Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Chasing Fireflies

Thomas Nelson Chasing Fireflies

When paramedics find a malnourished 6-year-old boy near a burning car that holds a dead woman, they wonder who he is---and why he won't talk! Chase, a small-town journalist, is assigned to cover the story and investigate the boy's identity. But will his search unearth long-buried emotions about his own history? 320 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chasing Fireflies
Review 1 for Chasing Fireflies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story!

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hal Haire
Location:China
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I love a book that draws me in deeper and deeper until I just can't wait to read it again! You can see things unfolding, and you wonder if this or that is going to happen. Sometimes you're right and sometimes you're wrong.
What a wonderful story! Although it was emotionally draining, it was also deeply satisfying! The characters seemed real!! The whole story was believable! I felt like I knew them. I wanted to know them! Intrigue, mystery, romance, adventure, and satisfaction!
I felt sad when I finished the book! I wanted the story to keep on going...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chasing Fireflies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great book by Charles Martin

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've always enjoyed Charles Martin's writing style...he makes me feel like I am right in the middle of the story. This book is another one of those. I love the characters---especially "Sketch". One thing to note, the Christian influence throughout it is quite subtle...if you are looking for something more bold, this book may be lacking something for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chasing Fireflies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hungry for God
I have to say that The story started out a little slow but once I reached the first chapter I was hooked. I love Chuck's writting technique and the characters were relational and true in the eyes of my soul. I'm currently involved in a sexual abuse case with a young girl and this story resinated with me. I heard great words of wisdom and I just loved this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chasing Fireflies
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
I wonder why this is being sold as Christian fiction? I see nothing Christian about it and it is starting out like any other worldly book. I flipped through the rest of the book and see nothing at all Christian about it. It has a dark tone. It is a real downer so far and I can't make myself read on. A huge waste of money!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chasing Fireflies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
M. Tanavamel
This is a story every southerner must read because we all have an Uncle Willee, whose claim to fame is his hilarious one liners termed as Williee-isms in the book -my favorite including "It's so dry the trees are bribing the dogs" and a beautiful but haunted cousin Tommye, as well as a friend like Chase Walker, who is good as gold but walks around aimlessly looking for something he's had most of his life. When a kid is found abandoned, abused, and acrimoniously silent, Chase, a local reporter searches out his past and in turn, finds his own. Martin ceremoniously tells a story of keeping secrets as long as necessary, crazy relatives on the proverbial back forty acres, and the sacrificial love that only fathers can give as close to your heart as possible; something all southerners instinctively know from birth but it's worth saying again and reading about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chasing Fireflies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gail
This was a fantastic book - I loved it! The writing is superb - colorful descriptions and authentic dialogue make it a rich read. I laughed, I wept, and was sorry to see it end. I can't wait to read another Charles Martin novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chasing Fireflies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Elson
I discovered Charles Martin when a friend loaned my the outstanding book "Why Crickets Cry". I couldn't wait to read another of his books and ordered "Chasing Fireflies". The narrative was beautiful..you could taste and feel the descriptions. He fully developed the characterizations and made you wonder, when you were done, if it weren't a real live experience instead of a novel. He is a very humble writer with a depth of the human spirit. It was a great read..you didn't want to put it down..you didn't want it to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chasing Fireflies
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
K Mike
The story began well but about halfway through the book a pattern started to emerge- the 'bad' people in the story were church-goers, and the 'good' people were not. Somewhat disappointing...I might recommend reading if you can find it at a library, but would not recommend purchasing.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chasing Fireflies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dona Steen
Am about 1/3 thru and have trouble laying it down. It starts out a little slow and then really gets going. Would recommend it to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chasing Fireflies
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Galliford
Didn't care for this story. Very hard to get into the story.NOT FOR THE PRICE!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chasing Fireflies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mike
I consider a good read to be anything that can transport me mentally into the book so that its not so much reading as it is taking a journey into another world. As I walk through that other world the best journey is the one that will cause me to smile, laugh and cry tears of joy and heartbreak. This book did all the above and more.The only slightly negative about this book was that in the beginning, I found myself flipping back through to see if I had missed something only to realize that the author had never revealed what I was looking for yet. Once I began to trust my reading and memory skills, this book quickly sucked me into a world where my emotions ran raw. This book centers around a man and a young boy who dont know who their parents are and in up in the foster care of Uncle Willie. You will quickly find yourself hurting, laughing, crying and overwhelmed with joy as you journey through the lives of these characters as they try to discover who or whose they really are. This book will break your heart, but in the end, it will be worth the journey.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chasing Fireflies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lori Hershey
A very moving and insightful book that explores the complicated relationships in family. A must read for father's and sons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.