Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3

Jade never knew happily-ever-after would be this messy, loud . . . delicious. Jade Benson embraces unexpected motherhood when her husband Max gains custody of his young son. As she and Max work out their newly formed family, an invitation to coach Texas high school football sends them on a journey.

Then a stranger reveals a painful secret, and Jade faces her hardest challenge yet. When she surrenders her heart to God and to her husband, Jade discovers the joy of love lifting her above her fears.

"All my songs tell a story. But this one is special. My first book series is about looking backward while moving forward. It's about chasing dreams, endless country roads, and tender faith." -Sara Evans

Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Review 1 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love Lifted

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Location:Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I saw this book on the Booksneeze site, a few things intrigued me… Sara and I have the same last name J and the Sara is a singer/song writer - I had high expectations.
Love Lifted Me was well written and the story flowed well. The themes of forgiveness and letting the past go were strong and mostly well developed through the book.
I wasn’t expecting the American Football storyline to be quite as involved as it was. Unfortunately, I don’t understand the game and found myself skimming pages at a time when ‘plays’ or ‘positions’ were detailed in technical terms.
Another thread which many readers will love is one of vintage clothing. I’m not into vintage and again, I felt lost in detailed prose.
Despite my getting lost a few times, I did find the ending satisfying. Overall, this was an enjoyable book.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satisfying Conclusion

Date:June 10, 2012
I read the second book in the Songbird series when it came out last January. I finally had the chance to pick up Love Lifted Me, the conclusion over the weekend and was NOT disappointed.
After months apart, Max returns to Whisper Hollow to repair his marriage and father his two-year-old son. Jade struggles with trusting the changes she sees in Max, and Max vows to remain patient. As they attempt to find their rhythm, Max is offered the chance of a lifetime—as a high-school football coach in Texas. Alone in a new place with a new dream for their future, Max and Jade encounter one challenge after another—threatening their marriage, their family, and their new life.
As I began reading, I wished I had a better memory of how the previous book ended. A few pages in, though, I was completely caught up. I appreciated how the authors wrote the back story into the novel while still moving the current story along. Max and Jade's story was so realistic and one I think many readers will be able to relate to in one way or another. Who hasn't been let down by someone they love? Or made choices they later regretted?
I'm a huge football fan, so of course, I loved that aspect of the story—especially the relationships that Jade and Max developed with the players. Coaches should take an interest in their players' lives and care about more than just wins or losses, and that was one of the great lessons of this book.
Love Lifted Me lived up to every expectation I had. Romantic, emotional, funny, and full of redemption. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment spent reading it and was sorry to reach the end. I highly recommend this beautiful series (but read them in order!) and hope to see more from the authors soon! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson via Net Galley in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable Book

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
SuzB
Location:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I have a strong Karen Kingsbury fan and I have wanted to branch out to other authors but have never found other books that I can really get into. This book has changed that and I think I have found a couple of new authors I can enjoy.
I enjoyed the story line, the only issue is that it is the 3rd book to a series so I am going to buy the first two and come back to it because I found that some of the story was linked to the first two and it doesn't make sense.
I recommend reading this book, but read the first two first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good story line and characters

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sylvester Mancl
Location:west bend, Wi.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually do not read this style of novel, but I thought it was excellent, and recomended it to my wife. I usually read novels along the line of Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartwarming Story

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Love Lifted Me by Sara Evans with Rachel Hauck is a sweet southern love story about Jade and Max Benson. Jade and Max have gone through many challenges in their lives and their marriage. Jade is caring for Max's son Asa as Max is finishing rehab. Max is a very successful lawyer with a powerful family, but decides to take an unexpected job as a high school football coach in Texas. Their journey begins as they learn to walk by faith and love each other again. They have a new beginning and a new adventure with all the twists and turns life has to offer. How will God work it all out in their lives?
I loved the plot of this story. The authors did a great job building characters that are believable and have real life challenges. I love that their relationship with God is central to their lives as well. They have tough problems and yet they give it another try with God at the center of their family.
The only thing I didn't love about this book is that the authors spent a lot of time building the story up to the climax and then they fail to give as detailed an ending. It is like being led along on this journey (that takes awhile) and then they abruptly end it with a short explanation of what happened to each character. I am a busy mom of three so it was hard for me to hang in there through the middle only to get such an abrupt ending that just didn't satisfy or fit with the tone of the rest of the book.
I would recommend this book to those that enjoy slower paced stories. It's definitely a great story that I enjoyed reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heart-Warming Conclusion

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have followed the winding road of Jade's story since "The Sweet By and By." Each novel in Sara Evans' and Rachel Hauck's Songbird series has been as touching and melodic as a country song. A chorus of love, pain, healing, and faith flows through the series and into the third novel, "Love Lifted Me." The conclusion of "Softly and Tenderly" left me with a lingering anticipation of what the plot of "Love Lifted Me" would hold for Jade and Max.
Throughout the course of three novels, Jade and Max have been through a multitude of hardships. They have led imperfect lives, which makes them realistic individuals, not just characters in a book. In the previous two stories, Max's personality annoyed me. "Love Lifted Me" redeems his character and introduces a stronger and less self-centered side of Max Benson. True to the trend if the Songbird series, secrets threaten the tenuous relationship between Jade and Max.
The change in setting from Whisper Hollow, Tennessee to Colby, Texas introduces new characters and new challenges that keep the plot fresh and interesting. There is a focus on football, which I found less engaging. As a reader who knows very little about the game, the football scenes were ones that I skimmed. Since my first introduction to Jade, I have hoped for a happy ending to her story. "Love Lifted Me" is a heart-warming conclusion that flows with a steady tempo.
I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from NetGalley, courtesy of Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Leaves you smiling through it's tenderness

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookaholic
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Lifted Me, by Sarah Evans, is a charming little book. Full of faith, dreams, new beginnings and football, it's a book that once I started reading, I kept coming back too.
From the back of the book, " Jade and Max share a deep love, though revelations from his past have recently shaken their marriage. And Jade is completely smitten wiht Max's little son, Asa, whom she is now raising as her own. Their blended family brings her a joy she's never known. but there is one more secret to be uncovered. One that will impact them all."
I loved that this book is so honest and pure. Emotions are out there for everyone to see, truth and love being the top of the list. I read this book in 2 days and was left with a smile on my face for the characters. I fell in love with them..from the witty and clever, to the humble and broken..you'll love how this book plays out. A tender story with faith, love, forgiveness and determination all wrapped up in the pages of this book.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will grab you and your heart!

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda I
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Love Lifted Me by Sara Evan with Rachel Hauck is an AMAZING book. If you are at all a fan of Karen Kingsbury, you won't be disappointed with this book. This book is the third book in the series ( I did not know this at the time as it reads well as a stand alone). This book grabs you from the beginning as you get to know the main characters, Jade and Max right away. They have common issues that other people have expereinced and makes it easy to be able to relate to the characters. After Max's return from his camp, I like how their is a big push on prayer! I agree with several other reviews, this book will take you from tears to laughter (so much that my husband was asking me what was wrong!)
It is hard to find a good book that grabs me right away. This one did. It is my first Sara Evans book but I definetly will be going and buying the first two to see the beginning of this series. Like a Karen Kingsbury book, this book will be the kind that you tell yourself just one more page and you look up and it's a hour later. I could relate to some of the issues they were having and it made it seem so human. Excellent read! You will not be disappointed!
I recieved this book free from Thomas Nelson in return for a honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A satisfying conclusion to the series

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jade and Max Benson return in fine form for this satisfying conclusion to the Songbird Series.
Book three, Love Lifted Me, continues to follow the Bensons after their marriage has been tested by secrets of past affairs and the introduction of Max's previously unknown son, Asa, into Jade's life (see my review of Softly and Tenderly for a summary of book 2 in the series). The novel begins with Max's return from the rehab ranch he had attended to deal with his addiction to pain medication; Max's return forces Jade to decide whether she is willing to trust him again. Their lives take a surprising turn when Max is offered the position of head coach of a football team at a struggling school, and they decide to take this opportunity for a new start in their lives. A visit from an old friend of Asa's birth mother introduces a shocking secret that has the potential to unravel the healing Max and Jade have experienced, while Max faces challenges at work that will put the entire family, and their faith, to the ultimate test.
I greatly enjoyed returning to the lives of the Benson's in this moving book. The authors have held to the standard they set in the previous novels in the series, and have penned a drama that is action-packed, with plenty of twists and turns to hold my interest. Jade and Max have been so fully developed that it felt like I was revisiting old friends, while new characters who were introduced likewise found a place in my heart, such as occurred with one of my favorite new characters, Tucker, a youth who overcomes a hard past and utter lack of confidence in a spectacular manner. The writing is skillful, the pacing swift, and the beauty of strong faith in God shines through. The spiritual growth of both Jade and Max, especially in such trying times as presented in the novel, is sure to challenge us all to trust God with our lives in a similar manner. Readers who enjoy the drama created by struggling sports teams will especially appreciate reading this book.
I highly recommend this book and give it 4.5 out of 5 stars, and I also recommend the entire series for those readers who have not yet had the chance to enjoy the prior books.
Disclaimer: Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher via the Booksneeze program and netgalley, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sara Evans ~*~ Book #3, Songbird Series: Love Lift

Date:December 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Saturday, December 17, 2011
Sara Evans ~*~ Book #3, Songbird Series: Love Lifted Me
Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
By Sara Evans with Rachel Hauck
Thomas Nelson c2011 Hardcover, Trade Paperback available December 2011
Audio CD and eBook available January 2012
All my songs tell a story. But this one is special. My first book series is about looking backward while moving forward. It's about chasing dreams, endless country roads, and tender faith.--Sara Evans
Add Love, Always Add Love
Pre-order and place a card for your Christmas Stocking gifts!
Product Description
Jade never knew happily-ever-after would be this messy, loud . . . delicious. Jade Benson embraces unexpected motherhood when her husband Max gains custody of his young son. As she and Max work out their newly formed family, an invitation to coach Texas high school football sends them on a journey.
Then a stranger reveals a painful secret, and Jade faces her hardest challenge yet. When she surrenders her heart to God and to her husband, Jade discovers the joy of love lifting her above her fears.
Review: Love Lifted Me
Love Lifted Me is a story of love, strong and surrendered. Bypassing all looking back because of having now. Dreams, realities, heartache, pain, joy, gladness. Surrender. Peace.
Jade Benson sends a message of surrender... to love.
Jade and her husband, Max, with contented little Asa, live within a beautiful story of hope that could happen... today.
I read this book in a day set aside. The beginning of the book is very conversational and visually seems like a movie script, tangible to the touch. They are both exposed and reveal who they are. With the help of friends in their new community who believe in them, they are propelled forward into a life they could only desire. It becomes true for them as they are honest with each other and share their lives. As Max rebuilds young men's lives, his own is restored to him. I enjoyed this story of being real and received into friendship with others who encourage and stand beside them.
Love Lifted Me is the third novel in a six-part series. This novel continues the story of Jade and Max. I have not read the first two books (The Sweet By and By, 2009; Softly and Tenderly, 2011). This book can be read as a stand-alone novel. It is very well written and I did not feel left behind wondering what happened before. I liked how open communication helped redeem trust in their relationship. Truth and faith are important as this very real couple overcome struggles in their lives.
~*~
I received this book free from the Publisher, Thomas Nelson, as part of their BookSneeze blogger program in exchange for my review in my own words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting Characters, Uplifting Story!

Date:December 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarah Varland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jade Benson, the main character of Love Lifted Me, the third book in the Songbirds Series by Sara Evans and Rachel Hauck, is just starting to grow strong enough to face the chaos and heartache she's endured in her life, especially in the last few years. Her husband, Max, is trying to prove himself to his wife--his faithfulness to her and his commitment to stay drug free and not return to using pain-pills to chase away his problems.
Readers who have read the other two books in the series know that Jade and Max have run a full gauntlet of struggles and challenges in their marriage. Drug use, infidelity, parent issues...The scene is already set when book three begins, and it's hard to imagine what trials the two of them will go through in this book.
This book is full of hope. There is still enough conflict to keep the reader interested and make her leave her dishes undone and dinner uncooked while she finds out what will happen to these people she's grown to care about, but the tone of this book is markedly different from the first.
The fragrance of grace permeates this story. It's not at all "preachy", but the message of God's love was clear in the lives of the characters. This was a story about losing fear and embracing trust. It was a story of redemption, perhaps the best possible theme a story can have. And it was about love. Love for others. Love for God. His love for us.
Evans and Hauck make a great writing team. The writing is very well done, the imagery and symbolism used colors the story in an even more vivid way. Nothing about this book left me disappointed and I very highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Lifted Me by Sara Evans with Rachel Hauck is so beautifully written I cried at times and was angered at others but altogether it was a magnificent emotional roller coaster of a read. This is the tale of Jade, Max, and Asa. Jade and Max are married but what Jade doesn't know is that Max has an affair with a women obsessed with him that she would do anything to have and keep him, anything. Rice lies and it backfires, sadly this leaves Jade and Max broken and lost. Fortunately threw a few godly events they come together.
Jade with her unconditional love for Asa and a new job offering for Max. They have to cope with past indiscretions, lost trust, and abandonment all while creating a new life together. This is by far one of my favorite novels with the magical way I am transported into the lives of Jade, Max, and Asa.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Lifted Me, Songbird Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This is a great story of real life situations and how to overcome them. Evans does a great job with her writing and providing a visual picture for the reader as well as bringing the story close to home.
This book is awesome and I would definitely recommend it to many people and a great book to add to a church library collection. I really look forward to reading her other books that are part of this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.