Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1

Thomas Nelson The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1

When Addie accepts a nanny job at ritzy Eaton Hall in 1907 California, she hopes to discover the truth about her family heritage. But she soon realizes that what she learns could rob the man she loves of his dream---and his right to the wealth and power of the Eaton name. Should she stay silent? 320 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.514 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Review 1 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delightful Tale

Date:July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pegg Thomas
Location:Ossineke, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Delightful tale of intrigue and love. Addie Sullivan has always wished for a large and loving family. When a stranger insists she's someone other than her parent's daughter, she finds herself plunged into a family of dark secrets. Who paid the couple who raised her all those years? Who can she trust? Who is it safe to love?
Well written, this book will keep you guessing. Addie is a likable young woman who captures the reader's attention from the start. She and her faithful German Shepherd tackle a world they never knew existed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Addie Sullivan lives in an undisturbed lighthouse with her mother after her father's death in Mercy Falls, California. She cares after people who wash up on her shore, happy to help tend to those who need her most. One night, a mysterious stranger is brought in with the storm, claiming that she is the lost daughter of a wealthy family. Curious, but not wanting to reveal her identity, she agrees to leave her home to fulfill her mission.
Once she arrives, she loves the Eaton's home built among the redwood forests. Edward, the little boy she is governess to, along with his father, John, find a place in her heart in no time at all. But the whispered secrets of the past, along with the new clues that point to sinister circumstances bring her to the brink of discovery again and again. Will she be able to piece the puzzle before it is too late, or will the past rear it's ugly head to claim her as well?
I particularly love this author, but a series set in the past seemed a little different for Coble. I was worried she would either give up historical detail, or the mystery and intrigue she is so well known for. I worried for nothing. Coble has masterfully weaved of tale of romance, historical setting, suspense, and kept me turning pages till I lost a whole night of sleep.
I started this book with reluctance, but now I can barely wait to read the rest of the series. The author has done the world of Christian fiction a favor by weaving her stories, and I, for one, cannot wait to discover more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lightkeeper's daughter

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lightkeeper’s Daughter
Colleen Coble
Book Summary: With the lies of the past behind her, Addie finds love . . . and discovers her true Father. Addie Sullivan leads a quiet life in a northern California lighthouse. She mourns the death of her father and endures her mother's bitterness, until the night a storm brings an injured stranger and a dark secret to her home. The man insists she is not who she thinks she is, but rather "Julia Eaton"-the child long lost and feared dead by her wealthy family. Seizing the chance to be reunited with the Eatons, Addie leaves her lighthouse home but decides to keep her true identity a secret until they can unravel the mystery. Addie loves the Eatons' palatial home tucked away among the California redwood forests. She feels secure with the jovial family, adores the young boy who is her charge as governess, and finds romance with his father John, a young widower. But sinister shadows overtake Addie's joy. As dusty rooms and secret compartments give up their clues about her past, Addie finds a faith and a love she could never have guessed. To embrace this new world of promise is to risk her life; but to run away is to risk losing the greatest love she's ever known.
Review: I love lighthouses so I was drawn to the cover and the location immediately. I enjoyed the characters and the plot. That ‘what if…’ idea is always a fun idea to explore. I liked Addie and her compassion on the woman who raised her. It had great twists and turns that made for and exciting read with some whimsy that made for better fiction within some of those twists. I enjoy Colleen Coble’s writing very much. I can get to the nail biting parts where I am hesitant to see where this turn will take me in the story and am always delighted with the outcome. The background characters were fun and made me struggle to think of who will be the next main characters in this great trilogy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A light turn of the century romance that has a mystery plot twist. I like the plot, Addie is not who she thinks she is. Setting out to find out who she really is and where she comes from, she is brought to an estate that holds as many secrets as any Agatha Christie novel. The author writes her characters and mystery as strong as ever, but there were several places in the middle of the book that seem to really drag for me. I skipped a lot of pages just to try to keep the book moving along, and because of that I do have to give it only 3 stars.
I've never experienced this with this author before and it seemed out of place, but this is not the time period that this author usually writes in so maybe she just needed to find her footing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Addie Sullivan lives in an undisturbed lighthouse with her mother after her father's death in Mercy Falls, California. She cares after people who wash up on her shore, happy to help tend to those who need her most. One night, a mysterious stranger is brought in with the storm, claiming that she is the lost daughter of a wealthy family. Curious, but not wanting to reveal her identity, she agrees to leave her home to fulfill her mission.
Once she arrives, she loves the Eaton's home built among the redwood forests. Edward, the little boy she is governess to, along with his father, John, find a place in her heart in no time at all. But the whispered secrets of the past, along with the new clues that point to sinister circumstances bring her to the brink of discovery again and again. Will she be able to piece the puzzle before it is too late, or will the past rear it's ugly head to claim her as well?
I particularly love this author, but a series set in the past seemed a little different for Coble. I was worried she would either give up historical detail, or the mystery and intrigue she is so well known for. I worried for nothing. Coble has masterfully weaved of tale of romance, historical setting, suspense, and kept me turning pages till I lost a whole night of sleep.
I started this book with reluctance, but now I can barely wait to read the rest of the series. The author has done the world of Christian fiction a favor by weaving her stories, and I, for one, cannot wait to discover more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful read!

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scarlet Pimpernel
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story line and plot are intriguing but it's the character development that makes you feel as if you're among the players.
Just purchased the next two books in the series and am excited to dive in!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read!

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookworm3
Location:Australia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first book I read by Coleen Coble, and I was hooked from page 1. You just don't know what is going to happen next, I don't know how many times I changed my prediction of who was behind it the murders and piracy and the outcome still surprised me! Some of the struggles that they faced really made me think about my life. Though there should have been more about John's faith, overall it had just the right amount of romance and mystery to make the great book that it is. D.V I will definitely be reading more of her books!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nana
Location:Trenton, Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All the books in this series are excellent to read. Very entertaining and holds your interest. Very suspensful. The author does a really good job of weaving the details throughout the book and keeps you on edge until the end by not disclosing who the villian is till the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shorty
Location:Lumberton, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the author and she always writes so well and keeps me wanting more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Read!

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sheila of PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first Colleen Coble book that I've read, and I was very pleasantly surprised. I was hooked from page one! The mystery of Addie's family riveted me and kept me turning the pages with twists and turns I never anticipated. The characters were well written, although I felt that Addie, the main character, was just a little too good to be true. My only disappointment is that I thought that the author could have expanded on John's (Addie's romantic interest) faith. Was he or was he not a believer? Overall, I would definitely recommend this book to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deana Watson
This is a suspenseful story about a young girl that is washed onshore after being shipwrecked. She's raised by a doting adoptive father and cruel mother and she finds herself full of intrigue and in danger. This story has many twists and turns in it. Just when I thought that I'd figured it out, something would change. The romantic side of the story should've been a bit more tense for me but it was a romantic mystery, afterall, not a mysterious romance! Semantics, I know but, there it is. I liked this story and the characters were well written. I couldn't put it down, so it was be a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie Pratt
I love Colleen Coble's books. I have never read one I did not like. And this one is no exception. I am waiting for the next one to be available, and I am not waiting too patiently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sommer
Great book! Kept me guessing and couldn't wait to find out what would happen next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annette M. Irby
This was my first Colleen Coble read and her first historical, so were both trying something new. Her romance thread is highly enjoyable. I liked how the hero and heroine were allowed to build their relationship throughout the story, rather than waiting for everything to come together at the end. Of course, she keeps it wholesome, but its worth mentioning how she doesnt remain in a formulaic pattern for this thread. One of my favorite aspects. Her heroine is very likable. Shes nave and outspoken and I rooted for her, both in her goal to find and belong to her family, as well as sympathizing with her pursuit of acceptance. Well done.I understand Colleen writes suspense, but I felt the tone of this novel didnt strike me as a suspense at first, so when the first threatening situation happens, it seemed forced. Even the books back cover copy doesnt mention suspenseyou know, right there near the bar code and genre specs. However, this thread doesnt detract from the overall story, especially when it kicks into high gear later in the story. I liked the setting and timing of the story: lighthouses and the early Twentieth Century. Lighthouses, in my opinion, are always a great setting for a novel, especially a historical. One of Colleens spiritual themes was trusting God. Her heroine gets into some scrapes, of course, and she chooses to trust God to get her through them. I felt this was handled perhaps a little too simplistically, because of course the situation gets resolved within a few pages. Life isnt always that simple; God doesnt always answer with a yes. Still, for the sake of a timely story, it worked. And its a worthy theme.Finally, the cover. I know, books arent all about covers, but I absolutely love this cover. The colors and setting, the sky and lighthouse. All of those intrigued me enough to give this book a try. Readers who enjoy suspense, romance and historical settings will enjoy this story. Nicely done.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Muller
Loved it. What an exciting ending and surpising twist to the story. I can't wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Liz
I started out really enjoying this novel. In fact, I couldn't put it down. The earlier chapters do a good job of building suspense and showing the growing relationship between Addie and John. But I had a few problems with this book. Faith is almost an afterthought-Addie has a relationship with God but John really doesn't, and we barely see any of his growing relationship with God. Also, the ending felt like it was cobbled together and didn't have much suspense. I hope that the next book in this series improves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2010
This book was filled with romance, mystery, and suspense. Some of the book was unrealistic but towards the end I couldn't turn the pages fast enough to find out what happened. I will more than likely be reading the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
The Lightkeeper's Daughter is a return to her roots of historical romance for Colleen Coble who now writes romantic suspense. I'm glad she took this turn; I was hooked from page one by the characters and Coble's masterful story weaving. But don't be fooled. The Lightkeeper's Daughter has enough of a mystery in it to keep you on the edge of your seat and turning pages all night long. I hope we'll see more of this genre from Colleen. Novel Reviews and I give it a very high recommendation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
The main character is Addie Sullivan, bright & beautiful. As the title indicates, she lives in a lighthouse in northern CA. At the beginning of the book, a gentleman, Walter Driscoll, comes to the lighthouse to tell her she's not who she thinks she is. She was involved in a shipwreck when she was two years old; her parents are not her own, but they recovered her after the shipwreck. Her real father is actually a very rich business owner. The gentleman (her uncle) decides to bring her back to the family, originally as the governess to her real-life nephew, Edward. The idea is to investigate to find more evidence of her identity before presenting her as the daughter of Henry Eaton.As usual, Colleen brings a faith-based character into the story; Addie is that character in this book. She speaks of God, prays, etc - actions that are downplayed by Henry. Nonetheless, Addie is a very strong & courageous young woman, who is not swayed to the left or to the right by those around her not even a wealthy & powerful man such as the man who may be her father!The story is well-paced & suspenseful; Colleen does it again! There are numerous twists & turns in this story; there's never a dull moment! There were plots turns that I didn't see coming. Ultimately, the ending was happy! This book, set in 1907, is a departure for Colleen; she usually writes modern suspense novels. She did a wonderful job capturing life at the turn of the last century in a well-to-do household. She can seemingly do no wrong; I have always thoroughly enjoyed every book I have read by her. As always, I look forward to the next book by the talented Mrs. Coble!This book was provided to me by Thomas Nelson Publishers for review purposes.Ponderings by Andrea
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Lightkeeper's Daughter, Mercy Falls Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jane Morris
I really enjoyed this book. Colleen Coble's characters come to life and you can relate to them. This book kept me guessing 'till the very end. It's a little bit of mystery mixed with some romance. I believe you will enjoy this book as much as I do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>