Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Water's Edge

Thomas Nelson Water's Edge

Sometimes the smallest towns hold the biggest secrets.

Ambitious young attorney Tom Crane is about to become a partner in a big-city law firm. One final matter has to be cleared from his docket--the closing of his deceased father's law practice in the small town of Bethel. Killed in a tragic boating accident, John Crane didn't leave his son anything except the hassle of a bankrupt estate.

Then, within twenty-four hours, Tom loses his job, his girlfriend, and his cat. Job didn't have it much worse.

Returning to Bethel with his pride ground to powder, Tom's plan to quietly shut down his father's practice and slink out of town runs into an unexpected roadblock - two million dollars of unclaimed money stashed in a secret bank account. Tom follows the money into a tangled web of lies, theft, and off-shore financial transactions manipulated by powerful men who will do anything to stop him from discovering the truth.

Average Customer Rating:
4.704 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 2796%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Water's Edge
Review 1 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprise author.

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
alwysreadin
Location:Herndon, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's well written, entertaining and informative. I was hesitant to buy it at first because I've never read anything by him. It's a wonderful story of learning the truth about life, love of God and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner!

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kay Monroe
Location:Telford, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whitlow has doen it again. Well written, suspencful, and a very enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story, good lessons!

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary Lou Moore
Location:Springfield, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book of Robert Whitlow's that I have read. We read it with our Women's Book Club at church. It was hard to put it down. I had all month to read it, but had to finish it! I would recommend it to all readers. The story was good and the lessons about truth and honesty are strong. "It's always right to do the right thing, even when the right thing seems like the wrong thing!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very inspiring

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this book is very inspiring. Unlike his father, Tom was not a very religions person. It is very interesting to see how he gets closer to the God, and refer to bible for guidance and answers. From losing his job, eventually he got few good options what he would like to do after he had settled his father's business. Just as he thought he had finally settled the matter, something unexpected and turned his life totally upside down. He did not know who to trust anymore. The story has a good pace, though I feel towards the ending was a little rush. Nevertheless it's a good ending and I enjoy reading it very much. I was feeling a little down and depressed but this book has uplifted my mood tremendously.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic Whitlow--Wonderful!

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janice Beck
Location:Nacogdoches, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Each new Whitlow book is different. This one about a young lawyer returning home to close his deceased father's estate was gripping. The twists and turns were unexpected. Can't wait for the next book Robert Whitlow will write!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
danandjan
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robert Whitlow's books are captivating like John Grisham's but with the truth of God woven in. "Water's Edge" is another great book in his long line of winners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Robert Whitlow delivers another great book!

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once again, Robert Whitlow delivers a powerful story with characters that you can relate to and enjoy getting to know. Tom seems to be your stereotypical lawyer. Looking for the big partnership, the trophy girlfriend and all the power. What he gets is unemployed and his girlfriend moving on taking his cat with her.
Tom returns home to close his father's law practice and finds a huge mess, with his father owing large sum to the IRS. Adding to his anguish is the circumstances of his father's death and that of his friend, Harold Addington. As Tom and Addington's daugther, Rose, attempt to find the truth they soon realized things are not what they appear.
The thing I like about Whitlow's stories is the line of redemption that is there. Tom ends the story a very different (and better) person than he was at the beginning. Although, I've been a Christian for years, I often see myself in Whitlow's characters. Tom is no exception. As Christians, whether new or seasoned, we often make decisions based on circumstances and appearances rather than turning to God for guidance.
I give this book 4.5 out of 5 stars. It's fast paced, with strong dialog between the characters. The only thing I was a little confused by was an apparent loose end with the hit and run story. Not sure why it was there and how it was suppose to tie into the story. Regardless, it was a great story and I enjoyed reading.
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Source: Publisher through booksneeze.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
buffy
Location:Canada,Ontario
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY husband cound not put this book down. He was really excited to read this book. He thinks that this is vey well written and will enjoy other books written by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Robert Whitlow did it again!

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peanut
Location:West Point, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. Held my interest from the very first page. Didn't want to put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
E Dunn
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is Robert Whitlow's best book. I could not put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Enjoyable Book

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ginger Chiveral
Location:Hampstead, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love a book with believable characters and dialogue. So often, especially among Christian authors the dialogue comes off as fake or preachy. In Robert Whitlow's Water's Edge the characters are real; the main character Tom Crane is the kind of guy you could imagine working with, or talking to on the street.
I'm not much for lawyer stories, but Water's Edge was a very enjoyable story. Right off the bat we meet Tom Crane, a lawyer like his father, who has just passed away. Tom is ambitious, but in a good way. Unfortunately just when he thinks he might get a promotion, he loses his job, which causes him to lose his girlfriend, who takes his cat when she leaves.
Planning to return home to close his father's practice anyway, he now approaches it sadly, but not in a hurry. Tom, even though he's a lawyer, seems to be a trusting guy, but the reader senses a feeling of "something's not right" even though Tom doesn't see it. The story is not what I would call action packed, but it kept my interest enough that I had trouble putting it down. In fact even when I finished it, I realized I still wanted to spend time with the characters.
I've never read a Robert Whitlow book before, but I enjoyed his style, and would gladly read another book by him.
I was given an ebook by Thomas Nelson to review, but the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read!

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shar
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book held my attention from the first through the last page. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Water's Edge is a very good read!

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
SamG
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Water's Edge by Robert Whitlow is about a big city lawyer named Tom Crane who has to go to a small town named Bethel where he has to close down his deceased fathers' law office. Tom soon discovers more about his fathers' death than anticipated and will find out who he can trust.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The pace of this book was not too fast or slow. The mystery of what Tom has to uncover unfolds a little bit at a time and kept me wanting to read to find out what happens. Those who to trust and not seemed to be easy to figure out, but Robert Whitlow does a good job to steer your thoughts to others. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone who loves to read mystery fiction books.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow moving legal thriller

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kath
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book “Water’s Edge” has been said to be a legal thriller in the style of John Grisham. I would have to agree. But this book has a spiritual element to it that really makes you think. I have never read a book by Robert Whitlow before but have always been interested. I received this book, published by Thomas Nelson as part of the BookSneeze program.
Tom, a hard working, young lawyer is moving up the ladder when his world seems to fall apart. Losing his job, his father and his girlfriend in a very short amount of time has brought much confusion to his life. Returning home to tie up ends at his father’s law practice, Tom discovers some intriguing mysteries in his father’s files. Tom must now stay to solve the issues as he renews friendships from his childhood. But who can he trust? Who is telling the truth?
I really flip flop with my opinion of this book. Sometimes, I found the story completely engrossing and at other times a little boring. Some of the characters were intriguing and others uninteresting. It was inspiring to watch Tom’s spiritual transformation. I loved watching God speak to him and then to see him spend time reading and praying. But the plot of the book sometimes dragged on with too much legal jargon and not enough mystery. There was mystery, it just didn’t make me sit at the edge of my seat waiting to see what would happen next.
So I would say this is an interesting read, but probably not one that I will be telling all my friends about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another good Legal thriller from Whitlow

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Dan
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a Robert Whitlow fan and have waited a long time fo this new book. It was worth the wait.
We get real life characters with real life stories that are very believable and well developed. Thomas Crane is a young lawyer with a very promising future, or at least thats what he thinks. But his world is about to fall apart. His father drowns in a fishing accident, he looses his job (to employee reduction) and his girl friend dumps him, and adds insult to injury she takes his cat with her.
Thomas returns to Bethel to close down his fathers law practice. So maybe the job loss was good timing so that he can get this done. But returning to his old home town has it's on set of issues. Not only is he grieving his father but he will finally end up facing and dealing with the grief of his mothers death from years before.
He and his dog move in with his great-uncle, a retired preacher. This where the good Christian overtones start. Thomas is faced with his lack of faith and disregard for God. He has to face the expectations of friends that he will follow in his fathers Christian footsteps and the practice of law.
Thomas doesn't want anything to do with religion. But strange things happen and he starts to enjoy reading the Bible and talking with God. He also discovers that his father was a peacemaker with clients using Biblical methods of reconciliation and forgiveness to mediate legal issues between parties.
Woven in all this is a subplot of murder and deception as well as a love interest that is complicated. The complication is that Thomas has an awakening of his relationship with Christ that leaves him a changed man. But Satan in all his wisdom tries to throw a roadblock in Thomas path through a past love interest. Satan also throws in a conflict with a potential highly paying client. These distractions just might derail the new faith that Thomas has found.
The story will keep you interested to the end. Will Thomas find that his father was a righteous man? Will he find that the man that died with his dad is also a righteous man? Will he follow the Lord's leading and do the right thing? Will he fall in love with the right girl? Will he take a lucrative attorney position in Atlanta or stay and practice law in his small home town?
Those and many other questions will keep you turning pages. Thank you Robert for a very good story and also for good lessons about our love for and trust in Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lawyer Loses Everything & Finds What Matters Most

Date:July 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Crane has a beautiful girlfriend, a nice home, and is about to make partner at his law firm–life is treating him pretty well. Entering the meeting where he expects the partnership announcement to be made known, the rug is violently pulled from beneath his feet. Tom finds out that not only is he not going to be made partner, but he is completely out of a job thanks to economic cutbacks. He tells his girlfriend, and before he arrives home she has left him and taken his cat as well.
With nothing standing in his way, Tom heads back to his hometown to close up his deceased father’s small town law firm. What he finds is suspicions of foul play, criminal activity, people who love him for who he is, and seeds of faith that had been planted long ago. What he learns is that God can take even our biggest failures and turn them into something not only worthwhile, but beautiful as well.
Robert Whitlow never disappoints his readers, and this book is no exception. A masterfully written plot with twists and turns that keep you glued to the pages long into the night, Water’s Edge is a book that you will treasure for years to come. 5 Stars
This book was provided to me by the publisher through NetGalley. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable legal mystery

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eunice
Location:Iona Station, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you enjoy reading about legal twists and turns, this is the book for you! Tom Crane, an ambitious young lawyer, thinks he is on the brink of an important promotion, but instead sees his dreams come crashing down. After his career and his love life both take nosedives, Tom returns to his small hometown to tie up loose ends left by his father's sudden and unexpected death. Instead of a quick cleanup of old business, and a return to a new job in Atlanta, Tom finds himself confronted with a mystery, a huge amount of money in an unexplained account, and evidence pointing to wrongdoing by his father. Over and over, as Tom tries to solve the mystery, he is faced with legal and ethical issues. Along the way he is brought into genuine relationship with the God whose existance he had ignored for years.
I thoroughly enjoyed "Water's Edge". Tom's struggle to resolve the conflict between the evidence he sees and the knowledge of his father's faith-based life, combined with the touch of romance between Tom and Rose, who is caught in the same web of conflict, makes a great read. The clear evidence of the change in Tom as he begins to share his father's faith adds a valuable spiritual component. This was the first book by Robert Whitlow that I have read, but it definitely won't be my last!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Butterflyreview
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tom Crane is an ambitious young attorney on top of his profession with a partnership in his sights with the law firm he is working at. But first he has to go to his hometown of Bethel, Georgia to close his deceased father’s law office. All that changes when the firm loses a big client. Instead of being made partner, he is let go. To make matters worse his girlfriend breads up with him via a letter.
Tom returns to Bethel not knowing which direction to take. As he starts going through his father’s papers, he finds one folder empty and a two million trust fund with no idea who it belongs to. Along comes Arthur Pelham of Pelham claiming the money as his and that Tom’s father and Harold Addington swindled the money from him. Harold’s daughter, Rose, and Tom start to investigate. They soon find out there is more going on than meets the eye. Tom finds out that his father had been murdered. Did Rose’s father do it, or was someone else involved?
As Tom searches for the truth, he finds God. As a new Christian, he was eager to study the Bible to find out what God’s Word said. What a good example.
I found some of the technical descriptions about offshore financial transactions a bit tedious. I was lost about half way through the details. Other than that this book was a great book.
I was given this book by booksneeze to read and give an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED this book!!

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
AshleyPichea
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why have I not heard of Robert Whitlow before?!?!? A Christian author who writes in a similar style to John Grisham and is a best-seller, and I’ve never heard of him?!? I’m seriously going to be checking out ALL of his books from our library this week!!
A powerful story written with beautiful details. I found myself absorbed in the story, in the setting, and in the outcome. I wanted to warn Tom about potential dangers I “saw,” and I loved the twists and turns of the plot. Reading Water’s Edge made me feel like I was a part of the town of Bethel, Georgia, living out the drama with the characters in the story.
I give this book five stars, and I can’t wait to read more from Robert Whitlow!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Water's Edge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Main Character Learns from Mentors

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Water's Edge" is the story of Thomas Crane, an ambitious, big city attorney who thinks he has everything going for himself. Just as he prepares to travel to his hometown to settle his father's estate, however, it all falls apart. The law firm he works for loses an important client and fires him to regain their financial losses. His girlfriend leaves him--and takes his cat to boot! And once home in Bethel, he discovers one mystery after another regarding his father's presumed accidental death. "Water's Edge" is an intriguing story.
Author Robert Whitlow is compared to John Grisham by World Magazine on the cover of the book. The book is a legal thriller, but I don't think it's quite as intense. That may be a positive! The story unfolds slowly as clues reveal themselves. The main character, for the most part, is a bit passive for my taste--everything happens to him instead of because of him until the end when he makes a careless decision that lands him in hot water and leaves the reader wondering how he'll possibly get out of the mess he is in. Supporting characters who mentor Crane along the way are essential to the story.
I thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending this book to me. I recommend it to fans of the legal fiction genre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>