Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1

Thomas Nelson The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1

When a diverse group of women get together to chat via e-mail, they have no idea how God's going to change their lives! As they write, their conversations get "too hot," and they decide to meet in person. Ruffled feathers are soothed, and even super-Christian Jodi Baxter learns that we're all sinners, saved by grace!
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Review 1 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

These ladies will become your FRIENDS!!

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fantastic book, and series. You would think that after 3 or 4 books, the author would have nothing more to tell... but guess again! Each book takes these new friends into unexpected situations, opens their horizons to new people and new ideas. And the Holy Spirit is alive and well on every single page. If you want a real treat, read these wonderful stories! These 12 women who were put together by chance have become awesome prayer warriors - the devil has met his match! These women live and love and pray through the pages of these books with so much power and conviction that you will come to think of them as your own best friends.
These ladies are all completely different, a real international prayer group. If you can, listen to at least one of the audio books. The reader does the accents so marvelously well, you will swear that they are indeed 12 different women talking to you! I heard book 2 first, it peaked my interest enough to get book 1 to read - and then I was hooked!! You will be too.
Wonderful books for teens and adults. They are a real treat - and each one's happy ending just makes you hungry to read on and on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MY FAVORITE SERIES!

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Yada Yada Series is my all-time favorite Christian book series! I love how Neta Jackson takes a group of mis-matched women and weaves their lives together into a beautiful story. I truly couldn't put these books down. Be sure to read them in order, though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
disney
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom loved these books and couldn't wait to read more of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teri
I LOVE every book in this series and the new House of Hope series. I am an avid reader, usually finishing 5-7 novels a week, and this was the first book in a LONG time that surprised me. I never saw the accident coming! These books make me long for prayer warrior girlfriends and a deeper relationship with my Lord. I've asked for all the books in both series for Christmas - we'll see!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Like most chick lit, a lot of it was mindless, filled with the heroine's daily nothings --cooking dinner, worrying about what the neighbors think, social events that in the end, don't pertain to the plot at all.Despite this, I guess it was still a heartwarming story .. Although it really feels as if the author totally copped out at the end, just to make it a happy ending. Either way, the crisis was resolved as quickly as it was formed, leaving me unsatisfied. I was really expecting it to break off with a cliffhanger & lead into the 2nd book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah
I love this series I have 1 book to go and am excited to move on to Neta's new House of Hope series. I have been encouraged and challenged! I usually read a Yada Yada book in between other books for a change of pace. You won't regret reading them! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bert Mcpherson
Great nessage, corporate prayer. I thought the book started slow but a little over half through it did pick up. It was a good lesson on relationships; friends, family and with God through praying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Pacheco
I LOVE all seven of these books! I've read them, shared them with ladies from my church, and am now giving them as gifts to my sister-in-law.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
This review is fromThe Ya Yada Prayer Group Mass Market.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Bottari
We heard about this book series and our small"ladies from church lunch group" wanted to tryit . The book is easy to read, entertaining, and gently thought-provoking. I am really enjoying reading it. The quality ofthe 'mass-market' edition is just fine as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammy Oberlin
Just read the first 2 books of this series and I have one word - FANTASTIC!!!!!!I found myself challenged, convicted, encouraged, inspired by these characters and circumstances. Though these are works of fiction, there is MUCH truth within their pages. Anyone can relate to one or more of these characters at any given time. They are very human and real and not 'super-Christians.' These books came at a perfect time in my spiritual walk and I look forward to sharing about them with some 'yada yada' friends of my own. I was blessed and I feel confident in saying that anyone who reads these with a sincere heart will be blessed as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
This review is from#1: The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Large print.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise Locker
I was bored and didn't get pass the first two chapters. It didn't hold my attention. I had heard good things about the book from others and was looking forward to reading it. Was disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vicki Johnson
I have read the entire Yada Yada Series and shared them with friends. I have been inspired to start some Yada Yada groups at my church and ordered this book so get the guidelines. The recipes were an added treat. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
This review is fromThe Ya Yada Prayer Group Mass Market.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth Phelps
This is the best book. I started a book club at work and this was our first pick. We got the journal that goes with it. I would recommend this book and journal to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shirley Mccrory
This book was a monthly selection for our ladies' ministry book club. After reading it, I was hooked -- you may as well go ahead and order all the books in this series! Several months before, I attended a ladies' conference and had shared a room with two of my Sisters-in-Christ and it was truly a memorial weekend. This book really brings home the truth that no matter how different we may look on the outside, on the inside we all long for the same thing. We want and need God in our lives are directed by God to share with other women His love and to encourage our Sisters. It is our privilege as Christian women to help other women who cross our paths. No one comes into our life by accident -- God places them there. Some may be a part of our lives for only a brief time and others to remainder of our lives. This book is all about Sisterhood-in-Christ. I am now on the 4th one and am passing them on to friends as I finish them. This book will enrich your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Reader
Good book, however some of the writting is a bit simplistic at times. I thought she could have done a better job developing the characters a bit more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lisa B.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will probably move further into the series. I fully appreciated the primary theme of mutual acceptance, the benefits and blessings from such a sisterhood, and even some of the shallow pettiness so artfully described. The author did a masterful job of recreating the complex intricacies that exist when a group of women (especially one as large as 12) gathers together. I was just a little troubled, however, by the underlying message that the middle class white woman was the one who needed to be doing the moving and accepting outside of her white suburban quiet and silent worship. However, when she offered to share her childrens summer church camp to one of her sisters in the prayer group, she was immediately rebuffed and made to feel racist because the camp brochure depicted predominately white children. I hope future books in the series demonstrate a little more acceptance of Jodi where she is at, instead of always depicting Jodi trying to become her sisters of colorespecially when it comes to prayer and worship styles. Hers is a difference that should be celebrated just the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
This review is fromThe Ya Yada Prayer Group Mass Market.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Angel Scripter
This book is wonderful! I laughed and cryed. It is very inspirational.You can not wait to read the other books Im on book 3 now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janice
If you need some Praise, laughter and tears; this is the book for you. It teaches you as well as entertains. I assure you that you will find yourself praying and saying Amen right along with this group of women. It makes me want to consider a Prayer Group like that in my neighborhood. You must meet "Flo"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beth
I have seen this book series before but didn't think it would interest me. Was I wrong. This book is so good I can't put it down. It makes me think more about living in someone else's shoes instead of prejudging. Very entertaining. Glad I read this book. Can't wait to read the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Yada Yada Prayer Group, Yada Yada Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
ROBIN VOLPI
OH how I loved this series!!! Done with all 7 but ready to go again...It really made me stop and think! Who am I in God!!! Everyone God has made is different.. No judging on others,Yada Yada taught me that!! God brings different seasons to all of us...I hate to see this series end.But i will be first for her new one coming out!!! I LOVED CRYED LAUGHED and became apart of a prayer group...Growing closer to MY GOD>>>>ROBIN USA....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>