Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6

Thomas Nelson Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6

Tying the knot may be the toughest thing Nick Polchak has ever tried to do. Nick Polchak is comfortable with bugs. Their world is orderly. He knows where he stands and exactly how to interpret the signs they give him. But a fiancie and an upcoming wedding? Not so much.

That's why-a mere four days before the nuptials-Nick finds himself driving to Philadelphia for the monthly meeting of the Vidocq society. Being among a group of forensic professionals consulting on cold cases will surely allow him to feel useful and normal.

But while there he discovers that a close friend has been murdered . . . and in classic Nick style, begins to follow the trail of evidence rather than returning to his fiancie. Fearing that his one-track mind won't lead him home by Saturday, Alena and three of her dogs go to track him down. When she finally finds him, nothing is as Alena expected . . . because the twists in this case will surprise even the most dedicated Bug Man fans.

Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1
35 out of 3990%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Review 1 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the Bugman Novels

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lindalu
Location:Lenexa, Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tim Downs has another winner with Nick of Time. This is one author I look forward to reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nick is back...

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband doesn't like me reading Bug Man novels, because I have a tendency to laugh at the outlandish things Nick Polchak says, in much the same way as I laugh at Sheldon or Raj off The Big Bang Theory on TV. Nick is a combination of the two characters in that he is extremely intelligent, has a rare and complex professional specialty, and doesn't relate to people well, especially not to women (how else do you explain the ending of the last book, Ends of the Earth, where Nick managed to propose to two women at once?).
Nick is a forensic entomologist, which means he studies the insects that are attracted to human remains, and uses this to determine when (and sometimes where) the victim died. It is best not to read the BugMan novels while eating. They feature a lot of dead bodies and even more bugs. Anyway, Nick is now happily engaged to Alene Savard, a reclusive a dog trainer he met when he needed a cadaver dog to find a dead body, and they are getting married in a week. Alene is a brilliant dog trainer but is as socially incompetent as Nick, in her own special way.
The Vidocq Society is a dream team of forensic specialists dedicated to solving murders no one else can, and Nick is proud to have been invited to join. He attends a Society meeting a few days before the wedding at the express request of trusted friend and colleague, Pete Boudreau (and against Alene's wishes), but Pete is strangely absent, which sends Nick off on his trail. His single-mindedness means he forgets to call Alene when he promises, so she gets worried and follows him to the Pocono’s, where there is a mystery waiting to be solved – but as circumstances keep them apart, can they solve the mystery before one of them becomes the next victim?
I don’t always enjoy books by male authors, as they can focus too much on story to the detriment of the relationships. But Tim Downs and the BugMan novels are an exception. Nick has deep-seated issues regarding human relationships, to the point where he often speaks of humans as being a distinct species that he is not a member of. Alene has issues as well, and Tim Downs does an excellent job of showing the development in these two flawed characters, while maintaining enough humour to overshadow some of the gore in the content. This is another well-crafted mystery from an author that I always look forward to reading. An excellent novel.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson and BloggingforBooks for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
amazingbookreviewsbystarr
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick of Time by Tim Downs
Thomas Nelson – May 17, 2011
Timdowns.net
Facebook: Yes
Nick is going to be married, Saturday-if he solves the murder of a close and old friend and if he can stay alive that long. And if his fiancé doesn’t kill him first. An old friend contacts Nick and asks for his assistance in a cold case that his friend is very close to solving. Nick takes off to help his friend a week before he’s supposed to get married. In the true fashion of the previous Bug Man adventures, nothing is as it seems.
*For those who have not read Ends of the Earth, I will not reveal the name of Nick’s fiancé.*
Yes, I am completely biased and I only feel that I should I put that out there before I tell you what I think of this book. I love Tim Downs’ books and always find myself completely surprised when reading his books. I love the Bug Man himself, Nick. But more than that just when you think you know him and he won’t surprise, you find out something new about him. There are only a couple of Bug Man novels I haven’t gotten to, and they are sitting on my shelf waiting on my review list to shrink.
But being completely biased, I am not sure if I can truly capture my enthusiasm for this book completely, I am not sure if I can complete convey how fantastically happy this book made me. It took me a minute to get to this book, but when I started I couldn’t put it down. I don’t think it’s even possible to get enough of Nick and his adventures. No matter what they have in common (they always deal with solving some kind of crime) there’s always enough new and good stuff, that you can’t possible get tired of the Bug Man.
I am not a bug person, I don’t like them and to be honest when I see them I am more likely to kill them. But it is grossly fascinating how much information can be gathered from the simple presence (or absence) of a particular species of insects.
This story has it all. A woman who go to the ends of the earth to find out the truth from the man that she loves and even willing to face the fact that he may have changed his mind about the wedding and her. One man who will risk it all for the sake of helping an old friend solve a long forgotten cold case. A best friend who will go to great lengths to show a soon-to-be groom the truth he’s running. Action and mystery to keep you engaged and turning the pages. Finally, an end that you never saw coming.
No Bug Man novel would be the same without the side characters that you have gotten to know better over time. They help add humor and insight into Nick and his fiancé.
Rating: Thoroughly enjoyable read.
Recommendation: You definitely need to add this to your collection if you’re already a Tim Downs fan, and if not, what are you waiting for?
A free copy of this book was given to me in exchange for my honest review. Thanks to Booksneeze.
Always Shine,
Starr K.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
This review is fromNick of Time - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Review of ebook for Booksneeze

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sminjas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Tim Downs is the author of the Bugman series of novels. Nick Polchak is the bugman here - a forensic entomologist who specializes in crime-scene bugs. In 'Nick of Time', Nick will be married soon but is unsure of whether he wants to be married at all. He runs off days before his marriage to solve a crime, leading his fiance Alene to question his commitment to the marriage. Nick and Alene are birds of a feather - social misfits, persistent and stubborn, and good in their chosen professions. The story goes on in the manner of any thriller, with every page the possibility of a doublecross increases. However anyone who has read a lot of thrillers will be surprised at the ending. There is a crime thats solved ofcourse, but it is overshadowed by the set-up. An average book that will help you while away your time.
This was the first time I have read a Bugman novel. This was also my first free book from BookSneeze. I had been careful to not have huge expectations from it. There seems to be such a glut of worthless thrillers in the market that I am really scared to go out and buy one. Nick of Time does not fall in the class of "Obnoxious and showy, bad thriller" certainly, but it does not stand out on its own either. The first chapter has Nick and Alene visitng a wedding planner. The situation seems forced. The author wants to convey in an interesting manner that his hero and heroine are getting married. The subsequent build up of the characters is in absolute conflict with this first chapter.
The second irritant was the forced dialogue - both Nick and Alene seem to have sharp swords instead of tongues - they dont just answer normally. Every reply has to be smart-ass, sarcastic or plain sword edged. One enjoys the conversation initially, but then the unvarying tone tends to bore.
The third negative is the fizzled out ending. Every chapter builds up to a finale that turns out to be lame.
But all in all, I dint curse as much as I did when I read the 'The Malice Box'!!
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Witty, enjoyable read

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
porshiepoo
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"now listen," Alena said, "I've seen you pick maggots off a two week old corpse without even turning up your nose"
With a statement like that in the first sentence I couldn't help but be hooked on this book.
A chuckle a minute from the first page, Tims Downs novel draws you in from the off and keeps you there, engrossed and second duessing what's unfolding before your eyes.
This was my first novel by Tim Downs and based on this read I would definitely be interested in reading more of his work.
Nick of time is a pretty fast paced piece of fiction based on the rather far fetched lives of Nick & Alena.
Days before they are due to marry Nick, the 'bug man' -a forensic entomologist- is called away for a meeting with fellow experts in the bug and / or death field. Whilst away a situation arises that means Nick cannot return home and risks missing his own wedding.
On Nicks dissappearence Alena takes her best tracking dogs and sets off to locate him but what she finds is not exactly what she bargained for and is in no way predictable to the reader.
Overall I found this an enjoyable read however I do have a few caveats about certain aspects of the storyline - Nicks sense of humour,for one,(or lack of it) is funny to begin with but rapidly becomes unrealistic and a tad annoying.
Also alena's seemingly ninja trained canines had me rolling my eyes and thinking "oh come on!" more than once.
Get past those foibles though and the story is great and once I had got over the shock of the ending as it unravelled I thought it was a genius idea. It was unpredictable (so don't even try) and a change from most other novels.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Book of the series

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Nick Fan
Location:Seattle
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More character development and a twisting plot line nake this Tim's best book of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining yet an attention holder

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lucille Cole
Location:IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. As usual, the "Bug Man" is very entertaining but holds one's attention. I look forward to this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read- full of suspense and funny dialogue

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gail
Location:Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great read. I couldn't put it down. The "almost ending" was a surprise and then it was topped with a twist that made it impossible not to finish. Although, as an audult I find Tim Down's books interesting reads, I think young adults who are CSI fans will also enjoy his stories. The characters are colourful with sharp and witty dialogue, while the story moves at a good pace challenging your ability to "solve the cases" before the hero!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great mystery!

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
berrypatch29
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't really like coming in to a book series mid-way but sometimes it works and the book can stand on its own. Thankfully that's just what happened when I had the the opportunity to check out Nick of Time by Tim Downs.
This is the sixth book in the "Bugman" series. The main character, Nick Polchak - aka the Bugman - is about to tie the knot. His main focus is helping to solve crimes by examining bugs since he's a forensic entomologist. Just a mere four days before he's suppose to say "I do" he finds himself trying to figure out who killed one of his close friends. This leaves everyone wondering - most of all his fiancee - whether he's really for marriage or not.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I knew it was a keeper when I was laughing out loud only a few pages in to it. In fact, I plan to get the first few Bugman books and enjoy the development of the characters. While the main character, Nick, is fun to read about, I also found his fiancee, Alena, intriguing as well.
The plot twists and turns it way through the pages. I enjoy mysteries that continually keep you guessing and wondering "who did it." There is a surprising twist at the end of the book that I did not see coming and made it all the better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Mother of All Twists

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suzanne
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bug Man, a forensic entomologist, has finally found someone as odd as himself whom he can love: Alena Savard, a dog trainer who seems to be able to talk to her dogs. The wedding date is set…and only days away. But there’s a problem: Nick has disappeared.
Tim Downs’ new Bug Man novel drew me in right from the start with the protagonist, Nick Polchak’s hilarious sarcastic humor. The pace slows down just a bit as it delves into a little history about the protagonists and sets up the scenario that will drive the rest of the story. Once Nick heads north to meet up with an old friend, though, hold onto your horse. The pace picks up quickly when Nick discovers that his friend is missing, and his sense of humor adds more trouble into the mix.
Not one to give up on a case once he starts, Nick follows the trail left by the murderer of his friend…even with his wedding only days away. But Alena—worried that he truly has forgotten about her and the wedding—follows him. In a set of surprise twists that I like to refer to as “The Mother of All Twists,” Nick discovers the answer to his friend’s murder, then immediately realizes that his fiancé is in danger.
Full of humor, surprise twists, and a little bit of introspection, Nick of Time was a fun read that kept me turning the pages until the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love the Bug Man books,but this wasn't my favorite

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie M
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have read all of the Bug Man novels. I anxiously awaited this newest book, insofar as to stay up until midnight to request a free book from Booksneeze. :)
The Bug Man is Nick Polchak, who is a forensic entomologist. Nick and Alena (a cadaver dog trainer) are to be married on Saturday, four days away, when Nick disappears. Nick is caught up in a murder case involving an old friend, and he feels he needs to solve the murder. He promises to call Alena every night, but, something always happens (one time he ends up in jail). The book has many twists and turns in it, and I was thoroughly captivated.
I have mixed feelings about the book. I love Nick's humor, I always have. But, I didn't care for the ending. I also don't like to see alcohol in a Christian book. I am very conservative, and do not even care to read about anyone imbibing alcohol. I wish Christian books would raise the bar higher. This is a clean book, but, not much on the Christian side, it's just a good read (barring the alcohol).
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:ON, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, Tim Downs is one of my favorite authors, and for good reason. This recently published novel of his, "Nick of Time" is his newest Bugman novel. As always this novel contains the intrigue, intensity, humour, wit, and excitement of all of Downs' works. Nick Polchack, a forensic entomologist (he uses bugs as evidence to solve crimes), is about to get married to his fiancée, Alena Savard, a dog trainer. This seemingly weird pair teams up for a thrilling adventure. Nick disappears off to solve crime for a friend, only to find that the friend has been murdered. Worried he has forgotten the wedding, Alena goes in search of her fiancee. As usual, Nick sarcasm and wit get him in trouble as the mystery unfolds. Then ending is filled with surprising twists, and will leave you desiring and waiting for the next Bugman book, or simply sparking a desire to read the previous novels for anyone starting with Nick of Time. 5 out of 5 rating!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Story did not hold my attention

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mermer
Location:South Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am turned off by the bugs. Sorry, did not like the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
dottie
Location:Montevallo,Al.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not as good as his usual but still a good read. Hope he has another soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
boylescs02
Location:Martinsburg, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nick of Time by Tim Downs
Review
The newest installment of “The Bug Man” novels, finds Nick getting married. But, will the happy day actually arrive. After Nick gets a letter from a friend to meet at a month Vidocq meeting, he leaves four days before he is to get married. Nick soon discovers his friend is dead. The investigation leads Nick to the Poconos and into a heap of trouble. Alena, Nick’s fiancé is in search of Nick after he fails to call her. Conspiracy with a Sheriff of a small town and FBI soon engulfs the story plot. Will Nick find the answers he is in search of, will Alena locate Nick, and will the wedding happen.
The story draws you in and holds your attention. The smart sarcastic humor is refreshing, compared to so much stupid humor in our culture. The plot of the story twists through out. The end of the book sets you up for the next in the series, but I won't spoil it for you. This is the first book in the Bug Man series I have read, but I plan on going back and reading the other books. Excellent read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bugman's Adventure

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick has finally made the decision to marry, but when a friend invites him to a meeting in Philadelphia of the Vidocq Society he heads off. An adventure awaits him when he arrives. Loved this story...one clue leads to another and with the wedding on Saturday!
Alena...Nick's intended feels threatened when Nick takes off so close to their wedding date. Loved the way she trains her dogs...she uses her dogs to find cadavers. They also protect her when she commands them!
Right from the beginning you wonder if Nick will make it back in time? This story keeps you wanting to turn the page to find out what is going to happen next. You will never guess the ending!
When Nick is stopped, several times in the book, he is a wise guy! No wonder he misses the important phone calls!
If you want a page turner, and a really good read, that you cannot figure out what is going to happen next...this is the book for you!
I was given a copy of this book by Book Sneeze, I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a wonderful book!

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful book. Tim Downs managed to capture my attention throughout this book and the ending totally blew me away. I did not want to put it down. Now that I have said that, let’s get into the story.
Nick Polchak is a strange sort of character; his colleagues call him the Bug Man. He is a Forensic Entomologist; he studies the bugs on decomposing bodies, determining the time of death. Believe it or not he does have a fiancé, Alena Savard; she is pretty much a recluse, living on a mountain alone with her dogs that she trains as cadaver dogs to find human remains. She also trains them to sniff for drugs and bombs and trains tracking dogs, along with security dogs.
Alena is all about planning their wedding and expects Nick to participate in these plans. However, Nick is having a problem thinking about all of these preparations, they are making him crazy. A week before the wedding Nick needs to leave town for a day to attend a Vidocq meeting in Philadelphia. The Vidocq Society is compromised of over seventy forensic specialists and detectives who help with cold cases. Nick received a special invitation from an old friend Peter who requested his presence; he needed his help with a case he had been working on.
All of this did not help the way Alena felt about his leaving a week before their wedding. She was not happy with his decision to leave and even questioned his love for her. Nick had a present for Alena, a cell phone, so they could talk to each other while he was gone. Their plans were to talk at 9:00 every night; Alena would have to come into town since there was no reception on the mountain.
At the meeting Nick was congratulated by all his colleagues but Peter, who was not there. Following the meeting Nick drove to Peter’s house. Nick found everything quiet, almost too quiet, Peter’s car was in the garage but he could not rouse anyone to the door. The only thing he found was blowflies, the kind that collect when there is something dead around. Nick immediately called the police.
Is Nick’s friend Peter really dead? Will Nick be able to help with the investigation? How about Alena will she receive a call from Nick at 9:00? Will Alena track Nick down? Will Nick make it back in time for his wedding? Will there be a wedding? Which is more important to Nick finding his friend’s killer or marrying his fiancé? Find the answers to these questions and oh so many more by reading Nick of Time by Tim Downs.
I highly recommend this book!
I received this book free from Book Sneeze a division of Thomas Nelson as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfectly imperfect, like real life!

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick, a forensic entomologist, is known as the Bug Man. He isn’t very good with the human species, but to everyone surprise he is finally getting married. However, a friend is murdered and Nick’s single-minded focus keeps pushing him to solve it. But what about his wedding in a few days? He is going to forget it or is he subconsciously running from it?
This is the 6th book of the Bug Man series, but for some reason after the 3rd they aren’t marked as clearly. However they do follow each other, so I would suggest that you stay in order. I had read the first 3 novels and became a fan of the Bug Man. When I got Nick of Time, I found out that I had missed 2 other Bug Man books. I quickly got and read those, so I could be caught up. I enjoyed being in Bug Man mode for a couple weeks!
I really enjoyed Nick of Time. I continue to love Nick’s quirkiness and wittiness. We were introduced to Alena, Nick’s fiancée, a couple of books ago. She is an excellent addition with her own uniqueness. Tim Downs added a twist that I totally didn’t see coming, and I usually am able to figure out books and movies pretty quickly! Also, the ending wasn’t “perfect” which I felt was a breath of fresh air! It was closer to reality than books that try to wrap everything up neat and tidy. All I have to say is “Go get her, Nick!”
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love the bug man books

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
fictionbuyer
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dear Readers,
The Nick of Time by Tim Downs is the 6th Bug Man book. I remember when I read Shoofly Pie right after it came out. I kept thinking "This is something I have been looking for in the Christian Fiction market." They are a good fun read with a mystery mixed in.
Nick Polchak is a know-it-all when it comes to bugs. Ask him, he will tell you, but when it comes to humans he is very confused by us all. Then when it comes to females he is completely lost. Maybe that explains the way he is acting the week before his wedding.
When a friend calls and asks Nick to come and help him with a mystery, Nick, of course, says yes. Alena, his fiancée', is confused by him thinking this is a good idea. She is not happy, but in typical Nick fashion, he doesn't understand the problem.
Ok anything else I would say would actually take away from the book and I most certainly don't want to do that, so you will have to read it if you want to know what happens.
If you have been reading the Bug Man series this is a great next edition, but if you haven't make sure you start at Shoofly Pie and treat yourself to a wonderful series.
I think besides the great humor and interesting mysteries the thing I like the most about this series is "watching" Nick become more and more human. It is not a journey he has been making willingly, but it is happening and yes it has been funny. He still isn't sure he is human, but he is actually able to act like one once in a while. In his own strange way I am sure he loves Alena, but of course then why would he run off the week before his wedding?
Happy Reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nick of Time, A Bug Man Series #6
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best novel I've read all year long!

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:St. Petersburg
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nick Polchak is spending some time in the Poconos the week of his wedding. Unfortunately, it’s murder and not marriage that brings him to the popular honeymoon destination.
That’s the kickoff for Nick of Time, a new thriller by Tim Downs. This story is the latest in a series of novels about a brilliant, yet socially awkward forensic entomologist. His study of insects that collect on corpses enables him to solve countless crimes, which makes him something of a minor celebrity among other forensic scientists.
Nick heads out of town just days before his wedding to Alena, a dog trainer who is almost as quirky as himself, to assist a colleague who’s stumped by a cold case. Needless to day, she is unhappy with his prenuptial road trip, and fears that it will interfere with the ceremony.
I found the story to be very engrossing. Nick is a refreshingly original sleuth, and the murder mystery that captivates him to the point of forgetting about the girl he’s left behind, arrested me as well.
The author is masterful with dialogue throughout Nick of Time. Nick, Alena, and the supporting cast of suspects and law enforcement professionals pepper each other with witty remarks and sarcasm at a pace that reminded me of the banter between Bruce Willis and Cybill Shepherd in the 80s television series Moonlighting.
In fact, the verbal zingers are just a little too plentiful. When everyone in a story has a perfectly timed, comedic comeback, it feels like the author’s voice is drowning out the characters. Given Tim Down’s past experience as a comic strip creator, where each panel requires a humorous moment, that shortfall is understandable.
That minor weakness aside, I found Nick of Time to be the most enjoyable Christian novel I’ve read all year. From it’s fast start to it’s unexpected and emotionally complex conclusion, this book is a great choice for your summertime reading.
The publisher provided me a complimentary book. I provided a complimentary book review. In other words, if the book was crappy, I could have told you without jeopardizing a paycheck. Sounds about right doesn’t it?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>