Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1

Thomas Nelson Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1

1989: Scores of Romanian children contract a life-threatening virus. In Jerusalem, the same year, an ancient tomb is broken into.

Gina Lazarescu is a girl caugtht between an unknown past and a dark future. Will she stand in the gap against the rising evil? Or become victim to it?

Death is not a question. It is the answer. Welcome to a world that hides before your eyes.

Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Review 1 for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
First -- let me say, this dude can write! This is probably my biggest pet peeve in reading--picking up a book that doesn't ensnare my interest or captivate me. FIELD OF BLOOD had my interest from the get-go. The concept of the book is absolutely fascinating in and of itself. I mean, a storyline that connects present day to Judas Iscariot's burial place? Amazing. I wish I'd come up with it. :-DBeyond the story--there's craft. And let me just say, Eric Wilson can write. Sometimes it's a curse to be a writer and attempt to read books because you feel like a gear mechanism hasn't been well-oiled in the story, and you get stuck and grind your gears on silly things like POV, dangling modifiers, GMC, etc. FIELD OF BLOOD reads smoothly and easily. Wilson immerses you so wholly in the story that you aren't distracted or pulled out easily. . . sorta like the thorns (sorry, you'll have to read the book to get that).Probably the only CON is that FIELD OF BLOOD isn't for weak-stomached readers (and...if you have a gut of steel, this isn't a problem, and thus...no con). :-D I mean, really--the book's about vampires, and you have to expect some less-than-pleasant scenes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Field of Blood effectively combines mystery and resistance against evil with the Judeo-Christian maxim that life is in the blood, with Jesus proving to be the ultimate elixir. The Collectors for example, seek to sate themselves upon human blood, yet are never satisfied. Knowing that Jesus blood forever satisfies, they are tempted to feed upon Those Who Resist (believers), yet must restrain themselves, as this act would lead to their destruction.Wilson is laying much groundwork in this first novel for the rest of the trilogy, as a result the story is slow to start. With details from Ginas childhood, the early voyages of the Akeladama cluster, and introductions to other characters eating a lot of pages, its only in the last quarter of the book that the pace picks up and we start to see a more traditional vampire-hunting theme emerge in the series.Interestingly, the majority of the books characters are not themselves believers. Only Cal Nichols, Ginas mysterious benefactor, displays faith in God in this first novel; his efforts to recruit others to the cause of Those Who Resist are universally met with disinterest. Still, with the entire framework of the story built upon a biblical worldview with some paranormal speculation thrown in, it clearly bears the marks of a Christian novelist.Serving mainly as a stepping-stone to the second novel the recently released Haunt of Jackals at books end were left with a cliffhanger just as the action ramps up. Queasy readers will want to pass on the series due to the typically vampiric blood-binges, but those looking for a series of novels that place the undead in the only realm they can properly be assigned to (that of evil) will find food for thought here.Having already read the second book in the series, I believe the Jerusalems Undead Trilogy is worth sticking with. In fact, it may even be worth a second read through once Wilsons remaining plot twists are disclosed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
A construction crew accidently discovers burial caves on the outskirts of Jerusalem, which turns out to be the Akeldama, the place where Judas Iscariot died. Before the archeologists can arrive to do their thing, the Collectors enter the tombs. The Akeldama Collectors are demon-like beings who have been waiting 2000 years to get at these bones, because bones combined with the blood of Judas that seeped into the soil makes it possible for the Collectors to awaken the dead. Once they each choose a body, they need to feed. Then they need to find and destroy the Nistarim, those immortal beings that rose at the death of the Nazarene to protect mankind.Gina Lazarescu has managed to break away from her controlling mother and make a life for herself in the States. But when she is hit by a van and hears her body heal itself, the past is dug up again. Could she have a connection to the Nistarim her mother used to talk about, and if so, is she being hunted by the undead? I have never read such a unique and creative novel from a Christian publisher. I applaud Thomas Nelson for publishing this book. Its totally creepyhalf the book is from the undead (vampire) perspectiveso its not for everyone. I got a bit confused here and there because the story is action packed and moves right along. I found myself going back to reference characters. There is mild sensuality and violence from the bad guys scenes, but there is nothing graphic. If you like vampire stories, characters that are just as flawed as the next guy, and a plot that keeps you guessing, give this one a try. I was very impressed with how Wilson used scripture and history to weave this creative tale. In fact, when I finished reading it, I ran to my Bible to see the scriptures for myself. Pretty cool stuff. Highly recommended (with caution for the creepy factor).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Wilson
If you're looking for a typical vampire novel, don't pick this up. If you're looking for an easy, no-thought required escape, don't pick up this book.For the reader that likes edgy fiction, give this a try. Wilson laces the story with Jewish tradition and history and deepens the story with Christian symbols, allusion and allegory. I found that parts of this book were slow and would have liked to see more space given to the protagonist Gina. These vampires are not typical vampires and much of the story takes place with the spiritual and physicals on a horizontal plane. Very interesting.The last 50 pages tie everything up and deliver a powerful Aha! moment for readers. Will be picking up the next one in the series soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah Velez
This book grabbed my interest and became difficult to put down. It fit perfectly in my purse and so went with me on the bus, to the laundromat, you get the idea! The story is fascinating, and I can't wait for the second book in the trilogy to become available!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bill Benz
A really thought provoking book. I enjoyed the reality that we may not see with our eyes yet it does exist. There are evil presences and good ones. As long as we are in Christ we are not going to fail. I can't wait for the next one in the series to arrive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marjorie Vawter
I have to confess that Field of Blood is not a book I would normally read, mostly because of the vampires. In fact, it sat on my to be reviewed pile for several months before I finally read it. And the only reason I did was because I was asked to proofread the second book in this series, Haunt of Jackals. I was so drawn into the story and the characters, I found myself picking up Field of Blood just to get caught up with the back story. So in essence I read both books at the same time. The only other vampire book Ive read is the classic Dracula by Bram Stoker. And Eric Wilson puts an entirely difference spin on his characterization of vampires, putting their lust and evil desires on a more spiritual plain. To me, Wilsons depiction is more believable to me than Bram Stokers. The premise of Field of Blood and the Jerusalems Undead Trilogy is a mixture of truth and fiction. But Eric Wilsons melding of the two makes even the fiction plausible, given a healthy dose of suspension of belief on the readers part. Erics characters are real, well-rounded individuals. Even the less savory characters are believable in the context of the story. Lots of research, in-depth and on-site, has gone into this trilogy, giving even more credibility to the story line. The writing is strong and descriptive. Not only do the characters come alive, but the varied settings do, too. A combination of legend and biblical truth, this first book of the trilogy contains a strong message of spiritual warfare on a much higher level than many of us want to think about. It is a book that demands an open mind to possibilities that might exist beyond our understanding of the spiritual world. Haunt of Jackals releases in July; the final book in the trilogy, Valley of Bones, releases in 2010.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Todd Michael Greene
Story begins with the suicide of Judas, his blood seeps deep into the ground.Modern day,a young Romanian girl has a dog, no father is evident, a crush on a boy. We witness a bizarre ritual between mother and daughter involving a knife. A cleansing of sorts.A burial ground is disturbed where Judas died. A group watch as this is their opportunity. They enter the bodies of the dead. Instantly, the dead rise. Only it's more a mock resurrection. They must feed on blood to keep the bodies going. Their mission is to find a member of the Nistarim and destroy them. This will be the end of humanity.Field of Blood is the most imaginative story I've ever read. Easily the best novel I read all of last year. Eric has topped himself with this series. He has a knack for blending history with fiction. Field of Blood blends so many elements. History, Jewish mysticism, Christianity, the Bible and both contemporary and historical settings in a way that left me wanting the sequel and the final novels right them.I don't think Eric's writing has ever been better and that is the one thing that impresses me most. I've read all his published novels and with each one he builds on what he's learned and done before and refines his craft to an even better level. This work has his tightest writing and his best pacing to day in my opinion.The only negative I have is that of one of the character names. The spelling changed several times. This was a bit confusing. I don't see this as an issue the author caused but rather the typesetter and perhaps proofreader. It shouldn't detract from an otherwise excellent, creepy read. I haven't been able to scratch an itch without first inspecting the area since this read.It you're looking for boundary stretch stories, the kind that make you think long after you place it on a bookshelf Field of Blood is for you. Book 2, Haunt of Jackals, will be releasing soon. Followed next year by Valley of Bones, concluding the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Before I start with my review I want to encourage you to look at Field of Blood with an open mind and not toss it aside because it's a vampire novel. Sure, it's about vampires, but its so not a typical clichd vampire novel. Though supernatural in nature the book is also filled with a valuable message that we all need to hear and embrace. Everyone is vulnerable without the power of Christ. We have free will and can choose God or walk away from Him and live in our own sin.The first plot line opens with Judas Iscariot ending his life and his blood seeping into burial graves. Fast forward to 1989 where the site is excavated and the souls, The Collectors, are freed to wander among the living. But these Collectors are not the only immortals wandering the earth. They are accompanied by thirty eight individuals, the Nistarim, who were marked by God to protect the human race. The Nistarim hunt the Collectors and vice versa. Gina Lazarescu is at first unaware she is being hunted by the undead. Shes whisked to America by her mother to keep her safe as she grows up. As Gina becomes suspicious of her mysterious past, she shoots to center stage in the war between good and evil, transforming the book into a nonstop page turner. I am unabashedly an Eric Wilson fan and have loved all of his previous works. When he announced the upcoming Undead Trilogy, I blinked a few times, and sighed. Why Eric, why? Why mess with what I have enjoyed reading for years? I am not a huge supernatural/speculative fiction reader, and definitely not a gothic vampire novel lover, so when the book arrived, I began to read simply because Wilson had earned my respect as a writer and captured my joy of reading as a reader. With an open mind I delved into the book and was pleasantly surprised that the story was not at all what I expected. It was so much more and it held Wilsons signature writing with flawed characters and a strong message without preaching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tosca
Eric Wilson took on a seemingly insurmountable challenge in writing a Christian vampire novel in the first place. But that wasnt the only difficulty; with so much advance buzz about the announced Jerusalems Undead trilogy, he ran the risk that, no matter how rich the story, it might not be enough to match the hype. Anticipation is its own kind of monster; it often turns on its masters.In the hands of a lesser writer, a lesser researcher and man less acquainted with his scriptures, it might have been a disaster. In the hands of Eric Wilson, its a tour de force. Wilson merges folklore and Biblical theology to effectively bridge the vampires Christian themes with Romanian lore, supplying a long-missing link. In doing so, Wilson has supplied something lacking in the slew of vampire fiction today: originality. In Field of Blood, the undead are founded in the betrayal of Judas Iscariot, who managed to bleed out in the half-botched act of hanging himself, loosing unholy blood on the soil of the Akeldama. While staying true to the bloody death and blood-as-life staples of vampire mythology, Field of Blood offers a new angle on character redemption, new boundaries on the realm of the vampire, and new charges for the anti-vampire protagonist. Wilson introduces an entire cast of undead characters all too deliciously easy to hate including the convicted criminal, Barabbasthe very man released at the urging of the mob in lieu of the Nazarene, Jesus. My main fascination with Field of Blood, however, is the genius behind the story itself. Having visited Romania and grown up in the church, I was intrigued in a howd-he-do-that? kind of way at Wilsons weaving together of post-revolution Romania, world news, scripture and Hebrew lore. As a reader, I was delighted. As a writer, I was envious. In breaking the Christian publishing vampire barrier, Wilson has set an incredible bar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Porter
With Field of Blood Eric Wilson, once again, stretches our minds and brings to life another world in which monsters really do exist. Vampire like beings ravage the people of Jerusalem and Romania. Inflicting pain and sinful pleasure on them, such as they never dreamed existed. The only hope the world has, rests squarlely on the shoulders of one confused, conflicted woman that has a dark and secret past that only her mother knows the entire truth about. Can Gina discover her true destiny before it is too late?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Field of Blood, Jerusalem's Undead Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marti Frazier
Doubly Dead, or Doubly Alive? With Field of Blood, Eric Wilson delivers another action-packed, yet thought-provoking novel. The content of this novel is not for the faint-hearted. Read with caution, for your very soul is at stake. The Field of Blood, or in Aramaic, the Akeldama, was the final resting place for Judas Iscariot. Or was it? When a freak accident opens up ancient burial grounds within the Field, an evil unlike any other is unleashed on all the world. Their purpose? To kill, corrupt, and destroy. Enter Gina Lazarescu. A small, yet strong-willed woman with a shrouded past and a uncertain future. When she uncovers buried secrets about her past, her life is turned upside-down as she learns more about her heritage, and her purpose.Eric Wilson is truly in his prime with this novel. This is one of the rare novels that, quite literally, had me ripping through the pages as fast as I could. It seemlessly combines elements of the supernatural realm with our physical world, and the result? A novel that reads like the next blockbuster movie, all the while, scintillating with truths that pertain to everyday life. This novel will surely expand his fan base exponentially.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.