Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Beyond Molasses Creek

Thomas Nelson Beyond Molasses Creek

Ally Green grew up on the banks of Molasses Creek, but she's spent her life traveling the world as a flight attendant. When her father dies, she must finally return home. He knew that she needed to quit running in order to hear that still, small voice that keeps calling her-and before his passing he enlisted Ally's oldest friend to try to keep her there.

Vesey Washington has lived on the other side of Molasses Creek from the Greens since they were children. He and Ally go back to summers of fishing the creek and the distance the civil rights era wedged between them. In many ways, he's held a piece of her heart all these years.

And on the other side of the world, Sunila Kunari has just escaped the quarry in Nepal that has held her captive. She sets out alone in monsoon season, desperate to reach the US Embassy with the brand-new knowledge that her parents kidnapped her when she was an infant.

Average Customer Rating:
3.733 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
2
24 out of 3080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beyond Molasses Creek
Review 1 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quite different from the usual Christian book

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wow! This was a book with a lot of emotion, a lot of controversy, and many surprises, which are slowly revealed throughout the story. It involves a sixty-ish single woman who makes this interesting by looking back at her history and allowing the reader to become one with her emotional state, her memories, her wishes, longings, desires. She has obviously had an extremely interesting life, and it also involves her nearest neighbor--a loved friend, her father, and a few others who become so important in the telling.
The book is set up almost like a journal, with every entry looking back at explaining some answers to questions that come up in the current time. All three main characters do the same thing, and it is really interesting how they intertwine. Things mentioned in the beginning chapters come to completion near the end.
Reading this unique story brought some tears, some laughter, some excitement - all making it very hard to put the book down because of the need to find out what happens next. The author’s writing is concise and easy to read, no blundering about, telling it like it is, but in an appealing way that makes it very special. I could recommend this book to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
3.5 Stars
Ally is 60 and heading back to the place she grew up called Molasses Creek. Her father has died and she is coming home to bury him and get his house in order. She is also coming home to memories and heartache and the author takes us throw the years that lead up to this point. Forbidden love, a lost child lots of heartache in this book for sure.
What I liked: The author is a very good writer the words flow wonderfully across the page and its easy to get caught up in the story. The characters come to life with humor and depth that make this book easy to read. The story does a good job of telling two separate stories that slowly start to tie together until they meet.
What I did not like: The book took time to get going the first 100 pages or so left me wondering where this was going and how the two characters telling the story where going to fit together. Also for me this was a sad book. Interesting but sad. Even though the ending was somewhat happy I wish the ending could have been a little different.
Over all this was a good book and even though its not something I would normally read I am glad I read it. I learned some a lot about slavery in other country's and how people are treated and it was quite sad. Ally’s story was sad for me as well. I just wanted her to find love after all those years and even though there was some closer on that front for her she did not get to ride off into the sunset with her prince and I really wished she could have. If you like a little deeper novel with a good story line and wonderfully written this book is for you but if you like your happy endings this one may leave you feeling a little disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not what I expected, but still a good read

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
An Avid Reader
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beyond Molasses Creek tells the stories of three very different lives and shows how God in his wisdom has twined them together. Ally Green has been constantly on the move for years, never staying in one place very long and seldom coming home to her parent's house on Molasses Creek. Vesey Washington, on the other hand, has never left his home on the other side of Molasses Creek. He was once Ally's best friend and they are still quite close. And on the other side of the world, Sunila, a slave in a rock quarry, finally begins her journey to freedom, guided only by an old sketchbook. How are these lives linked together? You have to read to the end of the book to find out.
As the story begins, Ally is returning home for her father's funeral. She decides that she needs to finally settle down and try to forget the past. But with Vesey Washington still living right across the creek, the past is hard to forget. The book sends you back in time to tell you the story of Ally's life, revealing bit by bit what was only hinted at in the beginning of the story. You know that some great tragedy happened to her that made her lose her faith, but you have no idea what it is or how it will be resolved.
Usually it is hard to find anything bad to say about the books I review. But this time, I have to say that there were some things that bothered me. The way the book is written is a little slow-paced and it's hard to really get into the story. It also flashes back and forth from the past to the present, as well as switching from Ally's perspective to Vesey's to Sunila's. All-in-all, I think it is still a story worth reading. The ending is good, even if it is a little anti-climactic.
Although not at all what I was expecting, Beyond Molasses Creek is still a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bittersweet Saga of Love and Loss

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beyond Molasses Creek is told in the first person, present tense, with changing narrators, and this meant I found it extremely difficult to get into the book. I don’t mind a third-person novel changing between two storylines, but I find two first-person narrators annoying, and I don’t usually like stories told in the present tense. In fact, I stopped reading it twice. But I persevered, and I’m glad I did.
The first narrator is Ally, a 60-year-old woman who has returned home to Molasses Creek following the death of her father. She is helped by her old friend, Vesey Washington, a man of a similar age to her, who was never more than a friend because of his race. Vesey also narrates some passages later in the book. Between them, they tell a story of a friendship going back fifty years.
The other narrator is Sunila, a 37 or 38-year-old woman living in Kathmandu, Nepal. She is an untouchable working as a stone-cutter, and is now going on a journey with a mysterious book to find Mr Monroe, an American diplomat who helped her many years ago. I initially thought Sunila was a man, based on the occupation. The ambiguity surrounding Sunila was probably intended to be mysterious: I found it confusing.
As the story progresses, Ally tells us her history through a series of flashbacks, and we begin to guess how the two plot lines are related. Although the first part of the book was a struggle, it improved steadily and the last third was outstanding – happy, sad, sentimental but without being maudlin.
From a Christian point of view, Vesey had a strong faith but Ally was much more wishy-washy, and even by the end of the book, I didn’t really know where she stood. I think this could have been developed further. Despite these comments, overall, Beyond Molasses Creek was a strong book that proved that I can enjoy a well-written character-driven saga.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson and BookSneeze® for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Should not be pulished as Christian fiction

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
alidanelle
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ally Green comes home after 40 plus years to bury her father and take care of his house, now her house. Her life is once again intwined with Vesey Washington, her childhood friend from across the river. Ally revisits her interactions with Vesey over the years to form a picture of true love and friendship. Meanwhile, Sunila Kenari, an untouchable in Nepal, is working hard to trace her past, which will lead her right to Molasses Creek and Ally herself. Experience the joys and heartaches of these three intertwined lives in Beyond Molasses Creek.
Once I started reading this book, I realized it is not the typical book I read, but I pushed ahead to the end. This book is all about a woman that cannot find her way, cannot be content with her circumstances, and is constantly searching. While God and faith are mentioned, the ending leaves something to be desired. Even though Ally is reunited with the child she has lost, makes peace with her best friend and the one person she truly loved, there is a lack of relationship with God. Ally is not sure God is there, but through her story, she does come to believe He is there. This book could be produced by any publisher and would not have to be labeled Christian fiction. There is no mention of Jesus Christ, no salvation, no growing in a relationship with God. There are discussion questions at the end of the book, but again, only one or two out of fifteen questions could be answered in relation to God. Overall, the writing and storyline are excellent, but the importance of a relationship with God is severly lacking.
http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=9781595545053
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
elinsmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Beyond Molasses Creek by Nicole Seitz is southern fiction that is set in the Lowcountry of South Carolina. It covers such themes as war, forbidden love, loss, death, prejudice, and friendship. The main character, Ally Green, is a free spirted, retired flight attendant who has travelled the world. She has returned to her home to bury her father. While she is home her feelings for her neighbor, Vesey are rekindled. She loved Vesey throughout her childhood. This unrequited love was one of the reasons she left home at a young age.
Beyond Molasses Creek is written in first person mostly from Ally's point of view. Some of it is told in flashback and in diary entries. The entire story covers forty to fifty years. Also woven throughout is the story of Sunila Kunaro, a Nepali woman of low caste who is trying to find out where she came from. I enjoyed this part of the story most of all. I felt the author did an excellent job of revealing Sunila's part in the story.
If you are looking for a story where God is obviously present and easy to find, this isn't the book for you. Faith in this story is very subtle, and there is a lot of symbolism. There really is only one Christian character in the book, but there is hope for the other characters in the end because of his testimony and the strength of his integrity.
Overall, I enjoyed this book very much. The story was interesting, and made me want to find out what was going to happen. I thought the characters were well written and I cared about what was going to happen to them. I would recommend this book to women who enjoy literary fiction.
I received this book for free from Book Sneeze for the purpose of review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Running From Her Past

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In Beyond Molasses Creek, by Nicole Seitz, Ally Green is now close to sixty years old. She’s returned to bury her dad; build her own Garden of Dreams with the statues of gods and goddesses bought from other countries; and hopefully stop running. Her old friend, Vesey Washington, is still in his old home place. Their friendship spanned fifty years, though mostly hidden. You see, Ally is white and Vesey is black. A forbidden relationship.
Ally never got over Vesey, but she moved on to become a stewardess. While employed, she had a relationship outside of marriage with a pilot and became pregnant. The rules of the airline made her quit her job. She returned home to have her baby, Candace. It was then she found Vesey married.
She became restless and searching for peace once again, so she went to Nepal to the Garden of Dreams. While there, her baby was snatched. All the years from early childhood, Ally had her sketchbook with her, but it disappeared when her daughter went missing. After not finding her daughter, Ally joined another airline and continued to run until her father died.
One of Nicole’s uniqueness’s in her book is that you get two stories in one–Sunila in Kathmandu, Nepal, and Ally in Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. Nicole’s characters are so inviting and personal. They create their own stories just through their interactions, reactions, and circumstances. Vesey, too, was a wonderful, sensitive character. The continual restlessness of Ally is palpable. The story line is very well written and easy to follow, and in itself, I truly enjoyed it.
However, since this is billed as a Christian novel, I felt that more attention was set on the gods and goddesses than on the person of Jesus Christ, something that surprised me coming from a Thomas Nelson book. I will admit that Ally found no peace with the idols throughout the whole book. The other episode that really upset me is the outright lie of fatherhood. The truth will set you free. Telling the truth lets the Lord work out the wrinkles in the other person’s life.
This book was provided by Book Sneeze in exchange for my honest opinion. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Provoking Read

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first I had a little problem getting into this book, but stuck with it, and am glad I did. It is a rather fast pace book that deals with some tough subjects.
Alicia Green, Ally, has grown up in Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. With her Dad's passing she has come home, and is trying to come to terms with her life. Her Dad wants her to stay, his last wishes!
In her mind she has had a love affair with a Black man who lives across the Creek, he is her best friend.
Vesey Washington, a god Godly man has not had an easy life. Life is not easy in the 50's and 60's for a Black man.
This book deal with the caste system in India, Slaves, Child Labor, Racism, kidnapping. As you are reading you begin to wonder how such a system in India can even exist. Being a Dalit you are lower than dirt? Such injustice, you want to go and help Sunila.
As I got going in this book, I could not put it down. I recommend this as quite an eye opener, and how you want this to end, it most likely doesn't.
I recceived this book from Litefuse Publicity Tours, and the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Left with a feeling hard to put into words

Date:February 10, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished this book a few days ago and really felt that I needed to review it quickly to capture the feeling that I have about this book. This book was written in first person so it took me a few chapters to get used to reading in that way because all of the previous books I had read were your typical third person views. Once I got into the character, I was hooked. The book was kind of predictable but they storyline wasn't, as far as the circumstances within the story weren't. When I came to the last page and closed the book, I had the weirdest feeling that was truly indescribable. The book was wonderful and I think it made me reflect on it long after the book had ended. It was a beautiful story of reflection. Perhaps the best way for me to sum it up.
Ally is an ex-flight attendant who loves to travel to get away from the one man in this world that she can't have. Vesey Washington lives on the other side of the creek and is the man that has stolen Ally's heart. What reasons could possibly keep these two apart? And how does a girl from Nepal who is escaping for slavery happen to have in common with Ally?
This book is one that anyone will enjoy. When you read it, let me know your thoughts! I'd like to know if it leaves anyone else with such an odd feeling that makes it hard to describe this book because it's so good and so unique.
______________
I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

friendship across race lines, then and now

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This novel grabbed me at the first chapter and didn't let go until the final page.
Ally is a sixty year old world-weary ex-flight attendant. She has come back to her home to bury her father. From across the creek comes Vesey.
All of the memories come back. Seeing him for the first time, across the creek, a black boy, fishing. It was the fifties and it was the south. Nevertheless, Ally and Vesey became friends, managing to sneak in a boat ride from time to time. They get caught one too many times and Vesey's mother sends him off to an uncle. Ally is broken-hearted and ashamed that Vesey was punished.
Seitz does a great job of weaving the past within the present. We see Ally go off to college, then decide to be an airline stewardess. A fling with a pilot and she is pregnant and abandoned by him. She goes back home to have the baby, a daughter. She finds Vesey has married and they are expecting a child.
Running from the pain, she is in Nepal when her baby is stolen.
Now, nearly forty years later she is back home. Vesey's wife has died. Ally has lost her daughter. Vesey knows the Lord and has peace. Ally has collected statues of gods and has yet to find her peace. Will she ever be able to stop running?
Setiz has crafted a captivating story beginning in the south when civil rights was new and troublesome and ending at a time when friends can be of different races and continents.
I like the way she writes. This was a great read. Christian readers who want the searching character to get saved will be disappointed. Christianity is well represented, but the end of the novel is not neatly tied up, so to speak.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A book with take home value

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my first novel to read by Nicole Seitz. I enjoyed the beginning pages, then I will have to admit I found parts of the story slow going. But at the end of the book, everything fit together. Everything. I got attached to several of the characters. I would actually read this one a second time. So it does have take home value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My review on Molassess Creek

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nicki
Location:Missouri, Mo
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book, Beyond Molasses Creek, by Nicole Seitz, is a very heart felt well put together story of the lives of three different people. It tells the life story of Ally Green with a troubled spirit all her life. She traveled the world to find rest from her past, but never could. But when she was sixty her father died. So she came back home to Molasses Creek to bury her beloved Father and as well as her past. At the same time it tells the life of Vessy, her dearest friend that lived across Molasses Creek from her house all his life. It tells about his point of view from the other side of the Creek. And a woman, Sunila, with an intractable past which lived in Nepal half away across the world. All her life she was an untouchable, and her father treated her like a dog in the street. Making her work with stone with little appreciation or for anything in return. So when she was thirty eight years old, her mother finally told her the truth, about how she was kidnapped, and they were not really her parents, she sets out to find where she truly belongs and to find her destiny on her own. Then they all meet... by the flowing waters of Molasses Creek. This is a novel about courage, fate, and whoever longs to be free. I would recommend this book to anyone who truly wants to read from the heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A slower paced book read

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beyond Molasses Crteek was a slow moving book that just never fully grabbed me. It was OK, I think I just couldn't relate to the characters or something. It was told back in forth through different perspectives. While the story setting of Nepal in parts was interesting I just wish it was more accurate. The storyline of a woman running from her small town, getting pregnant and living in a forgeign country had so much promise but just fell I little short for me that is. Maybe I just wasn't in the right frame of reading to read a slower paced book. If you like slower building books then this might be your cup of tea.
thank you booksneeze for sending me the ebook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Beyond Molasses Creek

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I began reading Beyond Molasses Creek by Nicole Seitz red flag began waving at me. From the start the mention of gods, and stone statues made me wonder, if a book that is marketed as a Christian book, is going to have any redemptive qualities, if the Gospel is going
to be laid out before the characters, and thus the reader. It wasn't. Therefore the book, to me is more a secular book than a Christian one.
That being said, I did like the characters. I felt bad for Ally, it seemed her life had included a lot of loss. Growing up in the south in the 1956’s and 60’s, when the climate was very cool, even at times hostile against white and black being friends. Ally befriends, Vesey
Washington, a boy who lives across the Molasses Creek from her, a life long friend, but out of reach.
She suffers the loss of a child. The death of her parents. The death of who she could have been.
She collected statues of foreign gods, and angels during her years of travels, and had them set up in the yard of her childhood home after the death of her father. She would go out to find comfort in here garden of statues, but of course there wasn’t any comfort there, it can only be found in the One True God of the Bible.
I give Beyond Molasses Creek by Nicole Seitz 3.5 stars out of 5, I thought Nicole’s descriptions were very good and I could see the scenes and the people within the pages. If this book was marketed as a secular book I would give it a better rating than I am able to knowing that it is in the Christian market.
**Beyond Molasses Creek By Nicole Seitz was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond Molasses Creek - Must read!

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
World traveler and almost senior citizen, Ally Green has returned to her childhood home to bury her father. Her childhood friend, Vesey Washington, still lives across the creek. She has loved him since the first time they meet as small children. He was part of the reason she left. But on her returning, a past she thought she left behind returns to haunt her.
Ally struggles to leave knowing her father left everything to her including the house in which he intended for to make her home again. As she continues to struggle with this, on the other side of the world a young woman, Sunila Kunari, struggles in a different way, to escape being an indentured slave in the rock quarries of Nepal.
It was hard to figure out what these two women could possible have in common. One woman was a wanderer and could not seem to endure staying in one place very long. The other woman wanted to find her roots and put those roots down where she really belonged and that was not as a slave in the rock quarries.
This story is about sorrow, love, regrets, anticipation and forgiveness. It will make you cry, laugh and probably make you angry in some parts. There will also be celebrations of life and death. But most of all there is very much love, hope and faith in God.
I highly recommend this book.
I rate this book a 5 out of 5.
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book for review. I was in no way compensated for this review it is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

worth the read

Date:January 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beyond Molasses Creek – Nicole Seitz
When she was younger, Ally travelled all over the world as a flight attendant. Now she’s sixty and is obligated to go back to her home in the Lowcountry to bury her father and hopefully come to grips with the past she’s been running from. Upon finding a note from her father that encourages her to stop running, Ally feels compelled to try to find peace with bygone years. Her story runs parallel with that of a young woman in Nepal, who as a Dalit and is stuck in the caste system, but is seeking answers of her own mysterious heritage.
As this is a complex book, I found it difficult to get into and to understand the characters and their lives. However, I found it so worth it, once I did get a handle on this intriguing and well written tale. I appreciated learning about the India culture, some of it rather disturbing and a stark contrast to their beautiful batik creations. Very little is said about the faith of the characters and it left me wondering why, especially since the synopsis stated, ‘…freedom, faith and friendship awaits them all on the banks of Molasses Creek.’ I didn’t get the sense that God had a significant place in any of their lives at all, except maybe Vesey’s to some degree.
In exchange for an honest review, Book Sneeze provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing and Well-Executed

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beyond Molasses Creek is an intriguing novel...from the cover and title to the plot within the pages. I am drawn to books merge a few stories into one, but sometimes the concept is better than the execution. Beyond Molasses Creek is one of the successes. Nicole Seitz achieves the ideal harmony in this tightly woven novel, which takes the reader from banks of South Carolina to rock quarries of Nepal. Although this is a quick read, it is memorable and filled with depth and character.
When I first began reading Beyond Molasses Creek, I was surprised to discover that Ally is a 60-year-old. I am used to younger protagonists, but in many ways Ally is still a young woman searching for her place in the world, a quality that makes her relatable. Ally's character emerges gradually with each challenge and insight into her past. Vesey shines as a devoted friend, who is as steady and content as the water of Molasses Creek. He is an example not only to Ally, but to readers as well, of finding peace, purpose, and faith despite loss and disappointment.
Sunila's story, unfolding a world a way, is very moving and thought-provoking. Reading about slavery, child labor, and a strict caste system makes me more grateful for the freedoms that I enjoy. Captivity and social barriers are central themes of Beyond Molasses Creek, and each character confronts them in different ways. Sunila embodies the inspiring qualities of hope and courage. I looked forward to the glimpses into her life and watching her story weave into Ally's. I celebrated with them as their long journeys brought them to their long sought-after destination: peace and happiness.
Beyond Molasses Creek veers more to the side of mainstream fiction than Christian fiction. I was initially surprised at the references to beliefs in multiple gods, enlightenment, and reincarnation. Sunila's non-Christian beliefs are realistic, given that she lived in a stone quarry in Nepal without exposure to the outside world for over 30 years. Ally is a free-spirit, whose beliefs are as diverse as her past. Her Christian journey is just beginning at the end of the novel, as she acknowledges that she has "crossed over" in her beliefs, but still needs to grow. The novel is a journey to freedom, truth, and the promise of a brighter future.
Beyond Molasses Creek introduced me to the work of Nicole Seitz, and I definitely plan to read more of her novels in the future.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Novel about relationships

Date:January 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:El Mirage, Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beyond Molasses Creek is a fascinating novel told in the first person point of view by each of the three main characters: Ally, Vesey and Sunila. The reader is kept abreast of the switches in story line from one character to the other by a simple headliner giving the name (and if appropriate, the place). Date changes are handled at the beginning of the chapter as part of the narrative.
I thought Nicole did a very good job of handling the difficult first person point of view, and drawing in the reader. Although the story had a very slow start for me (I tend to read faster paced novels as a rule) my perseveriance definetly paid off, and I am very glad I followed it through. The story starts off in Mt. Pleasant by the banks of the Molasses Creek, as the title suggests with Alley and Vesey. But through the author's words we are transported to the quarries of Nepal, as well. From the soothing sound of the river to the squalor and dust of a debt-slave pounding rocks to make gravel, or if they are lucky, to be carving stones into statutes.
Whatever background in needed, is artfully included in the memories, mostly of Ally.
I loved this story by Nicole, and will be looking for more of her novels. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through their Booksneeze program in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive critique. The opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story of finding peace

Date:January 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy G
Location:Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
<i>Beyond Molasses Creek</i> by Nicole Seitz is an amazing novel that brings together the life stories of three individuals into a touching, emotional story of finding peace in the world around you, even when circumstances say otherwise. Ally Green has to come back home after her father dies, and takes the opportunity to reconnect with a childhood friend. But she has a past that has kept her on the run searching for peace, and has a hard time trying to settle down. At the same time, a young lady across the world in Nepal is also trying to find peace as she escapes a hard life and searches for truth. Do these ladies' stories connect? The results are surprising and amazing.
I have not read a novel in a while that touched me as this one did. Beautifully written, with a poetic style that drew me in, this story left me satisfied and at peace with my own story. I loved the back and forth of the characters' stories, both in the present day and the past. I understood where their hearts were and I wanted them to find the peace they were looking for. My only complaint about the book was it was not as Christian based as I thought it would be. There was a lot more room to have God intervene in the story. But I would highly recommend it. A great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Beyond Molasses Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Thought Provoking Book

Date:January 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
themiracelsnook
Location:Tulsa Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beyond Molasses Creek by Nicole Seitz is the story about a former flight attendant Ally Green. Ally tends to run when life gets hard. She has to go home when her father passes away. It is at home where she must face her past. Her past is Vesey Washington. Beyond Molasses Creek is the story of Sunila Kunari who is a world away from Alley both literally and figuratively. She is in Nepal and she does her own running; she is running toward the truth because she needs to know. She comes from a very hard life. I felt like the author Nicole Seitz wrote extremely and beautifully. She describes the places so well you feel as though you truly can say you have been there. I also was amazed at how deep this book was. There was a lot of pain in it. I have never read this author and I was not expecting something so thought provoking. I was hooked from the Prologue. I even found myself underlying phrases that were strong and beautiful for instance “ A woman is lucky in life if she finds true love . Twice as lucky if she holds on to it. Three times the luck if she loses it and it comes back to her even stronger than before.” The under lying message is about the peace with in one self. I do not want to give away the story so I will let you know I enjoyed this book and I suggest you read this if you like a story with a lot of depth. I give this book 4 stars. I received this complimentary copy of this book from Booksneeze for my review. The review above is my thoughts and opinions. I will leave with the hope that you will find your day a happy reading day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>