Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gaiam Americas Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Gaiam Americas Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection

Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection includes four feature films on two DVDs. Family-friendly entertainment for all dog lovers! Includes "Benji Off The Leash," "Castle Rock," "Miracle Dogs Too," and "The Retrievers." Total running time: approx. 360 minutes.

Parents beware of some language

Average Customer Rating:
3.643 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
9 out of 1464%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Review 1 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fair family entertainment

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Canada
Location:Medicine Hat, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One Benji movie (off the leash), Castle rock is not about a dog, but has a dog in it, Miracle dog is a good family movie, and The Retreivers is a good movie, except for some volume busts at times (background music??). The bottom line, you can never get too much of Benji.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
smallfeet
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great family movies like movies should be that any age can watch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cookie
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was in hopes these would be the Benji movies I saw in theaters as a child. They were not.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
cjk60
Location:New Bern,NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great watch for the whole family. Good value. Enjoyed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was not the family friendly movie I expected. Even our 7 yr old granddaughter told us "this isn't appropriate for kids". There was some language but the gangrene was really too intense. We turned it off.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute dogs!

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie B.
Location:Malaysia
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyed watching these movies...good for laughs! Great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
trainermom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We enjoyed the movies except I was a little disappointed that the movie "Castle Rock" was sold as a "family" movie yet had numerous curse words. They need to be previewed before being offered as family friendly.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not a suitable series for our family

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jim of NZ
Location:Antipodes
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This multi DVD series caught me out - I didn't realise it was a secular production series when I bought it, though perhaps I should have noticed the previous reviews. Though gentle enough, the story lines are thoroughly secular, and three of the four stories had either my children or me objecting to something - poor role models, a disreputable father, mild swearing etc. I threw one of the DVD's away at first viewing, and the other will likely follow.
I wouldn't have bought it if I had known it was a secular production, and couldn't recommend it to other Christian families. Probably not a product that CB.com should carry, I suggest.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Mean parent in the movie

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lori
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The step father in this video series was so mean to his step son that my grandson was very afraid. I would not suggest this to anyone because we want to love kids not scare them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cute collection for animal lovers

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane Andersen
Location:Georgetown, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My high-school age son wants to become a veterinarian and loves animal stories, especially about dogs. This is a cute collection of dog tales with absolutely adorable "actors". If you enjoyed any other Benji movies, you'll love this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I wouldn't re-purchase

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
momma
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
too much tension and yelling.
not suitable for young children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun, wholesome movie set

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
MarK
Location:BC, Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I enjoy watching light-hearted movies from Christianbook.com. If you, like us, need ‘down time’ and just want to kick back and laugh at a wholesome movie, this is one you will enjoy. The language is clean and it’s really a blessing to watch a movie about dogs and families.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susie Walden
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have only watched one movie so far but we loved it. It was very entertaining! I would recommend this. Great gift idea too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Benji's Favorite Dog Tales Collection
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome stories

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
LinDawn
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dogs often help someone or cause someone to feel better. The dogs and puppies are enjoyable and funny.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.