Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series

Thomas Nelson Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series

Wells Fargo driver Matthew Dubois isn't sure the lovely Shannon belongs in Idaho Territory, but he is a desperate man. His widowed sister is dying and leaving her young son, Todd, in his care. If Matthew ever wants to return to driving coach for the express company--and he does mean to return to it--he'll need a wife to look after the boy when he's away. Shannon is determined not to lose her heart to a man who is neither a Southerner nor a gentleman. But love stakes its claim. Now, will her heart survive learning the truth behind the courtship?
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 1894%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Review 1 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Story

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
CathyRN
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual, Ms. Hatcher, has written a wonderful story. Shannon Adair, who has worked as a nurse in Virgina, and her father move to Idaho in 1864 where he is new pastor of the church. She begins to take care of a young woman who is dying and finds herself becoming friends with her even though she is a Yankee. She also comes to love the woman's son and older brother. Their story takes some twists and turns and their faith helps them both to overcome obstacles in their way. A wonderful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful plot and great characters!

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story really flowed for me and I was able to really connect with the characters. Shannon Adair has traveled to Idaho Territory with her father, a reverend. She is not happy to have left her home in Virginia, which is currently embroiled in the battles taking place during the war between the states.
Matthew Dubois has also recently moved to this gold-mining town and has been joined by his dying sister and her young son. Shannon starts filling the need of nurse to Matthew’s sister and although these people come from different backgrounds, on opposite sides of the war, deep feelings begin to develop.
I really enjoyed these characters and the setting for the story. There was a little action and adventure in the story, a sweet romance, some sadness and heartache, and God’s providence throughout the story. I am so glad to have read this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely!

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Budding Violinist
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robin Lee Hatcher's A Heart of God captures the story of a young woman torn by wartime loyalties on the gold rush frontier. It combines the thrill of the Civil War with the trials of frontier life and unpredictability. As each character is forced to make choices to maintain their own livelihood, how can they remain true to God, to their own person, and to their calling? What happens when all these people interact and their chemistry gets entangled?
Hatcher does a fantastic job of portraying the complexity of frontier life particularly as a bloodly civil war rages in the distance. While she does use stereotypes of the freespirited Western man and the domesticated lady, she weaves them together in a way that is compelling and fresh.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good over all

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andranae
Location:Northern Illinois
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked this story. The characters were well developed and it was a fun ride. I felt for Matthew when he lost his sister. I thought Shannon was a brat to be completely honest. But it was a good read. Definitely would recommend it to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A thoroughly enjoyable read.

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
karenkteachcambodia
Location:Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in Grand Coeur, Idaho, a "rough and tumble" gold mining town during the Civil War in the USA, this delightful romance was a great read. Shannon Adair has come with her minister father to a place she initially finds very difficult. The arrival of Matthew Dubois's dying widowed sister provides Shannon with an outlet for her nursing skills, although the relationship is not without its challenges. Both ladies have suffered loss due to the war, but on opposing sides. Can friendship grow despite these differences? What about the fellows who are vying for Shannon’s attention? Will her grieving her learn to love again?
I thoroughly enjoyed reading "Heart of Gold". The characters were well developed and believable. The way in which the characters developed over the duration of the story was appropriate and inspiring. The use of letters to Shannon's friend in Virginia was a great way to help the reader understand what was going on in Shannon's mind. Overall, this was a great read - enough adventure to make it interesting but not so much that it was not believable. I'd be happy to recommend it to others and I would certainly read other books by this author.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well written but predicable

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was a very quick read. Story line was not unique from many other books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great vacation read!

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
ramblings
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was recently able to review the book Heart of Gold written by one of my favorite authors, Robin Lee Hatcher!
The leading lady in this fictional book is Shannon. She travels with her father to Idaho. They are formerly from Virginia and Shannon is not at all sure that she should even be in Idaho. She misses Virginia and all her friends that she left behind. Shannon is unsure what purpose she will have in Idaho. Then she meets Matthew. His sister is a widow with a young son and she is sick. Since Shannon had experience nursing soldiers she steps in to help care for the woman. An unlikely friendship is started and Shannon begins to feel drawn to Matthew as well.
If you want to know more than that read the book. This one makes the list for a great summer read! Especially if you are going on a vacation. Pick up this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is delightful.

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Ontario,Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the story of a young woman, Shannon Adair, who goes with her preacher father to a rough and primitive town in Idaho from prim and proper Virginia and how she learns some valuable lessons.
It is also the story of a young bachelor, Matthew Dubois, who thought he had his life planned to find out God had much more planned for him.
As you can imagine there is lots of wholesome romance here but also interesting insights to what life what like during this era.
I was pleasantly taken in by the story and found I did not want to put it down. It made me appreciate the comforts we enjoy but also realize that we often hold the insignificant as significant.
I would recommend this novel in a heartbeat.It is not heavy reading, but quite enjoyable and a little deeper than many romance books.
"Heart of Gold" was provided to me compliments of BookSneeze to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Claudette Kleckner
Location:Meridian, Idaho
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this book up one day and had it finished the next. It had many twists and turns. I loved the story of the old days and how people lived. I loved reading about towns in Idaho where I live. It also told of adversity, romance, and family. It was happy one minute and sad the next. Robin writes such easy books to read. From the moment you pick them up you are involved with the characters and the story. I love the way her christian faith shows in her writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Treasure

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The latest addition to the “Women of Faith” fiction line is a treasure, just as the title assumes. I fell in love with the cover first, but the story quickly measured up to how lovely the outside promises.
A western romance, it brings so much into the story, angst from a Civil War still raging, affecting relationships and emotions even states away. I loved how the historical culture affected and played a role in the characters and their growth.
Characters were likeable, even though Shannon starts the novel with a stuck-up mentality, she quickly becomes a giving and loving character, growing and changing with the flow of the plot. The romance presses upon the characters, due to circumstances, but I loved seeing Shannon and Matthew find attraction in the other…almost without realizing it.
The actual writing of the book is warm and inviting me to indulge in “just one more chapter”. It’s the kind of story that nearly left me in tears at one point and anxious for the characters to work out their differences and struggles.
Finely crafted, well written, it doesn’t have a great deal of suspense or I guess, for lack of a better word “worry” for the reader, but I nonetheless found enjoyment within its pages. Characters and situations alike made for a quick, welcoming read.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Home at Last

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
After her mother's death, Shannon Adair and her minister father, move from Virginia to a small, dirty town in Idaho. She disdains it; nothing is as good as it was at "home," and she longs to return. However, bit by bit Shannon begins to appreciate her new home and to learn to live with people of all races.
The characters are believable. I enjoyed this plot. There are enough twists to keep me reading. I recommend this one!
Reading Group Guide included.
Thank you to Booksneeze/Thomas Nelson for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heart of Gold delivers

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well we have all had that feeling like a fish out of water, right? Like for instance you have just moved to a new place and everything just seems foreign, the people, the places, the way they do things. Well that is how the poor heroine Shannon Adair of Heart of Gold by Robin Lee Hatcher feels as she is starting a whole new life with her widowed father Reverend Delaney Adair as they are trying to get settled in Grand Coeur, Idaho, this rather –rougher –than- what -she’s- used –to- type of place, so much different than where she was raised in Virginia. The setting is 1864 smack dab in the middle of the civil war and her Southern allegiances are strong. Her father feels firmly called to this new community of less refinement and sentiments both towards the union and the confederacy, but people he feels called to minister to; Shannon is not so sure. Thus begins her struggle to surrender to God in this new place.
Shannon soon finds purpose to her time in the gold mining town of Grand Coeur by drawing on her nursing skills honed back home in Virginia while tending to many wounded soldiers. But as there is no battlefield here, just a critically ill woman who has recently arrived in Grand Coeur herself, seeking to reconnect with her brother Matt Dubois and with her young son in tow, she is in need of much care and help caring for her son. Shannon immediately has compassion on this woman and a friendship is forged. Not at all impressed by her brother Matt Dubois at first, as his political views did not line up at all with hers, she is not immediately inclined to pay much notice of him, but as time goes on, her interest in Mr. Dubois grows as does his interest in her.
I enjoy books in the civil war era for sure- such a confusing, complicated time for our country at war against itself. I really enjoyed this book and especially liked the character of Reverend Adair as he was a man who really loved God, and although a southerner at heart, he still took a stand with regards to the South’s view on slavery and how he did not feel it was right. He also was very in tune to the prejudice in this small town towards the Chinese population and was taking steps to try and remedy that. I just enjoyed that the character was able to look beyond what the North thought, what the South thought and try to be more concerned with what God thought concerning, people, politics and the church. I thought that was very well done. The romance between Shannon and Matt had a good flow to it and even that moment of crisis (a couple of them) where you hoped that all would turn out right in the end , but you weren’t sure to which I will not divulge how that ends up!
For those that enjoy a good civil war, historical fiction read, this one is for you. Robin Lee Hatcher delivers a lovely read once again.
4 stars
I was graciously provided a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through the Booksneeze program. I was not required to write a favorable review. All opinions expressed were honest and my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heart of Gold, by Robin Lee Hatcher, is an outstanding book. Set in Grand Coeur, Idaho, in 1864, this book is a historical romance that deals with issues surrounding the Civil War and how they effected those who lived in the West.
Shannon Adair and her father move from war ravished Virginia to Idaho against her better judgment. But her father feels called to serve as minister to a church there, so Shannon dutifully follows. Once there, she misses her home and friends, and she has difficulty with the idea of living with people who are loyal to the Union. When Matthew Dubois needs someone to care for his dying sister, Shannon feels compelled to use her nursing skills to do so. Still, she does not count on falling in love with Matthew or his family.
I greatly enjoyed this book. Shannon learned that she must judge individuals by their character, not by their allegiances. I also enjoyed the references to the Civil War, such as the group trying to rob the gold from the stagecoach and send it to support the Confederacy. I hadn’t considered such things before reading this story.
I would recommend this book to anyone who loves romance, the old west, or the civil war era.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

The Heart of Gold

Date:February 3, 2012
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In The Heart of Gold, Shannon Adair and her father, Reverend Adair leave Virginia and head out west to her father’s new church in the Idaho territory. Shannon has doubts about leaving the society of her friends in the east and entering a place where she doesn’t know a soul.
Soon after her arrival, Shannon encounters Alice, a woman with a young son who is dying of cancer. In agreeing to serve as nurse and companion to Alice, Shannon daily encounters her brother. Matthew is a stagecoach driver with Wells Fargo. He has taken a job in the office so that he can stay at home to help his dying sister. Before he knows it, he is seeking Shannon’s attention in hopes that he can gain a wife to help him raise his nephew. Along the way, both Shannon and Matthew encounter God’s plan for their lives.
The year is 1864. The civil war in the east continues to rage. Little did the Adairs know how the war would touch their lives in their new “home”.
I have enjoyed reading a number of Robin Lee Hatcher’s novels; however, The Heart of Gold has a very slow pace and a disappointing ending.
I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding God's purpose

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Clio, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robin Lee Hatcher is one of my favorite authors and, once again, she has written a story in which I could relate to the character’s struggles. I was fortunate enough to receive an advance copy of Heart of Gold a few weeks ago for the purpose of reviewing and was given complete liberty in the reviewing process. I could write whatever I chose about the book – good or bad. I do not hesitate to say it is a good read! Anyone that enjoys historical romance with a Christian message will certainly like the book.
Heart of Gold will quickly transport you to the rough, primitive gold mining town of Grand Couer in Idaho Territory. It is January 1864 and the heroine, Shannon Adair, has left her friends and her beautiful family home behind in war- torn Virginia to accompany her father. Although her father feels he is called by God to move to this wild country, Shannon does not share his vision. As we turn the pages we watch Shannon struggle with all the changes in her life and question, not only her father, but God as she tries to find a way to accept the hand that has been dealt to her. Anyone who has moved from friends and family will immediate relate to Shannon and the struggle she goes through in accepting the situation in which she’s found herself and her journey to find her own calling.
One problem I had with this book is that it kept calling me away from my chores – I could not turn the pages fast enough and ended up reading until the wee hours of the morning to finish it in one day. I moved from finding Shannon to be a character I believed was selfish and weak to admiring her for her continual search for God’s purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Don't be Quick to Judge Others

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nfam
Location:Morriston, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Idaho Territory isn't what Shannon has in mind for her life. She loves Virginia and looks down on the unkempt miners and cowboys in Grand Coeur. The Civil War is raging and her father, Reverend Adair, has taken a parish there, and she decides to accompany him, but with poor grace.
Mathew loves driving a stagecoach. He has no desire to be a Wells Fargo Agent. He takes the job thinking it's only temporary while he provides a home for his ailing sister, Alice, and her son, Todd. When Todd and Alice arrive, he realizes that he's taken on a much greater responsibility. Alice is dying.
When Shannon agrees to take care of the dying Alice, she's sure a Northerner and a Southerner can never become friends, but they do, and she finds herself drawn to Matthew as more than a friend.
I recommend this book because of the underlying messages. The book is a traditional romance. The characters and plot are professionally crafted, but don't stand out. I was, however, impressed with two underlying messages. Shannon and Matthew didn't want to be where they were, but God had a plan, and they both learned that God's plan is often better than that conceived by man.
Shannon also learned that people from different backgrounds can come to value each other. It's a good lesson for today. Too often we're quick to judge those who are different from us and in doing so we miss opportunities.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet, Western Romance

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leah Courtney
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Shannon travels with her father to Idaho Territory away from her war-ravaged Virginia, she is at first bitter and resentful. God uses her pastor father and the friendship of a dying widow to change Shannon's heart and prepare her for the love of a former Wells Fargo driver.
This was a tender, sweet, Western romance by a Christian author I have read and enjoyed before. Shannon is feisty and spirited. Matthew is strong, rugged and handsome. They butt heads rather pointedly at first. Then slowly, find themselves falling in love. But, of course, their relationship can't proceed smoothly. Instead, one of them must be near death before they will admit their love for each other. Yes, it's a story line we've all read before; but it is tried and true and still makes for an enjoyable read.
I enjoy the historical time period- the Civil War; the setting- the old West; and the spirited hero and heroine of this tale. So, even though the plot was predictable, this was an enjoyable read.
This is a solid four star read, and it is sweet and innocent enough for an easy G rating.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Heart of Gold, Women of Faith Series
This review is fromHeart of Gold - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a story set in the mining country of Idaho

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:El Mirage, Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robin Lee Hatcher has woven a novel of romance, and intrigue set in the gold fields of Idaho. Come with me, fellow reader, as we follow the Reverend Adair and his lovely daughter Shannon around the gold mining town of Grand Coeur, Idaho. They have just arrived from war torn Virginia to share Christ with the diverse town. We never do meet the miners as such, nor do we come in contact with the work itself. Instead the story revolves around the town people – in particularly Matthew Dubois and his deathly ill sister and her son.
As we follow the story we are drawn into their lives, laughing at a young boy and his dog, aching with the ill mother, struggling with the young man as he faces the fact that he is the only father figure in his nephews life.
Right from the beginning we are drawn into the mystery of how the characters will align themselves with the civil war being fought in the eastern states, because though this is Idaho, far from the war zone, allegiance is still a strong indicator of who your friends are.
I thoroughly enjoyed Robin's novel, and look forward to her next one. Her novels portray the needs of the heart and how they can be fulfilled.
I received this ebook free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through their Booksneeze program in exhange for an honest review. A postive one was not required, and these opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.