death of a spouse or other family member. I really hate seeing a child being punished for something they had absolutely no control over. It pained me to see how it affected Josie for the rest of her life, trying to please her dad and never being able to. However, while I felt dreadfully sorry for Josie and everything that happened in her past, I really wish she had just told her sister what was going on. I understand not wanting to tell her during the pregnancy but after that she should have. I don't get why people think that by keeping secrets they will spare the hurt. Like all Denise Hunter books, the story draws you in and makes you want to keep reading. While the book is a wonderful allegory of Christ's love, it is not a preachy novel. It's just a beautifully written story that will leave you thinking about it long after you've finished reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I have never read a story with a more emotionally effective and believeable plot that exemplifies Christ's redemptive work on the cross related to our utter unworthiness of his sacrifice. Sweetwater Gap drives that point home in a fresh way and does so in a very effective and memorable manner. All I can say is...WOW. I can see why the Women of Faith picked up this book. It's perfect for that type of inspirational conference. Sweetwater Gap was powerful, emotionally evocative, and the type of story that will not only touch your heart, but have you wanting to talk to your friends about the story because it was so incredibly well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diana Crawford
Great read! Would highly recommend it to anyone. I will be passing it on to family and friends here!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
I wish there was a way to give more than five starts to this novel! Such a powerful story and so well written. I fell in love with all the characters and couldn't put the book down. I have enjoyed several of Denise's books, but this is my favorite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
This review is fromSweetwater Gap, Large print.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2009
Sometimes the person most difficult to forgive is yourself. This is the case with Josie, the protagonist, as she hides a guilty secret. This is an enjoyable read; in addition, a lesson on harvesting is included.I learned a bit about growing apples with this romance novel. Sometimes, I almost felt as if I was standing on the ladder; smelling the apples; falling into the rhythm of "grab, twist, pull, bag;" and listening to the Mexican workers singing a happy tune. What a beautiful place an apple orchard must be!I like the analogy drawn between two sacrifices. I can't say much more, or I'll give it away. I wouldn't want to ruin it for you. Happy reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sweetwater Gap, Women of Faith Series #18
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becky Gooch
Christian romance at it's best. A heroine running from her past, a good-looking Christian hero searching for love, set in a beautiful apple orchard during harvest time. You can almost taste the apples! Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.