Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red

Thomas Nelson NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red

A brand new life of faith begins when we place our trust in Jesus Christ.
Start is the perfect Bible for new believers or believers who want to learn more about their faith. Ideal for introducing new believers to the Bible, Start focuses on basic discipleship with articles and devotions on subjects including prayer, Bible study, church involvement, sharing your faith, and discovering God’s will. Core biblical themes are introduced at basic levels of theological sophistication and presented in very simple language.

Features include:
  • Introductory Salvation Article explains what it means to be saved and how to receive salvation
  • The Best Gift of All messages focus on various aspects of salvation
  • Growing Strong in Faith entries reveal key disciplines of the Christian life
  • Building Blocks of Faith expose the core beliefs of the Christian
  • Faith Seeds provide mini-commentaries on key passages for spiritual growth
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Review 1 for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Start! Your Bible Reading Here

Date:November 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Start! is a wonderful devotional Bible. Though designed as a tool for the new believers, its contents will also encourage believers of any age.
Each Bible book begins with a brief introduction. The text also contains a good number of smaller devotional thoughts. For example, Psalm 23:1-6 includes the following note:
When you get right down to it, everything you
need in life is found in a growing relationship with
God. When you truly know what it is to say, “The
LORD is my shepherd,” you will also be able to
say, “I shall not want.” You shall not thirst
spiritually, for “He leads me beside still waters.”
You shall not want guidance, for “He leads me.”
You shall not be lonely, for “You are with me.”
You shall not want provision, for “You provide
a table before me.” You shall not want for anything,
for “my cup runs over.”
Additional helps include a brief essay entitled, “ESSENTIALS: What Every Christian Needs To Know About God And Jesus.” This is followed by a nice “Topical Index” which borrows both from the content of Scripture and the notes present in the text. Using the New King James Version, this Bible (whether using the paperback or leather bound version) would serve as a suitable gift or tool for a believer seeking to a deeper understanding of God and His word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What Bible would you give to a new Christian?

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff LeMaster
Location:Glens Falls, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You would want to give a new believer a Bible that includes a good overview of the Christian faith, a short introduction to every Old and New Testament book, and guidelines in the spiritual disciplines. In short, you may just give them this Bible.
In addition to the sacred text (the New King James Version, easy to read and faithful to the original Biblical languages), this Bible includes a simple explanation of salvation, and 30 pages of spiritual growth material that every Christian would do well to heed.
The brief book introductions are valuable reads: simple, yet meaningful; the essence of each book with a few crucial highlights that bring each portion of Scripture to life.
The final pages include a good topical index as well as a brief survey of essential Christian doctrines.
SO WHAT?
This is not a review of "The Holy Bible," but of this particular example of man's packaging of God's Word.
A hungry seeker will devour this Bible. The notes before, after, and throughout the Scripture provide many "Aha!" moments. Key verses are highlighted as pull quotes and would make excellent memory verses. A baby Christian who cut his teeth on this Bible would most likely experience rapid spiritual growth. This is a great tool in the hands of those who are about the business of making disciples.
This Bible is aimed primarily at an American audience with references to "America's problems" in the introductory notes.
At first I thought that this was a little pricey (around $13) for only being a paperback Bible, but the little extras add monetary value to a book that already possesses infinite eternal value.
I received this book free to review from Thomas Nelson.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good Bible for new believers who aren't sure whe

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Manda
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good Bible for new believers who aren't sure where to start, or where to go from that starting point. Filled with lots of information, Start! is well done.
While I would recommend this Bible to friends and family who are new to the faith, a good Study Bible would also do a good job for a new believer. Both Start! and other study Bibles give information and can be built upon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Bible is a wonderful choice for new believers

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
wahmivy
Location:Marikina City, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While Start! would pass as a pretty good study Bible for new believers with the book introductions and the notes scattered throughout the content, it is mostly designed to be a daily reading Bible. This Bible comes with additional features such as several helpful articles on the Plan of Salvation, Greg Laurie’s Secrets to Spiritual Success, the “essentials” (both basic and in-depth knowledge about God), etc. Each book is also prefaced with an introduction, providing background and insight on the succeeding content. The book itself is pocked with mini-articles labeled GROW (key disciplines of the Christian life), KNOW (core beliefs of Christians), LIVE (various aspects of salvation) and LEARN (short commentaries for spiritual growth). There is also a topical index to help you easily find verses you are looking for. About ten leaves are also allotted to notes the reader may want to make.
My review of Start! is generally favorable. I think it is easy to use and makes the Bible more understandable not just for new believers, but for anybody who would read it. I gauged the merits of the study tools by having a go at the Book of Revelations, something that I usually have a hard time understanding for all the symbolism. I found the points and explanations given in informative tidbits on the pertinent pages to be very useful and guiding. The additional articles definitely cater to new believers but are just as interesting to read for those who are older in the faith. Greg Laurie’s Secrets to Spiritual Success would definitely benefit both the “young” and the mature spiritually. I read through the article and was blessed and inspired.
I also love how it’s in the New King James Version. The Bible is considered the greatest book obviously for its content, but it also holds excellent literary merit. The NKJV preserves the beautiful prose and poetry of the Bible while sparing us the archaic pronouns, conjugations, etc.
Edited by world renowned preacher and author, Greg Laurie, Start! would make a terrific personal Bible. It’s a reasonable weight and size for toting to church and it will do wonderfully for daily devotions. Two things that may be points for consideration: some may think the print to be on the small side (nothing that reading glasses wouldn’t remedy; personally, I think the font size is fine.) and the book is a paperback. The cover is an arresting red with a very contemporary feel to it. You’ll have to read the title for you to realize that it’s a Bible. It’s more engaging than your token leather-bound Bible, but would not stand up as well to frequent use (and that’s the goal, right?). If you get this, I suggest, you use a protective book cover.
Overall, I’m happy to have received Start!. I shall be using it myself, and I definitely recommend it to new believers who are shopping for a Bible to start and grow with.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource For New Believers

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
A Good Guy
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About a month ago I got my copy of "START! The Bible For New Believers." As I've gone through it, I think it could be a great resource not just for new believers, but for anyone who wants to learn / be reminded of truths found in scripture. All throughout the pages there are gray boxes labeled "Live", "Grow", "Learn", and "Know". In each box is a nugget to chew on. It's written in the New King James Version of the Bible, which is a revised version of the classic KJV. The book also includes a Topical Index, a section on "Essentials" of the Christian faith, "Secrets To Spiritual Success" and other introductions for books. It even includes "The Plan Of Salvation" for anyone who wants to walk through it!
Honestly, this book has some serious potential! Not just because it's the Bible, but how it is constructed. The "nuggets" as I like to call them have some great pieces for people to focus on, whether they help unpack illustrations, look at meanings of words, walk through steps of faith, etc. Someone who is hungry to learn more about how God has called them to live could easily dig into this book. I'm not the biggest fan of the NKJV, but that's just a preference thing. If you are, or know of, a person who wants to dig in and learn more, this book really is a good place to start. My advice: go at your own pace, but be consistent and regular.
Rating: A-
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Perfect Start!

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
TrenchMommy
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Start! is a fantastic way to start the Christian life! I appreciate the work developed here to help new believers Live, Grow, Know, and Learn God's Word. The New King James version is easy to read, the bright red cover is attention catching, and the introduction chapters so very helpful. It is a Bible without the stuffy feel of the traditional award Bibles given out to new believers and comes with the benefit little tidbits and helps which will aid greatly in their understanding and continued growth. Every person should have one on hand to give to someone they lead to Christ!
* * ** *
This book was provided for review courtesy of BookSneeze.com but the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Start! Review

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
DSanchez
Location:Milton, Fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received a book from Booksneeze.com to review, called Start The Bible For New Believers. It is a NKJV Bible that is laid out for someone just coming to know Christ, or may be curious about Christianity. In this Bible, there are pages of writing before you reach the scriptures, written by Greg Laurie, all seeming to be full of biblical truth.
It starts with one of the most important things one should know about Christianity, the Plan of Salvation. Included in that writing is the "Sinner's Prayer". The following pages explain the "Secrets to Spiritual Success". It explains now that you are saved, what you need to do, such as read your bible, have a healthy prayer life, become actively involved in church, giving, and telling others about Christ.
At the beginning of every book in the Bible, there is an introduction. The introduction tells about who wrote that book and a summary of what happens. There are also small sections throughout the Bible entitled Grow, Know, Live, and Learn. In these little sections, there are short summaries and stories, from the Bible, that give you a small lesson, and then tell you to turn to another page if you want to know more.
I would highly recommend this Bible to a new believer, however, I wouldn't say it was solely for a new believer. I would also recommend it for those who want to know how to teach a new believer, kind of like a guide to help you help others. The only thing I did not like about it, was the cover. I felt that for a Bible, it should be a little more sturdy, so I do recommend buying something other than the paperback.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to understand and Apply to your life

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dee S
Location:Richland, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I highly recommend this bible for new believers or Christians wanting to continue on their spiritual journey of learning and revelation. Salvation is explained and examples given in a conversational tone. Do you know God? Not just about Him,” but do you personally know him? The plan of salvation is presented with the appropriate verses, followed by the “secrets to spiritual success.” Each chapter has an introduction to the specific chapter as a general synopsis. In addition there are “know” and “learn” sections that help you develop further knowledge.
*********************************************
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not paid. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for the New Believer

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This NKJV bible is excellent for the new believer. I think that it would be a great investment for churches who present a bible to new converts at baptism. I am very glad to have it on my shelf as an additional study bible and resource for myself and my children.
The bible comes in paperback (the least expensive binding), hardcover, and leather/imitation leather. This makes the bible very affordable for just about anyone.
I really enjoyed the commentary that was included. Especially how there were sections labeled Grow which show the displines of christian living shown in verses. Also there is a box labeled Live, these highlighted verses that showed the different aspects of salvation. Another was Learn: this would highlight certain passages that deal with an individuals spiritual growth.
A new christian is no longer left in the dark as how to study the bible. There is finally one to place in their hands that will signifigantly help them as they begin this journey of christianity. They will not be left to wonder what certain verses mean or how they apply to their lives. The Grow, Know, Live and Learn message boxes bring out the relavence of scripture so that individuals move past a head knowledge to a heart knowledge and a love for Christ that helps them grow in a personal relationship.
A radically wonderful, life altering, start for any new believer. I highly recomend it for any new believer in your life - it would be an excellent gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good beginning

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:oh
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Start! A Bible for New Believers
A Bible geared towards those new to Christianity as well as those who just want to learn a bit more about the faith before making the life changing decision. Practically speaking, this is a nice Bible with a decent font size while still being quite portable. The translation itself, the New King James, is quite reader friendly and makes this Bible more easily assessable than a traditional King James version. There are two articles included in the front of the Bible: “The Plan of Salvation” and “Secrets to Spiritual Success” that are informative and helpful. In particular, “Secrets of Spiritual Success” offers practical yet imperative advice on how to live the life Christ wants for each of us. The article discusses 5 things that must be present in our lives to be strong in the faith, namely reading His Word, having an active prayer life, being actively involved in a church, practicing sacrificial giving, and spreading the good news of Christ. There are other nice features throughout the Bible, and the introductions to each book, while not very in depth, offer some good background information. Overall, a good Bible for the new Believer. I received this Bible from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Bible for New Believers or Anyone!

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
BusyMomTo3
Location:Morton, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was impressed by this Bible for several reasons. There are many helpful features including: articles about core Christian beliefs, messages about salvation, index to articles and scriptures, and more. Many of these features can be accessed in most Bibles sold today. What impressed me the most about this particular bible, is the entire section in the front devoted to salvation, and spiritual success. The plan of salvation is clearly and simply outlined; easy to read and understand. Following the plan of salvation, is a section dedicated to helping the new or renewed christian continue in his or her spiritual walk, and grow in faith.
I believe this bible is a wonderful help for any new christian, but I also believe it would be a valuable asset to any christian's personal library. As a long time believer, I found wonderful insights and helps in this bible that I have not seen in any others I own or have previously read. Whether you are searching for answers, a new believer or one who just desires a deeper relationship with Christ; I would definitely recommend purchasing a copy and getting a "Start" on learning more about salvation and growing you faith in Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Start! The Bible for New Believers - Trade Paper Red
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

average

Date:November 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
dubdevilsfan
Location:Lexington, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bible is edited by Greg Laurie, senior pastor of Harvest Christian Fellowship. It is the New King James translation.
This Bible is designed for new believers, hence the two articles that are in the front that I assume are written by Greg Laurie. The first article is the plan of salvation. With the abundance of watered down gospel presentations out there, I was hoping that this would be different. I was wrong. This is a nice little version but does very little to bring a person to the full realization of their sin problem and their need for a Savior. It does not convince me that I am a sinner or that I really need salvation. It simply presents Christianity as a great ‘club’ to join. The article ends with the cookie cutter prayer of salvation and then pronounces you a Christian.
The second article speaks about the secrets of spiritual success. This is a much better article and could be useful no matter how long you’ve been a Christian. It outlines the need for prayer, church involvement, witnessing, bible reading, etc. All things that Christians need to be reminded of no matter how old.
Throughout the Bible, there are little areas of notes that explain different things, although I found these quite lacking in frequency for being a ‘new christian’ Bible.
The back of the Bible has some other useful areas, a section of ‘what every Christian should know’ and a topical index.
The Bible is paperback which can be a pro or con. It’s attractive and eye catching and will probably be a conversation starter for the new believer.
I think this is a great bible for a new believer if it is paired with other stronger books that will help reinforce their faith.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.