Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover

Discover the life-enriching biblical application you're searching for in The Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible.

With more than 1,000 "Life Lessons" offering insights straight from Max, the message of God's Word will be more meaningful and impactful than ever.

This beautifully designed Bible contains practical application drawn from Max Lucado's entire career—from his first book to his latest release, Outlive Your Life. For the first time, all the devotional material in this fully-revised edition of The Inspirational Study Bible is from Max Lucado and uses the popular and reliable New King James Version translation!

An ideal companion for Max Lucado's Outlive Your Life DVD-Based Study.

With the Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible you will:
  • Gain a unique, inspirationally focused view of Scripture
  • Experience God's interaction with people like yourself
  • Acquire new perspectives from the devotional insights of Max Lucado
  • Shine a light on "the map that leads us to God's highest treasure"
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
34 out of 3792%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Review 1 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really Love this Bible

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jannie
Location:Akron, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always loved Max and his writing, so this bible is one of my favorites. I only wish the pages weren't so thin. I like to write and highlight in my bibles, and it is hard when the pages are so thin.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the simplicity of reading it. So easy.

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
granny
Location:Camden, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book many years ago. After losing 2 copies due to various reasons. I finally found a place to reorder it. I love the detail, how everything is explained, where even a child could understand the meaning of the scripture. It evens applies the word to daily living experiences for better understanding. I would recommend this bible to readers and new chilstians young and old. Greatly inspired.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good application bible

Date:April 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenny
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this bible. I really like the new NKJ bible & in this edition Max Lucado's comments are much appreciated.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotional Bible

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lis P
Location:New England
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Max Lucado Life Lessons NKJV Study Bible is great for this momma who is more often serving in Sunday School than sitting through a sermon. It has a definite place in devotional reading and study. This is my first NKJV Bible, which I appreciate, as it is the version my children are memorizing from at AWANA. It is a little easier to read (less Thee/Thy tongue-twisting), while still maintaining the beloved (in my case, at any rate) vocabulary and poetry of the KJV.
What is unique about this Bible? Clearly, the text remains the same, so the extra features are what sets it apart.
Each section (Whether one chapter or two... it varies throughout) features "Life Lessons" in the side margins. These "lessons" follow a pattern
They summarize the Situation in the text.
Observations give bite-sized nuggets of truth that can be extrapolated from the situation.
The Inspiration portions are devotional excerpts from Max Lucado writings that are appropriate to the passage. I appreciate the thought-provoking inspiration of Max Lucado.
Application asks questions that help one to see the relevance of the passage to their life, or gives suggestions on things to DO that relate to internalizing the passage.
Exploration gives Scripture References for further study~which allows a deeper look than devotional study if so desired.
Other features include articles scattered throughout that focus on Christ Through the Bible, and New Life in Christ, as well as full-page topical devotionals that could be good for group discussion. A Two Year Reading Plan is included, if you are a check-the-box sort of person. :)
From a physical/aesthetic standpoint, I prefer this hardcover version as a "Read-at-home" Bible, vs a "Carry-with-me-everywhere" Bible due to its weight and bulk. The typeface is easily readable, with distinct subject headings. The Life Lessons are in a smaller, clean type-face, and there are many "ponderables" (Twitter ready?) that could be overlooked by virtue of their lighter ink, but have the ability to catch your attention, if you are looking, with a larger font size. Here's an example
"God's love can't be legislated, but it can be chosen. Choose it won't you? For the sake of your heart." - Max Lucado Come Thirsty
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great notes

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the way this Bible is layed out and the great notes by Max Lucado. The read thru the Bible is divided up just right to read thru in 2 years. Gives you a chance to reflect instead of trying to just get through it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not for the serious Bible student

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet Albertson
Location:Johnstown, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found this more of a devotional Bible than a study Bible. It has full page Bible Studies on 48 various topics and Life Lessons on the margins of most pages. A Devotional Index gives verses in the Bible, Life Lessons, and “Christ Through the Bible” articles scattered throughout the Bible relating to the topic. A two-year reading plan is included. A history of the King James Version with explanation of the value and benefits of the New King James Version is given.
This book was disappointing. I expected that the Life Lessons would go along with the scripture they were near. Often, the “Situation” and “Observation” starting the Life Lesson referenced the verses. The “Inspiration” part is quoted from Max Lucado’s books and often had nothing to do with the verses. Many times the “Inspiration” would have fit better somewhere else in the Bible. The quotes from Lucado’s books were interesting, funny or inspiring, but not pertinent enough. They distracted from the Word, rather than intensifying my attention or learning.
The “full-page Bible Studies” were very disappointing. The study guide for the verses did not lead to understanding or exploration of the scripture.
The pages are too thin and the printing on the other side is distracting. The page numbers are very near the center opening, making it difficult to find the page for which you are searching.
In general, I cannot recommend this book to the serious Bible student. If you enjoy reading Max Lucado, it is easier to read his books than the chopped up quotations in the margins here.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful devotional Bible

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sher
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent source for daily devotionals. It's also a wonderful source for the answers to life's ups and downs. Scripture that is sometimes harder to understand is explained and made personal to each reader's life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Bible!

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
thesachsgirl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Bible… I probably have 20+ different Bibles in my house, all either a different translation or different type of study Bible. When I was given the opportunity to review, “The Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible” I jumped at the chance. If you’ve read any of my past reviews you know that Max Lucado is one of my favorite authors so having the opportunity to see what he would say in a study Bible was very exciting for me. His books on Christian living are always very moving, so I was pretty sure this would be no exception; and I was not disappointed.
This Bible is the NKJV (New King James Version), which means that it is true to the original language, which is why so many people prefer the KJV, but it is a little simpler for modern readers to understand since there are no “thee’s” and “thy’s”. What sets this Bible apart from other Study Bibles is the features Lucado has contributed…
• Life Lessons – These appear throughout the Scripture in the margins, it’s kind of a “run-down” on what a certain section is about. What is happening, what we can observe, and what we can learn from it. All given in Lucado’s unique style, as if you’re sitting there having a conversation with him.
• Full-Page Devotional Studies – Throughout the text are several full-page topical devotional studies. They cover a wide variety of topics: disappointment, fear, prayer, money, truth, salvation… etc. (I can’t tell you all of them now can I?) Each one has a brief discussion about the topic, then a scripture passage to study, along with questions pertaining to the topic…
• Christ Through the Bible – These articles are there to help the reader understand that the story of the Bible, the Old and New Testaments, are really the story of Christ, one story of God’s plan to bring us salvation through his Son. Each one explains simply how that passage relates to Christ, and to our salvation.
• New Life in Christ – These articles are there for the sole purpose of walking the reader through the plan of salvation as it is revealed. It helps the reader to learn about salvation and discipleship/the Christian walk.
The Back of the Bible has a section designed for spiritual growth, it includes:
• He Did This Just for You Verses – A listing of verses showing what Christ did for you, what he does for you, and who He is.
• New Believer Studies – This is 30 day’s worth of short studies. They start with a question… “Have you ever wondered…” and then give scriptures to read, a short paragraph or two on the topic, and then a few application questions. Finally it lists a few more verses that can be used for a more in-depth study, and a quote from Lucado for inspiration.
• “Where to Turn When” Index – Come here when you’re feeling angry, depressed, doubtful, stressed, etc. (again, I can’t tell you everything)… and there is a list of helpful verses for each question/feeling.
There is also a 30-day New Testament reading plan and a 2-year whole Bible reading plan, there is a devotional index that tells you what page devotional notes and/or verses relating to certain topics can be found on.
Like I said, I love the Bible, it is God’s Word and I cannot get enough of it. Study Bibles are readily available, but this one is unique. It has Max Lucado’s unique style throughout with the inspirational devotions, his applications, his notes, quotes from his books, etc. None of that though detracts from the beauty of God’s Word. Which would be the one concern I would have with a Bible like this, since Max Lucado is such a well known author would his work detract from God’s word? The answer is no. The way that this is put together is beautiful, and only draws you into God’s Word more, which should be the goal of any Study Bible. To draw you into God’s Word, to grow that desire, to help you study it, and grow in your understanding of it. This Bible does that. If you are looking for a Bible, whether you are a new believer or have been a believer for years, I would recommend this one.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This product is written well.

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linn
Location:Lower Fairfield County, CT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like everything about the contents and references. However, The print is a very light grey and the font is
much too small!
The customer service could have warned me about the print, other than that, they were very helpful and shipping was most
expedient.
The sale price was much appreciated.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was a let down!

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paran
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a good bible just to read, but it did not meet my expectation of what I though it would be. The life lesson are way to short. Now I have just another book in my library
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Study notes don't draw you away from text.

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amy Howson
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible is a Study Bible with wonderful writings by Max Lucado scattered throughout the text. I enjoyed reading the New King James Version, as I read through the 30 Studies for New Believers. I think churches would be wise to consider this bible when deciding a bible to place into the hands of a new believer, because I feel they would benefit from all the devotions and Life Lessons in this bible
I loved the size of the font and colour of the sub titles on each page; my eyes did not feel tired after my readings for the day. As you read you will find nuggets of Lucado inspirations. Which helped me to focus back on the text, I was reading. Too often I find that the study notes of a bible draw me away from just reading the text. So, this was an interesting surprise. I wanted to see how the cover would last since I intend on giving a copy of this bible to my bible college student, I was happy with how it held up to the abuse I inflicted on it.
I would recommend this bible for families, students who don’t want a “teen” cutesy bible, and for a church class of new believers, who want to study the bible together as a group.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this bible free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

understandable writing

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
noname
Location:jeff city mo
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it will help me to better God's word. once it is said just how much more must be written
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let's be honest...no, I didn't read the whole Bible to write a review. Actually, the publisher, Thomas Nelson and its BookSneeze program, only suggest that a blogger read one book of the Bible prior to writing a review.
The Lucado Life Lesson Study Bible is more of an inspirational thought Bible than what is often thought of as a "study Bible". There is lots of information provided to assist the reader but not extensive study notes for the purpose of cross-referencing. This Bible might be good for new believers (and seems to be targeted toward new believers) as it contains "Life Lessons" notes that coincide with numerous Scripture references. Each "Life Lesson" is made up of the following sections: situation; observation; inspiration; application and exploration which could be used for personal Bible study.
This study Bible uses the New King James Version for its text. The text is a traditional black font but additional notes, boxes and highlighted areas are shaded with mauve coloring. Some might like that; me, not so much.
I reviewed this Bible in conjunction with Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze program, was not compensated for this review and the opinions expressed are solely mine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible NKJV
It’s a great inspirational devotional Bible. The applications are “Lucado nuggets.” If you enjoy reading Lucado books you will love to spend time doing the devotionals that Max has sprinkled through the scriptures. You will find an Introduction for each book. Life Lessons on the side of the pages, each one includes a situation, observation, inspiration, application, and exploration. Side bar quotes sprinkled throughout. Full-Page devotionals on a variety of topics. Christ Through The Bible and New Life In Christ articles are excerpts taken from Lucado’s previous books. The 30 Studies For New Believers is a great way to get your “feet wet” and have a personal quiet time with the Lord.
The reader doesn’t need to go purchase individual Bible studies when reading this Bible. It is all right there. It’s a great Bible for the new convert or the seasoned Christian.
This is a handy resource for lay ministers, teachers, and mature Christians.
I really enjoyed walking through scripture with Max Lucado. I am happy to give this book five stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fantastic and fabulous

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
mahez007
Location:Chennai, India
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“The Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible, NKJV” by ‘Max Lucado’ – BOOK REVIEW
The Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible has come out in New King James Version with scintillating features like life lessons, devotional bible studies, topical articles, reading plan, etc. Max Lucado has written the applications all throughout this Bible. Being the best-selling author and writer and preacher at Oak Hills Church in San Antonio of Texas, Max Lucado does splendid job of explaining the truths from various books of Bible. He has worked hard to give a comprehensive treatment to his work and it is evident in this Bible.
This Study Bible is flooded with information like 2 Year Devotional Reading Program, ‘Where to turn When…’ Index, ‘The Big Picture’ 30 Day Reading Plan, Spiritual Growth Verses, New Believer Studies, ‘He did this just for you’ Verses, ‘New Life in Christ’ articles, ‘Christ Through Bible’ messages, etc. All these tools are highly informative and helpful to anyone reading the Bible. One most attractive factor is that the applications spelt in the Bible by Lucado are based on sound biblical principles and values.
The Bible has come out as a hard bound edition and is easy to handle by the users. The fonts relating to the commentary of Lucado are slightly smaller than the optimum size. The same could have been made in normal font size which is used for bible verses in this edition.
I highly recommend this Bible for anyone who wishes to learn from the Bible and implement and practice those biblical principles in their life.
I give this one five out of five stars.
Please note that I received this book from the publisher Thomas Nelson through its book review bloggers program Book Sneeze in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Bible

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Shepherd,TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best study Bible I have every seen for the price. I needed one for a course I was taken in Church so went to my favorite site and again I found just what I needed. Mr. Lucado's side notes is so helpful to understand what the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bible ever bought

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
geri
Location:taunton, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for a friend. She was as happy as I was. The price was reasonable and I has it engraved which made it more personal.
Gerianne Martin
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chew Keng Sheng
Location:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I remember I bought my first copy of the Inspirational Study Bible, NKJV with devotional life lessons edited by Max Lucado in the year 1998 (see picture below). It has been 10 years since and the new Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible, NKJV is a completely revised edition (with a different name as well) and for the first time, all the devotional materials in this new edition are excerpted from Max Lucado's entire career of writings -from his first book to his latest release, Outlive Your Life. Comparing the older edition that I had with this latest edition, this new edition follows the same format as the previous one - with each devotional lesson starts with a "Situation", follow by "Observation", then "Inspiration" (which is the excerpted piece of writings from one of Lucado's books), and closes with "Application" and "Exploration". The older edition has a special 48-inserts printed on good quality paper, offering encouraging words from Max on a variety of inspirational topics. This has been expanded and replaced with a series of 48-full page topical studies also scattered throughout the entire text. The dictionary/concordance section from the older version has been replaced with a section of devotional index on selected life application topics (each topic is supplied with selected relevant verses with suggestions to read the related passages in the text). The 100 of the most inspiring passages of the Bible in the older version has been replaced with two new sections "He Did This Just For You" verses and "Spiritual Growth" verses (new selections of bible verses). I still prefer the older version in terms of the quality of printing paper (better paper quality in the older version) and I like the 100 bible passages personally selected by Max Lucado in the older version. Nonetheless, the new version has a cool section of 30 Studies for New Believers. I find this section to be an excellent section even for not-so-new believers. Finally, as with the previous editions, I personally think that this NKJV bible should be more aptly called the Lucado Life Lessons Devotional Bible rather than Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible, as there is really not much of exegetical materials or hermeneutics of the scripture that warrant it to be a study bible. Neither is this bible contains any maps or related materials. Even the dictionary/concordance section has been taken out. The only consolation would probably be the additional capsule outlining the main messages of each books of the Bible in the Introduction page.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get Lucado in One Place - The Bible

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this Bible for a while now and have used it at church and for personal study. Here is what I like about this Bible:
It's attractive - at the top of each page is a mountain type scene, not obtrusive it's in a mauve color. (Women would definitely appreciate the beauty, guys maybe not as much). My copy is in the hardback version and the front cover is also attractive.
The layout - most pages are single column of scripture with the side bars contain the Life Lessons. However, some of the pages have two columns of scripture with the Life lesson or full-page studies.
The Life Lessons - if you are a fan of Max Lucado you will LOVE this. Especially throughout the New Testament you will find excerpts from Lucado's books tied directly to the passages you are reading. Each on opens with a Situation and an Observation section that is followed by an Inspirational thought from one of his books. But what gives meat to the study is the Application and Exploration sections. The Application tends to be a challenge to apply God's Word to your life. The Exploration gives you addition scriptures that tie into the ideas and scripture presented. If you do not consider yourself a Lucado fan, you will still enjoy the Life Lessons and their application to life.
The Devotional Index - Eleven pages of topics and scripture references that deal with everything from acceptance to zeal. Very useful if you need encouragement for yourself or to encourage someone else.
The Two Year Reading Plan - Enough said
The Book Introductions - Each book is introduced with a story that relates to the overall theme of the book. You are also give information regarding authorship, date written, key themes, key verse, and a high level outline of the book.
The End of the Bible - At the end of this Bible you will find additional studies. One is called "He Did This Just for You Verses" as well as Spiritual Growth verse, 30 Studies for New Believers.
What I didn't Like about the Bible:
The Version - Only available in the New King James Version can be a put off for some. I was raised on the original King James but had transitioned to other translations through the years. Recently, however, I realized that all the scripture I have memorized is in the King James Version. So throughout this year, with this Bible, I'm going to go back to my roots anew.
No room to take notes - I like to write notes in my Bible, whether it's a comment from the Pastor or something that comes to mind as I'm studying I like to jot it down. Like most Bibles this one does not give you a lot of white space for writing notes. My solution - large post-it notes, that I write the notes on and then stick on the appropriate page.
Final Thoughts:
This is a very nice Bible. It's attractive to the eyes and provides solid devotional material that offers challenges to apply scripture to one's life. I'm looking forward to the year with it!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The NKJV Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible - Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The name Max Lucado is synonymous with heart-touching, life-altering literature. The writings of Max Lucado have a tendency to draw the reader into the powerful message of God, thus changing their lives, at times, in ways they had never imagined possible. This truth continues to be evident within Max’s newest project, The Lucado Life Lessons Study Bible, NKJV.
Lucado’s brilliant ability in relating the scriptures to all people is experienced as one reads through the margin notes within this Bible. His thoughts are easily followed as we are carried from the situation of the scripture, into the observation of the text, through the inspiration of Max, ending with the application for our lives today.
This New King James Version is incredibly enhanced by the pen of Max Lucado, but in itself it has many advantages for the consistent student of the Bible. The NKJV text is easily understood by those who have recently begun their journey with God, as well as those who have been treading upon the path of righteousness for a lengthy period.
The contents of this Bible also contain other advantages such as a Two Year Daily Reading Plan, 30 Studies For New Believers, a comprehensive Devotional Index, a section of Spiritual Growth Verses, a 30 Day Overview To The New Testament and a Where To Turn Index.
All in all, this Bible is recommended for all who desire to seek advancement in their relationship with Christ.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>