Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2

Thomas Nelson The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2

Central Operator Katie Russell's inquisitive ways have just uncovered her parents' plan for her marriage to wealthy bachelor Bartholomew Foster. Her heart is unmoved, but she knows the match will bring her family status and respectability.Then Katie overhears a phone conversation that makes her uneasy and asks authorities to investigate. But the caller is nowhere to be found. Mysterious connections arise between the caller and a ship lost at sea.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Review 1 for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mystery, Suspense, Romance - All Here!

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An enjoyable read! I’m so glad to finally get back to this series – I read the first one about two years ago, and really liked it, but never managed to finish the others. Until now. I’ll be reading the third one soon! The touch of mystery and suspense in this one made it delightful, along with a sweet romance. I was thankful that the romance wasn’t overkill, and was well balanced by other story elements. The book had a good pace and kept me tied to it. And the characters were great. I liked it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Russell enjoys her job as a telephone operator in Mercy Falls, California. She hears many things as she works the lines, but one night, a familiar voice catches her attention. Her friend Eliza disappears shortly thereafter, and Katie soon suspects that the crime may be linked to the new lighthouse keeper, Will Jesperson.
They form an alliance, trying to solve the mysteries that surround Eliza's disappearance, and it slowly begins to blossom into something more. But she is expected to marry well, not a lighthouse keeper with neither name nor fortune. Will she be able to look past society's expectations, as well as those of her parents? Will peace from God be enough for her future, no matter what or who is in it?
Collen Coble has done it again with The Lightkeeper's Bride. The second installment in the Mercy Falls Series, she weaves a tale of suspense, intrigue, mystery, romance, and historical drama. I couldn't put the book down, much like the first one. There was such a character contrast between the inquisitive Katie and Will's irresponsible brother Philip.
All in all, it had a very suspenseful plot and believable characters. There were times I wasn't sure if Coble was going to ever get to the happy ending as everyone was in one fix or another in this wild ride set in 1908, California. I learned a lot about the actual process of a telephone operator in this time period, and the book was a peek into the Progressive Era, of which I know little about. A wonderful book, and one I will recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Lightkeeper's Bride

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
TinaW
Location:Mesa, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed this book because I enjoyed the authors other books. Although, it is not her strongest work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Russell enjoys her job as a telephone operator in Mercy Falls, California. She hears many things as she works the lines, but one night, a familiar voice catches her attention. Her friend Eliza disappears shortly thereafter, and Katie soon suspects that the crime may be linked to the new lighthouse keeper, Will Jesperson.
They form an alliance, trying to solve the mysteries that surround Eliza's disappearance, and it slowly begins to blossom into something more. But she is expected to marry well, not a lighthouse keeper with neither name nor fortune. Will she be able to look past society's expectations, as well as those of her parents? Will peace from God be enough for her future, no matter what or who is in it?
Collen Coble has done it again with The Lightkeeper's Bride. The second installment in the Mercy Falls Series, she weaves a tale of suspense, intrigue, mystery, romance, and historical drama. I couldn't put the book down, much like the first one. There was such a character contrast between the inquisitive Katie and Will's irresponsible brother Philip.
All in all, it had a very suspenseful plot and believable characters. There were times I wasn't sure if Coble was going to ever get to the happy ending as everyone was in one fix or another in this wild ride set in 1908, California. I learned a lot about the actual process of a telephone operator in this time period, and the book was a peek into the Progressive Era, of which I know little about. A wonderful book, and one I will recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very suspenseful!

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
GramRen
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once I got past the first few pages, I couldn't put the book down!! It was so good!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable reading

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
pooh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Found to be interesting and at times hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good historical romance/mystery. I enjoyed it!

Date:April 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Lightkeeper's Bride was about as compulsively readable as the first book in the series. Ms. Coble is certainly gifted when it comes to writing historical romances. While Katie was a bit feisty and headstrong for a woman in that era, I still liked her. And I really liked Will, the lighthouse keeper. The whole intrigue and danger of the pirating was pretty engaging and I loved not knowing what was going to happen next. There were a number of twists I didn't see coming, and I liked that it wasn't predictable, at least not for me.
The romantic elements in this novel were especially endearing. Even with the restrictions of society at that time Ms. Coble does a great job with turning up the heat and making the romantic tension palpable. I loved that. Will was a great hero and the fact that he was enamored with a child endeared me to him even more.
The whole subplot about parentage was quite intriguing as was the whole issue of a missing woman. I loved that Katie had to deal with so many different feelings of betrayal in the midst of her other struggles. That was well done. The fact that Will was there to encourage her and that he prayed for her just made him more heroic. The faith thread in this book was light, but clearly present. I loved the fact that not everyone was what they seemed, however, which made for an engaging novel. I'm looking forward to reading the third book in the series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This was a nice book but not all I had anticipated

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:KY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a good book, however it wasn't all that I had anticipated and it wasn't as good as the first book in the series. A few things could have been left out. ( the author didn't need to talk about a certain immoral topic as frequently as she did ) Despite this, I did enjoy the story, and will probably read it again and recommend it to my friends.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LIGHTKEEPER'S BRIDE

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book of the Mercy Falls series and it is a super great read. Colleen Coble is probably my favorite writer-especially since she is a fellow Hoosier. You pick up any of her books and you will not be disappointed. She is Thomas Nelson's top writer and after reading her stories you know why. She crafts suspense with believable romance stories and characters that are unforgetable. This particular book takes place in Mercy Falls, California in the time period when there were telephone operators which Katie Russel is. When she is at work one evening, she overhears a conversation between her friend Eliza and a male voice that is very familiar. She soon finds that Eliza has disappeared but the crime seems to be linked to another investigation by the new lighthouse keeper Will. They both form an alliance that blooms into something much more. The problem is as she is attracted to Will more and more-she can't marry for love-she has to marry for money. Money to help her family is what must keep her from loving Will, but will she listen to her family or follow her heart. She see's a peace in Will that is from God and she want's that peace and the trust that God will bring to her also. There are so many plots and twists and I never can figure out her endings and this one really surprised me, as usual. This is her seventeenth book, so start reading all of them-you will not be disappointed in any of them. She will be your favorite author too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Easily-solved mystery

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
This is an easily-solved mystery romance novel. There were no surprises--at least for me. Although the tale moves along at a good pace, the ending seems rushed, as if the author wanted to quickly tie up the lose ends. Not wanting to ruin it for others, I can not discuss the abrupt ending.
Characters are flat. The good guy is totally good, and the bad guy is totally bad with no redeeming qualities.
Fans of Colleen Coble will enjoy this one. A Reader's Group Guide is included.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Thomas Nelson for my copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful romantic suspense

Date:October 30, 2010
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wondered how Colleen would top the Lightkeeper's Daughter, but Lightkeeper's Bride manages to do just that. The book is set in the fictional town of Mercy Falls, California, during the Gilded Age. The book opens with an overheard phone call and an abandoned one year old.
Katie's curiosity won't allow her to not follow up on the disturbing phone call. When she arrives at the house with her friend, she finds an abandoned baby and Will Jesperson, the new lightkeeeper. He claims to have nothing to do with the missing woman, but won't relinquish the baby who he says must be his brother's. He comes from the lighthouse where he just witnessed some piracy. Katie and Will join forces, for different reasons.
Throw in small pox, more disturbances and threatened harm, and the book is one I couldn't put down. The pages are filled with tension and characters that worm their way into your mind. The hopes of true love seem impossible when outside pressures, financial and parental, force them apart. Ultimately, the book is one of discovery and the courage to reach out and trust others and God.
A very enjoyable read that left me wanting more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Lightkeeper's Bride, Mercy Falls Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pulls you into the story!

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deanna
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book actually came out before October 27th. Anyway, its a great book! You want to keep reading to see what happens....its a pull-you-in-page-turner story. Don't miss out! Read it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.