Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Save the Date

Thomas Nelson Save the Date

Former NFL star Alex Sinclair is a man who has it all--except the votes he needs to win his bid for Congress. Despite their mutual dislike, Alex makes Lucy a proposition: pose as his fiancie in return for the money she desperately needs. Bound to a man who isn't quite what he seems, Lucy will find her heart on the line--and maybe even her life. When God asks Alex and Lucy to scrap their playbook and follow his rules, will they finally say, "I do"?
Average Customer Rating:
4.804 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
45 out of 4698%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Save the Date
Review 1 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!!

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
YeVetta
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so funny and overall enjoyable! The spiritual messages within this book really touched my heart and inspired some wonderful conversations with God. I love how freely the author cultivated and shared the characters' relationship with God. It was so natural. I've just found a wonderful new Christian author to support.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I ADORED IT!!!

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie703
Location:Marksville,LA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Jenny's work. She never dissappoints and this one was surely spectacular.
I loved Lucy--she was sweet, stylish, and had a sarcastic sense of humor. And I loved Alex--strong, hawt, and a Christian trying to find hisnway home. Enter a fake engagement ane you've got the best book EVAH!
I loved how Lucy loved sci-fi and wasn't lost because my borther is also. But the football reference...I had my bros to help.
I loved the message too. It wasn't preachy or anything. It was perfect!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Save your own copy for a GREAT ride!

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a unique book, I truly enjoyed the adventure!
It's happy day when you're able to find a good story and the author's writing style brings a fresh new perspective that is so interesting to discover.
I don't need to write a speech, Jenny has crafted a novel that deserves an award.
Hope, love, encouragement, depth and CRAZY fun all the expense of a Godly author: Jenny B. Jones, ladies and gentlemen.
This book is worth it and I'm definitely picking up the next one.
Don't miss out on the adventure, this should be on the top of your TBR summer list. Oh, and what a smooth ending...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Save your own copy for a GREAT ride!

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was pretty good and I truly enjoyed the adventure!
Jenny B. Jones has penned an inspiring, humorous and beautiful story that will bless you even as it keeps your attention from the very first page.
I was looking foward to reading Save The Date. The satisfying ending is such a good way to smoothly finish a day and it is definitely recommended for summer TBR lists.
Love, Hope, encouragement, depth and CRAZY fun, all at the expense of Jenny B. Jones. Her books are worth it so don't miss out on the adventure!
Can't wait to see what's next, Sweet Jen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Orla
Location:Ireland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charming read. Has a great story and laugh out loud funny moments. Really enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's an inspiring story

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lectora
Location:San Jose, Costa Rica
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The heroine is lovely and determined. Her work is inspiring and really makes a difference in the world for young people in need. The hero needs someone to help him get out of pain and guilt. The story is funny and sweet but also very inspiring. I enjoy it very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read!

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lucy Wiltshire needs something. She needs money-quite a lot of it-to keep open her home for girls too old for the foster system.
Alex Sinclair needs something. He needs to win a seat in congress, and for that he must shed his football hero image and prove he's stable-and that seems to need a woman.
He can give Lucy what she desperately needs in exchange for a five-month fake engagement-just long enough to win his election. She has no choice but to make it look convincing if she wants to keep a roof over the heads of her girls.
Neither of them expects to fall in love.
Yawn. The story of Lucy and Alex could well be predictable if it weren't for one more person: author Jenny B Jones. Her voice is predictable, too-predictably hilarious. This novel contains more snarky one-liners than the last ten (fifteen? twenty?) books I've read all together.
But the tale isn't all snark (or predictable). The characters have depth, motivation, big hearts, and problems of every size and shape. Jones weaves the plot with considerable skill and gives the story a satisfying conclusion at every level.
Save the Date may have been my first Jenny B Jones novel, but it certainly won't be the last. If you enjoy romantic comedy, I can't suggest this novel highly enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Such a fun author

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The funding for Lucy’s non-profit home for girls has completely fallen through. Her plan? Attend a black tie gala, hunt down Sinclair board members, and harass them until they change their minds. It’s all going exactly how one might expect—badly—when Alex Sinclair approaches. Lucy doesn’t have time to be toyed with the Playboy-son of the company’s owner. She continues to bother board members until disaster ensues and a board member is sitting in a pile of shrimp. For reasons Alex can’t quite understand, he goes to comfort Lucy. Little did either of them know, some paparazzi got some pictures of them together that were all over the papers the next day.
This gives Alex and idea. He needs to clean up his image if he is going to win his campaign for congress. And Lucy needs money to save her teen girls home. So Alex proposes a deal: Lucy poses as his fiancé in exchange for the money she needs.
Jenny B. Jones is such a fun author. Her books always reel me in and keep me grinning. The premise of this one was a bit unorthodox. It both made the story fun and made me uncomfortable for Alex and Lucy. I felt bad that these two Christian characters were going on and on with this lie. Still, Jenny B. Jones managed to work it all out, entertain me, and give some great food for thought as to finding your identity in Christ. And as always, her supporting cast was very enjoyable. I loved that Lucy was a science fiction fan. Very fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great uplifting read!

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
thebookmom
Location:Osceola, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just finished reading "Save The Date" by Jenny B. Jones. If you are looking for an uplifting Christian book about a young woman and the lengths she'll go to help others, then this is the book for you! Save the Date tells the story of a young woman, Lucy, who needs to save her non-profit foundation, and goes to unbelievable lengths to do so. Although it was a little slow to start, I loved that the book contained realistic relationships and situations and not the "typical" romance novel female. This was a great inspirational novel. I would rate this book a 4 out of 5(because it was a little slow to start). I would highly recommend this book!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Save the Date - Jenny B. Jones - February 2011
Looking for the perfect Christian Chick Lit Novel ? Wanting to discover a new author to read ? Well, look no further as I bring you the perfect read "Save the Date" by Jenny B. Jones , now this book reminded me a bit of the Karen Kingsbury book "Between Sundays" and Kristin Billerbeck's novel "A Billion Reasons Why". In Save the Date, we meet Lucy Wiltshire - a woman with a mission , for the past two years she has spent all her time and effort into creating a home for homeless girls called Saving Grace. However it seems that the dream may be coming to a close as her funding has been cut and if she doesn't find the cash as soon as possible , then Saving Grace is down the loo and the girls are back on the streets. Enter in Alex Sinclair , he is wealthy and an ex-football player and has a reputation with the ladies - he is also running for Congressman. As the novel gets on , we see that both Lucy and Alex need something and that special something is what each of them can give each other. The two of them concot a plan, to pretend to get married for publicity reasons and we all know how this turns out with Lucy and Alex slowly falling in actual love with each other. This would have been perfect, but Lucy and Alex have other things on their plates - Lucy has discovered the truth about her father and grandparents and her ex has just also asked her to marry him whereas Alex's twin brother Will has disappeared and the more days that pass by, Alex is becoming estranged from his family .
Are we to Save the Date for a Wedding of the Century or will it turn out to be a Disaster of a century when things start to get a little out of hand ?
Find out in Save the Date by Jenny B. Jones
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved, loved, loved this book!

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Denise G.
Location:Mariposa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't laughed this much reading a book in years! Typically I enjoy getting to the end of a book. This book was completely different: the PROCESS was what I enjoyed. Every time I picked it up I was having my own private party. If the house nextdoor to me came for sale, I'd want this author to buy it. She HAS to be hilarious on a daily basis. I even thought her personal description was funny. Was the story good? Yes, it was. I'm snickering right now, just thinking of the dialogue. The interaction between the main characters was just AWESOME. How many great one-liners can there BE in one book?? The only bad thing about it was the last page. Because then it was over. And when will I EVER find another book this funny? I'm not even going to talk about the plot; you can read about that on the CDB website. But you just won't know how funny it is until you pick it up. Best book I've read in a long time. Can't recommend it highly enough.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Funny with a side of sass!

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok I’ll admit it, I’m not someone who is easily amused. I truly wish I was the person that laughed at the drop of a hat, but I’m not. With that being said, I want to share that I laughed out loud numerous times when reading this book. Save the Date, by Jenny B. Jones at first glance looks like a classic, cute, chick- lit kind of book. I’m thinking, it will be sweet, charming and a nice read. There is nothing wrong with that, but as I got into the book, I discovered much, much more- funny, great characters and a “deeper than meets the eye” storyline.
Our heroine, Lucy Wiltshire is sort of a modern day Cinderella. Growing up in Charleston, South Carolina with a mother who earned her living as a maid did not give her social status at the prominent Montrose Academy where she attended as a child, and as a result endured teasing and bullying there. Fast forward to the present and Lucy is the founder of Saving Grace, a home for foster girls aged 18-21 making the transition to adulthood with her help and guidance. A major problem erupts- one of her biggest backers has pulled the plug on their contributions by a significant amount. She is in danger of losing the home and panicked about her girls, where will they go. Poor Lucy, what’s a girl to do?
Well, the hero of the story has the answer to that query- enter Alex Sinclaire- a former attendee of Montrose Academy and famous former professional football player as well. He has decided to run for a Congressional seat and Alex needs a little help overcoming his somewhat “Playboy” public perception problem. So after a chance meeting at a local gathering where both are present and pictures are taken of them together, he finds that his approval points have skyrocketed. It seems that the public likes a good Cinderella story and he hatches a plan- a staged romance with a win-win scenario- Alex gets a girl on his arm for public events and Lucy gets the funding she needs to keep Saving Grace open. Sounds like a no-brainer for everyone, but add in Lucy’s social awkwardness and propensity towards clumsiness and you get some really hilarious situations.
There is so much more going on in this story than the general romance between these two characters, Alex is dealing with grief and guilt over his twin brothers disappearance and probable death. Lucy struggles with feelings of great inferiority and worth as she describes herself at one of the many social events as “ a cubic zirconia in a sea of diamonds”. They truly go on a journey together in dealing with their respective “stuff”. Their chemistry and banter between each other is fun and amusing in one moment and truly deep and probing in the next. Add in Lucy’s love of all things science fiction, specifically Star Trek and the book just gets better and better. I couldn’t go into detail on the supporting characters here, but they are well written and really, really funny. When a well know socialite winds up at one of Lucy’s gatherings of her sci-fi friends and is asking questions about Star Trek, I about bust a gut.
It truly is rare for me to find a book where I am laughing uproariously in one moment and shedding tears the next, while seeing great spiritual elements in the whole thing. Elements like our struggles with our worth and figuring out the whole man-pleasing versus God-pleasing dilemma. I highly recommend this book. You will not be disappointed and I will be keeping my eye on Jenny B. Jones in the future. I know this is a Niagara Falls kind of review- much gushing- but I still stand by it. Great book, great characters and great read!
I was graciously provided a digital copy of this book by Thomas Nelson through the NetGalley program. All opinions expressed were my own and I was not obligated to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jenny B. Jones is my FAVORITE author!

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
jessica epps
Location:Rogers, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading a book by Jenny B. Jones always makes me so happy! She always writes great stories that are fun to read but also challenge me in my faith. I especially liked Save The Date because it really reminded me of how we live with such heavy burdens on our heart and God is just waiting for us to give it over to him. There aren’t many authors that can remind me of things like this in a book with a super fun story line! I also loved the romance in Save The Date! Jenny B. Jones is one of my favorite authors!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun read!

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two people, two goals, tow misperceptions make for a fast and very enjoyable adventure. The heroine grew up poor and is always trying to prove herself. I especially liked that the home for young adult women she starts is a picture of a real organization. Struggles abound especially as she loses some of her funding. Introduce an old nemesis (at least in her eyes) in the form of an ex-football player who is rich and running for a senatorial seat, whose lifestyle is hurting his chances. This unlikely pair enter into an agreement with ups, downs, bumps and curves which makes some hilarious reading. The characters are not what you expect which also makes the book fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is such a good read

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leagirl
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have purchased by this author, so I didn't really now what to expect, but it was so good. I read the entire book in 2 days. It has moments of humer to make you smile, and sections of sadness that bring tears to your eyes, the people came alive and I joined them for a bogus courtship that ended in true love. sigh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heidi Main
Location:Cary, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenny B. Jones created a compelling plot from the start. The main characters are deep and strong and independent. They also have very real issues in their life at the start of the book. And with the awesome plot twists–I adored it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining read with deep layers

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth Ann Dell
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When the heroine of a book smells like pancakes and looks like "a displaced nursery rhyme character" as does Lucy, the heroine of "Save the Date", you know that you are in for a fun read. And this book is indeed a light frothy read that will keep you turning the pages to find out what happens next. It has several satisfying twists and turns.
Lucy runs Saving Grace, a residential home for young women who have nowhere to live. She is forced to accept a role as Alex's fiancée as it's the condition for he makes for her to receive much-needed funds for her home. Alex is running for congress and needs Lucy to be his fiancée and bring in more votes for him.
Underneath the frivolity of this novel there are deeper layers, one being the social dilemma of no formal care for foster children once they reach the age of eighteen. These children are abandoned and left to face life's challenges with no home or resources. They often end up on the streets or in prison.
Jenny Jones skilfully weaves spiritual threads throughout the book as Lucy and Alex deal with issues and insecurities which stem from their childhoods and teen years. We see their faith in God grow as their fake engagement places them in tight spots and dilemmas.
I wish Ms Jones had given readers more insight into the daily life of Saving Grace. The only girl we get to know is newcomer Marinell, whose little brother is desperately ill. I hope the author will write a book telling Marinell's story.
I enjoyed "Save the Date" and recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good story.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Date:March 1, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenny B. Jones doesn't disappoint with Save the Date. Her novel is chock full of continuous misfortunes and twists and turns for Lucy who is about to lose funding for her home for girls who have graduated from foster care. Along comes Alex, former pro football star, who is running for Congressman and needs a woman beside him to boost his vote-getting power. Alex offers Lucy a deal that will save her girls’ home. If Lucy accepts the deal, she must live a lie for a few months. These characters are real, the plot goes from funny to heart rending, and the situations will leave you in tears or out-loud laughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In “Save the Date” by Jenny Jones, Lucy Wiltshire runs a home, Saving Grace, for girls who have no family and need a mentor and a place to live. The primary donor, Sinclair Enterprises, has to cut their funding and Lucy has to face the possibility of losing the house and putting her girls back out on the streets. When Lucy runs into an old schoolmate, Alex Sinclair, the two realize they can help each other get what they want. Alex is running for Congress and knows that in order to help him win the race he needs to find a wife, so he makes a deal with Lucy. If Lucy will pretend to be his fiancée until after the election, he will give her enough money to run her non-profit organization. Lucy realizes this is the only way to save her girls from being homeless once again. Over the next few months, Lucy and Alex realize they have fallen in love with each other but are too scared to admit it. They finally give their problems to God and take the next step in their lives. I received a free copy of this book to review from Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Save the Date
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightfully lighthearted yet packed with depth!

Date:February 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
RonieK
Location:North Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The premise for Save the Date is one of my all-time favorites with the whole faked marriage/dating element. So I expected a lighthearted read--but Jenny B. Jones is absolutely lethal with humor and blew my expectations out of the water! I cried. I laughed. I even snorted. For all the lighthearted humor saturating the pages of this book, there is an incredible depth that surprised me. Beautifully written and executed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.