Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3

Thomas Nelson The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3

A cruise to Alaska sounds like the perfect vacation--it's a geologist's dream and will give Raleigh space to sort out her feelings about her recent engagement. But before the ship even reaches its first port, a case manages to find her. The producer of a movie that's being filmed onboard goes missing and is then discovered hanging from the railing. Suicide seems to be the cause, but Raleigh quickly realizes the pieces don't add up. When the Seattle field office sends Jack Stephanson to assist her in the investigation, her personal uncertainty skyrockets. Why is it that she forgets to even call her fiance back in Virginia. And Jack seems to know her as well as she knows herself. She'll have to wait to sort out those feelings, though, because she and Jack only have five days before the cruise ends to solve this case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3
Review 1 for The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michell
Location:Metro Manila, Philippines
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have featured The Mountains Bow Down (A Raleigh Harmon Novel) by Sibella Giorello in my previous post before. After reading the summary, I was quite excited to finally receive this book and read it.
Raleigh Harmon is an FBI Special Agent and forensic geologist who is off on a cruise to Alaska. Acting as a consultant for a movie being filmed on board, she hopes to have time to explore the beauties of the mountains of Alaska. She is joined on this cruise by her mother, who has a mental condition, and her aunt who is a specialist in crystals. She also saw this cruise as a time to get away from her fiancee.
Little did she know that even on this fantastic Alaskan cruise, her skills as a forensic geologist will be put to use. The wife of the movie actor that she is consulting for dies on the cruise. The ship’s chief of security is quick to rule it a suicide, but she believes it’s a murder. Not wanting to let a murderer go free, her planned vacation has now turned to work for her.
MY THOUGHTS
Sibella Giorello writes beautifully. She has a gift for writing beautiful descriptions of the scenic places in Alaska that feels like you are actually experiencing it yourself. Her character, Raleigh Harmon, is highly skilled in her profession as an FBI agent but she is made real with her struggles with her family, her fiancee and the other FBI agent who was sent to assist her. I feel that I really got to know this character very well.
I also liked the way she developed the mystery in this book. It was very interesting to follow every clue with Raleigh. This book has components of mystery, thriller, love story and the complications of family relationships that makes this a worthwhile read.
There are only a couple of things that I was disappointed with. I felt that the ending was just too complicated and came at me so fast. I mean, after slowly solving the mystery through the book and following it with excitement, suddenly there was this ending that had such a complicated story with it.
The other thing that I found to be a negative was the way the Filipino crew on the ship was portrayed. Being a Filipino myself, I find it hard to believe that Filipinos on cruise ships answer in one-word English as was portrayed in the book. Although, she was ably assisted by a Filipino-American bartender towards the end of the story, this FilAm bartender says that he is American, not Filipino.
The Mountains Bow Down is her 3rd book in A Raleigh Harmon novel. Check out other reviews in this Litfuse Blog Tour.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book kept me on the end of my seat.

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
SkyGirl
Location:Ontario
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FBI Special Agent Raleigh Harmon needs a vacation. Her mothers mental health issues are getting too bad to cope with, work is getting stressful, and things are not going well with her fiancé right now. So when a chance to go on an Alaskan cruise with her Mom and her Aunt pops up, Raleigh jumps at the chance to get away for a few days, and spend lots of time with the beautiful Alaskan scenery.
When a woman is found murdered the first day at sea, and is assumed to be a suicide, Raleigh knows that it couldn’t have been suicide and she is determined to find the killer before he kills someone else on the ship. She calls for some backup and is annoyed to discover that the only agent available is her nemesis, the handsome Special Agent Jack Stephenson.
Faced with a mysterious murder that no one wants to talk about, ever widening family rifts, and her increasingly confusing feelings for Jack, Raleigh turns to God to keep her sane, and alive!
If you are into intrigue, mystery and romance, The Mountains Bow Down by Sibella Giorello is a read you wont want to miss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Female FBI Agent Raleigh's Honesty

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so thankful to receive a review copy of such an exciting, fun, suspenseful, and heartfelt novel. I enjoyed reading about Raleigh, a female FBI agent, who specializes in fore4nsic geology and is good at what she does. Sibella went to school to be a geologist so its fascinating to read how geology helps Raleigh uncover clues she never would have discovered with out it.
I liked how Sibella had Raleigh sty true to her calling in life no matter how the male FBI Agents treated her. I also liked Raleigh’s honesty in her feelings and how she struggled in putting God into the driver seat of her life 24/7.
Giorello takes her readers on a beautiful Alaskan cruise along with her mom and eccentric Aunt who has arranged for Raleigh to be a consultant on a movie being filmed on the cruise ship. She thought this would be a great way to enjoy each other’s company, have fun and get their trip paid for.
Things were beautiful and fun until Raleigh discovers a female body hanging from the back of the cruise ship. Head of security seeks Raleigh’s help in this case because she’s FBI and the woman found dead was famous actor Milo’s wife.
Milo was the one she was consulting on the film on how to be an FBI agent. Milo and everyone else on this project was hoping for a box office smash hit with this movie. Milo needed this to get back into the game.
Sibella Giorello pens an intriguing web of mystery, suspense, fun and quirky characters I enjoyed with well timed humor. This was a “who-done-it” that kept me guessing right up till the end. This was the first novel I’ve read by this author, it won’t be my last. I think I’ll start with The River Runs Dry, or The Clouds Roll! So many choices! Can’t wait to see where this author takes me next!! I highly recommend this book and for you to check out the others!
Nora St.Laurent
The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Mountains Bow Down by Sibella Giorello

Date:March 7, 2011
Sibella Giorello is a new author for me. As I've been reading quite a bit of romance these days, I was excited to see a mystery come across my path. (Several, actually, so be looking for those reviews soon!) Raleigh Harmon is an FBI agent attempts to take a much-needed cruise vacation with her family. Her vacation comes to an abrupt halt when the wife of a famous actor on board is found dead. Murder, theft, and much craziness break out on the ship. With only five days left of the cruise, will Raleigh be able to find the culprit?
The Mountains Bow Down reads a lot like James Patterson's The Women's Murder Club series, which I have enjoyed for years. The pace is pretty quick, the characters are likable and well-developed, and there were plenty of twists in the plot to keep me intrigued. This is the third book about Raleigh Harmon, and I was able to read without many questions that would have been answered in past books.
However, the book started off pretty slow. It took me several chapters to really get intrigued, and it wasn't until FBI agent Jack Stephanson showed up that things really got interesting. I was also disappointed that this book was listed as Christian fiction, but there wasn't much mention of Christ or any biblical themes. The book was clean and had no offensive content, but I didn't think it really pointed people to Christ.
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cruise Into Murder...

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryBethWrites
Location:Placerville, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Special Agent Raleigh Harmon planned a working vacation to Alaska as a movie consultant. Instead she finds herself wrapped up in a murder investigation. The various personalities of the ship's crew and movie people make for an intriguing gumbo of humanity. Seasoning the mix are Raleigh's mother, who is showing early signs of dementia, her aunt who matches people and crystals, and the aunt's abrasive New Age friend. Raleigh has left a fiance back home,and is wondering if accepting his proposal was the right decision.
Giorello creates an intricate story of murder and deceit, set against the beautiful backdrop of Alaska. She has an eye for the scenery and a gift for describing human nature. The book is an easy read and I enjoyed the interaction between the characters. Even the minor players get a three-dimensional treatment.
If you have an interest in mysteries, geology, law enforcement, Alaska or movie-making, you'll probably enjoy this book.
I reviewed the book from a galley provided by the publisher. I was not obligated to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfectly Layered Mystery

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raleigh Harmon is back and this time she's on an Alaskan cruise ship. Every girl needs a vacation right? But trouble follows Raleigh like calcium forms rocks. What should have been an opportunity to explore Alaska and hunt for rocks turns into a murder investigation. Then there are the problems with her mom and cousin. And don't forget her love life. This book has more points to it than one of the unique Star of David rocks she finds.
The author is a gifted writer, spinning words into a web that is lyrical and engaging. I even had to grab the dictionary for one word that she later explained. But she uses words in a beautiful way to paint pictures and make Raleigh a truly unique character that I've come to love. I'm already eager to read the fourth book in the series and go back to book one. Each book in the series stands alone, but has enough ties to prior books to keep someone who loves a series engaged without losing new readers.
And the spiritual threads in this book are poignant. I loved this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Mountains Bow Down

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a long string of disappointments and average books, this one stood out as something unique: a book I thoroughly enjoyed.
One day, after graduating Mountain School, they will join together to create a new pack that will continue their guardian work. Life for Calla is definite and predetermined.
Until one day, when she, on impulse, saves a hiker, Shay, in the mountains who turns out to be much more than meets the eye– although what does meet the eye right out isn’t disappointing: Shay is as handsome as Ren and a whole lot sweeter. With the addition of him into her life, everything changes. Suddenly, Calla has to question the things she always thought were right and try to figure out how to exactly to do what is.
One thing I really did like about this book was the emotions it invoked. The Keepers could be pretty nasty, and I was angry that Calla had to stand by and take some of the stuff she did. Also, the sexists views they kept up made me angry, and I liked the that fact that they did irritate Calla too.
The only other complaint I have about this book would be that Calla has a certain set of rules she has to follow but then she starts breaking them and there seems to be no punishment. Which I thought was strange because at times her rule-breaking seemed public, like somebody would notice and report it but that never happened. My only thoughts on this are perhaps they are saving all the punishment for later.
I lied. I thought of one more complaint: There’s a part in the book where Calla and Shay are up to something and Calla gets hurt so to try and save her they have to do something forbidden and they do it and it seemed to me like it would be something really monumental but it sort of happens. I know that was really vague, but if you read the book you’ll understand. Hopefully.
In all, I definitely recommend this book. It was one of the best paranormal romances I’ve read. It was fresh and fun and has one heck of an ending. I honestly don’t know if I will make it until the sequel. Because I want to read it. Now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Raleigh Harmon Suspense

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Mountains Bow Down;(A Raleigh Harmon Novel)
Sibella Giorello
4 Stars
Release Date: March 1, 2011
Thomas Nelson Publishers
Christian Suspense
This is the first book that I have read of this authors though I do have one other that I have not read yet. Being this is book three in a series I could not tell you if it is best to read the first two books before this one as I have not read them, although I feel this could be read as a standalone.
Raleigh Harmon, FBI Agent, has been invited to go on vacation to Alaska with her mother, aunt and a friend Claire who claims to be a clairvoyant among other things. As a forensic geologist this vacation will be ideal. A week of relaxation and a chance to gather up some gems in the mountains, and to take a break from a romance that may be headed south so to speak. When the wife of a movie star comes up missing the vacation soon turns into a job. What looks like a suicide to most looks like murder to Raleigh. Now she has five days to try and prove it was murder and catch the killer before the boat heads back to Seattle and they walk free. With the help of Special Agent Jack Stephanson, they are thrown into the midst of stolen gems, narcotics, and any number of suspects. To top it off Raleigh is dealing with a mother that is having a mental breakdown, a aunt that is dealing with healing rocks and Claire that is not helping matters with her mother at all.
I found this book was a little slow at first for me but then it picked up and was hard to put down. There is quite a cast of secondary characters throughout the book that keep the story line interesting. Although Christian based it is not preachy as some books tend to get, but also there was very little spiritual insight but you could tell by reading it was there between the lines. All in all I felt like it was a good suspenseful novel and I plan on reading the first two in the series to maybe get a better understanding of Raleigh Harmon.
This ARC was provided by Thomas Nelson through their Book Sneeze Bloggers program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own views of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Butterflyreview
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Mountains Bow Down by Sibella Biorello
FBI Special Agent Raleigh Harmon is going on a vacation cruise to Alaska, or so she thinks.
When a passenger goes missing and then shows up dead by an apparent suicide Raleigh’s instincts kick in. Is there a ruthless killer on board? Raleigh calls the Seattle FBI office and requests assistance in investigating the case. Who shows up Special Agent Jack Stephanson, her nemesis. Jack seems to flirt with every woman on board. But he is attracted to Raleigh and sees beneath the tough exterior she tries so hard to portray to the world.
Raleigh not only has to solve the murder/suicide. But her mother, aunt, and Claire are on board with all kinds of personal crises. Her mom doesn’t know she works for the FBI because of her mental imbalance, Aunt Charlotte believes her rocks have special powers, and then there is Clare who thinks she is physic. She is also not answering phone calls from her new fiancée.
It was interesting to read how Raleigh went about solving the mystery of who the killer is. The book was a little slow to get into, as I had to figure out who the characters were. After sorting out the characters, the book was hard to put down.
I was given this book by booksneeze.com in exchange for an honest review of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great!

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not usually a big suspense/homicide fiction fan, too many times they're pretty corny or just completely unrealistic. However, I do have to say that I quite enjoyed this novel! Even with it being the third book in the series (I haven't read the other two) I didn't feel like I was coming into it mid story. It was easily able to stand on its own without me needing the background to the other stories!
Mostly the book focuses on Raleigh Harmon an Special Agent for the FBI, who takes an Alaskan cruise to get away, clear her head and make some big decisions. During her stay a passenger goes missing and Raliegh finds herself thrown back into work! While having to deal with both family and having to work with Special Agent Jack Stephanson (someone she in the beginning can't stand!) she is also rushing to solve this mystery within the five days of the cruise!
I really enjoyed this book, it wasn't so out there to be unrealistic, but it was still eventful enough that it was interesting and intriguing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Mountains Bow Down, Raleigh Harmon Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story, setting, characters and themes!

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Mountains Bow Down" is the third book in a series about FBI special agent Raleigh Harmon. Though part of a series, the book stands alone. I haven’t read the first book. I found the second book interesting—I described it as a Mike Hammer-type mystery. But I loved this book! It is so different from the first (not Mike Hammer-ish at all), yet the main character remains true. I’m going to have to go back and read the first book now.
"The Mountains Bow Down" is set on an Alaskan cruise. Raleigh's aunt has invited her and her mother for a vacation. Aunt Charlotte is helping with a movie in production. Raleigh serves as an FBI consultant for the lead actor.
But the vacation ends when the lead actor’s wife is found dead. Most think it’s suicide, but Raleigh sees murder and sets out to prove it. The FBI sends the ever-annoying agent Jack Stephanson to help her solve the case.
Complicating matters is the fact that Raleigh’s mentally unstable mother doesn’t know Raleigh works for the FBI. Raleigh struggles to protect her mother, yet wrestles with her conscience over living a lie—even to protect someone.
I loved the setting, the story, the characters, and the underlying themes of this novel. If you enjoy a good mystery, I recommend this book to you! Thank you, Thomas Nelson Publishers, for sending this novel for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.