Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now

Thomas Nelson Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now

Confidence can be hard to come by these days. People are losing their jobs, their houses, and their life savings at an unprecedented rate. Violence, natural disasters, and moral depravity seem to be skyrocketing. In the midst of all this chaos, we need to know.what on earth should we now?

In this 11-part program Living with Confidence in Chaotic World: Discovering What on Earth We Should Do Now, New York Times best selling author David Jeremiah brings a message of hope and confidence from the priceless counsel of the Word of God. He answers our most important questions with wisdom and candor and points to a brighter future.
Average Customer Rating:
3.733 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Review 1 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy Matkins
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Perhaps I failed to research carefully. I expected this to be D. Jeremiah's usual thought-provoking study guide. I was disappointed and will not be using it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Has helpful tips for staying clam

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gina
Location:Coldwater, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Living with Confidence in a Chaotic World by Dr. David Jeremiah is a book that gives you ways to feel more at peace with the world. He uses the 10 C's stay clam, compassionate, constructive, challenged, connected, centered, confident, consistent, committed and convinced. For each point Jeremiah uses examples to help his audience apply the technique.
I wanted to read this book because I tend to overact to what is going on in the world, but after reading the first couple chapters I felt more anxious about current events. The book was helpful, but too long and drawn out. I think he should have combined some of the chapters. It was not the type of book that you could read cover to cover in one sitting. It was a little too boring for that. Overall, I did learn a lot from the book, but it wasn't my favorite read.
I was given this book by BookSneeze to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A practical book for an impractical world

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tony
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think if I were to sum this book up in one word it would be perspective.
How do we view the world and things that are going on. Do we view it as chaos, recession, depression….do we find ourselves depressed when we turn on the news and see the stock market, or that the unemployment rate has once again gone up.
Do we view this time we are in through Gods eyes and through His word.
This book was a great reminder of who it is that holds the future. It gives practical steps to staying strong when it would be so easy to give up.
This was a timely book for me as I fill out job applications, go to interviews, get discouraged and wonder what my place in this mess of life is.
There are very practical steps that helped me re focus, stay strong, stay connected and have hope.
If you turn on the news and you feel this overwhelming sensation that the world is falling apart I would recommend this book.
Stay strong, keep the faith, and cling to the one that holds the future!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laurie Robinson
Living with Confidence in a Chaotic World by David Jeremiah is a book filled with advice to Christians concerning the end times. There are ten chapters that tell us how to react and live in these perilous times. This book is a sequel or follow-up to What in the World is Going On. Dr. David Jeremiah is a reputable voice in the TV and Radio world with his show Turning Point which has many listeners. I had high expectations knowing Dr. Jeremiahs reputation. The book is filled with analogies and stories which reinforce his teachings to stay calm, stay compassionate, etc. I enjoyed these little stories and felt they were actually the best part of the book. To be honest, once I got past the first few chapters, I really had trouble keeping my mind focused on the book. It got a little boring. The most disappointing part was Dr. Jeremiahs use of so many versions (or perversions) of the Bible. As I started reading the book, I knew it would not be a King James only book, and I was willing to look past that. BUT when Dr. Jeremiah quoted from the Message as if it were an actual Bible: that was it for me. So, if you need a reminder of lessons you've already learned about not stressing out when things all around us are chaotic, AND if you can look past the ludicrous use of Bible versions...then this book is for you!!!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
This is the first book I've ever had from Dr. Jeremiah. If you are not into end-time issues, then this book may be a bit much for you to read. I'm not much for talking about end-times and the many different view points around, but I must say that he definitely gives us the tools we need in order to make it through these tumultuous times. It would even make for a great Bible study as well for those interested in how to deal with everything we see taking place around us.BookSneeze provided me with a copy of this book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joseph Morgan
This isan excellent Bible study. I found that I could follow along with the lesson and not get lost. The flow of the study led you from one thought or idea into the next very easily.Excellent material and study guide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
foluke
This century has been the most remarkable and tumultuous in the history of the planet; what on earth should we be doing in these stressful times? This is question is the central theme of Living with confidence in a chaotic world by Dr David Jeremiah.The book is well written and is primarily addressed to believers in this time of chaos and uncertainty. The disorder around us intensifies Gods message to us, to rejoice because our redemption is near; most of the disruptions we are witnessing were predicted in the book of revelations.As co-builders with Christ, believers should draw comfort from the word of God in chaotic times and see others from Gods viewpoint; always pursuing the Christian life and to express the presence of God in the midst of the chaos. Remain steadfast and sure in the word and prayer, be obedient and take a stand for Him.The author takes the reader through a well written 10 strategies to living with confidence in a chaotic world.There are ten chapters and each chapter concisely discusses a strategy. The author cites good examples of real life situations and backs them with biblical perspective; this makes the book not boring and easy to read.I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina Coveney
Living with confidence in a chaotic world By Dr.David JeremiahThe chapter headings of this book include, Stay Calm, Stay Centered and Stay Consistant. Each chapter was well written and provided advice on how to cope as a Christian in today's world. We are in troubled times, and I found this book to be informative and positive, although I wouldn't describe it as comforting. The book was rather repetitive, and I felt that the simplicity of trust and faith in our Lord was overcomplicated in this book.I found it best to read a small amount each day, perhaps one chapter, than to try and tackle the whole book in one go. As with all the Thomas Nelson books I have read so far, this is aimed more at the American reader.I received this book free from the publisher through the book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
babyb_
The book Living In Confidence In A Chaotic World, by David Jeremiah is much like his first book What In The World Is Going On. David Jeremiah once again uses the Bible and the Truth to describe the things going on around us and how we should adapt and act in these times. David Jeremiah gives a detailed guideline on how God wants us to act when we begin to watch all the prophecies in Revelations begin to become more real. This book is a great source of balance and peace like the Bible this book can also help you. Dr David Jeremiah makes it very clear in many different ways that we must stay confident in this age of turmoil. He also teaches us how to: stay calm, stay compassionate, stay constructive, stay challenged, stay connected, stay centered, stay confident, stay consistent, stay committed, and stay convinced. Be patient in the Lord and we can all survive the trials we face.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Living With ConfidenceDr. David Jeremiahs follow-up, Living With Confidence In A Chaotic World, is even more timely than his previous bestseller, What In The World Is Going On? Again, he does a superb job of drawing on others writings to illustrate his concepts, but his current book has even more thought-provoking tidbits to challenge your passivity and energize your faith. He expertly weaves together Scripture, testimony, and reflection to take us step by step on a journey toward personal revival to ready us for whatever trials await us in these end times. While he acknowledges that hes no prophet, his message is no less credible than those men who gave us the original call to arms to engage in the Lords battle. May we heed that call still today even as we pray, Come, Lord Jesus, come! After reading this book, may you sense the urgency of the times and step up your efforts to bring more into the Kingdom.with confidence. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
For One Another
This book is the sequel to Dr. Jeremiah's New York Times best-seller, "What in the World is Going on?" Now that we've been told "what is going on" this book tells us "what we should do now".Dr. Jeremiah gives us confidence through the Word of God that although the future does look bleak, God's Word never changes. In fact, God told us we would have the times these days. He has promised to guide his children through every circumstance we encounter.In an easy to read format, Dr. Jeremiah outlines 10 ways to conquer our fears in these tumultuous days. We are reminded that it's not all about us, but about Him. With examples of faithful believers who suffered during their lifetimes, yet came through with confidence in God and remained faithful to Him.If you are concerned about where our world is headed and wonder "What can I do?" then this book is a must read.The only drawback I found was the redundancy. He said the same things over and over only in a slightly different way. Yet, there is only one way to cope during these times...look to Jesus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Stubberfield
Living with Confidence in a Chaotic World by Dr. David Jeremiah summarizes ten Godly principles from the Bible that helps develop, maintain, and strengthen your relationship with God. Dr. Jeremiah takes the scriptures and relates it to current events so as to simplify the Gods blueprint of "how we should live". Dr. Jeremiah provides real-world events of a world that is hurting with an increase in cynicism, violence, and hardening of hearts among people. This book details a plan of action which references ten Godly principles in which people should strive to live with confidence and faith to survive in this chaotic world.Dr. Jeremiah lists historic events that have made global cultural change. Dr. Jeremiah references the global stock market crash of 2009, the redistribution of wealth, the increase of unemployment, the increase in natural disasters, the increase in violence, and historic roundtable meeting of World Leaders (G20 Summit) that came together to solve the world financial problems. He references all of these historic events as a sign of the last days. Dr. Jeremiah gives detailed information, backed by biblical scriptures, and provides simple instructions on how we apply each principle to our daily lives.I really connected with this book. This is a great compliment to the Bible as a reference guide for those who are searching for a spiritual awakening. These Ten Principles help gain wisdom on why times are changing negatively, and how we can overcome. The real world examples helped me relate my own experiences with the examples and scriptures that were referenced in this book. This book reiterated what some chose to ignore, that God promised to never leave us and that his love endures forever. Its a life-changing spiritual survival kit. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review blogger's program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Living With Confidence In A Chaotic World by Dr. David Jeremiah is the sequel to his previous book, What in the World Is Going On, which I must say I havent read. I do think the information in this book can stand on its own, however. The author outlines ten ways to stay focused on biblical truth even when the world is falling apart around us. These include staying calm, staying connected, and staying committed, just to name a few. In light of the state of the world today, I think this is an important book for Christians. It would also be a good discussion starter with non-Christians who express fear and anxiety about current events, and could open the door to meaningful witnessing about the peace that comes with knowing Christ. I like the true life examples and stories about people who are trusting in Jesus and His sovereignty to get them through their hardest times. I am no expert on end time prophecy, and therefore cant say everything the author discusses is right-on biblically, but I can say this book offers a lot of reassurance that those who put all their trust in Christ are indeed on the winning team. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World, by Dr. David Jeremiah You saw the headlines when you got your coffee this morning. You heard the updates on the radio this afternoon. On the evening news, you saw what you couldnt bring yourself to believe early today.Its enough to make you feel like just shutting your eyes and pretending that everything in the world is just fine. Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World, by Dr. David Jeremiah offers a better alternative. This book will challenge you. It will motivate you. It will encourage you. It will change you.It will challenge you to diligently strive to be in the center of Gods will, no matter what circumstances you are facing.It will motivate you to find encouragement in the Scripture as your remedy for fear anxiety from todays headlines. It will encourage you to minister to others even when you feel you are the one that need ministering, too.It will motivate you to find strength and confidence that will characterize everything you do.This book will challenge you to let the Bible challenge you, to motivate you, to change you.Dr. David Jeremiah, has masterfully sprinkled this book with just the right amount of stories, current events and tidbits from history which are each perfectly related to the point he is trying to make.I am giving this book 5 out 5 stars. I thought it was outstanding. I read sections of it to anyone who would listen. It is one of a handful books that will be added to my lifelong favorites list.Romans 13:11 I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Living With Confidence in a Chaotic World - Participant's Guide: What on Earth Should We Do Now
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2009
What do we as Christians do when the world seems to be falling apart? When the world's economy is in the drink? David Jeremiah answers these questions and more in this book. He has come up with about ten things that we should do and address' them in a chapter apiece. Each chapter is filled with Scripture and examples on how we should approach that chapters topic. While reading this book I felt both comforted by the promises that David Jeremiah gives us from scripture and challenged to live my life in the way that the scripture says to live. God and Jesus did not tell us in the Bible that we would have a trouble free life. This is a fact that is brought up several times in the book but no matter what we are to follow Him. One way to accomplish this is to stay centered in Christ (one of the chapters is dedicated to this concept alone).This book is a good source guide through the Bible to address any problems that you may find yourself in this troubled time of ours. For each topic it points your back to the Bible and the answers that the Bible holds for you.I really felt liked I learned alot from this book and came away with a better knowledge of how the Bible address everything that we face today. I read this book as part of the Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.