Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1

Thomas Nelson The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1

When Raleigh Harmon, geologist and special agent for the FBI, is suddenly transferred from the Richmond field office to Seattle, she finds herself in strange territory. The Pacific Northwest has a whole different pace than the South does, her new boss seems determined to prove she can't handle the work, and she's desperately trying to keep her mother's sanity from crumbling altogether. But a missing hiker, a ransom note, an underground card game, and a "friend" with deadly intentions all ensure that there's no time for an easy transition. Raleigh will need all her skills and a little help-to keep the missing girl and herself alive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1
Review 1 for The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

this book has good story

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Darlene Dye
Location:ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like mysterys and this book was a good one .But i had trouble following the story line at times.Some of the words i didnt even know thired looking up but couldnt find them .I read alot of books i usually dont have any problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Penny Laughlin
This a great easy fun read. I liked the twists and turns that the story takes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phyllis L. Labine
I really enjoyed this book and I think anyone who likes to read will enjoy it. But I feel it showed that they didn't like women who were with any police force of any kind at all. They think women can't do the job and do it right. Some can and some can't. It was a great book. Thank you for it and God bless all that read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christie
This book was a mystery of sorts, with a very believable heroine named Raleigh Harmon. I identified with Raleigh on several points, not the least of which was as a Southern woman displaced from her cultural roots. The plot of this twister unfolded slowly enough to keep me guessing, but not so slowly that I got bored. Raleigh is an FBI agent working on a couple of criminal cases and her own personal woes, all the while adjusting to a new life far from home. I liked how real Raleigh seemed, with flaws and skeletons in the closet, and how the story told in the first person reflected Raleigh's personality and point-of-view. I also liked how the plot developed in an unpredictable way. I had some clues to the bad guys, but not too early, and not as a definite thing. This is classified as Christian fiction, but Raleigh's faith isn't an overt thing. No one's throwing a lot of religious cliches around or acting holier-than-thou, which I appreciated. I got the feeling that the main character's faith stabilized her often chaotic life, but I never had to read those words, per se. This is apparently the second novel with the same Raleigh Harmon, so hopefully there are more to come. Any of you southern belles get a chance, spend a couple rainy days with this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
This was the first book I've read by this author and I will admit I was highly impressed with it. I liked Raleigh's character very much. She's very no nonsense and is a strong female lead. I really liked her name as it's unique and Southern. Her character is not very feminine, there were times when I honestly forgot she was female. Since it was in first person, the reader sees things the way Raleigh does and she doesn't really give off any hints that give away her femininity. There's not really any romantic subplots in this book, which was fine by me. I was glad the mystery was main plot of the book. The suspense build up was done very well, and the storyline felt like it was a good plot for a TV show. I also liked how Raleigh used her geology expertise to help solve the mystery. It's very nice to see a detective be smart and resourceful and not fall into the trap of being stereotyped.If there was any qualms in the book, I would have to say it is the ending. To me, it felt like it happened rather abruptly and out of the blue. All of a sudden everything was explained and all loose ends tied up without warning. It felt like sort of a let down to just have it end the way it did. I wasn't expecting that ending but at the same time it felt like a predictable bit to explain things. Other than that, I did enjoy reading this book. Even though it's Christian fiction, it's not preachy at all. The characters do attend church, but it's not in your face and it's actually almost an afterthought in the book. Overall the story has strong characters and an interesting plot that makes for a very good read. I am looking forward to going back and reading Giorello's previous book which featured Raleigh and also to any future books by her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brita Carlson
An outstand ing follow-up of the Stones Cry Out. Special Agent Raleigh Harmon, is a charachter that I found easy to like and enjoyed reading about her flaws, desires, and her enjoyment of her job. Who would think that looking at dirt could be so exciting. I highly recommend her book and can't wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2009
The Christian fiction scene is changing so rapidly that it's easy to discover a new writer you love. This is the case with Sibella Giorgello. Even though The Rivers Run Dry is the second book in the series, it didn't feel like it (which completely impressed me). I normally can't jump into a series without reading the first book first. I think the thing that impressed me the most about this novel is how well it was written. Giorello doesn't add an ounce of fluff to her narratives and descriptions, but they are powerful and moving. I enjoy her writing for the same reason I like Earnest Hemingway: they both employ a minimalistic style. This novel has all the making of a great suspense novel. The ticking clock, the troubled detective and setbacks. Sibello also gets cool points for the main character, Raleigh Harmon, being a forensic geologist and the relationship she has with her boss is quite entertaining. Also, the all the characters, not just the main characters, are memorable and draw you deeper into the story, especially the stranger ones. And best of all, I didn't guess who the bad guy but once it was revealed, it made sense. I love it when an author cleverly hides the clues in plain sight throughout the book. Suspense should be unpredictable but logical and this book meets that requirement. Normally I end my reviews with saying that I can't wait to read the next book, but in this case, I'm looking forward to reading her first book, The Stones Cry Out and her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Depending on what youre searching for in your next fiction read, you will most likely either love or hate Sibella Giorellos latest work.The Rivers Run Dry, by Sibella Giorello is definitely not predictable Christian fiction. This story isnt neatly wrapped in scripture references and inspirational sayings.The twists and turns of each chapter coupled with a fast moving plot, motivate the reader to keep turning the pages.Giorellos main character, Raleigh Harmon, (FBI Special Agent) finds herself transferred across the country and in the middle of a missing persons case. As she battles homesickness and the difficult Jack Stephanson as her training agent, Raleigh has to learn how to compete in a mans world and prove her competence as an agent.As the plot thickens and the suspense builds, Raleigh is suddenly running for her life from a corrupt state trooper who goes from co-worker, to kidnapper. Drugged and taken into the woods, Raleigh has to literally fight for her life. Sibella Giorello combines suspense and mystery with interesting characters that ebb and flow and add a variety of surprises to the storyline.The end of the story leaves you hanging in all the right places good luck putting this one down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2009
This sophomore novel from Sibella Giorello is a gritty and fast paced suspense novel full of forensic details. The character of Raliegh Harmon is most interesting and the author does a good job of enabling the reader to look through her eyes. While there is much to like about this novel, I also found myself having to set it down at times and start over the next day: not because it was dull but because it simply lost me at times. Perhaps it was just me but I don't think so. Pacing in fiction is very important and The Rivers Run Dry just doesn't quite have that down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Rivers Run Dry - The Raleigh Harmon Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
I enjoyed Sibella Giorello's writing. She's descriptive, but also is discerning with just how much she describes. The Rivers Run Dry is the 2nd book about this character (Raleigh Harmon) by this author. Though it's not exclusively part of a series, it would have helped me to have read the previous Raleigh Harmon book, The Stones Cry Out before starting this book. I was introduced to the characters pretty abruptly for not having met them before, but it would not have been a problem had I already known the people I was reading about.Raleigh is a smart FBI agent, but she's not a hardened "tough" heroine. Giorello made her personable and likable without the character's edge being lost. This is a great Mystery/ Suspense novel, I thought it might turn out one way and then the author completely blew my theory out of the water! Several different plots and scenarios made it hard for me to follow the storyline at first, but once i got fully into the story, it was no longer a hindrance to my reading. I'm finding out that the more and more I read books of this genre the more I like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.