Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Reconstructing Natalie

Thomas Nelson Reconstructing Natalie

Natalie Moore is having a great time living her life until she confronts something that too many women fight in today's society: breast cancer. At twenty-seven years old, Natalie walks us through the emotions and reality of having breast cancer while she loses her boyfriend, her fair, and both of her breasts. She also shows us how to cope, as she makes new friends, gets reconstructive surgery that even enhances her figure, finds new love in unexpected places, and makes major changes in her life. Natalie learns to place importance in people in attributes other than the obvious and physical as she works on reconstructing herself. Laura Jensen Walker, softcover, 350 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reconstructing Natalie
Review 1 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Booboo
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took this book with me to chemotherapy for breast cancer. I enjoyed reading every word of it. I gave one to another lady who was there for the same thing. I also gave one to my sister who is a breast cancer survivor for 8 years. We decided that after we finish reading the book we will pass it on to others like us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific book!

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shirley Pease
Location:upstate New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book shows the full range of emotions surrounding a diagnosis of breast cancer--sadness, humor, perseverance, etc. I thought it was fantastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leslie
As a woman in ladies ministry, this book takes you into the world of a woman battling a serious and scary illness. I think it would be helpful to you if you know someone with cancer. Many times people don't know how to react to someone's diagnosis. They don't know how to help in the right way. Often the wrong thing is said to the sufferer, or her privacy is severely violated making her uncomfortable and unable to be herself. I thought these issues were explained in a very helpful way. If you can learn from this fictionization of a real woman's struggle, you could be a real blessing during some woman's life. Remember she is not "her disease". She's the same person who you have known and loved throughout the years. Be involved in her life if she will accept your friendship and encouragement, and let her set the boundaries so she is comfortable with her life and relationships. Most of all don't disappear when she needs you. God bless you, and may God continue to give us miracles of healing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shelly
This is a wonderful and inspiring book by Laura Jensen Walker. It details the struggle that Natalie goes through when she is diagnosed with breast cancer and is faced with the choice of whether or not to keep her breasts. Laura Jensen Walker deals with this subject with humor and sensitivity. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has faced breast cancer or knows a friend or loved one who has.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lisa
What a great book! If there can be a humorous writing regarding the serious topic of breast cancer, this is the book. Natalie was so brave...yet not beyond recognizing or going through the fears of the unknown after being diagnosed with breast cancer. Her family and great friends that lend support to her is admirable...as well as the new friends that she meets in her support group. I haven't known anyone personally that has gone through breast cancer...but this book has given me a little insight of what one does go through. How thankful we need to be need to be for our health...and the great compassion, love and tenderness we need to show those that are going through that kind of ordeal. Thank you Laura Jensen Walker for creating a story with real life issues and adding in alot of humor to make it more bearable. Great job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2008
What an amazing read! I couldn't put this book down. I laughed, I cried, I cheered, and I now have a better understanding of what it means to be a cancer patient, fighter, survivor. Thank you, Lauren Walker, for a touching, real story that could be taking place in any home at any time. Natalie experiences so many thoughts/feelings/emotions so quickly that I felt my head spinning with her. She is not immune to fear and anger, yet her sense of humor is uplifting. Her courage is inspiring. I would recommend this book to ANYONE - male or female, sick or well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Trish Berg
Let me just say outright that THIS IS TRULY ONE OF THE MOST UPLIFTING, HUMOROUS, AND ROMANTIC STPRIES I HAVE READ. And I read a lot about 2 books or more each week.Reconstructing Natalie is full of humor and honesty, friendship and faith, and yes, even romance. Natalie is a single gal who lives in a house in her parents back yard. She is a grown up in many ways, but yet a child in some.This pink book packs a punch of joy and you should get your hands on Reconstructing Natalie and see for yourself what Cherries boobilee!Trish BergAuthor, Book Reviewer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2007
I have been extremely fortunate that I have not lost anyone close to me to breast cancer. However I know that there are thousands of people in the world who are affected by this and are suffering. This book perfectly balances the seriousness of the issue with lightheartedness to not make the story a downer. The writing is fun with lots of pop trivia sprinkled in, and is written in a chick lit tone of voice. I loved Natalie as a character. I admired her strength and her courage to be able to handle her situation with such grace and dignity. Some people would have seen how this affected her at such a young age as a death wish and given up hope for survival. She however, with her friends, is able to take everything one day at a time and enjoy life to the fullest. I loved the party her friends gave her before the surgery, especially the boob-cake. I was thinking this may be the one and only time I've read a Christian book that used the words boobs and breasts on every other page! I think it might also be one of the very few books where the main character gets topless of her own free will! This book showed how breast cancer affects not just the person with the cancer but everyone around them as well. I learned a lot from reading this book. I enjoyed the support group that Natalie attended especially the "show" she got from her first meeting! I was glad to read the information that men are also candidates for breast cancer as many people are unaware of this. This book is a book I would recommend every women to read. Not only is it informative but the story is engaging as well. This could happen to anyone and it's best to be aware and be knowledgeable in case the unthinkable happens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marsha
A window in to what a woman might go through when she experiences breast cancer. Sounds depressing, right? Wrong! This character and her friends try to live through all the rough times with humor and joy. There are humorous moments, and touching moments, and characters you'll really like!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jean Stanley
This book was very funny and entertaining.I really enjoyed it and it explains some of what women go through when they have breast cancer. She is an excellent writer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Leigh Anne
As a breast cancer patient myself, I jumped at the chance to read something about breast cancer than all of those technical books I have been reading!! Although my story is different from Natalie's, I feel such a connection to her because she brought out the truths about the reality of living with cancer. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to know how to live life to the fullest every moment. I look forward to the day when I can say "I'm cancer free!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
paula
This is an incredibly insightful book- the subject of breast cancer in a 27 year old is not one many authors would dare to tackle. This author's personal experiences lend credence to her writing- no one can say she doesn't know what she's talking about. I loved the opening line- actually the whole book is great, but the first line is definitely a great hook! I truly couldn't put the book down until I finished it. This is a MUST READ!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tammy Byrd
Awesome story! I loved it and you will, too!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
Reconstructing Natalie is one of the best novels I have read this year! Every woman should read this book and laugh out loud at the humour, cry through the suffering and pain and discover the joy of true friendship and sacrificial love. This book will give you all that and so much more.Natalie Moore is diagnosed with breast cancer at the age of twenty seven and she knows her life will never be the same. What she doesn't know is how her family, friends and boyfriend will react to the news nor the scope of the battle ahead of her.Laura Jensen Walker, a breast cancer survivor, enables you to walk alongside Natalie as she hears the shocking diagnosis, endures surgery and the debilitating rounds of chemotherapy and discovers that she is not defined by her illness or her breasts! Natalie is a genuine and courageous woman who you will make you laugh and cry and is a character you won't easily forget. The book is thoughtprovoking, entertaining, educational and with a beautiful love story to boot, you couldn't ask for more! Buy this book to read again and share it with your friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mellanie Crowther
In RECONSTRUCTING NATALIE, Laura Jensen Walker has written a Christian fiction novel with all the humor and emotional impact of the best in chick lit. Natalie and her friends are warm and witty and real. The "boob voyage" party is hilariously bittersweet, a heartwarming testament to the humor and honesty that characterizes intimate friendships (although some readers may share Natalie's mother's response to the rather unique cake that is the centerpiece of the menu). Natalie's frustration at the concerned smothering of her friends and family is totally realistic, as is her "Sunday shopping," the search for a church that is a good spiritual fit while providing the anonymity Natalie suddenly craves. Andy, Natalie's erstwhile brother, commiserates with her on her broken romance, holds the basket for her when she vomits, and even attends the same church as Natalie and her parents. It doesn't hurt that he bears something of a resemblance to Johnny Depp or that Josh, his four-year-old son, is cute and precocious. As Natalie begins to venture from the nest, asserting her independence from her parents, she finds herself wishing for a change in her relationship with Andy, too. Readers will not be surprised at Natalie's--and Josh's--reaction to the new woman in Andy's life, and will cheer when Natalie confronts her good-looking ex. RECONSTRUCTING NATALIE is tender, touching, and ultimately triumphant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cyndy salzmann
Its said that laughter is good medicine and after reading Reconstructing Natalie, I doubt few would disagree. Laura Jensen Walker has thrown back the crepe curtains on a difficult subject with her warm, encouraging --- and absolutely hilarious book. A must read for both for those who have been diagnosed with breast cancer and those who love them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Carmen Leal
Reconstructing Natalie is Laura Jensen Walker's best book yet. I am not a cancer survivor but, like most of us, I do have family and friends who have walked this road or will be there one day. Laura draws on her own cancer journey and survival to create a charming woman filled with strength and humor. I especially liked the support group meetings because the sisterhood in these support groups, the wealth of shared knowledge, is so important.Reconstructing Natalie is a great title for a great book. It would be perfect for a support group book club read. What I most appreciate about this book is that it's not preachy and over the top religious. I could and will definitely recommend it to women of all ages and faiths. Reconstructing Natalie let me enter a world I hope never to know personally. Thank you Laura for giving me a book to suggest to others who will one day reconstruct themselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Deb Haggerty
Loved Reconstructing Natalie. I chuckled and cried and laughed and howled my way through the book. Walker has a finely-toned sense of the absurd and a deliciously funny way of expressing what for most women is a horrendous journey. Watching Natalie not only overcome breast cancer, but surmount a sense of inferiority to bloom into a lovely woman was indeed a joy. You'll want to walk Natalie's journey with her. I'd love to see more of her life "after."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Reconstructing Natalie
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
Christina
This book will make you laugh, cry, and learn about breast cancer. You will grow to have an appreciation for those who suffer with this disease, yet enjoy the humor that Laura shares in this book. You will have a hard time putting it down! I read this book in 2 days. It is RARE for me to find a book that I enjoy and can't put down. This book will make you laugh out loud and cry. I have also read her books Dreaming in Black and White and Dreaming in Technicolor. You will fall in love with Phoebe, just as much as you fall in love with Natalie. I was able to identify with the people in her stories! You will not be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.